FORD Cars Discussion (Feel the Difference), All about Fiesta,Focus,Mondeo,Escape etc
danny_sp15
Aug 23 2011, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(sevendogz @ Aug 23 2011, 10:44 AM) is it? try it yourself and see got difference or not. I certainly felt better. already tried. on hilly roads like the highway to ipoh, it works well. cos it doesnt go into 6th, so u get more power when going uphill and overtaking. but in slow moving traffic, doesnt seem to make any difference cos i never reach 6th gear in traffic. and it seems to change gears like it normally would. tried using 'L', but that one holds the rev for too long, feels even rougher in traffic.  now in traffic jam i just control using right foot only, try moving in slow traffic without shifting into 2nd. This post has been edited by danny_sp15: Aug 23 2011, 01:52 PM
danny_sp15
Aug 23 2011, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(sevendogz @ Aug 23 2011, 12:08 PM) Just wanna ask you all the max rev you did to your car. My car is still new and I've only tried reaching 5k once, and it sounds good. sounds great right? wait until ur car fully run in and try 6K+, sounds even better.
mycacha
Aug 23 2011, 02:29 PM

I just went to ford center to look for Fiesta, but not sure whether i should go for it.. as the same price, i would get vios or city... since the resell value is more. Some more izzit my wrong perception?i felt fiesta is smaller than city. i mean the internal space
gahpadu
Aug 23 2011, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(mycacha @ Aug 23 2011, 02:29 PM) I just went to ford center to look for Fiesta, but not sure whether i should go for it.. as the same price, i would get vios or city... since the resell value is more. Some more izzit my wrong perception?i felt fiesta is smaller than city. i mean the internal space different person got different perception. one thing for sure , what is ur main criteria when buyin the car ie space , performance , exterior , design , FC..etc. Added on August 23, 2011, 2:54 pmSome of my mod so far door sill   mud flag and fascia board , need to wrap up with carbon sticker before install it .for HU still confuse either to get P80 or cheaper HU with amp. what ever still lack of fund to upgrade my ICE  This post has been edited by gahpadu: Aug 23 2011, 02:54 PM
confuzan
Aug 23 2011, 02:56 PM
if resale value is your number one factor then go for vios/city.
if not, test drive all and choose the one u like to drive the most, then factor in your requirements (features, cabin space, boot space, storage compartments, etc).
as for cabin space, i would say it's adequate, but not spacious.
mycacha
Aug 23 2011, 03:38 PM

i actually prefer to design of ford fiesta... outstanding.. but love City's cabin space... struggling.. this is my first time bought imported car.. not sure Ford izzit good enuf for servicing
Bliz
Aug 23 2011, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(moon* @ Aug 23 2011, 11:45 AM) agreed  have u change to any aftermarket parts?? like say air filter or added VS? Didn't touch anything at all, still virgin  ... currently thinking to change the HU to touchscreen and rim to 17inch  Added on August 23, 2011, 3:50 pmQUOTE(moon* @ Aug 23 2011, 01:25 PM) in D mode it will red line to 4500 only change gears right? how about in sport mode?? is there a limite b4 6000?? very different from petrol head cars Diesel red line is very low, it doesn't need to be revved to get power also This post has been edited by Bliz: Aug 23 2011, 03:50 PM
sevendogz
Aug 23 2011, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Aug 23 2011, 01:36 PM) already tried. on hilly roads like the highway to ipoh, it works well. cos it doesnt go into 6th, so u get more power when going uphill and overtaking. but in slow moving traffic, doesnt seem to make any difference cos i never reach 6th gear in traffic. and it seems to change gears like it normally would. tried using 'L', but that one holds the rev for too long, feels even rougher in traffic.  now in traffic jam i just control using right foot only, try moving in slow traffic without shifting into 2nd.  Maybe you're right. This is what I got from other forum. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I participated in a survey of Fiesta Owners in southern California, and while there I spoke to the engineers of nearly every system on the car. When I talked to the guys dealing with the engines I asked about the use of L and Hill mode.
Hill mode does not kick in when the car is on level ground so it is not of much use in normal traffic conditions.
L mode selects the lowest gear to maintain the current speed (My wording here not a direct quote). When I asked if it was bad to use L all the time, they said that they test the system as if you had L mode on for 95% of the car's lifetime. In other words you can use L mode as much as you want you will not cause unusual damage to your car.
Of course higher revs will burn more fuel and prob. cause more wear and tear on your components, but not a huge amount.
Hope that helps.
JesterOC source
jin666
Aug 23 2011, 06:25 PM
Fiesta L mode can go all the way to 180kmh....D mode 200..  the jerking feeling at low speed, it's a matter of adjusting your driving style how you press the pedal..after a while I manage to drive smoothly if stuck jam
confuzan
Aug 23 2011, 06:27 PM
i adapted to the low gear driving on level ground and managed to keep it under control.
but it seems to behave rather erratically once i finished going up a ramp (high revs and not changing gear).
lmj123
Aug 23 2011, 08:27 PM
my fc becomes better after reset the fc reading, currently in between 7.7l - 8.1l/100km, but it raises up dramatically in "stop and go" traffic jam, reaches 9.4l/100km
Bliz
Aug 23 2011, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(lmj123 @ Aug 23 2011, 08:27 PM) my fc becomes better after reset the fc reading, currently in between 7.7l - 8.1l/100km, but it raises up dramatically in "stop and go" traffic jam, reaches 9.4l/100km That's normal lo, if city driving i think u should get at least 8km/litre
danny_sp15
Aug 23 2011, 09:11 PM
QUOTE(confuzan @ Aug 23 2011, 06:27 PM) i adapted to the low gear driving on level ground and managed to keep it under control. but it seems to behave rather erratically once i finished going up a ramp (high revs and not changing gear). mine usually lose power when going up a ramp.. usually in multi-storey parking lots.. going up ramp, then suddenly it shifts up a gear, then lose power to climb the ramp.. so this is the only situation where i find the "L" mode very useful.
TSJohn91
Aug 23 2011, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(confuzan @ Aug 23 2011, 07:27 PM) i adapted to the low gear driving on level ground and managed to keep it under control. but it seems to behave rather erratically once i finished going up a ramp (high revs and not changing gear). From 1st to 2nd gear change what is your usual rpm? Cuz mine is on a average of 2.8k change... and i'm already controlling it. If i lift my right foot up before that the car will have a slight jerk and noise.
danny_sp15
Aug 23 2011, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(John91 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:00 PM) From 1st to 2nd gear change what is your usual rpm? Cuz mine is on a average of 2.8k change... and i'm already controlling it. If i lift my right foot up before that the car will have a slight jerk and noise. hey, mine too! will have grinding noise when changing from 1 to 2... anyone else experiencing this? is it normal?
TSJohn91
Aug 23 2011, 11:20 PM
Its normal... but thanks to the throttle controller I can change gears at 1.9k rpm easily... though I don't use that all the time, cuz driving slow SUCKS!
danny_sp15
Aug 24 2011, 01:25 AM
i see. i was getting worried that my gearbox is failing or something. it changes into 2nd smoothly if i floor the pedal though. i think this car is encouraging its driver to drive fast.  it's been more than a month since i got my Fiesta, but im still grinning whenever i see a sharp turn on a clear road.
chuakz
Aug 24 2011, 08:37 AM
QUOTE(mycacha @ Aug 23 2011, 03:38 PM) i actually prefer to design of ford fiesta... outstanding.. but love City's cabin space... struggling.. this is my first time bought imported car.. not sure Ford izzit good enuf for servicing i always retell people the same story how my dad bought fiesta...my dad was considering vios or city for good resale value....but i told him fiesta is better...he went to showroom...was impressed with the specs (voice control, phone etc.)...still doubting? we went behind to see the colours available....there he met his friend...who just bought a fiesta...she told us...she went to see vios and city but walked away because there weren't as good...that confirmed it for my dad =) actually ford resale value is going up...it is after all the most improved brand in malaysia...fiesta getting more common too...resale values are sure to go up
confuzan
Aug 24 2011, 09:33 AM
mine was revving at 2.8k as well and it won't change gears unless i step on it.
@danny_sp15 i've said it before, she doesn't like to be driven slow! but i can't help it when i'm driving in the parking lots...
alexng2208
Aug 24 2011, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(John91 @ Aug 23 2011, 11:20 PM) Its normal... but thanks to the throttle controller I can change gears at 1.9k rpm easily... though I don't use that all the time, cuz driving slow SUCKS! LOL... your car already looks fast while standing still, so u must drive fast as well