Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 LYN Official Users Club v1, For Future & Current Users Of The P7510

TSaeronic
post Jul 14 2011, 03:21 PM, updated 15y ago

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

Galaxy Tab Notice: For The Thread Related to Samsung Galaxy Tab (P1000 and its variations) which is also know as the 7" Galaxy Tab/Galaxy Tab Promo From Maxis etc
Please head to http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1940096.
This thread is on a different tablet. Samsung Galaxy Tab with "Flash 10.1" is not the same as Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1

Jump to Post 2 for updates and launch date
20th August 2011 at selected outlets?
So lame of SME who are depedending on so many factors before launching it.
Hopefully the rest of you guys who are still waiting to get it, get it soon.

Some Overview
The Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1, is the world’s thinnest tablet, measuring 8.6 mm thickness, running with Android 3.1 Honeycomb OS on a 1GHz dual-core Tegra 2 processor, similar to its younger brother Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9.

Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 gives pure Google experience, adding its new TouchWiz UX or TouchWiz 4.0 – includes a live panel, which lets you to customize with different content, such as your pictures, bookmarks, and social feeds, sporting a 10.1 inches WXGA capacitive touch screen with 1280 x 800 pixels of resolution, equipped with 3 megapixel rear camera with LED flash and a 2 megapixel front camera, HSPA+ connectivity up to 21Mbps, 720p HD video recording capability, 1080p HD playback, DLNA support, Bluetooth 2.1, USB 2.0, gyroscope, Wi-Fi 802.11 a/b/g/n, 3.5mm headphone jack, and SIM slot, including the Samsung Stick – a Bluetooth microphone that can be carried in a pocket like a pen and sound dock with powered subwoofer. Users can expand the memory storage through an exclusive USB adapter, that should be purchased separately.

Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 will come in 16GB / 32GB / 64GB verities and pre-loaded with Social Hub, Reader’s Hub, Music Hub and Samsung Mini Apps Tray – which gives you access to more commonly used apps to help ease multitasking and it is capable of Adobe Flash Player 10.2, powered by 6860mAh battery that gives you 10hours of video-playback time.
source: http://gadgetian.com/10288/samsung-galaxy-...-specs-price-2/

Full Technical Specifications Of Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1

Q & A:

Reviews (credits to benny888)

Forums

Pricing and Availability

Variations

This post has been edited by aeronic: Sep 6 2011, 09:27 PM
TSaeronic
post Jul 14 2011, 03:22 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

Updates:
Accessories Available accoding to uncleben888
QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 12 2011, 07:50 PM)
Samsung will be offering a wide range of accessories to enhance the Galaxy Tab 10.1 experience and it includes:

A) USB Connection Kit – RM 109

The USB Connection Kit comes with two black devices, one that connects the tablet with USB devices such as USB flash drive, keyboard, mouse and gamepad. The other device acts as a SD card reader to the tablet.

B) HDMI Connector – RM 139

Connecting your Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 to your HDTV is possible via the HDMI Connector.

C) Book Cover – RM 219

As the name implies, the Book Cover transforms your Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 like a book.

D) Desktop Stand – RM 120

The Desktop Stand is designed for you to dock the tablet on the table, which you can conveniently charge your tablet, listening to music or simply display your favourite photos in a slideshow.

E) Docking Keyboard – RM 299

The white Docking Keyboard allows you to position the tablet like a typical laptop. It also draws power from the tablet for it to work. 

F) Bluetooth Keyboard with Cover – RM 399

Similar to the Book Cover, but this cover comes with a handy wireless Bluetooth keyboard. 

These accessories will be available during at the launch date of the Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1. Alternatively, you can get accessories from Belkin at the launch date too. 

Read  the report and see actual photos of these at:

http://www.mobile88.com/news/read.asp?file...e-List-Malaysia
QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 16 2011, 10:49 PM)
Slight reversal of earlier court decison of Tab 10.1 sales in Europe:

http://www.bgr.com/2011/08/16/german-court...alaxy-tab-10-1/

Excerpt:
The Düsseldorf regional court in Germany announced on Tuesday that it is partially lifting its original injunction that banned Samsung from selling its Galaxy Tab 10.1 tablet in all of the European Union except for the Netherlands. Samsung is now allowed to sell the tablet in the whole of the European Union except for Germany. According to The Wall Street Journal, a court spokesperson said that it was unclear if it was even possible for the German court to stop Samsung from selling its tablet outside of Germany. Despite the ruling, which allows Samsung Electronics to sell the Galaxy Tab 10.1 in most of Europe, Samsung’s German arm still cannot sell the tablet in Germany or anywhere in the European Union. Samsung is presumably still scheduled to appeal the ban on August 25th
QUOTE(coolcrave @ Aug 16 2011, 11:27 PM)
The touchwiz UX update has been halted :  hmm.gif
Check this out guys
http://www.androidpolice.com/2011/08/15/sa...ive-experience/
QUOTE(ahucks @ Aug 17 2011, 01:01 PM)
from facebook..samsung univez
Pictars

More Pictars:

Things To Note:

Notes:
reply from samsung malaysia on launching of this tab in malaysia - WhitE LighteR

This post has been edited by aeronic: Aug 20 2011, 06:09 PM
TSaeronic
post Jul 14 2011, 03:26 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

List Of Proud Owners
nick and number of units (pls pm to add)

1) aeronic - Bestbuy (x2) + Amazon Prime 2 Day Shipping (x3)
2) hayes - Indonesia (x1)
3) albertz
4) bebeq
5) benny888
6) weileong 16GB Wifi
7) sharpman - 16GB Wifi + 3G
8) Wilsonjack228 - ORI White 16GB 3G+WIFI
9) xycosis
10) ajepyatt
11) KakiGamer69

This post has been edited by aeronic: Sep 6 2011, 09:31 PM
TSaeronic
post Jul 14 2011, 03:48 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

wow i made damn many typos, bad keyboard.
when you view the tabs online you will realize that they have two colors, correct?
black or metalic grey or the white one
but the actual fact is that for the ones that actually produce as of now and sell in stores, there is no PURE white YET

This post has been edited by aeronic: Aug 26 2011, 10:48 AM
TSaeronic
post Jul 14 2011, 04:10 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 14 2011, 04:04 PM)
oh.. that one i know liao. the white only has the back cover which is white. the rest is actually black/grey color...
but there is a pure white coming soon. just letting everyone know so they don't accidentally buy the wrong one from amazon.com.
TSaeronic
post Jul 14 2011, 07:30 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(neo_lam @ Jul 14 2011, 05:19 PM)
i saw some sellers selling AP 16GB rm1899...should i wait for official launching??
if i were you and had no chance to buy it yet, i would wait.
indonesia they launched it already
so it should be pretty soon in malaysia

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 14 2011, 05:32 PM)
normally i saw 2k wor~
the guy who's selling in LYN, not even sure where is his source from
and he's selling it way above that

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Jul 14 2011, 07:11 PM)
I want thisssssss!!!!!
go and buy lor
TSaeronic
post Jul 15 2011, 06:40 AM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(sgojita4 @ Jul 15 2011, 12:58 AM)
sorry juz 1 noob question..
if tab 10.1 3G + wifi can make call or not??
juz wondering..

tq
all the common android tablets with 3G (samsung,htc,zte,asus) can definitely make calls via speaker phone/headset/bluetooth.
unless you are expecting to hold a 10" plate to your face and your ear like a phone... then cannot.
so when the 3G version is out I presume it would be able to also.
i know you are catious because ipad cannot. well that's just because ipad is gay.

on another note, skype works perfectly on speaker phone mode. the new skype suport video call on certain models running anroid 2.2./2.3. SGT 10.1 is not one of them unfortunately.

Added on July 15, 2011, 6:44 am
QUOTE(garfieldX @ Jul 15 2011, 02:16 AM)
hi guys, would like to know if there is any manga reader apps like mango for Honeycomb user? still hesitating whether buy ipad 2 or tab 10.1. thx
yes there are 2 if i remember correctly, the same version for non honeycomb (one of it optimized for HD)
looks better on a big screen
i tried and uninstalled since i am not a manga fan

Added on July 15, 2011, 6:49 am
QUOTE(pcboy @ Jul 14 2011, 05:14 PM)
we can use normal apk files on Honeycomb, am i right?
yes same APK files. they install the same way.
some apps even made for the oldest android versions such as 1.5, work fine
but some even working on 2.3 will FC on 3.0/3.1
so it really depends, you always try

certain apps, they have a HD or honeycomb version, so u can try that.

This post has been edited by aeronic: Jul 15 2011, 08:56 AM
TSaeronic
post Jul 15 2011, 09:00 AM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(billy_overheat @ Jul 15 2011, 08:45 AM)
^you sure about that?  I thought only galaxy tab 7' can make calls? @@
sure about what? of course you can't make calls with the wifi model lah. the 3G model SGT 10.1 is not out yet.
i have edited my post. almost all android tablet in the market with 3g can make calls.
so when the 3G model for SGT 10.1 comes out what are the chances it would not support phone calls? go figure.

Added on July 15, 2011, 9:07 am
QUOTE(ventrilocks @ Jul 15 2011, 08:50 AM)
without micro-SD it is pretty bad..mostly when we buy tablet or smartphone..it is necessary to have micro-SD... sweat.gif
yeah it does put off a lot of people
especially if you have to pay $100 USD just for an additional 16GB.
that's like ipad style of branding. a bomb just for additional storage space.
as for me the extra space like 10GB or so are for movies mostly.
and since i sync it on a regular basis, does not matter to me much.
again it depends on your needs and what you use it for.

This post has been edited by aeronic: Jul 15 2011, 09:07 AM
TSaeronic
post Jul 15 2011, 07:37 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(SteadyPana @ Jul 15 2011, 02:55 PM)
Anyone know which spec will be launched here ?? 10.1 or 10.1v ????  unsure.gif  unsure.gif
there were no 10.1V in the US when i was there.
most of the 10.1V were sold by the service provider in Europe.
if at all they sell 10.1V here, high chance it will be brought in directly by service providers like Maxis or Digi.
much like how maxis controlled the iphone long time back.

CPU wise and all same, but the 10.1V has a better camera, the 10.1's camera (the one i have) is just good for a bar code reader for me. the picture quality for me, it is very plain..or very bad if you compare it with my galaxy S2 phone....the 3MP pics are just like from an old nokia...if 3 years ago, you would say they are great...although there's flash...

but the 10.1 is a lot slimmer and lighter than the 10.1V.

also 10.1V does not seem to have stereo speakers based on a forum post - can anyone confirm this?

if this is true it kinda sucks, because one of the major things you would want to do on it would be to watch movies or youtube serials.

This post has been edited by aeronic: Jul 15 2011, 07:47 PM
TSaeronic
post Jul 16 2011, 12:47 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(fireice @ Jul 15 2011, 09:23 PM)
What's the battery life like for daily use? I might get one from ebay, it looks good smile.gif
battery life sucks the first few charge cycles, normal for lithion ion polymer
after that with full charge it lasts me 2 full days. constant 5 hours of youtube and 6 hours wactching full screen holywood movies using the flash player via amazon prime. and about 4 hours of surfing. the rest of the hours on standby with WiFi ON and ebuddy and skype connected.
good or no good?

Added on July 16, 2011, 12:48 pm
QUOTE(hayes @ Jul 16 2011, 12:32 PM)
Me  me me! I owed it since 2 weeks ago.. Bought it in jakarta.. Posted it in other thread... Btw the keyboard workd fine with others apps except this low yat forum.. Seems lagging sad.gif
hi nice to meet you then.
i have added you to the users list

This post has been edited by aeronic: Jul 16 2011, 12:48 PM
TSaeronic
post Jul 16 2011, 12:59 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(hayes @ Jul 16 2011, 12:56 PM)
Thanks,  u mng to get any accessories here?  usb adapter sold out n not available frm samsung.. Jst bought screen prtector frm amazon.. Cant stand seeing the finger print on the screen.. Sigh
for own unit only, not the other 5 i sold off
got the screen protector, the thick capacitive stylus thingy and a branded case

did not get the USB adapter. what a regret, maybe i should have.
now i am in malaysia, might as well wait till it is sold here.
TSaeronic
post Jul 17 2011, 11:03 AM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

added more pictars

QUOTE(pratt @ Jul 17 2011, 10:00 AM)
Anyone find that at minimum brightness setting, the display is still too bright in a dark room?
i did not find it too bright but yes the difference between the highest and lowest brightness is not much. so if you are used to using backlight off on a totaly dark room, it may be too bright and it sucks for me too.
TSaeronic
post Jul 18 2011, 12:51 AM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(nshady @ Jul 17 2011, 05:05 PM)
I read the new galaxy tab 10.1/8.9 has no gorilla glass right?
source please?
QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 18 2011, 12:39 AM)
different category/class boss~ u cant compare like tht...
rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by aeronic: Jul 18 2011, 01:47 PM
TSaeronic
post Jul 18 2011, 01:45 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 18 2011, 12:46 PM)
Thats it till today... maybe TS can add this to the front page
done
TSaeronic
post Jul 18 2011, 02:32 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 18 2011, 02:06 PM)
Maybe can list out front potential issue as well. I have heard that some ppl are experiencing the "death sleep" issue.
need more info on that. mine is fine so far.
there was once it froze completely with display on.

since back cover cannot opened as well and there's no reset button
holding the power button for 10 seconds did the reset trick

This post has been edited by aeronic: Jul 18 2011, 02:32 PM
TSaeronic
post Jul 19 2011, 11:25 AM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(annmix @ Jul 19 2011, 02:27 AM)
if we buy from USA, will it be held by the custom ? usually how much taxes we have to pay ?
of course you're expected to declare and pay duty by law.
but if your question is purely on whether customs will stop you and check, nope does not happen to 95% of the people unless you bring so many.
all i can say is that:
if you're not planning to resell units to make money and avoid duties and taxes (which you should not do), don't be stupid and bring the nice box and the unit nicely sealed with all the plastic seals etc. just get a case and put it in. and carry the chargers etc in a zip lock bag.

Added on July 19, 2011, 11:27 am
QUOTE(hayes @ Jul 18 2011, 06:50 PM)
I experienced that too but i reckon that it was due to short of memoryas my son opened too many apps. It  was like completely frozen but will work ok after a few seconds.
yeap that happens too but the one i mentioned it was a complete hang, due to a faulty app that instead of FC, brought down the whole OS with it.

Added on July 19, 2011, 11:36 am
QUOTE(marc79 @ Jul 19 2011, 11:22 AM)
expecting trolls invading.. hahahaah... its the maker want to make.. also beyond Samsung control? tongue.gif
nah... maybe samsung wants all the trolls and attention? after all they make so many parts of the ipad and iphone
now they make something better and feed the trolls LOL

This post has been edited by aeronic: Jul 19 2011, 11:36 AM
TSaeronic
post Jul 19 2011, 09:58 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(marc79 @ Jul 19 2011, 06:26 PM)
if 16GB , then i'll 
action as follow;
really? proceed to store.apple.com/my - (search for the correct model) - purchase!!
if 16Gb +3G,
expected:) match ipad's pricing.. haha..
you can do no justice by comparing a honeycomb tabley with an ipad
they are not matchable.
ipad's next step forward to get a decent browser that allows heavy flash and smooth scrolling
then we can talk about the rest
TSaeronic
post Jul 22 2011, 09:15 AM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(J_Vansen_S @ Jul 22 2011, 05:50 AM)
Guys; those who owns the tab2 right. What do u think of the responsiveness compared with the iPad2?

I tried it there @samsung hmm I feel it's kinda sticky feeling. I don't know is it because it's really new just out from the box n put on display showcase or what.

I ended empty handed out from d'light yawn!"

I think most Koreans will order their unit from US instead hah so sad
no the screen is not sticky, the screen feels the same like my other tabs, only more sturdy
it is pretty much the same quality as my sgs2 phone

maybe the demo unit a lot of sticky and dirty people handled it before you did
my advise is wash your hands before eating or doing anything else
TSaeronic
post Jul 22 2011, 12:08 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(marc79 @ Jul 22 2011, 10:38 AM)
all we received is ... akan datang (July).. sigh  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
very typical of malaysian management
maybe they are waiting for singapore to release first and then do the pricing (a rip off)?
i saw the samsung malaysia's facebook page
cannot even type in proper english
typical ah lian and ah beng
TSaeronic
post Jul 31 2011, 11:57 PM

karma is a funny thing
846 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jul 31 2011, 11:46 PM)
1st week of August liao~
few more mins liao

anyway for updates:
i moved back to stock on my sgt 10.1
since the new touchwiz will be launched on the 3rd, eagerly waiting for it

heard rumours that it will be avaiable OTA starting 21st Augusr only

0.0490sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:48 AM