12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Unifi [Guide] UniFi - Any custom router can use UniFi, For Huawei HG655a & ZTE ZXDSL 931DII

Max
post Sep 15 2011, 09:00 AM

1,705 posts

if u get rid vlan500 then u have no internet access at all.. no?
if not mistaken, if u read from the 1st post, there is already a way to use other router.
'most' router can be used but minus the iptv.
colins
post Sep 23 2011, 07:59 AM

129 posts

the blog says IPTV still can be used, by connecting to HG655a's LAN port 1.
Max
post Sep 23 2011, 04:32 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(colins @ Sep 23 2011, 07:59 AM)
the blog says IPTV still can be used, by connecting to HG655a's LAN port 1.
yes, do able.
u have to route the iptv vlan inside the HG modem.
but i think it will load the modem..
dont know about others, but my modem HG655a do run hot.. blink.gif
jeepac
post Sep 24 2011, 07:48 AM

i down know if this might help

apprently 2 ports are open on the HG850a 53 and 8011
Juno_wong
post Sep 24 2011, 05:30 PM

15 posts

i reset my HG655a ONT without backup =.="
can someone teach me how to configure or restore back saved file config?

Huawei Hg655a >> Thomson TG799vn Gateway >> my pc.
paultantk
post Sep 24 2011, 06:13 PM

407 posts

Thomson? Are you a Maxis user?
Juno_wong
post Sep 24 2011, 08:42 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(paultantk @ Sep 24 2011, 06:13 PM)
Thomson? Are you a Maxis user?
Yes i am, i think fttb and huawei hg655a is a vdsl. i messed up with the vlan setting. please save/backup your configuration file and i try to restore it back. if u need password and the access is admin & hs5711Bbvl
colins
post Sep 26 2011, 10:35 AM

129 posts

My IPTV doesn't work despite following exactly what the guide says, any idea what went wrong?

timothyc
post Sep 26 2011, 10:43 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(colins @ Sep 26 2011, 10:35 AM)
My IPTV doesn't work despite following exactly what the guide says, any idea what went wrong?
Did you assign VLAN 600 to a different port, plug the IPTV into the port and turn off VLAN tagging?

And also, did you confirm that the HG655a configuration is correct? Mine hanged a few times trying to set that right.
colins
post Sep 26 2011, 12:16 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(timothyc @ Sep 26 2011, 10:43 AM)
Did you assign VLAN 600 to a different port, plug the IPTV into the port and turn off VLAN tagging?

And also, did you confirm that the HG655a configuration is correct? Mine hanged a few times trying to set that right.
Nope, other than those instructions listed, everything else remains untouched.
VLAN600 is bind and tag to Port 1 (this is the default and I didn't change this)
What other config on the HG655a that I need to look out for?
Thanks in advance for your guidance.
timothyc
post Sep 26 2011, 01:52 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(colins @ Sep 26 2011, 12:16 PM)
Nope, other than those instructions listed, everything else remains untouched.
VLAN600 is bind and tag to Port 1 (this is the default and I didn't change this)
What other config on the HG655a that I need to look out for?
Thanks in advance for your guidance.
You need to do exactly the same thing for VLAN600 as you did for VLAN500 but bind it to a different port - I used port 4.

I was the one who tested and informed the TS that this works. smile.gif

This post has been edited by timothyc: Sep 26 2011, 01:53 PM
colins
post Sep 26 2011, 03:37 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(timothyc @ Sep 26 2011, 01:52 PM)
You need to do exactly the same thing for VLAN600 as you did for VLAN500 but bind it to a different port - I used port 4.

I was the one who tested and informed the TS that this works. smile.gif
OK, did the same for VLAN600 as for VLAN500, VLAN600 now on Port 2 (Port 4 doesn't work), and everything works!
Thank you for the guidance, cool!

This post has been edited by colins: Sep 26 2011, 03:57 PM
Juno_wong
post Sep 26 2011, 11:23 PM

15 posts

How about mine guys, my Maxis HSI used TM network access. I did something with the HG655a and also has been hard reset to default configuration settings.

After few days tried to set the VLAN id and finally i figured out Maxis used VLAN id 621 and i followed back Maxis used LAN Port 2. Now the problem is my VOIP doesn't work and my actual speed from 10Mbps dropped to 3-4Mbps UP & DOWN...

I need the more configuration setting to my HG655a and able to use VOIP and back to 10Mbps.

I called Maxis since last Friday and Maxis did call me this afternoon but TM guy will come to my house on this Saturday... If can I want to manage is by myself and learn more about this stuff.

Thanks in advance guys.
linearz
post Sep 29 2011, 11:05 AM

40 posts

I was playing with vlan setting last night and now I can connect my IPTV directly to the Huawei HG655a. Thanks everyone for the guides.
Pok Leh
post Sep 29 2011, 01:20 PM

263 posts

QUOTE(aneip @ Aug 11 2011, 07:25 PM)
Nice 1..

As for Alcatel-Lucent OTU (for fiber), I believe no webgui available.. The only thing the installer keying is by using the telnet and keying some kind of ID.. I believe the configuration for the router is downloaded from TM server.

so, no need to configure that Alcatel-Lucent OTU if wanna use different wireless router than that D-Link DIR-615?
Kiding
post Sep 29 2011, 02:26 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(Pok Leh @ Sep 29 2011, 01:20 PM)
so, no need to configure that Alcatel-Lucent OTU if wanna use different wireless router than that D-Link DIR-615?
You can use other wireless routers that are supported by unifi ( http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...id=42&Itemid=39 ) without configuring alcatel OTU.

The reason we want to configure the OTU is because we wanna to fully utilize the OTU, since there are few available ports in OTU, it can do VLAN untagging job.

I wanted to configure internet VLAN and IPTV VLAN to map to LAN port 2 and LAN port 3, then I can make D-Link 615 as my second AP to serve first floor, but there is no manual for this OTU, kinda difficult to hack it without any documentation.

Pok Leh
post Oct 1 2011, 10:44 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Sep 29 2011, 02:26 PM)
You can use other wireless routers that are supported by unifi ( http://klseet.com/index.php?option=com_con...id=42&Itemid=39 ) without configuring alcatel OTU.

The reason we want to configure the OTU is because we wanna to fully utilize the OTU, since there are few available ports in OTU, it can do VLAN untagging job.

I wanted to configure internet VLAN and IPTV VLAN to map to LAN port 2 and LAN port 3, then I can make D-Link 615 as my second AP to serve first floor, but there is no manual for this OTU, kinda difficult to hack it without any documentation.
same idea here...

ChiFoong.
post Oct 1 2011, 11:53 AM

If i'm using RT-N13U Router Wireless-N Asus , i can connect it by replacing the D-Link router provided by unifi ?

I can't seem to connect it with my asus router , D- Link router hasn't got a good coverage !
linearz
post Oct 1 2011, 06:05 PM

40 posts

Here is my setting to enable the IPTV on port 3 and RT-N16 router on port 2. I'm using latest tomato usb firmware and it doesn't support 3 digits VLAN tagging. Basically, any other generic PPPoE dialer should be supported. I didn't touch any other setting except shown in the screenshots.

Warning: Always backup the default setting. I will not take any responsibility if you bricked your devices.
xXAaronXx
post Oct 2 2011, 08:45 PM

My Love for AppleJack
1,172 posts

Can this be done on the Alcatel-Lucent OTU ?

12 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:26 AM