looking for contractor, to start in aug 2011
wrb7878
Jul 26 2011, 02:59 PM
wow....u plan to get so many contractor to compare? i m just get 1-3 contractor...i m also tired of it...need to arrange them come to visit on diff time...wait their quotation.....almost spend 2 month time.
Added on July 26, 2011, 2:59 pmzhelwaine shop close on SUNDAY...he need dating also ...bro..haha
This post has been edited by wrb7878: Jul 26 2011, 02:59 PM
wrb7878
Jul 26 2011, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(kochin @ Jul 26 2011, 03:18 PM) thanks. i intend to call about 5 max. if the first 3 i call is already up to my budget and expectation, then close shop lor. here is just shortlisting and pre-q mah. then i invite the short listed for final quote lor. thanks. if u dont rush to move in and have time...why not? can call all contractor.....sometimes is not the price diff only. u can learn a lot from diff contractor comment..... but end up..i give to the most expensive quotation....i choose him from his attitude and the way he explain to me. and so far no complaint on him...he din even ask any deposit after start the work for 1 week. i ask him need to pay o not...he just ask me to pay a bit....
wrb7878
Jul 26 2011, 04:01 PM
QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 26 2011, 03:57 PM) Cheaper does not mean the best. Got lots of hidden cost involve. Is good to get more, so you learn more. true also...so far all within my control and budget...no extra hidden cost involve. Added on July 26, 2011, 4:02 pmFor the paint, i got 1.5K, 2K and 2.5K not included the paint...so this is hard to choose.....all indo worker. This post has been edited by wrb7878: Jul 26 2011, 04:02 PM
wrb7878
Aug 1 2011, 05:41 PM
QUOTE(alalio @ Aug 1 2011, 05:21 PM) kochin, I just spent 4 hours measuring every wall (height) and floor (square footage) area. phew. at least now i can get contractors to quote more precisely, and also check measurements easily. will be seeing a couple of contractors over the next two days. shall compile, compare and choose by the end of this week. I'll gladly compare quotes with you if you want. Adele, I'll try to provide you how much is the average hacking cost once i get my quotations in. Good luck! make sure ask contractor to go on site...price a bit diff b4 and after site visit specially for condo works.
wrb7878
Aug 1 2011, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(alalio @ Aug 1 2011, 05:57 PM) wrb7878, i believe so too. thats why i intend to try and narrow down what is it exactly i want, put it into some kind of format, for ease of the contractor quoting as well. then when we meet at site, i will pass to him/her (if i successfully put it into a fairly comprehensible format lah haha). At site, the contractor would also likely be able to advise me more on what can/cannot be done, and what should be the proper/better way. in that sense, its good to keep an open mind. we'll see how it goes. cheers. Based on my current contractor, they quote based on few condition below for condo type: 1. Working time allow. 2. Convenient to disposed rubbish 3. Location and price of condo.
wrb7878
Aug 1 2011, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(kochin @ Aug 1 2011, 07:04 PM) already noted that lowest might not be the best person. will evaluate more on their technical bid then. but important is the workmanship..ask them whether can visit their current work or completed work as well.
wrb7878
Aug 4 2011, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(@Adele @ Aug 4 2011, 02:18 PM) weikee, so far I have neither. All base on talk only. kochin, so u have to look again ... or wanna get indon to do the job? also, i asked erny from unity design for kitchen cabinet quote, oso many days never get it U need to give Unity Design around 1 week....but i believe they able to come back to you less than 2 week. Their ppl also need to entertain the walk-in customer and provided the 3D drawing on spot...so they may only come back to you when they are free....this is what i explain to my fren when they ask me why they no reply his/her email.
wrb7878
Aug 12 2011, 10:54 AM
QUOTE(weikee @ Aug 12 2011, 10:35 AM) Let the tiler do for you la. They do water proofing and floor tiles last. Wall first. Yea, last time i also count by own. but what we think and what the tiler think is diff. they have their way to lay the tiles... I just tell him my concept then the rest he will settle....