US and UK TV Series: New Series /Season Review, For new airing only
ChickenWing24
Jun 18 2013, 07:20 PM

Just finished watching Elementary. Modern take on the Sherlock Holmes tale. Season 1 ended with 24 episodes. Season 2 coming out this fall. Dun have the slightest idea exactly when though.
EightPhantomz
Jun 19 2013, 03:54 AM
I'm only left with Mad Men now. Tried some US series, but... sigh.
UK series standards very high now. But very short. LOL.
stormlcc
Jun 19 2013, 04:59 AM
QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Jun 19 2013, 03:54 AM) I'm only left with Mad Men now. Tried some US series, but... sigh. UK series standards very high now. But very short. LOL. Have u tried The Fades?
EightPhantomz
Jun 19 2013, 05:07 AM
QUOTE(stormlcc @ Jun 19 2013, 04:59 AM) Yes, only 6 episodes right? Way back in 2011.
stormlcc
Jun 19 2013, 05:09 AM
QUOTE(EightPhantomz @ Jun 19 2013, 05:07 AM) Yes, only 6 episodes right? Way back in 2011. yup. i'm watching it right now, not bad also will be starting The Fall after this.
stormlcc
Jun 20 2013, 08:49 PM
QUOTE(ChickenWing24 @ Jun 18 2013, 07:20 PM) Just finished watching Elementary. Modern take on the Sherlock Holmes tale. Season 1 ended with 24 episodes. Season 2 coming out this fall. Dun have the slightest idea exactly when though. at first i had some reservations about this series because of Lucy Liu, but after watching a few episodes i totally dig it, it's such a brilliant piece of TV! one of the best US detective series ever made (and I watch a whole bunch of them, name some and i probably watched them before)
TSdundermifflin
Jun 21 2013, 08:35 AM

without comparing too much each other, i like both Elementary and Sherlock. though the UK one are better IMO. looking forward the new seasons.
acexii
Jun 21 2013, 09:45 AM
For me Elementary finale lack of some punches, maybe they could hinted that true identity of Moriarty still a secret.
Overall well done season for it, hoping more on new season.
ChickenWing24
Jun 21 2013, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(acexii @ Jun 21 2013, 09:45 AM) For me Elementary finale lack of some punches, maybe they could hinted that true identity of Moriarty still a secret. Overall well done season for it, hoping more on new season. Agreed there. I actually didn't mind with Moriarty's identity revealed. But then, the ending definitely ended so simple. At least, there should have been some kind of twist or so. Then, everyone will be waiting for Season 2. Surprised to find out that Irene/Moriarty is actually Margaery from GOT. p/s: I can't stop thinking of Elementary as my lecturer looks like Lucy Liu. DARN !!
elm0001
Jun 21 2013, 10:25 PM
Just done watching Hannibal season finale! I thought the whole season in general was great!
TSdundermifflin
Jun 22 2013, 12:19 PM

QUOTE(ChickenWing24 @ Jun 21 2013, 01:11 PM) Agreed there. I actually didn't mind with Moriarty's identity revealed. But then, the ending definitely ended so simple. At least, there should have been some kind of twist or so. Then, everyone will be waiting for Season 2. Surprised to find out that Irene/Moriarty is actually Margaery from GOT. p/s: I can't stop thinking of Elementary as my lecturer looks like Lucy Liu. DARN !! i think the finale are weak. but overall Elementary as a season was good success. entertaining, good acting, etc.
stormlcc
Jun 22 2013, 01:46 PM
QUOTE(dundermifflin @ Jun 22 2013, 12:19 PM) i think the finale are weak. but overall Elementary as a season was good success. entertaining, good acting, etc. yup, it was quite surprising. British + US always makes good tv, just look at The Fall, House M.D. etc.
haroldz123
Jun 24 2013, 01:28 AM
Anybody watching homeland, the mentalist, psych?
Dexter and the mentalist are ending soon
TSdundermifflin
Jun 24 2013, 07:54 AM

QUOTE(elm0001 @ Jun 21 2013, 10:25 PM) Just done watching Hannibal season finale! I thought the whole season in general was great! very good finale i think. though i dont really like it when they suck us into Will's delusional. Hannibal is very brilliant character. good with words. he only lied, literally, in very few occasions.
LightningZERO
Jun 24 2013, 08:27 AM
QUOTE(dundermifflin @ Jun 24 2013, 07:54 AM) very good finale i think. though i dont really like it when they suck us into Will's delusional. Hannibal is very brilliant character. good with words. he only lied, literally, in very few occasions. Damn you Hannibal at the last scene Need to wait till next year
stormlcc
Jun 24 2013, 08:49 AM
QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Jun 24 2013, 01:28 AM) Anybody watching homeland, the mentalist, psych? Dexter and the mentalist are ending soon homeland is quite rubbish, the mentalist is getting old and boring (time to stop eh). Dexter is time for final season, it's been too long. There are some series that i hope will never end because personally i love the characters, their relationships, their chemistry and the fun factor every time i watch them, the most being NCIS and Bones, both still running. previously i was hoping for stargate SG-1 doesn't end, but it did because Richard Dean Anderson got old and plump (and went to produce rather than act), plus MGM (the company) went bankrupt because of stupid ppl running the business...
expl0it
Jun 24 2013, 09:59 PM
^Speak for yourself. I quite enjoy Homeland. Interested to see what direction they take next season.
Agreed about The Mentalist and Dexter.
Has anyone seen the pilot for Ray Donovon? Seems interesting, will def check it out when it officially starts at the end of the month.
Some other new shows I haven't watched but plan to:
Graceland Crossing Lines King And Maxwell
TSdundermifflin
Jun 25 2013, 12:30 PM

will try Crossing Lines Under The Dome (like the Simpsons movie eh?)
anyone seen these?
This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Jun 25 2013, 12:31 PM
elm0001
Jun 25 2013, 07:16 PM
Is anyone trying Ray Donovan?
TSdundermifflin
Jun 27 2013, 10:06 AM

Under The Dome
if u ignore similarity with The Simpsons, i think the dome idea are pretty cool, and executed well.
but the subplots are so-so, esp the psycho jealous teenager. will definitely watch the 2nd episode.