looking for contractor, to start in aug 2011

TSkochin
post Jul 26 2011, 02:39 PM, updated 15y ago

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

Dear All,
After trying but unsuccessfully to get more contacts, i'm posing this to all for comments and also to exercise pre-qualification of contractors.
Attached please find a very brief and crude list done by myself to facilitate my very soon undertaking of renovation to my property in PJ.
The existing owner is moving out and handing over the key to me this saturday. Hence would appreciate for those who wish to participate to PM me for arrangement to view the unit and subsequently quote/revise your pricing to me.

Target to commence : ASAP. Can be next week too. icon_rolleyes.gif
Target to complete : Mid-November. Earlier if possible.

Am open to comments and adjustment where applicable.

So far some of the names I'd gathered from here includes the following:
1. Mr. Hor, reco from Law of BU, PJ
2. Mr. Sam, reco from Derek of Kota Kemuning
3. Mr. Steven from Eca-Do
4. Mr. Steven dunno from who and where but different number from no. 3
5. Desmond Wong of UNICON
6. Kenny dunno from who and where
7. Reno Teng dunno from who and where
8. vinns by zhelwaine (from plumbing only, right)
9. Kelvin, maxim concept

zhelwaine, you open 7 days a week kah and what time?

thanks all.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  reno_bq___plans.pdf ( 1.34mb ) Number of downloads: 312
wrb7878
post Jul 26 2011, 02:59 PM

843 posts

wow....u plan to get so many contractor to compare?
i m just get 1-3 contractor...i m also tired of it...need to arrange them come to visit on diff time...wait their quotation.....almost spend 2 month time.

Added on July 26, 2011, 2:59 pmzhelwaine shop close on SUNDAY...he need dating also ...bro..haha

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Jul 26 2011, 02:59 PM
TSkochin
post Jul 26 2011, 03:18 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

thanks. i intend to call about 5 max.
if the first 3 i call is already up to my budget and expectation, then close shop lor.
here is just shortlisting and pre-q mah.
then i invite the short listed for final quote lor.
thanks.
wrb7878
post Jul 26 2011, 03:55 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 26 2011, 03:18 PM)
thanks. i intend to call about 5 max.
if the first 3 i call is already up to my budget and expectation, then close shop lor.
here is just shortlisting and pre-q mah.
then i invite the short listed for final quote lor.
thanks.
if u dont rush to move in and have time...why not? can call all contractor.....sometimes is not the price diff only.
u can learn a lot from diff contractor comment.....

but end up..i give to the most expensive quotation....i choose him from his attitude and the way he explain to me.
and so far no complaint on him...he din even ask any deposit after start the work for 1 week. i ask him need to pay o not...he just ask me to pay a bit.... rclxms.gif
weikee
post Jul 26 2011, 03:57 PM

12,019 posts

Cheaper does not mean the best. Got lots of hidden cost involve.
Is good to get more, so you learn more.

wrb7878
post Jul 26 2011, 04:01 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 26 2011, 03:57 PM)
true also...so far all within my control and budget...no extra hidden cost involve.

Added on July 26, 2011, 4:02 pmFor the paint, i got 1.5K, 2K and 2.5K not included the paint...so this is hard to choose.....all indo worker.

This post has been edited by wrb7878: Jul 26 2011, 04:02 PM
weikee
post Jul 26 2011, 04:28 PM

12,019 posts

Kochin,

You got the approval permit already?

Your optional 4,5,6 will sure MPPJ come over and ask for permit. If no permit you may get stop work order, summon, or TEH BOH money.

TSkochin
post Jul 26 2011, 04:29 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

the only downside is i got time constraint.
need to move in ASAP.
preferably no later than November 2011.

weikee,
the optional items remains as option. am well aware that i can't proceed with my lounge and foyer extension without the permit. but i can do the balcony on the porch roof without permit.

thanks for all feedbacks and sadly nobody PM me.
haih!
weikee
post Jul 26 2011, 04:42 PM

12,019 posts

By 30th Nov or 1st Nov? 30 days make lots of difference.

Looking at your requirements, a full time committed contract should be able to do it.
kingkong1
post Jul 26 2011, 05:04 PM

636 posts

I started to get quote in Feb, but the work only start in end May. Permit cost me 5 weeks, IDs cost another month.
TSkochin
post Jul 26 2011, 07:47 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

bro kingkong,
my work if you look closely is not that extensive.
merely 3 bathroom and touching up of the flooring.
the conversion of lounge to bedroom is sap sap sui to most contractor.
my most headache could be my plumbing and external waterproofing and cladding only.
my back-up plan, do the not so important ones later AFTER i moved in first.
thanks for your advise.
igreen.reno
post Jul 26 2011, 08:09 PM

106 posts

here here!
StevenL
post Jul 26 2011, 11:22 PM

732 posts

Errr.............chinese calendar next month refer to ghost festival i think, so do u still wanna start reno??
weikee
post Jul 26 2011, 11:34 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(StevenL @ Jul 26 2011, 11:22 PM)
Errr.............chinese calendar next month refer to ghost festival i think, so do u still wanna start reno??
The contractor still need to eat.
TSkochin
post Jul 26 2011, 11:47 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

already factored in puasa and ghost festival.
my items are not that extensive actually and doable if the contractor is organised.
my estimation if proper planning is involved, should be a 1 month job.
worst case is 2.5months.
of course, the longer he stays at it, the less profit he gets lor.
maybe i should implement LAD system?
eclipse-space
post Jul 27 2011, 12:42 AM

174 posts

What is LAD system?
skng03
post Jul 27 2011, 01:23 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(eclipse-space @ Jul 27 2011, 12:42 AM)
What is LAD system?
http://www.boyesturner.com/news-article.html?id=66

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 26 2011, 11:47 PM)
already factored in puasa and ghost festival.
my items are not that extensive actually and doable if the contractor is organised.
my estimation if proper planning is involved, should be a 1 month job.
worst case is 2.5months.
of course, the longer he stays at it, the less profit he gets lor.
maybe i should implement LAD system?
bro,

reno work also want LAD system mer doh.gif doh.gif
better get the paper work/ contract right, stamping the contract document is a must lar if u want to implement this, also give chance for gov earn more $$$$
sl2007
post Jul 27 2011, 08:56 AM

285 posts

Bro,

Better don't put in LAD.. Actually LAD in terms of Contract Law works along with other terms and clauses..

Apart from that, if I were the contractor and foresee the timeframe is unrealistic then I will plunged in the LAD foresee..
weikee
post Jul 27 2011, 09:57 AM

12,019 posts

Only big firm will want to use that model, or renovation that go up few to few hundred thousand to Millions.

Maybe appoint WCT Engineering, Sun rise, Gamuda smile.gif

Don't forget to get Lawyer to sign, Malaysia Gov stamping and some other paper work too.
kingkong1
post Jul 27 2011, 10:08 AM

636 posts

There are many parameters involved where its values can change. If the contractor want to knock you, he sures has many opportunities to do so.

Most importance I think is still get a trustable, honest one and won't cut throat you when the VO arises.
Gary1981
post Jul 27 2011, 11:17 AM

1,610 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 26 2011, 02:39 PM)
Dear All,
After trying but unsuccessfully to get more contacts, i'm posing this to all for comments and also to exercise pre-qualification of contractors.
Attached please find a very brief and crude list done by myself to facilitate my very soon undertaking of renovation to my property in PJ.
The existing owner is moving out and handing over the key to me this saturday. Hence would appreciate for those who wish to participate to PM me for arrangement to view the unit and subsequently quote/revise your pricing to me.

Target to commence : ASAP. Can be next week too.  icon_rolleyes.gif

9. Kelvin, maxim concept

thanks all.
Great approach, the more the merrier. Look like tender lists, but where the price!..lolxx...later pls indicate successful contractor...smile.gif..
TSkochin
post Jul 27 2011, 11:28 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 27 2011, 09:57 AM)
Only big firm will want to use that model, or renovation that go up few to few hundred thousand to Millions.

Maybe appoint WCT Engineering, Sun rise, Gamuda smile.gif

Don't forget to get Lawyer to sign, Malaysia Gov stamping and some other paper work too.
oh, did i left out the part where it's SO is GDP Architects, COW from Arup, TYLin, SKM, Meinhardt, DPA, RSP, Seksan, EDP, NDY, Primetech, Valdun, SSP, etc.
PM is yet to be decided. Either Bovis or Turner.
Contract will be redrafted by JUBM with peer review from KPK.

WCT, Gamuda, MMC, Shimizu, Daewoo, Leighton have already expressed their interest to participate.

shakehead.gif
no play play. i only receive 2 interested party only. job too small, nobody want to do. maybe i need to start buying cangkul and spade to do myself.
sl2007
post Jul 27 2011, 01:19 PM

285 posts

Do u need DLS to assist.. tongue.gif
sue.chan
post Jul 27 2011, 01:24 PM

65 posts

kochin, you gotta call them. they wont call you.

u know what, even after i call them and they came to take measurement and all, they take forever to revert to me. as a customer i have to make numerous calls to chase for quotation and drawing and i must say this really put me off. upfront promise 1 week...then start giving excuses...

guess their biz are all very good. anyway, try sourcing from friends/relatives/colleagues. dont just rely on LYN.

mine is also a small job. i always make it a point to tell them first. i dont want to waste their time as well. i'm seeing one this evening. this person sounds impressive. will recommend to u if his service is good.
weikee
post Jul 27 2011, 01:24 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 27 2011, 11:28 AM)
oh, did i left out the part where it's SO is GDP Architects, COW from Arup, TYLin, SKM, Meinhardt, DPA, RSP, Seksan, EDP, NDY, Primetech, Valdun, SSP, etc.
PM is yet to be decided. Either Bovis or Turner.
Contract will be redrafted by JUBM with peer review from KPK.

WCT, Gamuda, MMC, Shimizu, Daewoo, Leighton have already expressed their interest to participate.

shakehead.gif
no play play. i only receive 2 interested party only. job too small, nobody want to do. maybe i need to start buying cangkul and spade to do myself.
I am preparing my pmi certification. Please hire me.
Skydrop
post Jul 27 2011, 02:15 PM

361 posts

If this is call small job, then those apartment & condo no need to find contractors already.

Just curious, if you are having different contractors for different works, who will start first?
TSkochin
post Jul 27 2011, 02:36 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 27 2011, 01:19 PM)
Do u need DLS to assist.. tongue.gif
dls and jubm same lah. or in QS term -ditto-

Added on July 27, 2011, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(sue.chan @ Jul 27 2011, 01:24 PM)
kochin, you gotta call them. they wont call you.

u know what, even after i call them and they came to take measurement and all, they take forever to revert to me. as a customer i have to make numerous calls to chase for quotation and drawing and i must say this really put me off. upfront promise 1 week...then start giving excuses...

guess their biz are all very good. anyway, try sourcing from friends/relatives/colleagues. dont just rely on LYN.

mine is also a small job. i always make it a point to tell them first. i dont want to waste their time as well. i'm seeing one this evening. this person sounds impressive. will recommend to u if his service is good.
do let me know if you come across good ones and do let me know which are the ones that have failed you. i blacklist them straight away from my list.
thanks.

Added on July 27, 2011, 2:38 pm
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 27 2011, 01:24 PM)
I am preparing my pmi certification. Please hire me.
on top of pmi, must come with the following for PM's criteria:
1. must have handled more than RM10b worth of GDV project in no more than 3 project
2. must have completed from start to finish one of the said project tongue.gif

Added on July 27, 2011, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(Skydrop @ Jul 27 2011, 02:15 PM)
If this is call small job, then those apartment & condo no need to find contractors already.

Just curious, if you are having different contractors for different works, who will start first?
in my case, i guess it will be:
1. the windows and doors if i'm replacing it because of interaction to walls at bathroom else it will be the pump and plumbing works
2. then the bathroom
3. then the lounge conversion to bedroom
4. polishing of timber and terazzo
5. painting
6. independant job is external tiling & balcony on top of porch

This post has been edited by kochin: Jul 27 2011, 02:40 PM
weikee
post Jul 27 2011, 02:46 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 27 2011, 02:36 PM)
on top of pmi, must come with the following for PM's criteria:
1. must have handled more than RM10b worth of GDV project in no more than 3 project
2. must have completed from start to finish one of the said project  tongue.gif
How about Perwaja Steel smile.gif
buzzle25
post Jul 27 2011, 03:13 PM

114 posts

wah, this is a bit like the MRT & LRT project ...
interesting...
Skydrop
post Jul 27 2011, 04:46 PM

361 posts

Hope you can find a good contractor soon. 2 months excluding raya and ghost month, by November..... sounds challenging to me. Still, all the best in your reno.
TSkochin
post Jul 27 2011, 04:58 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(buzzle25 @ Jul 27 2011, 03:13 PM)
wah, this is a bit like the MRT & LRT project ...
interesting...
wrong, this imho is a very very much more important project compared to the lrt and mrt.
and both these are already massive failure project.
lrt > massive delay. cost dunno yet.
mrt > not construct already budget blown. most expensive railway project in the world. cry.gif
sl2007
post Jul 27 2011, 06:31 PM

285 posts

Bro,

JUBM and DLS different le.. DLS is international firm while JUBM is local context.. Cos I'm ex-DLS from oversea.. Haha
TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 08:31 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

Some updates.
I'd invited the following for site visit this saturday at 3.30pm.
Contractors invited so far are
6. Kenny dunno from Nicole
9. Kelvin, maxim concept
10. Tim from i.green reno
11. Sittra from Kim Concept

Quite likely i'll be calling about 2-3 more either from or beyond LYN.
good luck guys and may the best tenderer win.

Added on July 28, 2011, 8:32 am
QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 27 2011, 06:31 PM)
Bro,

JUBM and DLS different le.. DLS is international firm while JUBM is local context.. Cos I'm ex-DLS from oversea.. Haha
bro. jubm and dls same staff, same address.
just different name but same company in malaysia.
they only have association with it.
i think dls also associated with pkt, right?
where are you with now?

This post has been edited by kochin: Jul 28 2011, 09:21 AM
igreen.reno
post Jul 28 2011, 08:41 AM

106 posts

brothers is igreen reno ... mad.gif
TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 09:21 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(igreen.reno @ Jul 28 2011, 08:41 AM)
brothers is igreen reno ... mad.gif
who knows there's another person by the name of tim and his company is irenogreen??
lol. just kidding.
nigelyap
post Jul 28 2011, 09:38 AM

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 28 2011, 08:31 AM)
Some updates.
9. Kelvin, maxim concept

where are you with now?
Hi, Can PM me all this Contractors contact? i am about to renovate my house also.
thank you.

sl2007
post Jul 28 2011, 09:54 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 28 2011, 08:31 AM)
Some updates.
9. Kelvin, maxim concept

where are you with now?
Agreed with you... Workforce are same anyhow is different entity.... DLS only associate with JUBM....

Where am I know, in LYN lo... hahahaha.... Just kidding, I'm forming my own Renovation Company..... biggrin.gif

TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 09:58 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 28 2011, 09:54 AM)
Agreed with you... Workforce are same anyhow is different entity.... DLS only associate with JUBM....

Where am I know, in LYN lo... hahahaha.... Just kidding, I'm forming my own Renovation Company..... biggrin.gif
not interested in this job leh? too small is it?
good luck boss.
QS turned renovator. sure kira until grass also cannot grow. hmm.gif
sl2007
post Jul 28 2011, 10:11 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 28 2011, 09:58 AM)
not interested in this job leh? too small is it?
good luck boss.
QS turned renovator. sure kira until grass also cannot grow. hmm.gif
Boss,

I wanted to quote but the problem the timing le.... I dun like Kira Untill grass cannot grow, that's why Make U-Turn become Kontrakto.... smile.gif
TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 10:18 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

what's wrong with the timing.
toilet reno, proven 19 days kawtim. workforce sufficient, my 3 bathroom should take no more than 21 days.
painting give them a week and that's the final thing to be done.
so one more month to do the rest of the work is very reasonable, no?
a good contractor makes money by completing projects fast and without defect.
project drag, lose opportunity cost, labour cost.
defect lose reputation, lose time, lose full collection.
with fast turnover, good quality. contractor will be swarmed with jobs full time. pricing of course will need to be fair lah.
sl2007
post Jul 28 2011, 10:22 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 28 2011, 10:18 AM)
what's wrong with the timing.
toilet reno, proven 19 days kawtim. workforce sufficient, my 3 bathroom should take no more than 21 days.
painting give them a week and that's the final thing to be done.
so one more month to do the rest of the work is very reasonable, no?
a good contractor makes money by completing projects fast and without defect.
project drag, lose opportunity cost, labour cost.
defect lose reputation, lose time, lose full collection.
with fast turnover, good quality. contractor will be swarmed with jobs full time. pricing of course will need to be fair lah.
Boss oh boss,

Contractor sure want to do it fast... Cos Time is Money.... smile.gif

But my problem, i'm not in KL currently... Only be back by next week lah.... Honestly speaking, I just glanced through your Quotation Document attached, emm a lot of queries required to sort-out... If got drawing, then easier lah....
TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 10:25 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

huh? my attachment comes with the drawing liao mah.
you come back next week not a problem.
as long as you give good price, good workmanship and good time can.

detailed drawing? tak ada lah boss. come site visit and agree on site cum contractor proposed and chop sign on the drawing, sui boh?
sl2007
post Jul 28 2011, 10:30 AM

285 posts

Boss,

Your attachment is layout nia.... I contact you when I'm back to KL next week la.... If tak jadi to quote you, lim teh oso can lo..... hahahaha
TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 10:49 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

to all suitors.
please take note of the this:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1952608

chinyen
post Jul 28 2011, 11:16 AM

754 posts

Dynamic Construction and Engineering
03-8948 2867
TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 11:20 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(chinyen @ Jul 28 2011, 11:16 AM)
Dynamic Construction and Engineering
03-8948 2867
how about more introduction of yourself and your company and maybe your mobile and name too?
thanks.
chinyen
post Jul 28 2011, 11:25 AM

754 posts

that is my relative's company
try call and see
adputra
post Jul 28 2011, 02:01 PM

18 posts

i'm doing just wiring.... smile.gif
call me if u interested..

http://renotalk.20.forumer.com/viewtopic.php?t=164140

@Adele
post Jul 28 2011, 10:32 PM

1,042 posts

kochin, tumpang thread..

got one contractor (indo guy) see my house, quote me for RM800 only for hacking of toilet tiles, water proofing and re-tiling. Tiles i buy myself.

So cheap ka??? Boleh guna?
sl2007
post Jul 28 2011, 10:51 PM

285 posts

RM800 is cheap.... Anyhow is depending on your total area....

Waterproofing wise, include material? How about tile adhesive and cement?
@Adele
post Jul 28 2011, 10:59 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 28 2011, 10:51 PM)
RM800 is cheap.... Anyhow is depending on your total area....

Waterproofing wise, include material? How about tile adhesive and cement?
hi hi..what does 'water proofing wise..include material' mean? what material? i go ask him....
shila83
post Jul 29 2011, 01:53 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 26 2011, 02:39 PM)
Dear All,

Target to commence : ASAP. Can be next week too.  icon_rolleyes.gif

9. Kelvin, maxim concept

thanks all.
Hi kochin,

Can we participate as one of the list?? We are specialist in major/minor renovation and our company registerd with PKK and CIDB.
Also, the location is very near to us. So, i hope you can consider us to makeover your dream house. smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
Feel free to visit our website at http://reno4u.webs.com/

Izuan
010-3605715

This post has been edited by shila83: Jul 29 2011, 01:54 AM
sl2007
post Jul 29 2011, 02:50 AM

285 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Jul 28 2011, 10:59 PM)
hi hi..what does 'water proofing wise..include material' mean? what material? i go ask him....
Waterproofing products, does your SC Inc the material..
@Adele
post Jul 29 2011, 12:48 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 29 2011, 02:50 AM)
Waterproofing products, does your SC Inc the material..
sl2007..it would be nice if u could specify in layman term.

What is SC Inc? material what material?
sl2007
post Jul 29 2011, 01:04 PM

285 posts

SC = Sub-Contractor

Material for the waterproofing.. Waterproof is a chemical based material.. U can search Sika, Fosroc or Hitchin..
TSkochin
post Jul 29 2011, 01:09 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

adele,
better to request them to always separate labour cost and material cost.
and material cost, always request for specification of products offered.
that way, you can control the material that you want and also do comparison of prices for materials. sometimes, you can buy materials on your own cheaper and more suitable for your brand preference. and sometimes, the contractor might have jalan to get some good stuff at cheaper rates if they consistently promote a certain brand.

sl,
all 3 brands are acceptable by my standards. slight preference over sika and fosroc.
sl2007
post Jul 29 2011, 02:03 PM

285 posts

Actually there more brand but just somehow this are the big 3... Haha
@Adele
post Jul 29 2011, 11:08 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 29 2011, 01:09 PM)
adele,
better to request them to always separate labour cost and material cost.
and material cost, always request for specification of products offered.
that way, you can control the material that you want and also do comparison of prices for materials. sometimes, you can buy materials on your own cheaper and more suitable for your brand preference. and sometimes, the contractor might have jalan to get some good stuff at cheaper rates if they consistently promote a certain brand.

sl,
all 3 brands are acceptable by my standards. slight preference over sika and fosroc.
Oh...aiyo, the indo guy tell me hacking and re-tiling is RM800. Then i asked him..'huh? then u dont do water proofing meh?' then he said yes. But he didn't advise whether he supply or not. So thanks for reminding me guys. I will ask him.

By the way, if he say RM800 only for labour cost. Is it still consider cheap? Can pakai or not..what u guys think?

I also need advise.. with indo guy, they dont do quotation using computer and stuff, how do i sign contract or ask them to separate labour cost etc? All based on 'speech' only so far now..
weikee
post Jul 29 2011, 11:13 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Jul 29 2011, 11:08 PM)
Oh...aiyo, the indo guy tell me hacking and re-tiling is RM800. Then i asked him..'huh? then u dont do water proofing meh?' then he said yes. But he didn't advise whether he supply or not. So thanks for reminding me guys. I will ask him.

By the way, if he say RM800 only for labour cost. Is it still consider cheap? Can pakai or not..what u guys think?

I also need advise.. with indo guy, they dont do quotation using computer and stuff, how do i sign contract or ask them to separate labour cost etc? All based on 'speech' only so far now..
You got to take the risk, they don't sign anything, even they do how do you want to sue them? or bring them on court?

Quality wise, is a gamble, unless you know his work or been to his reference site.

Personally if the work is like RM 1.5k vs RM 800.00, i'll go for 1.5k, and worry less for more reputable contractor. Unless is difference are huge in $$$ term then maybe is worth the risk.
@Adele
post Jul 29 2011, 11:17 PM

1,042 posts

weikee, he's recommended to me by a friend i know. I've seen his work, but only painting job, some re-wiring and doing table top. Seems fine to me...

The friend's sister's house re-wiring done by him, also ok. However i'm not sure about hacking and stuff, as they didn't ask him to do hacking...
weikee
post Jul 29 2011, 11:25 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Jul 29 2011, 11:17 PM)
weikee, he's recommended to me by a friend i know. I've seen his work, but only painting job, some re-wiring and doing table top. Seems fine to me...

The friend's sister's house re-wiring done by him, also ok. However i'm not sure about hacking and stuff, as they didn't ask him to do hacking...
Hacking and rewiring is not hard. Tiling really depend on skill.

My contractor quote me labor and cement only with the price of RM 4.8/sqft for floor, and RM 3.8/sqft for wall using Chinese sifu. Hacking is another amount. Not sure you get this price if only small work. But you can use this for a baseline.
new[x]
post Jul 29 2011, 11:32 PM

411 posts

Hi Kochin,

I am impressed with the details of your renovation to do list in the attached PDF file. I am not yet capable of imagining what need to be done for a renovation as simple as a bathroom but you manage to detail it out one by one smile.gif

Trying to learn from you, how did you manage to come out with such step by step details? Is there any web site that we can refer to? Or we really need to think it thoroughly?

Please share with newbies like me.

Thanks!!
TSkochin
post Jul 30 2011, 08:04 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

let's just say i was involved in the planning of some very exquisite buildings in klang valley that involves more than 20000+ activities before helps.

btw, this is a very very loose version which i thought of from my head. a real proper one would have captured more details complete with base specifications including expected end results and fnishes tolerances.

but for a small miny tiny job like mine, think it would suffice.

adele,
for rm800 for indon worker. need not bind them in writing lah. usually indon will settle for $$ after the work completed. but please make sure you supervise the job on and off. indon tends to be more cincai and will accept your comments and do accordingly. usually they will not twist and turn and demand for more later. good luck.
sl2007
post Jul 30 2011, 09:45 AM

285 posts

Get DLS to do it la... Hahahaha...

To get an accurate Renovation Cost :-

A) site visit and condition
B) location of utilities and avaibility
C) working hours
D) Drawings, specification and technical data

Lots and lots more... Cheers
@Adele
post Jul 30 2011, 02:25 PM

1,042 posts

kochin, i just got back from meeting the indon.

NOT RM800 anymore!!!! SOB SOB

This time he took measurement tape, he measure measure say everything is RM1500 (exclusive materials)

He will do:
1) hacking and re-tiling to top
2) re-moval of everything i.e. old shower screen, basin, toilet bowl and install back everything
3) one table top (for basin)
4) checking wiring/install downlight
5) change some of the toilet ceiling as spoilt already

Materials like tiles, waterproofing material, cement i need to buy myself. OR he can buy for me, he will give me receipt i pay him back.

I did ask him what water proofing material he will use, he said 'hitam punya'. What's that??? hahaha..

So..RM1,500 is expensive, reasonable or cheap?

This post has been edited by @Adele: Jul 30 2011, 02:27 PM
vatiore
post Jul 30 2011, 07:19 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Jul 30 2011, 03:25 PM)
kochin, i just got back from meeting the indon.

NOT RM800 anymore!!!! SOB SOB

This time he took measurement tape, he measure measure say everything is RM1500 (exclusive materials)

He will do:
1) hacking and re-tiling to top
2) re-moval of everything  i.e. old shower screen, basin, toilet bowl and install back everything
3) one table top (for basin)
4) checking wiring/install downlight
5) change some of the toilet ceiling as spoilt already

Materials like tiles, waterproofing material, cement i need to buy myself. OR he can buy for me, he will give me receipt i pay him back.

I did ask him what water proofing material he will use, he said 'hitam punya'. What's that??? hahaha..

So..RM1,500 is expensive, reasonable or cheap?
Gang, that "hitam punya" water proofing not really real one. Real one is such like name "Sika" + "Glu(20kg per bag)"
@Adele
post Jul 30 2011, 07:48 PM

1,042 posts

really? he told me is the best, really good one.

he said, and i quote 'ada itu glu punya macam mozaic, ada itu SUSU punya, then ada itu hitam punya. Hitam punya paling baik.'

???

should i go buy all the stuff myself then?
sl2007
post Jul 30 2011, 07:56 PM

285 posts

Hitam punya is bituminous... Oso can use la but quality wise I dunno le....

If you want to use Sika or other waterproofing product, U need to know how to mix it and base preparation prior installation... If not, the effect will not reach the minimum standard....
@Adele
post Jul 30 2011, 08:27 PM

1,042 posts

vatiore and sl2007..tx for the advise.

so since the indon guy say this.. i'm now feeling doubtful to let him do the toilet..sigh.

sl2007, cant the person who sell the waterproofing one advise me how to mix?
sl2007
post Jul 30 2011, 08:33 PM

285 posts

Emm depending where u got the waterproofing product... Actually u can get the mixing ratio (technical spec) from the back of the product itself...

If you get it for Registered Distributor,I'm sure their technical guy able to help u.....
TSkochin
post Jul 30 2011, 08:40 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

adele,
how big is your toilet.
measure everything yourself and count the sq ft.
divide the rm1500/total area.
you will get rm per sq ft.
compare the rates versus the others that have mention before.
if more or less same, i suggest you get one of the contractors here lor.

why? because:
1. all material cost is within your control for both the indon and contractors here. but contractors here will include the waterproofing and cement cost. if and only if there is a leak, indon will surely not come back to settle for you lah. contractors here MIGHT settle due to reputation mah.
2. let's say in the end, you end up saving say rm1k max. i presume you are only renovating ONE bathroom. so rm1k is within your budget or not. if you can afford it, then why not. rm1k treat it as hassleless and let contractors here fully kawtim for you lor.

to contractors who visited my house today. thank you for your time.
i realised my house condition is worse than it seems. i would need replacement of a few door frames + door too after closer inspection. on top of that, i need to do some rewiring and switches too with lighting adjustment.
so pls add on to the items not captured and items discussed today.
thanks.
@Adele
post Jul 30 2011, 08:49 PM

1,042 posts

kochin, yes renovating one bathroom only. actually i calculate already. Measurements he gave me were:

1) wall 23 X 8
2) floor 5X 8

So total is 224sft. Divide 1,500, is RM6.70 per square feet. Which is much more expensive than others la..

But he include:
1) remove sanitaries/ install back
2) replace some ceiling walls
3) install downlight
4) 1 cement top for basin

Anybody interested to take up this job..?
sl2007
post Jul 31 2011, 10:18 AM

285 posts

Hi Adele,

The price per sqft for the works mentioned is reasonable.. Say take 10 days works at a ganger of 3.. Is RM1.5k oredy...
weikee
post Jul 31 2011, 10:41 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 31 2011, 10:18 AM)
Hi Adele,

The price per sqft for the works mentioned is reasonable.. Say take 10 days works at a ganger of 3.. Is RM1.5k oredy...
Yeah I think the price is ok, quality wise you got to hope it turn up good
@Adele
post Jul 31 2011, 12:21 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 31 2011, 10:41 AM)
Yeah I think the price is ok, quality wise you got to hope it turn up good
Really ah? Okok. Coz u mention u only got 3.80 psft for tiling...so I thought exp.

Im not super yim chim with the lining of the tiles. The only thing I worried is water proofing not done properly..if need to redo I will die oh. Coz I calcate dy buy evwryrhing for my bathroom cheap cheap also need 7k
TSkochin
post Jul 31 2011, 05:47 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

can you tell us what are you buying until it cost 7k for your one bathroom only?
vatiore
post Jul 31 2011, 11:57 PM

77 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Jul 30 2011, 09:49 PM)
kochin, yes renovating one bathroom only. actually i calculate already. Measurements he gave me were:

1) wall 23 X 8
2) floor 5X 8

So total is 224sft. Divide 1,500, is RM6.70 per square feet. Which is much more expensive than others la..

But he include:
1) remove sanitaries/ install back
2) replace some ceiling walls
3) install downlight
4) 1 cement top for basin

Anybody interested to take up this job..?
gang, if RM1.5k without sand and cement for indon worker, why not you go for chinese worker for RM2k (RM2k normally they will bao sand and cement). Of course you can ask them to include your item 1~4 ma, now price very competitive sure they can do la, all your item is small matter for them since they are they jor....
alalio
post Aug 1 2011, 11:31 AM

68 posts

Hi Kochin, good day to you and thanks for starting this thread. It has been informative. Would you mind telling us which contractors you ended up inviting to provide quote etc for your renovation? And have you received their quotes? Based on this forum i.e. threads such as "Good contractor person" and "Need good contractor/designer", I have sort of shortlisted a few

1) Desmond Wong - Unicon Concept
2) Bryan - One HY Project Solutions
3) Vinns Yap - (Plumbing / Toilet / Wet works)
4) Erny and Patric Looi - Unity Kitchen (For Kitchen)
5) Eddy - YTL Glass Hardware (For Glass and Mirrors)

I am targeting to start renovation this month (August). My place is at Tropics @ Tropicana City Mall Petaling Jaya, about 1200 sf loft/duplex.

I have shortlisted several items to do. They include:

1) Hacking and removal of several walls incl. make good and plastering.
2) Tiling works.
3) Bathroom remodeling.
4) Painting.
5) Rewiring and setting up of new switches and powerpoints etc
6) New kitchen.
7) New wardrobes and builtins.
8) Mirror for an entire wall measuring 20ft x 15ft.
9) Glass panel for staircase.
10) Miscellanous items.

I understand renovation can quickly turn into a nightmare, so therefore I am doing what i can to avoid such a thing from happening. If we could exchange information freely between us, i think it would do us well (and also for others following this).

I feel it is important as well for contractors (where applicable) to itemize their quote based on labor and cost of material separation, so we can better understand the price mechanism of the renovation work involved.

I am looking for a reasonable and competitive price, fair and consistent work, and a job done well on time. I know obviously this is what everybody wants, so hopefully it will all work out.

I've so far only gotten one quote for all hacking works, and awaiting quotes from Unity Design for kitchen and builtins and Eddy for my glass needs.

How are you doing on your side?
TSkochin
post Aug 1 2011, 12:22 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

alalio,
have not received quotations yet. site visit over the weekend.
actually only taken possesion on sunday from previosu owners.
after my revisit on sunday (site visit with contractors was on saturday), notice my entire spreadsheet was garbage.
there will be a lot (and i do mean a lot of VO coming up).
quite likely will need to be a bit more organise and confirm what i need to get done and decide how to go about it.
but from what i observed, most of them that came are quite professional. will update here on future progress.
cheers!
@Adele
post Aug 1 2011, 03:27 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 31 2011, 05:47 PM)
can you tell us what are you buying until it cost 7k for your one bathroom only?
I got buy bathtub tongue.gif But bathtub only RM800..but everything plus plus plus with the labour cost + materials about that. Just a rough estimate, might be more might be less.

Haven't include i install shower screen and those bathroom holders i see.
EvonneLam
post Aug 1 2011, 05:10 PM

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 26 2011, 03:57 PM)
Yeah usually contractors quote low to get you interested and engage them, then add this and add that. End up paying more than what you thought you have to pay.
alalio
post Aug 1 2011, 05:21 PM

68 posts

kochin, I just spent 4 hours measuring every wall (height) and floor (square footage) area. phew. at least now i can get contractors to quote more precisely, and also check measurements easily. will be seeing a couple of contractors over the next two days. shall compile, compare and choose by the end of this week. I'll gladly compare quotes with you if you want.

Adele, I'll try to provide you how much is the average hacking cost once i get my quotations in. Good luck!

wrb7878
post Aug 1 2011, 05:41 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(alalio @ Aug 1 2011, 05:21 PM)
kochin, I just spent 4 hours measuring every wall (height) and floor (square footage) area. phew. at least now i can get contractors to quote more precisely, and also check measurements easily. will be seeing a couple of contractors over the next two days. shall compile, compare and choose by the end of this week. I'll gladly compare quotes with you if you want.

Adele, I'll try to provide you how much is the average hacking cost once i get my quotations in. Good luck!
make sure ask contractor to go on site...price a bit diff b4 and after site visit specially for condo works.
alalio
post Aug 1 2011, 05:57 PM

68 posts

wrb7878, i believe so too. thats why i intend to try and narrow down what is it exactly i want, put it into some kind of format, for ease of the contractor quoting as well. then when we meet at site, i will pass to him/her (if i successfully put it into a fairly comprehensible format lah haha). At site, the contractor would also likely be able to advise me more on what can/cannot be done, and what should be the proper/better way. in that sense, its good to keep an open mind. we'll see how it goes. cheers.
wrb7878
post Aug 1 2011, 06:10 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(alalio @ Aug 1 2011, 05:57 PM)
wrb7878, i believe so too. thats why i intend to try and narrow down what is it exactly i want, put it into some kind of format, for ease of the contractor quoting as well. then when we meet at site, i will pass to him/her (if i successfully put it into a fairly comprehensible format lah haha). At site, the contractor would also likely be able to advise me more on what can/cannot be done, and what should be the proper/better way. in that sense, its good to keep an open mind. we'll see how it goes. cheers.
Based on my current contractor, they quote based on few condition below for condo type:

1. Working time allow.
2. Convenient to disposed rubbish
3. Location and price of condo. brows.gif
TSkochin
post Aug 1 2011, 07:04 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

already noted that lowest might not be the best person.
will evaluate more on their technical bid then.

wrb7878
post Aug 1 2011, 07:58 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 1 2011, 07:04 PM)
already noted that lowest might not be the best person.
will evaluate more on their technical bid then.
but important is the workmanship..ask them whether can visit their current work or completed work as well.
@Adele
post Aug 2 2011, 01:10 PM

1,042 posts

kochin and forumers,

There is this plumber called ALEX for plumbing works. Somebody posted on classified ads.
Anybody use before? If yes, how's his work...?
TSkochin
post Aug 4 2011, 12:13 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

just some updates for all.
till to date, have not received any quotation. even worse, some did not show up for the site visit and neither did they call me at all.
am pondering whether i should list them out or not?

on a separate note, found an excellent company which basically moved all your unwated stuff eg. bulky funitures, eletrical appliances (even unusable ones), clothings, etc.

it's a charity company with a lorry. so they provide free removal of unwanted goods. have contacted them and they will be shipping all my unwanted stuffs. smile.gif
weikee
post Aug 4 2011, 12:17 PM

12,019 posts

Hehe, maybe "no meat" to eat. And too rush of job.
@Adele
post Aug 4 2011, 02:10 PM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 4 2011, 12:13 PM)
till to date, have not received any quotation. even worse, some did not show up for the site visit and neither did they call me at all.

on a separate note, found an excellent company which basically moved all your unwated stuff eg. bulky funitures, eletrical appliances (even unusable ones), clothings, etc.

it's a charity company with a lorry. so they provide free removal of unwanted goods. have contacted them and they will be shipping all my unwanted stuffs. smile.gif
kochin, me too. Met a few they rougly give quote onli, but until now i didn't receive official quotation. Hmm.. takes so long to type out one meh?
Maybe like what was said... go back feel not enough 'meat' to eat.

Last time my unwanted stuff just ask one lorry move everything out RM80 SO FAST they carry the things out, throw for u or want to donate one they will send to donation place. Super efficient.
TSkochin
post Aug 4 2011, 02:12 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

meat or no meat, dunno. they didn't even offer nay pricing?
maybe busy PM each other to know the pricing of competitor and dividing mark-up??!! therefore vital to also invite outside the forum quoters.
rush job? no lah. all of them say 2 months more than enough.
weikee
post Aug 4 2011, 02:14 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 4 2011, 02:10 PM)
kochin, me too. Met a few they rougly give quote onli, but until now i didn't receive official quotation. Hmm.. takes so long to type out one meh?
Maybe like what was said... go back feel not enough 'meat' to eat.

Last time my unwanted stuff just ask one lorry move everything out RM80 SO FAST they carry the things out, throw for u or want to donate one they will send to donation place. Super efficient.
Not sure how you define official quote, my contractor list it in a A4 paper, and all the high level cost. Then we just confirm base on that. I also received some very detail too.

So each contractor work difference.
@Adele
post Aug 4 2011, 02:18 PM

1,042 posts

weikee, so far I have neither. All base on talk only.

kochin, so u have to look again ... or wanna get indon to do the job?

also, i asked erny from unity design for kitchen cabinet quote, oso many days never get it

This post has been edited by @Adele: Aug 4 2011, 02:26 PM
sue.chan
post Aug 4 2011, 02:22 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 4 2011, 12:13 PM)

could u give me the contact of this charity company please ? thanks.
wrb7878
post Aug 4 2011, 03:04 PM

843 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 4 2011, 02:18 PM)
weikee, so far I have neither. All base on talk only.

kochin, so u have to look again ... or wanna get indon to do the job?

also, i asked erny from unity design for kitchen cabinet quote, oso many days never get it
U need to give Unity Design around 1 week....but i believe they able to come back to you less than 2 week.
Their ppl also need to entertain the walk-in customer and provided the 3D drawing on spot...so they may only come back to you when they are free....this is what i explain to my fren when they ask me why they no reply his/her email.
@Adele
post Aug 4 2011, 03:06 PM

1,042 posts

Friends , can anyone advise whether they move their DB box before?

If move my DB box to somewhere else, means need to do re-wiring right? Estimate 1K can do or not...?
weikee
post Aug 4 2011, 03:09 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 4 2011, 03:06 PM)
Friends , can anyone advise whether they move their DB box before?

If move my DB box to somewhere else, means need to do re-wiring  right? Estimate 1K can do or not...?
How far away from current location? and how many mcb you have inside? if moving far. Lots of hacking and wire joining.
@Adele
post Aug 4 2011, 03:11 PM

1,042 posts

from one wall to another wall. erm...about 7 feet away?

what is mcb? is it means those push up down switches? standard one..err perhaps like 10 or 12 gua. i need to change to bigger db box anyway. estimate how much to do that ya?
periwater
post Aug 4 2011, 04:57 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 2 2011, 01:10 PM)
kochin and forumers,

There is this plumber called ALEX for plumbing works. Somebody posted on classified ads.
Anybody use before? If yes, how's his work...?
I contacted him for a quote as well. He told me that my bathroom plumbing was too complicated for him. He can do minor job ie leaking, water proofing, etc.

Based on my experiences, most contractors will take 2 weeks to get back, some don't bother, and some will give a lump sum verbally without itemising.

So good luck to all!
Skydrop
post Aug 4 2011, 05:49 PM

361 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Aug 4 2011, 04:57 PM)
I contacted him for a quote as well. He told me that my bathroom plumbing was too complicated for him. He can do minor job ie leaking, water proofing, etc.

Based on my experiences, most contractors will take 2 weeks to get back, some don't bother, and some will give a lump sum verbally without itemising.

So good luck to all!
shocking.gif how complicated is complicated?? rclxub.gif

Contractors now really snobbish. Looking at the rate people snapping up properties, perhaps their business is really that good too. Some will start telling (bragging) about their portfolios (big ones), and make you feel like you are such a cheapo and not worth them wasting time on your project. doh.gif Luckily I am not in a hurry to move. If not sure suffer!
Wengsoo
post Aug 4 2011, 07:54 PM

51 posts

periwater, what is it u planned to do initially? can share? what's so complicated?
weikee
post Aug 4 2011, 08:04 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 4 2011, 03:11 PM)
from one wall to another wall. erm...about 7 feet away?

what is mcb? is it means those push up down switches? standard one..err perhaps like 10 or 12 gua. i need to change to bigger db box anyway. estimate how much to do that ya?
Me not contractor so cannot give you amount. But i think you need to add additional cable to extend to another area.
periwater
post Aug 10 2011, 12:20 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(Wengsoo @ Aug 4 2011, 07:54 PM)
periwater, what is it u planned to do initially? can share? what's so complicated?
I just want to move the WC, have a double basin, a jacuzzi, a rain shower and hand shower. I'm changing all the ABS piping and adding copper piping for hot water, plus to be connected to a storage water heater. Nothing complicated!

My initial consultation with IDs, what I described was simple. I was quoted RM700 - RM1,500 for these works (refer attached Option 1 & 2). But when I talked to plumbers to seek for second opinion, it was a different story. I was quoted RM5k - RM8k for these works! hmm.gif rclxub.gif

After a long explanation from plumbers, I was convinced that the IDs might not have the expertise in this area. Just adding copper piping itself costs more than RM1,500.00.

At the end, I dismissed the idea of using an ID or one-stop contractor, and appointed all specialized sub-contractors. Yes, you need to have the bandwidth to project manage them, but at least they are good in their specialized fields. My dad helped me to oversee daily work progress while I had to manage the coordination of the sub-cons. It is a great learning experience and I managed to complete my renovation in 2 months time. biggrin.gif

sauming
post Aug 10 2011, 02:04 AM

41 posts

QUOTE(alalio @ Aug 1 2011, 11:31 AM)
Hi Kochin, good day to you and thanks for starting this thread. It has been informative. Would you mind telling us which contractors you ended up inviting to provide quote etc for your renovation? And have you received their quotes? Based on this forum i.e. threads such as "Good contractor person" and "Need good contractor/designer", I have sort of shortlisted a few

1) Desmond Wong - Unicon Concept
2) Bryan - One HY Project Solutions
3) Vinns Yap - (Plumbing / Toilet / Wet works)
4) Erny and Patric Looi - Unity Kitchen (For Kitchen)
5) Eddy - YTL Glass Hardware (For Glass and Mirrors)

I am targeting to start renovation this month (August). My place is at Tropics @ Tropicana City Mall Petaling Jaya, about 1200 sf loft/duplex.

I have shortlisted several items to do. They include:

1) Hacking and removal of several walls incl. make good and plastering.
2) Tiling works.
3) Bathroom remodeling.
4) Painting.
5) Rewiring and setting up of new switches and powerpoints etc
6) New kitchen.
7) New wardrobes and builtins.
8) Mirror for an entire wall measuring 20ft x 15ft.
9) Glass panel for staircase.
10) Miscellanous items.

I understand renovation can quickly turn into a nightmare, so therefore I am doing what i can to avoid such a thing from happening. If we could exchange information freely between us, i think it would do us well (and also for others following this).

I feel it is important as well for contractors (where applicable) to itemize their quote based on labor and cost of material separation, so we can better understand the price mechanism of the renovation work involved.

I am looking for a reasonable and competitive price, fair and consistent work, and a job done well on time. I know obviously this is what everybody wants, so hopefully it will all work out.

I've so far only gotten one quote for all hacking works, and awaiting quotes from Unity Design for kitchen and builtins and Eddy for my glass needs.

How are you doing on your side?
Hi Alalio,

Can you share with me how much were you quoted for the mirror? Thanks.
@Adele
post Aug 11 2011, 01:00 AM

1,042 posts

kochin, how's ur progress in finding contractors so far? I've a few come to quote. Am starting my reno soon, should be next week.
TSkochin
post Aug 11 2011, 08:20 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 11 2011, 01:00 AM)
kochin, how's ur progress in finding contractors so far? I've a few come to quote. Am starting my reno soon, should be next week.
adele,
still waiting for another few more to come in before shortlisting the final 2 or 3.
splitting the job could potentially give me shorter time to complete everything.
but overall, am close to my material selection now.
thanks for asking.

PS: check out the photos of the charity group carting away all the unwanted furnitures. they also can take air-cond, bulky furnitures, unusable eletrical goods. they called before coming and was warly by about half an hour. very nice group of people indeed.

This post has been edited by kochin: Aug 11 2011, 08:31 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
@Adele
post Aug 11 2011, 02:49 PM

1,042 posts

kochin, i haven't selected materials yet. I think for me, only select tiles is main concern 1st. You bought urs yet?
TSkochin
post Aug 11 2011, 03:15 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 11 2011, 02:49 PM)
kochin, i haven't selected materials yet. I think for me, only select tiles is main concern 1st. You bought urs yet?
adele,
i am designing to the extend the start off point (SOP) for the tiling layout in all my bathrooms too. then calculating how many exact pieces of tiles required.
am going for niro tiles. with some feature wall element. contemplating something like pics below.
guess my bathrooms are my biggest $$$ in my home when completed. doh.gif
cheerios!

tiensong
post Aug 11 2011, 03:36 PM

2,237 posts

Can I have the contact number of recycle charity group?
TSkochin
post Aug 11 2011, 03:40 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Aug 11 2011, 03:36 PM)
Can I have the contact number of recycle charity group?
www.recyclecharity.org
@Adele
post Aug 11 2011, 07:58 PM

1,042 posts

kochin kochin, what u mean start off point?
TSkochin
post Aug 12 2011, 12:21 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 11 2011, 07:58 PM)
kochin kochin, what u mean start off point?
meaning where you want the position of the first tile to be laid.
this is for you to plan in order to:
1. minimise wastage
2. prevent small cut pieces (say 50-100mm at the end of your wall)
3. prevent joint line at unsightly area (say the joint line is crossing at somewhere obvious)

am also dictating where my floor trap should be. shocking.gif
@Adele
post Aug 12 2011, 10:33 AM

1,042 posts

hard work.. but it's good since u know how to do it. so, when is the start of the reno?

hey mind sharing ur costing for toilets !! smile.gif

This post has been edited by @Adele: Aug 12 2011, 10:34 AM
weikee
post Aug 12 2011, 10:35 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 12 2011, 12:21 AM)
1. minimise wastage
3. prevent joint line at unsightly area (say the joint line is crossing at somewhere obvious)

Let the tiler do for you la. They do water proofing and floor tiles last. Wall first.
@Adele
post Aug 12 2011, 10:38 AM

1,042 posts

QUOTE(periwater @ Aug 10 2011, 12:20 AM)
I just want to move the WC, have a double basin, a jacuzzi, a rain shower and hand shower. I'm changing all the ABS piping and adding copper piping for hot water, plus to be connected to a storage water heater. Nothing complicated!

My initial consultation with IDs, what I described was simple. I was quoted RM700 - RM1,500 for these works (refer attached Option 1 & 2).  But when I talked to plumbers to seek for second opinion, it was a different story. I was quoted RM5k - RM8k for these works! hmm.gif  rclxub.gif

After a long explanation from plumbers, I was convinced that the IDs might not have the expertise in this area. Just adding copper piping itself costs more than RM1,500.00.

At the end, I dismissed the idea of using an ID or one-stop contractor, and appointed all specialized sub-contractors. Yes, you need to have the bandwidth to project manage them, but at least they are good in their specialized fields. My dad helped me to oversee daily work progress while I had to manage the coordination of the sub-cons. It is a great learning experience and I managed to complete my renovation in 2 months time.  biggrin.gif
periwater many thanks for sharing. So u did to ID B or ID C? How much it cost to make ur bathroom to ur ID?

Ya..how come copper piping so expensive ya? My contractors some charge rm600, some open mouth wants rm1500 just for copper piping. According to my indon guy it cost about rm80 onli...... so i dunno who telling what
wrb7878
post Aug 12 2011, 10:54 AM

843 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 12 2011, 10:35 AM)
Let the tiler do for you la. They do water proofing and floor tiles last. Wall first.
Yea, last time i also count by own. but what we think and what the tiler think is diff. they have their way to lay the tiles...

I just tell him my concept then the rest he will settle....
maxim concept
post Aug 12 2011, 10:54 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 12 2011, 12:21 AM)
1. minimise wastage

Hi Kochin!

Don't mind if I point out one correction for you. Actually a 'start off point' in proper construction term is call Setting Out Point. Otherwise if you use the wrong term, some people might get a bit puzzle. Just my two cent.

And for floor trap/floor waste, it is always position next to the wc or at one corner so that all water will run to one point.

Hope this info is useful to you!

Cheers!
TSkochin
post Aug 12 2011, 10:55 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 12 2011, 10:35 AM)
thanks for your advise.
usually tiler will just lay a full piece at one corner first on the wall. this way they guaranteed to treat one corner less. but concern of getting a small cut tiles or thin tiles at the other edge. i prefer to have to sizeable cuts at all corners evenly.
i like to start with floor first for determination of the SOP as it gives an idea on all four sides of the wall in terms of what i'll be getting at the last piece. a lot of work especially when we are juggling with 1x2 tiles.
tiling wise, of course tilers will lay wall tiles first.
no worries. i'm just preparing in advance and let them counter propose their layouts as well.
cheers!
@Adele
post Sep 11 2011, 09:49 PM

1,042 posts

kochin, how's the progress for ur works? no updates one..share share la smile.gif
TSkochin
post Sep 12 2011, 09:55 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(@Adele @ Sep 11 2011, 09:49 PM)
kochin, how's the progress for ur works? no updates one..share share la smile.gif
well, to be honest, it's a total mess.
and budget blown everywhere.
hopefully will get completion and move in by next month or latest in november.

speaking oh which, i have sourced for many many items. i'd come across a really really good and honest hardware shop.
so if anybody wishes to buy hardware goods at crazily discounted prices, please PM me a detailed list. the only condition is there should be a minimum order/qty and COD terms.
possibly own collection of goods too unless bulky items.
some examples of so called cheap and good quality goods:
1. good stainless steel floor trap - <rm10/pcs
2. magnetic door holder/stopper - <rm10/pcs
3. unbranded but reasonably good quality eg VIP/DOE taps/valves/fittings - range from RM1x-RM4x/pcs
4. newest flourescent light (complete set with phillips bulb) and no need starter (instant on no more flicking) - <rm20/set
and the list goes on.
basically think of hardware shop and not premium stuff.

will try to snap some pics of the goods and upload. helping him since give such good price.

PS: reno budget paid so far.
Hardwares builders for sanitary wares and goods (>rm10k)
Tiles from Hoover Tiling (<RM6k for Niro, Whitehorse & MML. approximately 1000 sq ft + some feature mosaix tiles approx 50 sq ft)

0.0533sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:27 AM