10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

What 1080p Movie did You Watch Today?, Its supposed to be a midnite...

AVFAN
post Aug 22 2013, 07:25 PM

24,454 posts

can't go wrong with hot fav jj abrams production. like i salute his work on 5-seasons syfy tv series fringe, star trek into darkness is good; i'll rank into darkness among the best in the series of 12 movies since 1979's star trek the motion picture. as expected no star trek story can be complete w/o a short appearance of pointy ear vulcan leonard "spock" nimoy. enjoy! thumbup.gif

ironman3 is good too. some light humur. it'll be harder to do ironman 4 w/o using a thousand ironmen!

last word - these 2 movies, best to watch in good grade 7.1 or 5.1 - the audio is superb.
AVFAN
post Aug 24 2013, 06:07 PM

24,454 posts

one light entertaining movie for the weekend. enjoyed it!

now you see me - magicians and robin hoods... biggrin.gif

AVFAN
post Sep 2 2013, 12:13 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(sherr127 @ Sep 2 2013, 12:04 PM)
SWITCH (2013 )

the reviews were so bad that i din bother...

QUOTE(fluotone @ Sep 2 2013, 07:33 AM)
Hammer of Gods happy.gif

this one... maybe exepcted too much, ended with nothing. biggrin.gif

a couple others are pretty much waste of time, not recommend - suddenly 2103 (ray liotta, dominic purcell), killing season (travolta, deniro).

hope fast n furious 6 will be good!
AVFAN
post Sep 5 2013, 11:42 AM

24,454 posts

wwz is a terrifying tale. u b glued to yr seat for 2 hrs. biggrin.gif again, execellent audio, best to watch it in dtshdma 5.1/7.1.

one thing, this show is pretty much all brad pitt, a bit of mireille enos (tv series - the killing), a glimpse of david morse (contact, hurt locker) and a flash of matthew fox (tv series - lost)

AVFAN
post Sep 5 2013, 07:52 PM

24,454 posts

furious6 is faster than fast5 and very furious! biggrin.gif incredible car chases, puts diehard2 to shame. enjoy, esp the audio!

my ranking for the top 5 in 2013:

1. star trek into darkness
2. world war z
3. furious 6
4. oblivion
5. ironman 3

will see if elysium will beat all of them! smile.gif

AVFAN
post Sep 8 2013, 11:28 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(chanhin @ Sep 8 2013, 12:24 AM)
Yeah... Just finished watching it. Not bad... But I do not like the concept where the zombie can run so fast...  sweat.gif
maybe a change from the usual slow moving undead. imagine dogs with a super rabies strain! biggrin.gif in the event of a sequel, we may yet see chickens and ducks fly as a result of a super strain of h1n1! sweat.gif

here's 2 movies that are not blockbusters but are not bad at all:

disconnect 2012.... a current day real possibility. recommended for unsuspecting adults and parents with teenage kids - how chat rooms and time spend on the internet can result in unintended crimes n tragedies for the victims.

sharknado 2013.... as the name suggests, it's about tornadoes with sharks! silly n bad as it may be, it is highly entertaining, made me laugh from start to finish. a great way to spend 1.5hrs if u have the time!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 8 2013, 12:06 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 8 2013, 07:00 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Sep 8 2013, 12:17 PM)
Fast & Furious 6 (2013)

Let me get one thing straight, the Fast and Furious is never my favorite franchise...

agree... i think the first 4 were much of a nox fast car racer show plus some romance and adventure.

f5 n f6 from new director justin lin took an action, audience winning approach - fast cars n big time crime.

it's like how diehard1 was conceived - crime is not interesting to the viewer until it comes with gunshots, missiles, choppers n bigtime explosions. biggrin.gif

rewind this is one nostaligic documentary for vhs collectors. interesting enuf, about the beginning of home theater, home video, movie buffs (like us tongue.gif )...the prediction is all media - vhs, dvd, br , even hdd, all will go obsolete. everything will be stored n available to be streamed anytime u want it in the future. nice for next gen - just when i tot it's good to keep some for my kids!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 8 2013, 07:01 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 9 2013, 05:38 PM

24,454 posts

boy... watched the last 30min of furious6 again n realized a couple of things. i luv this movie. biggrin.gif

that "highway-tank" was shot in tenerife, one of the spanish canary islands, i've been there!

the "plane takeoff-crash" was showing off the largest cargo plane on earth, a soviet antonov 225. the landing gear was shown several times, but was it really an antonov 225? ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 9 2013, 05:38 PM
AVFAN
post Sep 10 2013, 09:39 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Sep 9 2013, 07:00 PM)

nice! thanks.
QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 10 2013, 08:18 AM)
movies like wwz, ff6, ironman3 makes it worth spending so much on subs. and looking at the trend of improved bass content in 2013, makes it even more worthwhile to invest in a good low frequency setup capable of handling ulf.
absolutely! ulf from a good sub delievers dtshdma best. i think it makes all the diference, makes a mediocre movie into a good one! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 10 2013, 03:50 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(ttleng @ Sep 10 2013, 11:30 AM)
Spotted error in this movie...there is no shadow of the man which jump off the tank..
actually, i dun remember seeing that shot with that angle in the movie...

the pic was taken from some website, probably doctored! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Sep 10 2013, 09:50 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Sep 10 2013, 08:27 PM)
thumbup.gif

The Colony. Any good? You tak da comment pun!!?!

I'm surprise you did not mention Now You See Me!!
i found the colony no good, despite having bill paxton.

watched errors of the human body - b grade, no good.
AVFAN
post Sep 16 2013, 06:17 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 16 2013, 02:34 PM)
What, you only just watched The Usual Suspects?!?!

Brilliant movie eh? Long live Keyser Söze.  smile.gif

Another one I like from the same era is LA Confidential.
usual suspects and la confidential are superb crime thrillers of their time.
i re-watched both a couple of months ago.
two others of the same genre and era are negotiator and seven - these 4 films have one thing in common - kevin spacey at his best!
AVFAN
post Sep 16 2013, 06:23 PM

24,454 posts

if you enjoyed hangover and hangover2, you'll probably like this is the end. not the best show for me but it's quite humurous and entertaining, albeit a bit vulgar and silly, like hangover. it got high ratings from rotten tomatoes, though.

cold eyes is quite a good korean crime thriller. most impressive is the lead actor jung woo-sung. at the end of the show, simon yam turns up - not clear if it means a sequel is in the making or it's giving him patronage as he was the lead actor in the original hk version, eye-in-the-sky 2007.

AVFAN
post Sep 19 2013, 01:36 AM

24,454 posts

after earth is good, i like it.

father n son team will and jaden smith in a shyamalan post apocalyptic syfy flick.

it is a little different from the usual syfy blockbusters, and certainly has that shyamalan "quiet eerie" touch to it.

syfy fans, do not miss it!

AVFAN
post Sep 19 2013, 09:44 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Sep 19 2013, 02:33 AM)
Hmmm...

I remember liking the production design (very organic), but not so much the storyline...

It did not make sense...

ya, main story is not all that believable but i did like some of the lesser futuristic ideas, enough to keep me interested all the way. will smith wrote the story, i think.

there's another one called syfy flick called "another earth", think last year - this one is crap!
AVFAN
post Sep 23 2013, 10:28 AM

24,454 posts

hangover 3, the final in the trilogy is... disappointing... in that it is only 1/2 as hilarious n outrageous as hangover and hangover 2.

well, if you had followed the first 2, then will probably want to watch this mild comedy about redemption n closure.

AVFAN
post Sep 27 2013, 01:38 AM

24,454 posts

curse of chucky is the 6th film in child's play series over 25 years.

low budget, old fashioned classic eerie horror and terror. not bad! biggrin.gif

wonder if they will remake nightmare on elm street and/or friday 13th. used to enjoy freddy krueger and jason voorhees! laugh.gif

AVFAN
post Sep 28 2013, 01:21 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(sherr127 @ Sep 27 2013, 11:10 AM)
And there was remake for both...Freddy Vs Jason..haha
this one, i watched, poor.

the rest, just checked, bad reviews, so will not bother!

freddy vs jason, aliens vs predators and soon... superman vs batman?

next, terminator vs x-men?! laugh.gif

another strange thing going on with movie makers... you get abraham lincoln as vampire slayer. i just starting watching sleepy hollow (tv series) which has george washington battling bad witches. wonder if next will be stalin or mao going after werewolves. sweat.gif
AVFAN
post Oct 2 2013, 05:07 PM

24,454 posts

pacific rim... good, as good as battleship! i watched it in 1080p dolby 5.1, will rewatch in dtshdma when available.

maybe i watched too much syfy but i saw bits of pieces of transformers-ironman-godzilla-blade runner-alien/prometheus-matrix revolutions... all in one!! biggrin.gif

AVFAN
post Oct 8 2013, 12:26 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(sherr127 @ Oct 8 2013, 11:17 AM)
The Lone Ranger(2013)

I dont know,maybe its just me but i dont really like this movie,it feels like watching pirates of the caribbean with different costume and johnny depp still engaged with jack sparrow character...i dont get it even though i watch it late night with full concentration.
To release my frustration i watch another movie at 1am..

agree, tonto is very much jack sparrow!

this show is not good in that it does make much a hero out of the lone ranger.

not sure what to call this show except light comedy.

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0501sec    0.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:56 AM