looking for contractor, to start in aug 2011

TSkochin
post Jul 26 2011, 02:39 PM, updated 15y ago

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

Dear All,
After trying but unsuccessfully to get more contacts, i'm posing this to all for comments and also to exercise pre-qualification of contractors.
Attached please find a very brief and crude list done by myself to facilitate my very soon undertaking of renovation to my property in PJ.
The existing owner is moving out and handing over the key to me this saturday. Hence would appreciate for those who wish to participate to PM me for arrangement to view the unit and subsequently quote/revise your pricing to me.

Target to commence : ASAP. Can be next week too. icon_rolleyes.gif
Target to complete : Mid-November. Earlier if possible.

Am open to comments and adjustment where applicable.

So far some of the names I'd gathered from here includes the following:
1. Mr. Hor, reco from Law of BU, PJ
2. Mr. Sam, reco from Derek of Kota Kemuning
3. Mr. Steven from Eca-Do
4. Mr. Steven dunno from who and where but different number from no. 3
5. Desmond Wong of UNICON
6. Kenny dunno from who and where
7. Reno Teng dunno from who and where
8. vinns by zhelwaine (from plumbing only, right)
9. Kelvin, maxim concept

zhelwaine, you open 7 days a week kah and what time?

thanks all.

Attached File(s)
Attached File  reno_bq___plans.pdf ( 1.34mb ) Number of downloads: 312
TSkochin
post Jul 26 2011, 03:18 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

thanks. i intend to call about 5 max.
if the first 3 i call is already up to my budget and expectation, then close shop lor.
here is just shortlisting and pre-q mah.
then i invite the short listed for final quote lor.
thanks.
TSkochin
post Jul 26 2011, 04:29 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

the only downside is i got time constraint.
need to move in ASAP.
preferably no later than November 2011.

weikee,
the optional items remains as option. am well aware that i can't proceed with my lounge and foyer extension without the permit. but i can do the balcony on the porch roof without permit.

thanks for all feedbacks and sadly nobody PM me.
haih!
TSkochin
post Jul 26 2011, 07:47 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

bro kingkong,
my work if you look closely is not that extensive.
merely 3 bathroom and touching up of the flooring.
the conversion of lounge to bedroom is sap sap sui to most contractor.
my most headache could be my plumbing and external waterproofing and cladding only.
my back-up plan, do the not so important ones later AFTER i moved in first.
thanks for your advise.
TSkochin
post Jul 26 2011, 11:47 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

already factored in puasa and ghost festival.
my items are not that extensive actually and doable if the contractor is organised.
my estimation if proper planning is involved, should be a 1 month job.
worst case is 2.5months.
of course, the longer he stays at it, the less profit he gets lor.
maybe i should implement LAD system?
TSkochin
post Jul 27 2011, 11:28 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 27 2011, 09:57 AM)
Only big firm will want to use that model, or renovation that go up few to few hundred thousand to Millions.

Maybe appoint WCT Engineering, Sun rise, Gamuda smile.gif

Don't forget to get Lawyer to sign, Malaysia Gov stamping and some other paper work too.
oh, did i left out the part where it's SO is GDP Architects, COW from Arup, TYLin, SKM, Meinhardt, DPA, RSP, Seksan, EDP, NDY, Primetech, Valdun, SSP, etc.
PM is yet to be decided. Either Bovis or Turner.
Contract will be redrafted by JUBM with peer review from KPK.

WCT, Gamuda, MMC, Shimizu, Daewoo, Leighton have already expressed their interest to participate.

shakehead.gif
no play play. i only receive 2 interested party only. job too small, nobody want to do. maybe i need to start buying cangkul and spade to do myself.
TSkochin
post Jul 27 2011, 02:36 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 27 2011, 01:19 PM)
Do u need DLS to assist.. tongue.gif
dls and jubm same lah. or in QS term -ditto-

Added on July 27, 2011, 2:37 pm
QUOTE(sue.chan @ Jul 27 2011, 01:24 PM)
kochin, you gotta call them. they wont call you.

u know what, even after i call them and they came to take measurement and all, they take forever to revert to me. as a customer i have to make numerous calls to chase for quotation and drawing and i must say this really put me off. upfront promise 1 week...then start giving excuses...

guess their biz are all very good. anyway, try sourcing from friends/relatives/colleagues. dont just rely on LYN.

mine is also a small job. i always make it a point to tell them first. i dont want to waste their time as well. i'm seeing one this evening. this person sounds impressive. will recommend to u if his service is good.
do let me know if you come across good ones and do let me know which are the ones that have failed you. i blacklist them straight away from my list.
thanks.

Added on July 27, 2011, 2:38 pm
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 27 2011, 01:24 PM)
I am preparing my pmi certification. Please hire me.
on top of pmi, must come with the following for PM's criteria:
1. must have handled more than RM10b worth of GDV project in no more than 3 project
2. must have completed from start to finish one of the said project tongue.gif

Added on July 27, 2011, 2:40 pm
QUOTE(Skydrop @ Jul 27 2011, 02:15 PM)
If this is call small job, then those apartment & condo no need to find contractors already.

Just curious, if you are having different contractors for different works, who will start first?
in my case, i guess it will be:
1. the windows and doors if i'm replacing it because of interaction to walls at bathroom else it will be the pump and plumbing works
2. then the bathroom
3. then the lounge conversion to bedroom
4. polishing of timber and terazzo
5. painting
6. independant job is external tiling & balcony on top of porch

This post has been edited by kochin: Jul 27 2011, 02:40 PM
TSkochin
post Jul 27 2011, 04:58 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(buzzle25 @ Jul 27 2011, 03:13 PM)
wah, this is a bit like the MRT & LRT project ...
interesting...
wrong, this imho is a very very much more important project compared to the lrt and mrt.
and both these are already massive failure project.
lrt > massive delay. cost dunno yet.
mrt > not construct already budget blown. most expensive railway project in the world. cry.gif
TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 08:31 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

Some updates.
I'd invited the following for site visit this saturday at 3.30pm.
Contractors invited so far are
1. Mr. Hor, reco from Law of BU, PJ
2. Mr. Sam, reco from Derek of Kota Kemuning
3. Mr. Steven from Eca-Do
4. Mr. Steven dunno from who and where but different number from no. 3
5. Desmond Wong of UNICON
6. Kenny dunno from Nicole
7. Reno Teng dunno from who and where
8. vinns by zhelwaine (from plumbing only, right)
9. Kelvin, maxim concept
10. Tim from i.green reno
11. Sittra from Kim Concept

Quite likely i'll be calling about 2-3 more either from or beyond LYN.
good luck guys and may the best tenderer win.

Added on July 28, 2011, 8:32 am
QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 27 2011, 06:31 PM)
Bro,

JUBM and DLS different le.. DLS is international firm while JUBM is local context.. Cos I'm ex-DLS from oversea.. Haha
bro. jubm and dls same staff, same address.
just different name but same company in malaysia.
they only have association with it.
i think dls also associated with pkt, right?
where are you with now?

This post has been edited by kochin: Jul 28 2011, 09:21 AM
TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 09:21 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(igreen.reno @ Jul 28 2011, 08:41 AM)
brothers is igreen reno ... mad.gif
who knows there's another person by the name of tim and his company is irenogreen??
lol. just kidding.
TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 09:58 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 28 2011, 09:54 AM)
Agreed with you... Workforce are same anyhow is different entity.... DLS only associate with JUBM....

Where am I know, in LYN lo... hahahaha.... Just kidding, I'm forming my own Renovation Company..... biggrin.gif
not interested in this job leh? too small is it?
good luck boss.
QS turned renovator. sure kira until grass also cannot grow. hmm.gif
TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 10:18 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

what's wrong with the timing.
toilet reno, proven 19 days kawtim. workforce sufficient, my 3 bathroom should take no more than 21 days.
painting give them a week and that's the final thing to be done.
so one more month to do the rest of the work is very reasonable, no?
a good contractor makes money by completing projects fast and without defect.
project drag, lose opportunity cost, labour cost.
defect lose reputation, lose time, lose full collection.
with fast turnover, good quality. contractor will be swarmed with jobs full time. pricing of course will need to be fair lah.
TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 10:25 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

huh? my attachment comes with the drawing liao mah.
you come back next week not a problem.
as long as you give good price, good workmanship and good time can.

detailed drawing? tak ada lah boss. come site visit and agree on site cum contractor proposed and chop sign on the drawing, sui boh?
TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 10:49 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

to all suitors.
please take note of the this:
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1952608

TSkochin
post Jul 28 2011, 11:20 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(chinyen @ Jul 28 2011, 11:16 AM)
Dynamic Construction and Engineering
03-8948 2867
how about more introduction of yourself and your company and maybe your mobile and name too?
thanks.
TSkochin
post Jul 29 2011, 01:09 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

adele,
better to request them to always separate labour cost and material cost.
and material cost, always request for specification of products offered.
that way, you can control the material that you want and also do comparison of prices for materials. sometimes, you can buy materials on your own cheaper and more suitable for your brand preference. and sometimes, the contractor might have jalan to get some good stuff at cheaper rates if they consistently promote a certain brand.

sl,
all 3 brands are acceptable by my standards. slight preference over sika and fosroc.
TSkochin
post Jul 30 2011, 08:04 AM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

let's just say i was involved in the planning of some very exquisite buildings in klang valley that involves more than 20000+ activities before helps.

btw, this is a very very loose version which i thought of from my head. a real proper one would have captured more details complete with base specifications including expected end results and fnishes tolerances.

but for a small miny tiny job like mine, think it would suffice.

adele,
for rm800 for indon worker. need not bind them in writing lah. usually indon will settle for $$ after the work completed. but please make sure you supervise the job on and off. indon tends to be more cincai and will accept your comments and do accordingly. usually they will not twist and turn and demand for more later. good luck.
TSkochin
post Jul 30 2011, 08:40 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

adele,
how big is your toilet.
measure everything yourself and count the sq ft.
divide the rm1500/total area.
you will get rm per sq ft.
compare the rates versus the others that have mention before.
if more or less same, i suggest you get one of the contractors here lor.

why? because:
1. all material cost is within your control for both the indon and contractors here. but contractors here will include the waterproofing and cement cost. if and only if there is a leak, indon will surely not come back to settle for you lah. contractors here MIGHT settle due to reputation mah.
2. let's say in the end, you end up saving say rm1k max. i presume you are only renovating ONE bathroom. so rm1k is within your budget or not. if you can afford it, then why not. rm1k treat it as hassleless and let contractors here fully kawtim for you lor.

to contractors who visited my house today. thank you for your time.
i realised my house condition is worse than it seems. i would need replacement of a few door frames + door too after closer inspection. on top of that, i need to do some rewiring and switches too with lighting adjustment.
so pls add on to the items not captured and items discussed today.
thanks.
TSkochin
post Jul 31 2011, 05:47 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

can you tell us what are you buying until it cost 7k for your one bathroom only?
TSkochin
post Aug 1 2011, 12:22 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

alalio,
have not received quotations yet. site visit over the weekend.
actually only taken possesion on sunday from previosu owners.
after my revisit on sunday (site visit with contractors was on saturday), notice my entire spreadsheet was garbage.
there will be a lot (and i do mean a lot of VO coming up).
quite likely will need to be a bit more organise and confirm what i need to get done and decide how to go about it.
but from what i observed, most of them that came are quite professional. will update here on future progress.
cheers!

0.0241sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:25 AM