13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

US and UK TV Series: New Series /Season Review, For new airing only

TSdundermifflin
post Jul 15 2011, 12:05 PM, updated 11y ago

237 posts

i dont like to create new thread for each new series.. so..

Alphas (11th July)
a bit meh for me.. bunch of weirdos with special ability (mind control, super agility, super strength, super sense, human wave aerial, etc) working under government and up against villains, also with special ability.
probably ill watch it further, but will not put much hope..

Suits (23rd June)
like it. very smart, some say, a bit similar to House.. more good looking, charmer, lawyer version of House.
definitely will watch it further..

Falling Skies (19th June)
another version of alien invading + post apocalypse series /film..
still OK-ish, watch it further..

Switched at Birth (6th June)
girl-ish /woman-ish series. heart warming, feel good, family drama..
will watch it further..

series not worth a mention, ive dropped it after watched the pilot..
Necessary Roughness (29th June)
The Nine Lives of Chloe King (14th June)
Teen Wolf (6th June)

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Sep 29 2012, 08:18 AM
TSdundermifflin
post Jul 17 2011, 07:49 AM

237 posts

Love Bites
watched 4 episodes, then ive abandoned it.. its OK actually, but too girl-ish.. maybe another version of Sex and the City..
TSdundermifflin
post Jul 24 2011, 12:36 PM

237 posts

Web Therapy (19th July)

the 1st 5minutes, i thought its quite refreshing show. funny bits here and there..

but then, everything gone downhill. too boring, just 2 adults chatting/ having a therapy session via webcam..

definitely im not going to watch it further..
TSdundermifflin
post Aug 8 2011, 01:31 PM

237 posts

will try Friends with Benefits later.. the title are nice rolleyes.gif

any heads up?

Suits remain my favourite series (currently airing).

keep up with Breaking Bad and True Blood, but still watching old episodes..
TSdundermifflin
post Aug 16 2011, 02:47 PM

237 posts

Friends With Benefits

nah, just a set of friends sleeping with each other while searching a true love..

plain and boring..
TSdundermifflin
post Sep 2 2011, 09:42 AM

237 posts

The Lying Game [2011]

family-teen drama, on ABC-Family channel. probably same mold of Switched at Birth [2011].

numbers of cute /pretty teenagers is the main attraction for me.

ive watched the pilot, definitely not great, but still, i do want to give another go.

Curiosity [2011]

the new documentary stuff from discovery channel. celebrities and top well -known scientist (like Stephen Hawking, Michelle Rodriguez, etc) will be a hosts, different interesting topics for each episodes.

will looking forward for this stuff.

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Sep 20 2011, 12:05 PM
TSdundermifflin
post Sep 20 2011, 12:16 PM

237 posts

possibly will try these:

Ringer (13/09/2011)
The Secret Circle (15/09/2011)
Pan Am (25/09/2011)
Revenge (22/09/2011)
Terra Nova (26/09/2011)
The Playboy Club (19/09/2011)
Charlie's Angels (22/09/2011)
Free Agents (21/09/2011)
Grimm (21/10/2011)
Once Upon a Time (23/10/2011)
Pan Am (25/09/2011)
Revenge (22/09/2011)
Terra Nova (26/09/2011)
The Playboy Club (19/09/2011)
Unforgettable (09/2011)
Up All Night (21/09/2011)

ive a high hope on Unforgettable, Pan Am, Terra Nova, The Playboy Club

but the rest are give and go..
TSdundermifflin
post Sep 22 2011, 07:20 AM

237 posts

ill watch The Playboy Club tonight and Unforgettable tomorrow..

and many old series resume new season on this September..

TSdundermifflin
post Sep 27 2011, 07:37 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(xy2610 @ Sep 20 2011, 04:47 PM)
Ringer is okay...Interesting premise and the execution could have been better.
The pilot may work better if it is a double episode.
Too many things happened and things happened too quickly and too easy.
And there is a laughable boat scene....It could be a homage to Alfred Hitchcock though.

The Secret Circle is meh. IMO.
Ringer, just OK. nothing cracking, nothing fancy. deception drama.

watched the pilot, but im not eager to watch the 2nd episode.

ill put on 'maybe list'.. too many new series to watch..
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 3 2011, 07:27 AM

237 posts

Terra Nova [2011]

not as good as i expected, but this is show are very promising, an early hype didnt help. though its still an early days, there's so much possibility with the storyline expanding for few thousand years.

as many said, its a hybrid between Avatar + Lost + Jurassic Park. i want to see Lost more (mysterious side).. the bunch of teenagers seem very annoying.. hopefully they cut out father vs son, adult vs teenager subplot.

nice casting on mother + daughters. they looked very natural mother-daughters..

Unforgetabble [2011]

meh, another typical cop drama. the only uniqueness are, the (ex) cop have super memory ability (able to memorize every little things).. remind me of Michael Ross of Suits, in gloomy mood..
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 10 2011, 09:29 AM

237 posts

A Gifted Man[2011]

a gifted neurosurgeon, visited /hallucinated by his late ex-wife. the self -eccentric medical practitioner begin to questioning his purpose of life.

not really excellent show, but somehow i like it. medical drama, a bit heart -warming stuff.. good casting on lead characters..
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 14 2011, 07:49 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(expl0it @ Oct 9 2011, 05:27 PM)
Homeland is really good. Only 1 epsiode out so far and I'm already hooked.
Homeland [2011]

i think its really good. among the new series in October, i think this one really keep me really anticipate the next episode.

the theme are recurrence, CIA vs Al Qaeda, same old same old.. but they build it nicely. potentially another hit like 24..

and its Showtime, where nudity are an added spice.. but with it or without it, i think this series are really good..

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Oct 14 2011, 07:52 AM
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 16 2011, 07:37 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(expl0it @ Oct 15 2011, 02:25 PM)
There's a new tv show out called Boss. 8 episodes. Starring Kelsey Grammer (Fraiser). Looks interesting
on my list. its on Starz, so u can expect n***ity cool2.gif

Revenge
i think its a good series, im on 2nd episode.

a girl looking for a revenge for his father, using her beauty and her late father wealth. conspiring against powerful wealthy families.
TSdundermifflin
post Oct 30 2011, 09:08 AM

237 posts

Boss is boss.. one of the better new series this Sept/Oct.

watched the pilot, and definitely i want more. some serious shit..
TSdundermifflin
post Nov 1 2011, 07:10 AM

237 posts

Pete Versus Life S02

glad its back.. the show are very ok, not great, but i love the concept. sports commentating on very unfortunate British guy life.. very hilarious.

the season 02 starts very well.. as good as the first.
TSdundermifflin
post Nov 3 2011, 07:33 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(shenanigans @ Nov 2 2011, 09:04 AM)
Have read the synopsis and I think I am going to try it. I love medical drama, with heat-warming one. biggrin.gif  Thanks for the suggestion.
A Gifted Man, haha.. i already dropped it. only lasted to ep05. its good, but i dont like formula-tic drama. every episode based one rare case (on his practice), and another one poor patient case (on the poor clinic).. but on medical perspective, i think this is really good drama. a bit refreshing, the lead actor (and the 'ghost') is excellent. but mythical thing with shaman and etc, are boring stuff..

i watched similar series few months ago (or last year or so).. Off The Map. i think its really good stuff /better. but got poor rating and terminated. a story about bunch doctors working in remote area, somewhere in South America.. love to see good doctors working with low tech stuff.. i watched until the season end, but disappointing with no renewal.

Pan Am

watched the first two episodes. very nice. numbers of beautiful blondes. thats the early attraction.

this drama draws comparison to Mad Men, due to their time background (1960s). except that, nothing much similar. i love Mad Men, and Pan Am have a potential to be as good as Mad Men. but i dont think i will like it as much.

Mad Men are more darker, gloomy and men -centric story. the scripts, dialogue, historical background are very strong.

Pan Am are more lighter, cheerful, and women -centric story. they made an effort on props and CGI. i like the CIA sidestory, though i think that will not the essence of the show.

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Nov 3 2011, 12:15 PM
TSdundermifflin
post Nov 4 2011, 07:43 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(shenanigans @ Nov 3 2011, 03:21 PM)
Anyway, I'm going to try Suits as well..you guys said it's like House. Made me curious. The only law stuff that remarkably gave me an impression is a game...Phoenix Wright..ahha lulz. I hope this will make me want to like law.
Suits, not really like to like with House. probably, the comparison came with both series have a lot of remarkable sarcastic /cynical dialogues.

and think of Dr House lawyer version with more handsomer looks, tough MILF-look woman boss, and talented protege.

i like Suits, i like House (but watched until 3rd season only).. House more funny, but comparing the first season, i like Suits better.

anyone watching Prime Suspect (US)? i missed it the premiere last night (ch 702).. anyone can give quick review? will catch up later.. try to watch tv series, on tv..

QUOTE(mrhulk @ Nov 2 2011, 12:03 PM)
Ringer is the best new suspense drama in this season....episode 1 is totally bad because the plot is so weak......then episode 2 start to gain momentum non-stop until episode 6...so many twisted moment....if you like watching The Vampire Diaries, i recomended Ringer...
or maybe i love Ringer because of Sarah Michelle Gellar....miss her since last season of Buffy
about Ringer.. its good, but for thriller-suspense-drama currently airing, i prefer Revenge. both have interesting story -line, led by a beautiful woman, full of twist..

im on ep06 (Ringer)

This post has been edited by dundermifflin: Nov 4 2011, 07:54 AM
TSdundermifflin
post Nov 8 2011, 07:59 AM

237 posts

need some review on Hell on Wheels (AMC)..

1860s stuff, US Civil War etc..
TSdundermifflin
post Nov 20 2011, 07:53 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(xy2610 @ Nov 18 2011, 05:11 PM)
The first 3 episodes are solid but the 4th is a let down, I must say.
Not to the extent of dropping it for me though.
Once Upon A Time

this. the first 3 are very OK. the 4th are bit let down. but overall im still interested.

and this series i can share with my family..
TSdundermifflin
post Nov 26 2011, 09:21 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ Nov 4 2011, 01:03 PM)
you guys gotta watch Top Secret Recipe
basically it is about cracking the recipe of famous foods such as KFC and so on

I find that host funny as hell and desperate in the same time
Watched the KFC episode. Don't think I like it. It's ok though, not really bad..

13 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0701sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 11:29 PM