10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V20, Super AMOLED Screen with Gorilla Glass!

pikachu01
post Sep 9 2011, 11:37 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Sep 9 2011, 11:10 PM)
doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif  never knew u made nice kernels. I want some, can upload them here?  tongue.gif
LOL. I'll upload them once I create a trans-dimensional telephone and internet to download it off the other dimension.

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ Sep 9 2011, 11:30 PM)
xxjvr better than xxjvq?wat the advantage
XXJVR fixed a few bugs (music labeling and some other things). XXJVQ modem on the other hand is more battery saving (for me that is).
pikachu01
post Sep 10 2011, 12:18 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ Sep 10 2011, 12:11 AM)
3 hours drop more than 35% on xxjvq.wat the problem make battery drain so fast[attachmentid=2427976]
3 hours of display time, or 3 hours of idle time. The display takes a lot of battery. And XXJVQ modem or XXJVQ ROM?
pikachu01
post Sep 10 2011, 12:21 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(nokiaXP @ Sep 10 2011, 12:19 AM)
XXJVQ modem and rom.3 hours on surfing.
Umm, 3 hours of display time is a lot. If you spent 3 hours surfing on your Nokia, you would get the same battery use :S
pikachu01
post Sep 10 2011, 01:22 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Sep 10 2011, 01:13 PM)
isn't that developers can choose to release or not for the kernel code? but rom must be release? heard from somewhere but dont know about the truth. biggrin.gif
It's the other way around. Kernels must always provide their source code if they use GPL modules/code in their binary. Binaries can't be decompiled (it can be in some circumstances, but most of the time, no). ROMs can be decompiled (they're just zipped up) hence no source code necessary and they are not using GPLed codes too.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GNU_General_Public_License

And we as normal users can't sue developers for violating GPL. Only the owners of the code e.g. Linus Torvalds can sue them.
pikachu01
post Sep 10 2011, 06:05 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Sep 10 2011, 05:50 PM)
+1

it's free software foundation who owns all the copyright. so we can report it to them and sue damian. www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-violation.html

one more thing, source code has to be released (when demanded) but there is no time frame. this is a loophole google took advantage-they haven't released source code for honeycomb. they will probably do when ice cream sandwich is released.
Not true. FSF doesn't own the source code for the Linux kernel.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Free_Software...oing_activities

They do own the GNU compiler source code. The coders themselves own the copyright (in Linus Torvalds's case, his company the Linux Foundation owns the copyright of the Linux kernel)

And Google did release GPL portions of their code here:
http://android.git.kernel.org/ (can't access it at the moment, it's down for quite a while already actually)

The Honeycomb source code you're mentioning here is the Honeycomb ROM itself which is licensed under Apache License (which doesn't need the developer to release the source code ever at all if they don't want to, but not releasing an Apache licensed source code is generally frowned upon).

Edit: There's a website that tracks GPL violations here:
http://gpl-violations.org/faq/violation-faq.html

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Sep 10 2011, 06:13 PM
pikachu01
post Sep 10 2011, 11:41 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Sep 10 2011, 11:17 PM)
Mr. Pikachu, will ur scripts conflict with Simplicity pre 4.0's scripts? I mean is there any need to remove the scripts in there before putting in urs?
What scripts are in Simplicity 0.4? I know Supercharger is in there. It's compatible with Supercharger since it doesn't modify LMK settings.

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Sep 10 2011, 11:36 PM)
fuiyoh didnt know pikachu can compile kernel pula. lolz
Hehe, Damian is known to create stories out of thin air just to cover his mistakes. Never compiled a kernel (Android Linux kernel that is) or release it :S I wonder what triggers him to create stories just to put people in a bad light.

pikachu01
post Sep 11 2011, 12:41 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Sep 10 2011, 11:47 PM)
to make them beliv in him then to use his GOLD kernel.

Simplicity 0.4 includes Acid Tweaks v6 but not all the stuff. guess I'll tell u what's in there aft flashing smile.gif
His kernel isn't bad actually. It's just his stubborness of not releasing sources for his kernel, his refusal to admit mistakes and his constant lies that makes his users and other devs pissed off at him.

QUOTE(nasrulbond @ Sep 11 2011, 12:02 AM)
yepp, u're right. wanna try miui galnet after this, but wait after my connection speed up a lil bit la kot. too slow for downloads.  doh.gif
haha, i know u're very active in xda right? hehe, he's kinda arrogant somehow, but simone ( simply honey dev) support him juga ni. aiyoyo

btw, u guys now all on simplicity right? is it really good?
Simone201 also kena kao kao from him in his forum. Read the same thread (link above) a bit more and you'll see stories of simone201 being accused of a lot of things which he didn't do.

pikachu01
post Sep 11 2011, 01:28 PM

1,510 posts

Someone in Darky's team got ahold of XXJVS 2.3.5. Too bad they're withholding it.
pikachu01
post Sep 11 2011, 07:01 PM

1,510 posts

XXJVS is out!
http://hotfile.com/dl/129538506/0a079c6/I9000XXJVS.rar.html
pikachu01
post Sep 11 2011, 11:23 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(jenwai @ Sep 11 2011, 11:12 PM)

Added on September 11, 2011, 11:14 pm
Sorry...
Is this a Custom ROM or Stock ROM?
blush.gif
It's a stock ROM. No root or tweaks.
pikachu01
post Sep 11 2011, 11:56 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(jenwai @ Sep 11 2011, 11:48 PM)
Thanks pikachu0!!

I was thinking to updated to 2.3.4

Is the following steps is all I need to do?
1. Download XXJVQ / XXJVR
2. Download Odin and .pit files
3. Flash it by odin. Use 512 pit file and tick re-partition.

I was so afraid that I missed out anything.
Coz, I don't have a spare phone with all the contacts.  blush.gif
You can import your contacts to Google if you're afraid of messing up.

Edit: Yes, that's the right way. You can then flash a custom kernel to get CWM, then flash the custom ROM using CWM.

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Sep 12 2011, 12:01 AM
pikachu01
post Sep 12 2011, 07:45 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Sep 12 2011, 12:51 AM)
these are the scripts I found in Simplicity 0.40pre:
98kickasskernel
99SuperCharger
_99ramset
enable_netfilter
jz flashed Simplicity 0.40pre last nite, nw XXJVS doh.gif
_99ramset 99SuperCharger will definitely conflict with each other and 98kickasskernel probably will conflict with Zach's script. Can you attach the files here? I'll take a look smile.gif

This post has been edited by pikachu01: Sep 12 2011, 07:52 AM
pikachu01
post Sep 12 2011, 01:08 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Sep 12 2011, 11:26 AM)
here.. nt sure whether d ramset came with Talon coz din see it in Simplicity's rom zip

Added on September 12, 2011, 11:31 amlooks like Tweaky ROM Magical JVS has gone odexed too
Yes _99ramset is provided by Talon. I can't open the zip file. Says unsupported compression method. Hmmm.
pikachu01
post Sep 12 2011, 08:23 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(sasoji @ Sep 12 2011, 02:25 PM)
I did the battery calibration but my battery does not work like it's old rate before flashed....is it because my phone was not fully charged when i flash roms?
Did you change your modem? XXJVR modem is battery hungry for me. XXJVQ is better.

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Sep 12 2011, 03:20 PM)
hmm.. tis is weird.. I can unzip it using Winrar hmm.gif

I don't have Winrar on my laptop. Company laptop so can't install Winrar. :/

QUOTE(Crossover @ Sep 12 2011, 04:28 PM)
Ken2291:

Would like to flash semaphone, but i dun like the voodoo part of it. Why dun like voodoo, dunno how to explain, felt that it lagfix not as good as other.
Voodoo lagfix is actually better than CF-root lagfix because of its mount options and failsafe methods (from what I see in the initramfs code)
pikachu01
post Sep 13 2011, 08:33 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Sep 13 2011, 12:34 AM)
try installing "AndroZip File Manager" from the Market. it can extract and zip files biggrin.gif
Oo, too much hassle to install and transfer tongue.gif Just attach the .txt here and I'll take a look at it smile.gif
pikachu01
post Sep 13 2011, 11:24 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Sep 13 2011, 10:52 PM)
I tried b4 but cant find a way to attach multiple files. is there a way?
Attach it to mediafire then smile.gif

QUOTE(jenwai @ Sep 13 2011, 10:59 PM)
Is that true 2.3.5 have the battery issue again?
That's mean 2.3.4 is better than it?
Umm, both have battery issues. It's just that most of you don't charge using USB more than a certain hour and have something running in the background eating up the battery fast.

QUOTE(cradle0fFilth @ Sep 13 2011, 11:01 PM)
the new jvs doesnt entice me.
it seems some bugs not fix yet
- phone apk fc
- phone discharging while charger cable connected to phone

cant recall others

i read it on http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1257063, but din try it myself tho
Phone APK FC is present in JVR as well. Phone discharging has been there since the first Gingerbread. The only thing is people will experience varying discharging between getting 60% to 95% when they take out the charger.
pikachu01
post Sep 14 2011, 02:21 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Sep 14 2011, 12:26 AM)
don rmb 2.3.5 having battery issues
like Pikachu said, those bugs are oways there since Gingerbread. I rmb selecting other than "mass storage" in usb settings to overcome the phone discharging bug.
got it. Thanks!! laugh.gif
98kickasskernel  http://www.mediafire.com/?f83nd47wlynufs4
99SuperCharger  http://www.mediafire.com/?bb8kcd23389ew5h
enable_netfilter  http://www.mediafire.com/?5esed2l6scdbyym
kickasskernel and SuperCharger might potentially cause conflicts for TalonDev. Just use the ones in Zach's script (or you can cherry pick the settings that are not modified in Zach's script and apply it yourself smile.gif
pikachu01
post Sep 14 2011, 04:18 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Sep 14 2011, 04:13 PM)
cn someone give more feedback on simplicity 0.40 pls.. :-D
I've moved to ElinRom JVS smile.gif
pikachu01
post Sep 14 2011, 06:10 PM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(one81 @ Sep 14 2011, 05:01 PM)
hey guys..
which is the best custom rom for JVS? any suggestion?
thanks in advanced
You can try ElinROM. TweakyROM seems buggy at this time (read most of the posts mentioning loads of bugs). I'm only considering Odexed ROM as deodexed ROM is slow.

QUOTE(ken2291 @ Sep 14 2011, 05:30 PM)
wad's different with Elin? can't see Perka's statement
ElinROM has fewer modifications compared to Simplicity. I stuck with Simplicity 0.31 all the way from last month as I saw that d0ggy kept adding stuff into his ROM and breaking a few things along the way. I prefer something more stock-like but with necessary modifications. Most of what I need are added by $omator's stock+ anyways smile.gif

QUOTE(Scorch6 @ Sep 14 2011, 06:05 PM)
Simplicity has no wipe version? I've been on simplicity before...but i changed to gingerreal cuz i kept hanging playing My Country.
But no doubt I felt the speed on Simplicity. Anyone noes if Simplicity has a wipe version?
Just Factory Reset to get a wipe version smile.gif
pikachu01
post Sep 15 2011, 08:57 AM

1,510 posts

QUOTE(gajahwhite @ Sep 14 2011, 11:16 PM)
so.. which more better.. simplicity 0.4.. or Elin? biggrin.gif

*me also don't like heavy mod.. biggrin.gif

Added on September 14, 2011, 11:34 pmhve anyone tried this?
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1157934

solution for phone FC.. JVR & JVS..
Simplicity has too much modifications out of the box. I prefer stacking my own modifications into the ROM and manage it from there. ElinROM has lesser tweaks (and there are some that I needed to remove like the init.d scripts before I start stacking my mods inside it).

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0479sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:32 AM