10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

What 1080p Movie did You Watch Today?, Its supposed to be a midnite...

AVFAN
post Nov 10 2013, 10:20 AM

24,454 posts

wolverine 2013 is not bad but is certainly not in the regular x-men category. i will probably not remember much of the show except for the physics defying scene on a moving fast train which bear some resemblance with the long highway chase scene in matrix reloaded.

enjoy it, while waiting for x-men days of future past!

AVFAN
post Nov 13 2013, 12:33 AM

24,454 posts

rock n rollers, you need to get this! as good as led zeppelin's celebration day! thumbup.gif

Hyde Park Live is a live concert film by The Rolling Stones, released in 2013. It was recorded at Hyde Park, London on July 6 and 13, 2013 during the band's 50 and Counting Tour.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 13 2013, 12:35 AM
AVFAN
post Nov 20 2013, 06:33 PM

24,454 posts

this must be the best action comedy i have watched in years!

red2 is worth watching, better than red. btw, red = retired extremely dangerous.

very nice to see the old, famous and bald guys in action. either they played hero or psychopath or assassin before, these guys made my day - bruce willis, john malkovich, anthony hopkins, brain cox, helen mirren, catherine zeta jones. and add our korean star byung-hun Lee of iris and gi joe's storm shadow fame.

i look forward to red3! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 20 2013, 06:38 PM
AVFAN
post Nov 27 2013, 12:15 AM

24,454 posts

elysium is good, enjoyed it. some futuristic deadly weapons, armor and gadgets to ponder over besides the humanitarian and class issues humans struggle with.

matt damon, once again, is superb. a bit of jason bourne comes out in the show.
jodie foster's bit was somewhat subdued but was nice to see her again after a long time.
now that she's starting to break bad, would be interesting to see if she'll next do a psychopath role, opoosite to what she did as a cop in silence of the lambs long time ago!
director is not so famous, except for district 9.

AVFAN
post Nov 29 2013, 03:45 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 27 2013, 09:50 PM)
Upscaled to 4K to extended HDTV via thunderbolt cable
is this media playback or streaming?

if streaming, interested to know:

.. which player - android, ios...?
.. is audio really dtshdma 5.1?
.. paid or free app?
.. what broadband speed in use?
.. can explain what is "Upscaled to 4K to extended HDTV via thunderbolt cable"?

thanks, we r all very interested!

AVFAN
post Nov 29 2013, 05:36 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 29 2013, 04:29 PM)
its a playback from macbook air to HDTV as extended display via thunderbolt cable. The extended display has been upscaled to 4K (click on the picture for original screenshot in 4K resolution)

Only with thunderbolt -hdmi cable i can get more than 5.1 multichannel sound (DTS/DD/DTSHDMA/DD TrueHD) to my 7.2 ch AVR, if airplay via appleTV only 3.1ch

it's common for movies from DailyFlix with 1080p DTS5.1 or DD5.1 but DDtrueHD or DTSHDMA only from the download coz the file is big (This Elysium is 10GB) The original seeder claimed it's 7.1 but XBMC detected only DTSHDMA 5.1, i doubt it is 7.1 too coz the file for bluray movie 7.1 DTSHDMA easily more than 25GB
try using volume controller from tv/ avr/ remote control/ pc keyboard or whatever device u r using with xbmc installed
alright, thanks for explanation. i was very curious if one can actually stream such a big and heavy file!

learned something new about thunderbolt and 4k. impressive that macbookair can do this as i have only just started to mess around with ipad airplay! biggrin.gif

oh... elysium... the available bdmv file is 41.1gb, dtshdma 7.1 confirmed. thumbup.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 29 2013, 06:04 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Nov 29 2013, 06:00 PM)
wow, i gotta try that! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Dec 6 2013, 11:32 PM

24,454 posts

lack of good new shows lately, been watching tv series more and then... this one came up.

ghost in the shell arise: border 2 ghost whispers is the 2nd in a 4-episode saga. 1st was ghost pain, 3rd one coming called ghost tears.

1080p dd5.1, excellent.

this is a reboot of the orginal ghost in the shell or gits tv series and 3 movies. very well known for its techiness in cyberpunk syfy. if you like syfy and japanese anime, this is the ultimate!

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 6 2013, 11:33 PM
AVFAN
post Dec 11 2013, 07:09 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Avatar1975 @ Dec 11 2013, 04:49 PM)
9/12/2013
The Colony

not good.
many new crap movies these days. colony is one of them!

frozen ground (nicholas cage, john cusak) is poor. so is 2 guns (denzel washington, mark wahlberg).

i dun even wanna watch the family (robert deniro, michelle pfeiffer) seeing a 3 stars only rating.

i try to watch at least 3.5 stars given by rotten tomatoes.

the only decent one lately, imo, is prisoners (hugh jackman).

been watching more 720p tv series these days...

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 11 2013, 07:12 PM
AVFAN
post Dec 12 2013, 12:03 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(sotong168 @ Dec 11 2013, 01:02 PM)
Unbeatable (激戰) for tonite thumbup.gif
i dun really like boxing as a sports movie, not even the very old rocky's!

but this one is not bad, very watchable. some good fighters, good fight scenes.

taiwanese-canadian actor eddy peng did well, looks like he'll be going places.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 12 2013, 12:05 AM
AVFAN
post Dec 24 2013, 10:38 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 22 2013, 05:15 PM)
the-place-beyond-the-pines.

watched that quite some time ago. yes, quite a nice show.

Young Detective Dee: Rise of the Sea Dragon is a prequel to detective dee: mystery of the phantom flame. another tsui hark masterpiece. impressive special effects, animation, wire stunts and dts audio. also a couple of new taiwanese and korean actors besides feng shaofeng.

donnie yen's special id is not so good. a lot of street fighting but poor acting in a stale gangster-undercover cop story...

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Dec 24 2013, 10:39 AM
AVFAN
post Jan 2 2014, 07:38 PM

24,454 posts

i am not an f1 racing fan but i do enjoy fast and furious series of movies (rip paul walker....)

this one called rush 2013 is not fast and furious but is serious f1 racing - a real story and intense drama about champions niki lauda and james hunt in f1 1976.

if you remember niki lauda, james hunt (played by chris hemsworth aka "thor"), richard burton, the phonograph, bell bottoms and music of slade, you'll like this one as i did. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 2 2014, 07:40 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 4 2014, 12:49 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Dec 29 2013, 05:11 PM)

3/5
just watched this...

could have been like zero dark thirty or a jason bourne thriller but it's not.

i give it 2.5/5. biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 11 2014, 05:48 PM

24,454 posts

captain phillips 2013... intense drama, fair display of military hardware, suspenseful music, good tom hanks performance, but little action.... 3.5/5.

carrie 2013... lots of pyts, good support from julianne moore, great dts audio, reasonable remake of an old blockbuster. well, before jean gray, there was carrie white. biggrin.gif 3.5/5.

riddick 2013... somehow, i found this one stale, poor compared to pitch black and chronicles of riddick. 3/5.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 11 2014, 05:57 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 12 2014, 01:09 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jan 11 2014, 10:26 PM)
Been busy with Battlestar Galactica the complete series on Bluray, just done season 3, last one to go
this re-imagined bsg full seasons is excellent, enjoyed it totally. better than star trek series, imo. one of 2 best syfy in recent years in my view. the other one is fringe.

crime/thrillers, i say 24, breaking bad and homeland (on-going) to be best of the best.

these are tv series, not movies but watching them in hd/dolby is just as good!
AVFAN
post Jan 13 2014, 11:03 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Jan 12 2014, 11:00 PM)
I t0rr3nt3d that one
is it faster via xbmc? how many gb that file, how long it took u, what broadband speed u on?

i wud hv tot it's faster with utorrent. and get dts rather than dolby ones.
AVFAN
post Jan 13 2014, 08:31 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Mikeyz @ Jan 13 2014, 07:56 PM)
Yes I agree with you, for me the most trilling series is 24, really one of the best series.
Another series similar to Battlestar Galactica would be Stargate Universe but unfortunately they terminate the series production and I think no Bluray set for it, sadly
stargate universe was bit slow, din get good viewership so it was stopped. but I quite like it.
original stargate series was better, watched all seasons till end.
but stargate atlantis was poor, din like it.
very possible stargate reimagined will return, like bsg and star trek.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jan 13 2014, 08:32 PM
AVFAN
post Jan 14 2014, 12:28 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(carbonfibre @ Jan 13 2014, 10:37 PM)
Hehe just got my new tv. Wanna test it out. Streaming from my Mac via HDMI
Any suggestions on where to download awesome bluray movies ? Got unifi so I don't mind downloading instead of buying since I don't have a bluray player
Ask all you pros a question , if I watch bluray on my Mac vs buy bluray use bluray player got difference ah ?
And do you guys have a fav video player to watch your bluray on the computer ? I use VLC only..
well... it's not so straightfoward as TV+Mac=bluray movies.
vlc does not handle bluray files, but i dunno if yr mac has something else that does.
what u want to know and get going can't be explained in a few lines.
and certain things aren't to be discussed in detail in public as it may amount to advocating piracy.
best you find a fren or neighbor to show you or even set it up for you.
or there may be other threads offering help on this...?

now back to movies, i guess... biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Jan 15 2014, 07:09 PM

24,454 posts

last vegas is reasonably humurous. if u liked hangover 1 and 2 (3 is not so good), u'll laugh quite a bit with this one meant for an older age group. nice to see michael douglas-robert deniro-morgan freeman-kevin kline in this show. 3/5.

this sequel is not as good as the first one. 2.5/5
AVFAN
post Jan 24 2014, 06:31 PM

24,454 posts

escape plan is very watchable. they still can't get stallone out of that daylight (which i say is an excellent movie) stunt and schwarzenegger's terminator guns. biggrin.gif

not the best prison break story but entertaining enough. more so with jim caviezel as the warden and supporting stars vincent donofrio and sam neill.

3.5/5

10 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0680sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:32 AM