TStjroy
post Aug 11 2011, 07:05 PM, updated 14y ago

Hi all, welcome to LYN Proton Waja Club V12!!! Lets keep moving on flex.gif

PROTON WAJA

2000, First generation Proton Waja with 4G18P Engine

2003, Waja 1.8X

waja 1.8x was produced from year 2003 featuring dual airbags,ABS+EBD,VVT,Drive by Wire,immobilizer,leather seats,4 speed auto with overdrive mode,electronically retractable side mirrors,exterior wise are 16 inch rims,dual exhaust tips...
Stopped production in 2005...selling for 72k for 1.8 normal spec and 77k for 1.8X Premium
(Credits to cmw84)

2003, Waja 1.6X Premium using 4G18P
2004, there's a version with 16" wheels (the wheels were recalled, unfortunately)
2005, the new facelift with new 15" design wheels (no chrome accent, new interior color scheme)

End 2005, Waja Chancellor

2006, the waja 20th yr edition, dubbed the P20Y

Waja campro 2006

[B]Waja MME edition

Waja facelift 2007

The Latest Waja, The Waja CPS

The long-awaited Proton Campro CPS engine is now available in Malaysia (it was first introduced in Bangkok last year) with the Waja 1.6 Premium being the first model to have it. For those who are not familiar with this engine, it incorporates Cam Profile Switching (which is where the ‘CPS’ comes from), a mechanism which varies intake valve timing to enhance performance throughout the rpm range. The mechanism was developed by Lotus Engineering, a subsidiary of Proton.

Additionally, the Campro CPS engine also has a Variable Intake Manifold (VIM) which optimises the intake airflow volume according to driving conditions and is especially helpful in boosting torque at the low end. The VIM is a more sophisticated version of the Intake Air-fuel Module (IAFM) used in the Campro 1.3-litre engine of the new Saga.

The maximum power output of the new Campro 1.6 CPS engine is 125 bhp (about 92 kW), 13% more than the 110 bhp on the non-CPS/VIM Campro engine. The new engine, in addition to providing smooth and responsive drivability, is said to be environment-friendly and complies with the latest European emission regulations.

With the CPS mechanism, Proton claims that the new Waja offers significant improvement in terms of drivability with maximum torque now increased to 150Nm. More importantly, the criticism of non-CPS engine that was first launched with the Gen2 – poor low-end torque – is now claimed to be addressed and Proton states that there is ‘better response and torque launch at low engine speeds of between 2000 - 2500 rpm when driving in the city’. During highway driving, it is also claimed that there will be better overtaking performance in the third, fourth and fifth gears within the 2,500 - 4,500 rpm engine speed range. The new Waja is available with a 5-speed manual or 4-speed automatic transmission.

There are also changes to the interior design of the model to add further value to customers. The model now comes with electric remote door mirror with electric folding housing, front seat with 3-way adjustable head rest (up, down and tilt), gated auto gear shifter (for automatic transmission), new centre panel switches and finishing, as well as a keyless trunk remote system, ABS, fog lamps, alloy rims and leather upholstery as standard.

Other additional features include xenon headlamps auto-levelling (so that other motorists are not dazzled), dual tailpipes, UV-cut windscreen glass and a ‘Euro-compliant body structure’.

"Proton is striving to improve ourselves in every aspect, particularly in terms of product offerings. With that in mind, we felt it was time the Waja evolved as well. The time is right for this change and I'm optimistic the market will receive this new model in a positive manner," said Proton MD, Dato' Haji Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir.

Click on spoiler below for more details about waja

Waja Owners Head count:

[B]Proton Waja external resources aka. 'Goodies'
Proton Waja Club V1
Proton Waja Club V2
Proton Waja Club V3
Proton Waja Club V4
Proton Waja Club V5
Proton Waja Club V6
Proton Waja Club V7
Proton Waja Club V8
Proton Waja Club V9
Proton Waja Club V10
Proton Waja Club V11

This post has been edited by tjroy: Aug 12 2011, 07:11 PM
TStjroy
post Aug 11 2011, 07:16 PM

Guys please be patient sweat.gif, new home still in progress, still noob in creating the home for waja club. blush.gif
TStjroy
post Aug 15 2011, 06:51 PM

@@miracle_liam, welcome smile.gif

QUOTE(blackmachine @ Aug 15 2011, 11:24 AM)
hi guys, i'm back, now in the mood for pimp up my waja, hihi,

Added on August 15, 2011, 11:31 amguys, my absorber soudn ok ek ok ek edi, any suggestion on brand and model? anybody planning to go for proton free checking? my power steering got problem already, and also a leaking fuel tank, dang
you have been disappeared for a long time from waja club dy. sachs absorbers are alright, am using right now for 1.6 years, else go back using kayaba for comfortableness. sure i am not going to proton for free checking, to me its just pure gimmick plus parts are a lot more dearer.

QUOTE(brewoe_1988 @ Aug 15 2011, 06:30 PM)
anyone used AMT POWER CUSHION BUFFER for waja?good??
i was using it, steven also was using it. but i have took it out. ride will be more smooth when over bumps, yellow bumps, rought roads and reduces noise from the road. if you are interested in mine used ones i can sell cheap cheap let go for u. biggrin.gif
TStjroy
post Aug 15 2011, 10:23 PM

QUOTE(Austin123 @ Aug 15 2011, 06:45 PM)
Driver side power windows KO.. how much to change to metal type power windows? any place for installation?
together with installation should not be more than rm200. IMO its better to deal thorugh mechanic as motor parts its better mechanic can warrant over the job.

QUOTE(reform @ Aug 15 2011, 08:34 PM)
May I know why you took it out the buffer ??
i asked my mechanic to take them out cau i wanted to know the difference without the buffer, rm20 to install, cost rm0 to uninstall, haha, if u travel say from kl to ipoh and u pass by jelepang going to ipoh there are the red colou 'bump'/speed breaker, the noise and vibration is reduced quite much. i bought it at rm60+ then, used for 2 months. so i dont feel wanan spend rm 20 agian to install back to my car.
TStjroy
post Aug 17 2011, 12:08 AM

QUOTE(brewoe_1988 @ Aug 16 2011, 04:07 PM)
u use for 2 months?hw much u selling??can take some pic of it???hw much to install ??
same problem, did everything also and same solution offered by thundergod... sad.gif
update ECU is the patching 1?? hmm.gif
yeap 2 months, actually less then that. price i will pm u in a short while. rm 20 normally mechanic charge to install. as for pic the amt buffer is in penang while right now i am in kl, but i am going back penang this weekend and i will snape a pic of it to show. its better to let thurdergod/elton to help u diagnose for u.

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 16 2011, 04:28 PM)
Well he offered to update for me for a fee and if the problem still exists after the updating he won't charge me. Now just waiting to send my car for service at my local mechanic since i only gotten the car like 2 weeks back laugh.gif

Added on August 16, 2011, 4:49 pmOwhh and guys, whats your average FC for your waja?

Mine's a 2001 manual and i just finished my first tank. 52L can go 529km so that averages out to 10km/l and mostly city driving with some highway driving. Usually my revs are <2k unless on highway. How's yours? Now after doing the throttle body cleaning from Thundergod hopefully will have some improvement laugh.gif
my fc was around 11.4 km/l sometimes heavy footed. 13.8 km/l for highway.

QUOTE(sonyman @ Aug 16 2011, 07:35 PM)
so far my 2001 auto can only get about 11.9km /L to about 12.3KM/l, ron 95 petronas. what else can i do to get 15km/l
auto is hard to get 15 km/l, unless manual. talk to thundergod cid/elton for better fc. nod.gif
TStjroy
post Aug 17 2011, 05:39 PM

QUOTE(kang5239 @ Aug 17 2011, 05:31 PM)
nobody wan to answer me. sad.gif
i am not sifu but i do know that our waja auto gearbox do has filter inside it but its not changeable everytime you change your atf, as the filter is located 'deep' inside your gear box, to reach it, u need to take down the the whole gearbox. the filter is design to last the time life of the vehicle/ gearbox. change your atf at least 20k km to ensure smoothness and reliability. bewre of fake proton atf ya.
TStjroy
post Aug 17 2011, 07:22 PM

QUOTE(mao2 @ Aug 17 2011, 05:56 PM)
hmmm.. mayb sifus in here already tired of people asking the same questions over 100 times.. sometimes a simple search in this thread would come in handy.. unless ur case is something new then i think there will be alot of answers u'll get.. not that we are being arrogant or ignorant..
hooo.. like that are?? now i know
i am also not 100% sure i am right, but should be around that way la. hmm.gif sifu please correct my statement ya if found got misleading words. nod.gif

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 17 2011, 06:13 PM)
Btw guys, what tyres you recommend for the stock 195/15" rim? tongue.gif

and should i get a tyre with 50,55 or 60% thickness? hmm.gif

just last week my cousin got me a pair of tyres for free and i went to a Proton service center somewhere in jalan ipoh which was his friend's shop to get it installed and they told me that my current tyres are 195/55/15 and the tyres my cousin gave me was 195/60/15 and they said if i put it in the front it would be unstable so he put it at the rear but what i know is that the Waja's stock tyres are 195/60/15 and the speedometer is also calibrated to the 60/15 tyre size if not mistaken right? rclxub.gif
50 tyres is quite rare, 55 vs 60, for 55 u get slight better handling especially corners;less flex, 60 wil give u more comfortableness. its down to your budget for us to recommend tyres to u. i am not sure about the high of tyres about being front or back but i do know that if width, rear tyres are can put wider tyre especially it helps in cornering.
TStjroy
post Aug 19 2011, 11:56 PM

QUOTE(Nightstalker1993 @ Aug 19 2011, 03:15 PM)
My car service list cry.gif

the timing belt price seems to be expensive hmm.gif
brake pad i will go for something better, other than bosch, some performance pads, you can try ceramic blend type of brake pads.
tyres i recomemnd to get something better than radial, like yoko c drive is a better choice.
what's the tangki for? coolant is cheap.
steering bush i recommend to use PU bush. u can contact elton for more details.
absorber mounting its better to get proton ori mounting.

is there additional for service charge??

your HU looks very nice and cool. thumbup.gif
TStjroy
post Sep 14 2011, 12:19 AM

QUOTE(blo0dLuSt @ Sep 13 2011, 06:02 PM)
as owner of one demon eyes, i could said it is. haha. i change to demon eyes because my headlamp is old already so i retrofit to my old headlamp to refreshen a bit.

here is my car example. http://satugaprojector.blogspot.com/2010/1...demon-eyes.html
can pls share about how much it cost? thanks
TStjroy
post Sep 26 2011, 02:41 PM

QUOTE(reform @ Sep 26 2011, 11:45 AM)
Any workshop which is specialist in suspension/absorber with a reasonable pricing around K.L. ? 

Planning to change my vehicle absorbers,  may buy the absorbers from spare parts shop and take it to the workshop, and do some inspection on my vehicle suspension system.
what absorbers you are planning to get? for abs IMO, its better to let the workshop to buy and replace for u, if u buy from spare part shop. yes u might save a bit but when there is problem then the workshop workmanship is not going to be free of charge.

QUOTE(shiyau @ Sep 26 2011, 11:52 AM)
how come no one response to me sweat.gif
u r on manual or auto? gear oil/fluid will be affect more than grounding. when was the last time u changed?

QUOTE(brewoe_1988 @ Sep 26 2011, 12:04 PM)
being quoted rm 320 for front absorber changing is the price ok??
what brand? its ok for oem replacement, plus u need to do alignment after installing the abs.
TStjroy
post Sep 29 2011, 10:17 AM

QUOTE(shiyau @ Sep 29 2011, 09:45 AM)
I'm getting it from someone who is nearer to my location.. and somehow the price cheaper than him smile.gif how much is the so-called "germans"?
lolx.. 4 litres inclusive of flushing the old fluid out? *wondering*
4.5 litres including of flushing or not? or just filling it in.. if comparing proton original sp3 and eneos.. equally good? somehow eneos is cheaper than proton..  thumbup.gif
i am staying in old klang road, i drive to kepong, behind jusco just to have Mitsubishi diaqueen atf changed, beware a lot of fake proton atf out there, i used b4 and its real bad. its not recommended to use multi atf on Mitsubishi autogear box, its from my experience la. most cases more than 4 liters of atf is needed. nod.gif
TStjroy
post Sep 30 2011, 10:14 PM

QUOTE(shiyau @ Sep 30 2011, 09:29 PM)
hmm.. it's kinda confusing now.. some asked me not to flush it as my mech said "the thing" will be easily spoiled if flush.. don't ask me what's "the thing" as he didn't tell me.. his tone was like kinda "warn" me from flushing.. lol.. isn't it risky?  hmm.gif it's just that my waja is very underpowered recently.. step on pedal tak mau pecut like that.. step deeper still tak mau change gear..  it happens just recently.. It was still ok a month ago~ got any other issue?
ok the flush thing u can do it safely and economically, this is what i have done, i only used mitsubishi diaqueen atf spiii, drained the old atf till its empty, fill up with 4.5 liters mitsubishi diaqueen atf spiii, drive till mileage is 5k. then repeat the process the second time. u can consider to use Atf flush for the next time when u going to change the atf if u have budget. if u havent changed the spark plugs, cleaned throttle body for more than 20k or 1 year then do it. if u have really the budget reflash the car. have a lot more budget then BOT it. brows.gif brows.gif
TStjroy
post Oct 5 2011, 12:23 AM

QUOTE(shiyau @ Oct 4 2011, 11:46 PM)
I'm hoping to boost my pick up/power with low budgets * RM2xx *..
what if i.. get an adjustable cam pulley? hmm.gif
i would recommend you to save up for reflash, if u r really getting acp then get it from a reputable installer to install and tune for u.
TStjroy
post Oct 8 2011, 05:46 PM

QUOTE(Andy0625 @ Oct 8 2011, 11:31 AM)
anyone got experience with local jasma performance camshaft for 4g18?
a member of waja club installed it and said that power gained not much nothing to shout about, that is what i heard. well it would be better is tuned by elton after installing aftermarket cam.
TStjroy
post Oct 26 2011, 11:29 PM

mamak venue.

TStjroy
post Oct 29 2011, 12:05 AM

TT locaiton 9pm onwards at Fireball Sports Cafe, located behind Esso Taman Connaught, in front of UCSI

the ones that are going:
Elton
Steven
Joe
yngwie
LazyKurosaki

who else is coming?? i will update the list. rclxms.gif
TStjroy
post Nov 9 2011, 10:38 PM

QUOTE(LazyKurosaki @ Nov 9 2011, 10:36 PM)
what lai de? for wad de? forgive me for my noobness in automotive
air filter whistling.gif
TStjroy
post Nov 10 2011, 06:13 PM

QUOTE(culain99 @ Nov 10 2011, 04:58 PM)
what is labour charge to change timing belt ? am going to change this weekend and don't want to kena cut.

also when i turn my steering left to right when driving I feel as if there is a tiny bump .... dont know if it is steering bush worn out. havent change the bush for last 5 years.
i have no idea about the tiny bump thing but when u wanna change the steering bush u can consider using PU bush, it grips/hold better. labour will cost around rm100 to rm 150. u can consider to change ur water pump if u never change b4
QUOTE(armadasaxon @ Nov 10 2011, 05:51 PM)
usually timing belt nonit labour 1 gua..they instantly can fix 1.
wah u think its easy to change meh a few things need to be taken out.
TStjroy
post Nov 21 2011, 09:43 AM

QUOTE(mxsteven @ Nov 21 2011, 08:44 AM)
yeah MY fren  whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif

Added on November 21, 2011, 8:46 am

ur oil will become black after run in the engine for more than an hour.... not to be racist but it does really become very black unless u use NGV.
i think he has Liqui Moly MOS2 leichtlauf engine oil. laugh.gif
TStjroy
post Dec 6 2011, 06:08 PM

QUOTE(Krools @ Dec 6 2011, 06:01 PM)
how much does it cost?
hahaha ya..user problem... sad.gif
i used OEM ATF as recomended at the service center.
whats your current mileage? guarantee its original ah??

0.0408sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:02 AM