Just rejected from citibank..
they said for expat.. need annual salary 100k..
but in their website, didn't mentioned about that.. *angry*
Recommendation for Credit Cards V1, TQ to contributors ! (From MOD)
Jul 24 2012, 11:23 PM
322 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: Bangi |
Just rejected from citibank..
they said for expat.. need annual salary 100k.. but in their website, didn't mentioned about that.. *angry* |
Jul 24 2012, 11:24 PM
1,499 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Thanks a lot Gen-X and Human nature ...
I know about the charge of GST, just that i didn't see HSBC charge me on annual fees but GST, so Mix up on GST replaced annual fees, my bad Thanks again to both of you! |
Jul 26 2012, 12:16 AM
6 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Utara Malaysia. |
1. Annual Income: RM24K to RM30K
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: If possible. 3. Card required for: Emergency payments for the car and house stuffs. 4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil. 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Don't really have any. 6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K. These are my infos. Anything to suggest? Thanks in advance. |
Jul 26 2012, 12:22 AM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
26,532 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jul 26 2012, 04:52 AM
Mane la tau if tetiba my car ade problem, got to pay a lot but no money in hand. My mother's washing machine just died also, and I want to buy a new one for her. Simply put: in case of any emergency la... Non-emergency also got, but limited to buying things like home furniture or buying tickets online.
Any recommendations? :-? |
Jul 26 2012, 08:45 AM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(wzeroc @ Jul 26 2012, 12:16 AM) 1. Annual Income: RM24K to RM30K 2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: If possible. 3. Card required for: Emergency payments for the car and house stuffs. 4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil. 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Don't really have any. 6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K. These are my infos. Anything to suggest? Thanks in advance. QUOTE(wzeroc @ Jul 26 2012, 04:52 AM) Mane la tau if tetiba my car ade problem, got to pay a lot but no money in hand. My mother's washing machine just died also, and I want to buy a new one for her. Simply put: in case of any emergency la... Non-emergency also got, but limited to buying things like home furniture or buying tickets online. Bro, car problem and no money in hand (in the bank too) is not emergency la. Tangguh. Take public transport and when save enough go repair car. Anyway, the car repair won't be much if you driving a Jap car; and, if you foresee this may be a problem then you should start saving now. Like our leaders always say, adjust our lifestyle On the other hand, if you mean when balik kampung and suddenly car breakdown on the highway and need to be repaired, then that's an emergency. I am assuming you meant this situation because your monthly expenses is less than half your salary and as such you should have lots of money stash somewhere As for washing machine for your mum, yah, that's an emergency. We cannot let our mother to "suffer". So for your case any credit card also can since your requirements is just for making payments. For convenience sake, apply with the bank you have savings account or where your salary is credited. Actually any Visa or MasterCard Debit Card also will serve the same purpose for making payments. Click here to my article on Entry Level Credit Cards to see what cards you are eligible. And since you are new to credit cards, I recommend you read my series of articles for Credit Card Newbies by clicking here to the prelude If your salary is close to RM30K, pump petrol at places that accept AMEX (go check), do shopping at (JJ, Tesco, Giant and Mydin) on Saturday and Sunday. then go apply Maybankard 2 Cards and your mum's washing machine will be almost free in a year's time with your essential expenses. In my links above, you will see many links to my review of the Maybankard 2 Cards. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 26 2012, 09:36 PM |
Jul 26 2012, 01:16 PM
298 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Recently changed a job that going to travel frequently. I already have the best rebate cards, just wondering if it is worth to apply new card for travel.
1. Annual Income: >RM100K 2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: If possible 3. Card required for: Travel expenses (hotel, airfare overseas transaction) 4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybankard 2 Cards, OCBC Titanium, Citibank Platinum master 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Not really 6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Rm2-4K Thanks in advance. This post has been edited by hcstwb: Jul 26 2012, 01:17 PM |
Jul 26 2012, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(hcstwb @ Jul 26 2012, 01:16 PM) Recently changed a job that going to travel frequently. I already have the best rebate cards, just wondering if it is worth to apply new card for travel. Your Maybankard 2 Cards should be fine and the other cards as back up. But if you want enter airport lounge, then different story 1. Annual Income: >RM100K 2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: If possible 3. Card required for: Travel expenses (hotel, airfare overseas transaction) 4. Existing credit cards if any: Maybankard 2 Cards, OCBC Titanium, Citibank Platinum master 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Not really 6. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Rm2-4K Thanks in advance. |
Jul 26 2012, 01:45 PM
298 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jul 26 2012, 01:40 PM) Your Maybankard 2 Cards should be fine and the other cards as back up. But if you want enter airport lounge, then different story Hmm... read your post on Citibank Premiermiles and platinum. I think unless i need the 2 priority passes annually, otherwise my Citibank platinum master should able to cover the airport lounge in KLIA and LCCT, though I don't think I be using this benefit frequently as I always travel with colleagues. |
Jul 26 2012, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(hcstwb @ Jul 26 2012, 01:45 PM) Hmm... read your post on Citibank Premiermiles and platinum. I think unless i need the 2 priority passes annually, otherwise my Citibank platinum master should able to cover the airport lounge in KLIA and LCCT, though I don't think I be using this benefit frequently as I always travel with colleagues. Bro, what you mentioned above is true. Hope your colleagues don't have PPM cards too.Anyway, if you take taxi from KLIA, the Citi PremierMiles can be of some use until 28 November this year. |
Jul 26 2012, 08:31 PM
Thanks, Gen-X bro! Read your articles already, but was just wondering from which bank should i apply for a CC. If better from bank where my gaji masuk, ok la tu.
Actually, I can understand your articles, but some quite panjang. Can i suggest you list the main points in some of your articles? Some people like TLDR version, but good articles nonetheless. Thanks again, bro! |
Jul 26 2012, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(wzeroc @ Jul 26 2012, 08:31 PM) Thanks, Gen-X bro! Read your articles already, but was just wondering from which bank should i apply for a CC. If better from bank where my gaji masuk, ok la tu. Bro, for convenience sake, get a credit card that allows you to make payment easily. But, you have to decide for yourself which card is best based on where you spend your money and what you need the card for.Actually, I can understand your articles, but some quite panjang. Can i suggest you list the main points in some of your articles? Some people like TLDR version, but good articles nonetheless. Thanks again, bro! You want short version in point form go the bank website where they only highlight the pros but not the cons (you got to read the Terms and Conditions to understand fully what the card is all about) This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jul 26 2012, 10:03 PM |
Jul 28 2012, 02:59 PM
9 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
1. Annual Income: RM33K.
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must. 3. Card required for: Cash Back/Rebate Only, Reward Point or any other benefits. 4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil. 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: No preferred choice. 6. Others: I want cash back, reward point or any other benefits. 7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K. |
Jul 28 2012, 03:06 PM
QUOTE(tzejingtan @ Jul 28 2012, 02:59 PM) 1. Annual Income: RM33K. Hi, you did not mention much about your spending pattern. Looking at you want cash back and reward points, there is no other better card than Maybank 2 cards (amex + visa/mastercard). You get 5% rebate for weekend spending (capped att RM50 per month), and 5x points everyday using amex. Free for life.2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must. 3. Card required for: Cash Back/Rebate Only, Reward Point or any other benefits. 4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil. 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: No preferred choice. 6. Others: I want cash back, reward point or any other benefits. 7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Less than RM1K. |
Jul 29 2012, 02:51 PM
9 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jul 28 2012, 03:06 PM) Hi, you did not mention much about your spending pattern. Looking at you want cash back and reward points, there is no other better card than Maybank 2 cards (amex + visa/mastercard). You get 5% rebate for weekend spending (capped att RM50 per month), and 5x points everyday using amex. Free for life. Thanks for your quick reply =D. My spending pattern errr....I plan to use it to pay for the utilities fees and maybe some purchases that below RM200 that not that frequent as I don't shopping every month hehe. So my intention was use credit card to pay all these instead of using cash or e-banking, then I can earn some reward point for redemption. capped att RM50 per month means every month max can rebate for RM50 only? |
Jul 29 2012, 03:11 PM
176 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
1. Annual Income: RM100k
2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: preferred but not a priority 3. Card required for: petrol, online purchase, dining, bills 4. Existing credit cards if any: BSN Visa 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: ?Maybank 2 cards 6. Others: Looking for CC that gives lots of benefits... (continuous promotion,discounts, etc.) 7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Should be around 1k.. |
Jul 29 2012, 03:25 PM
QUOTE(tzejingtan @ Jul 29 2012, 02:51 PM) Thanks for your quick reply =D. My spending pattern errr....I plan to use it to pay for the utilities fees and maybe some purchases that below RM200 that not that frequent as I don't shopping every month hehe. So my intention was use credit card to pay all these instead of using cash or e-banking, then I can earn some reward point for redemption. capped att RM50 per month means every month max can rebate for RM50 only? Yup, monthly RM50 only. That is why most of us here usually have OCBC ti which gives another up to RM50. However, you mention that your spending usually less than 1k, thus getting just one card is sufficient for the moment. Take note that amex is not as widely accepted as mastercard/visa. OCBC ti gives 5% for all utility, groceries, dining and petrols. 1% for others. Your call.add: you may wanna have a look at UOB one card and Hong Leong Mach for comparison too. Added on July 29, 2012, 3:31 pm QUOTE(maiffa71 @ Jul 29 2012, 03:11 PM) 1. Annual Income: RM100k If you mostly spend on weekends, Maybank 2 cards Amex would do you good whereby you can get cashback up to RM50 monthly. The only setback is, the acceptance is not as wide as mastercard/visa. You get 5x points everyday too.2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: preferred but not a priority 3. Card required for: petrol, online purchase, dining, bills 4. Existing credit cards if any: BSN Visa 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: ?Maybank 2 cards 6. Others: Looking for CC that gives lots of benefits... (continuous promotion,discounts, etc.) 7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: Should be around 1k.. Another option is the OCBC Ti which offers up to 5% cashback for all dining, petrol, utility and groceries. 1% for others. No reward points though. Maybank offers more promo and discount compared to OCBC, but still cant compete Citibank or standard chartered here. This post has been edited by Human Nature: Jul 29 2012, 05:50 PM |
Jul 30 2012, 08:04 AM
4,524 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: ~Still finding the place~ |
Hi all,
Planning to cancel my UOB One Credit Card and apply another bank credit card if there is any better compare with it.. 1. Annual Income: RM48 to RM55K 2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes 3. Card required for: Mostly use for insurance auto debit, Petrol, Movie, Pay bills... 4. Existing credit cards if any: UOB One Credit Card 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Considering Maybankard 2 Cards 6. Others: Please be specific. Prefer a widely available bank unlike Citibank. 7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM1K to RM1.5K This post has been edited by Lineage: Jul 30 2012, 08:05 AM |
Jul 30 2012, 08:18 AM
1,573 posts Joined: Sep 2010 |
QUOTE(Lineage @ Jul 30 2012, 08:04 AM) Hi all, Refer to the previous post, OCBC Titanium + Mbb2 Cards is a best combo card at town right now.Planning to cancel my UOB One Credit Card and apply another bank credit card if there is any better compare with it.. 1. Annual Income: RM48 to RM55K 2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes 3. Card required for: Mostly use for insurance auto debit, Petrol, Movie, Pay bills... 4. Existing credit cards if any: UOB One Credit Card 5. Preferred Bank or Considering CC from banks: Considering Maybankard 2 Cards 6. Others: Please be specific. Prefer a widely available bank unlike Citibank. 7. Estimated Spending per month with the card: RM1K to RM1.5K You may refer to the specific thread for both card for more informations. |
Jul 30 2012, 08:21 AM
824 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Office / Home |
is a trap... dont use any credit card~!
| Change to: | 0.0336sec