HTC Desire S Official Thread V2, Quietly Brilliant

jenwww
post Aug 7 2011, 11:36 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(blugear @ Aug 6 2011, 04:47 PM)
After the update gps doesnt seem to work.. I left gps on for 30min but never locked to any satelites. I use gps test to see if there is any satelite but no satelite in list.. weird.. on my SGS2 can see satelites in gps test..
mine having same problem . but with mobile network on it detect instantly

Added on August 7, 2011, 11:36 am
QUOTE(afzal_m @ Aug 6 2011, 06:48 PM)
today is a very sad day for me, my Desire S died on me...
i can't turn on the phone at all sad.gif
i took out the battery, put it in again and tried, cannot
i took out the SD card, tried to turn it on, also cannot
i took out the sim card, tried to turn it on, also cannot
don't know what to do already...

went to maxis center, told me i need to send it to the service center. service center also closed after 12.30 on saturdays...

have to wait til monday to send...
so sad... sad.gif
have you try hard reset?

This post has been edited by jenwww: Aug 7 2011, 11:36 AM
afzal_m
post Aug 7 2011, 11:53 AM

108 posts

@suggiebliss the phone is less than 2 months before it died on me. I really love this phone sad.gif

@jenn I can't even perform hard reset on it. I brought it to digital mall hoping that they can at least help, but was told I need to bring it to the service center since it's still under warranty..planning to go tomorrow to brightstar and I really hope that they can settle it quick. Wishful thinking on my part, but still..
yobbapak
post Aug 9 2011, 12:05 AM

Validating

why this phone seem not famous?? cool2.gif
chotsa87
post Aug 9 2011, 10:17 AM

Hi All, wanted to ask sumthing about this phone. is it true the HTC DS data keep on running even if we disable the mobile network setting? Last week my data usage went out to almost rm2k!im using celcom exec 50(no data plan). i've install the 3G watchdog apps on my DS...the 3g usage very little..but celcom bill charge me like crazy! when i ask the lady @ celcom centre she told me " the data for this HTC model memang keep on running even if you disable everything " . is it true? if yes. is there any solution for this? im new in this smartphone thingy. pls help me. sad.gif ...

note: most of the apps i install using wifi network and tru apk. file on pc download.

when i ask other ppl:
some say the free apps is not giving the right count. apps tipu.
some say apps eat data alot when running it.(without internet access.can meh?)
some say some apps use alot of data when download and install tru market.(mobile network or free wifi also charge)auto charge data.huh?
some say celcom suka hati charge me in the bill..then they will waive everythig..give me the fix an reasoable price for it.
some say tukar hp lain laa...
TSnodeffect
post Aug 9 2011, 11:01 AM

Your past does not equal your future.
1,281 posts

QUOTE(chotsa87 @ Aug 9 2011, 10:17 AM)
Hi All, wanted to ask sumthing about this phone. is it true the HTC DS data keep on running even if we disable the mobile network setting? Last week my data usage  went out to almost rm2k!im using celcom exec 50(no data plan). i've install the 3G watchdog apps on my DS...the 3g usage very little..but celcom bill charge me like crazy! when i ask the lady @ celcom centre she told me " the data for this HTC model memang keep on running even if you disable everything " . is it true? if yes.  is there any solution for this?  im new in this smartphone thingy. pls help me.  sad.gif ...

note: most of the apps i install using wifi network and tru apk. file on pc download.

when i ask other ppl:
some say some apps use alot of data when download and install tru market.(mobile network or free wifi also charge)auto charge data.huh?
some say celcom suka hati charge me in the bill..then they will waive everythig..give me the fix an reasoable price for it.
Only this is correct : "some say celcom suka hati charge me in the bill..then they will waive everythig..give me the fix an reasoable price for it. "

no extra data charges on DS. Watchdog is promising. I don't really know how you use it, this is weird
golok
post Aug 9 2011, 01:48 PM

32 posts

go to

\settings\privacy\

uncheck back up my settings.

This would always synch with the Google cloud service to backup your settings.

do check the watchdog again.

jenwww
post Aug 9 2011, 03:31 PM

734 posts

Hi All, wanted to ask sumthing about this phone. is it true the HTC DS data keep on running even if we disable the mobile network setting? Last week my data usage  went out to almost rm2k!im using celcom exec 50(no data plan). i've install the 3G watchdog apps on my DS...the 3g usage very little..but celcom bill charge me like crazy! when i ask the lady @ celcom centre she told me " the data for this HTC model memang keep on running even if you disable everything " . is it true? if yes.  is there any solution for this?  im new in this smartphone thingy. pls help me.  sad.gif ...

when i ask other ppl:
you said disable mobile network it still will use internet in the background ??? impossible unless ur background data running using mms apn . .
muslayer
post Aug 9 2011, 10:31 PM

276 posts

when i ask other ppl:
I don't have such issue, I disable the mobile network it won't charge me on data plan.

afzal_m
post Aug 10 2011, 01:00 AM

108 posts

my Desire S is alive again! brought it to SIS (plaza berjaya) on monday, they said the turnaround time is 3 days. but today (tuesday), they sms-ed me saying that it's ready to be collected.

they changed the motherboard on my Desire S. so happy that it only took them a day to fix it biggrin.gif
joelucas91
post Aug 10 2011, 02:44 AM

436 posts

QUOTE(afzal_m @ Aug 10 2011, 01:00 AM)
my Desire S is alive again! brought it to SIS (plaza berjaya) on monday, they said the turnaround time is 3 days. but today (tuesday), they sms-ed me saying that it's ready to be collected.

they changed the motherboard on my Desire S. so happy that it only took them a day to fix it biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
TSnodeffect
post Aug 10 2011, 12:30 PM

Your past does not equal your future.
1,281 posts

QUOTE(afzal_m @ Aug 10 2011, 01:00 AM)

nice man, btw, did you ask about the Wifi death grip? would they fix it too?
afzal_m
post Aug 10 2011, 04:05 PM

108 posts

@nodeffect i forgot to ask about the death grip (> _<)
Joseph Hahn
post Aug 11 2011, 08:23 AM

kpop k
6,410 posts

Eh yours is SiS set?
rayzel
post Aug 11 2011, 01:11 PM

431 posts

Hi Sifus,

My desire s here got problem. Cannot start the phone even after i have factory reset it through phone button.

Anyone here have any idea on other ways to start it? My last option is to send it to the AP dealer for warranty already.
jenwww
post Aug 11 2011, 05:53 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(rayzel @ Aug 11 2011, 01:11 PM)
Hi Sifus,

My desire s here got problem. Cannot start the phone even after i have factory reset it through phone button.

Anyone here have any idea on other ways to start it? My last option is to send it to the AP dealer for warranty already.
have you try to take out the battery and try to hard reset ??

Added on August 11, 2011, 6:04 pmwhy so many people have dead desire s . got anything weird happened before your phone dead? hmm.gif

like phone extremely hot? using task killer? too much background services? memory full?? you let your phone battery drain until empty before?

phone cant turn on happened to me once but i took out the battery and put back on then the phone can be started but the startup takes about 5 minutes after that my phone just back to normal on the next reboot. i had no idea what i did before that happened to me i think i open some apps without closing it then i put into pocket and let the screen lock .

fyi my phone never completely sleep before . my light sensor on all the time for me using sensor unlock screen app.

to those had this problem mind to tell me anything odd happened before your DS dead? or cant be turn on before take out the battery and reset/on the phone . unsure.gif

This post has been edited by jenwww: Aug 11 2011, 06:04 PM
rayzel
post Aug 11 2011, 11:51 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(jenwww @ Aug 11 2011, 05:53 PM)
have you try to take out the battery and try to hard reset ??

Added on August 11, 2011, 6:04 pmwhy so many people have dead desire s . got anything weird happened before your phone dead? hmm.gif

like phone extremely hot? using task killer? too much background services? memory full?? you let your phone battery drain until empty before?

phone cant turn on happened to me once but i took out the battery and put back on then the phone can be started but the startup takes about 5 minutes after that my phone just back to normal on the next reboot. i had no idea what i did before that happened to me i think i open some apps without closing it then i put into pocket and let the screen lock .

fyi my phone never completely sleep before . my light sensor on all the time for me using sensor unlock screen app.

to those had this problem mind to tell me anything odd happened before your DS dead? or cant be turn on before take out the battery and reset/on the phone . unsure.gif
Yeah done that... before it went to dark... no weird signs at all.. actually this happen while i was updating one of my game from the market.. it went dark until now... tried all method including hard reset.... nvm already sent to service centre already...
Atsutane-Shirane
post Aug 12 2011, 12:43 AM

1,458 posts

Never had any problem with my DS since the first day i buy it... For those who have dead DS can at least give some of the DS identity no so we can group it...

At least can help other avoid buying almost dead DS...
muslayer
post Aug 12 2011, 10:07 AM

276 posts

i have some minor reboot issue, after received some calls. Not sure what is the cause also

jenwww
post Aug 12 2011, 10:44 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(rayzel @ Aug 11 2011, 11:51 PM)
Yeah done that... before it went to dark... no weird signs at all.. actually this happen while i was updating one of my game from the market.. it went dark until now... tried all method including hard reset.... nvm already sent to service centre already...
did you check for the temperature for ur phone ?? at least feel it . i always check it . if the temp go above 43c i will stop using for a while . last time i think my phone overheat when my phone had problem . i think the heat burnt something in the phone made the phone cant be turn on
Dannyl
post Aug 12 2011, 10:25 PM

what the fucuk-yimai
6,113 posts

1) Anybody using AP set? What region is it? What distributor?
2) Any lady owners? Bagus? Considering this for my wife. She likes phones >3.2" and <4" sizes.
3) When is original sets coming out?

Thanks!

32 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0205sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:50 AM