HTC Desire S Official Thread V2, Quietly Brilliant

jenwww
post Jul 11 2011, 04:00 PM

734 posts

if i failed during the rooting progress will it brick?? and if it bricked can i redo the progress to un brick the phone?? .

if the rooting same like flashing cfw into nokia phone then i dont have to worry biggrin.gif cause i can keep flash until it work
jenwww
post Jul 11 2011, 04:14 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(nodeffect @ Jul 11 2011, 04:06 PM)
as far as I know, rooting won't brick your device, if rooting fails you can always try to root your phone again.
ok thanks biggrin.gif im searching the undo tutorial once i get it i will root my phone biggrin.gif
jenwww
post Jul 11 2011, 08:33 PM

734 posts

i think 1st thing i going to do after root my phone is overclock my phone biggrin.gif how much can this phone go?
jenwww
post Jul 12 2011, 07:43 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(likhow @ Jul 12 2011, 01:09 AM)
Any recommended custom ROM? What can i get from the custom ROM?
I'm new to this android rooting thingy.
I hope to get some opinion/advice from those who are really expert in rooting.
Thx~ =)
im no expert in rooting but what i know on custom rom is many useless thing get removed like htc hub ,htc like, htc report agent and etc . smile.gif
jenwww
post Jul 12 2011, 02:42 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(nodeffect @ Jul 12 2011, 09:35 AM)
Custom ROM tweaks the original ROM and add in more functions like, making the wifi better, able to overclock the CPU(you can do this by rooting also), and much more... read their features on their forum, you can find the links at first page. I recommend using Virtuous Unity 1.27.0 Sense 3.0 based on Pyramid... which is a quite stable ROM... read their forum to know more...

jenwww, this ROM can go to 1.7 GHZ but not very stable..... you can read more on their official forum.
how bout 1.5GHz . biggrin.gif if that is so stable then awesome !
jenwww
post Jul 15 2011, 10:32 AM

734 posts

does flash back original RUU ROM get my phone s-on back?? blink.gif i really confuse . and google about htc desire s i always get result of desire rclxub.gif
jenwww
post Jul 16 2011, 01:38 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jul 16 2011, 11:37 AM)
I haven't apply the wifi fix. Or is it built in into the ROM?

I prefer LBC since i still like 2.1 homescreen. But i read that LBC will have 3.0 homescreen later. I just hope that it's optional. Still not ready for other launchers.

I think LBC is snappier since it's based on DS ROM instead of Virtuous which is based on Sensation ROM.

IMO it feels quite slow even though Quadrant reports around 2K with 1.2GHz default kernel OC. With LBC i get around 1800 in Quadrant which makes sense because it's not OCed.

Stock ROM can only get around 1300. sweat.gif

Maybe need to give them some time to optimize it and resize everything properly. Some things still looks weird to me. The built in screenshot function is useful though.

Added some screenies. biggrin.gif
user posted imageuser posted image
what app on ur top left side or ur screen? or it come with the custom rom?
jenwww
post Jul 17 2011, 10:21 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(Atsutane-Shirane @ Jul 16 2011, 12:36 AM)
Flashing RUU will not return back the S-On...
ok but i did check alot on google . many people suggest flash original RUU can revert back to S-on i havent found anything for desire s but i found this for incredible s

http://forum.xda-developers.com/archive/in.../t-1152281.html
jenwww
post Jul 18 2011, 01:05 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(muslayer @ Jul 18 2011, 12:32 PM)
i still dun have the guts to root my desire S, scared the warranty void.
same here . unless i found a way to change back s-off to s-on . some forum says s-off can warranty too they will . i not sure that .
jenwww
post Jul 21 2011, 04:12 PM

734 posts

got anyone using original desire s from maxis??? can share your software infomation??

my AP phone comes with europe software

Android version

htc sense version

Baseband version
20.28b.30.0805u_38.03.02.11_m

kernel version
2.6.35.10-g13f6602
htc kernel@and 18-2 #1
sat mar 12 20:20:21:53 cst 2011

build number
1.28.401.1 cl24343 release-keys

software number

browser version
webkit/533.1

today i check for update manually i found 1.47.401.4 . i try to google it and i cant find any more info all result is in russian wink.gif . wanna know what ruu rom does maxis device using . maybe using this europe rom i cant get gps lock on . help me pls . icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by jenwww: Jul 21 2011, 04:15 PM
jenwww
post Jul 21 2011, 07:03 PM

734 posts

LOL you should remenber the version and download the backup before using custom rom

Added on July 21, 2011, 7:08 pm
QUOTE(afzal_m @ Jul 21 2011, 06:34 PM)
here you go jenn:
i'm using the one from maxis smile.gif
thanks . gonna try it out see it will fix my gps problem or not . my EU software cant get gps sattelite even i stand under the hot sun for 1 hour ! biggrin.gif

edit: oh no . just now i check for my software version it all write russian and i have no idea what they write . now this version that came with maxis i google it all chinese i have no idea too rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by jenwww: Jul 21 2011, 07:14 PM
jenwww
post Jul 21 2011, 07:19 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(Joseph Hahn @ Jul 21 2011, 07:14 PM)
This LBC ROM is based on Telstra ROM which is Australian but the guy making the ROM is German so i find it to be a bit weird.

But almost everything runs perfectly, even GPS. Kinda don't make sense that Euro ROM can't detect satellite in our area.
i really have no idea maybe is the gps chip problem . have to find out . if using mobile network or wifi it detect instantly .

also 1 have another reason wan to flash to asia rom because i dont like the united kingdom english . and i cant change to us english . when i choose english again it will go to english(italy) blink.gif

This post has been edited by jenwww: Jul 21 2011, 07:21 PM
jenwww
post Jul 21 2011, 10:52 PM

734 posts

got new method to root biggrin.gif

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1113820

ENG Hboot

btw i dunno how it works wink.gif

oh ya can someone help me ?? i use RUU to upgrade to asia software and radio it keep showing me customer id error .

This post has been edited by jenwww: Jul 22 2011, 12:44 AM
jenwww
post Jul 23 2011, 07:09 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(foxstertail @ Jul 23 2011, 01:00 PM)
Just updated software ver to 1.48.707.1.
You guys noticed any difference? i dont.
new hboot version

Added on July 23, 2011, 7:10 pm
QUOTE(kk6513 @ Jul 22 2011, 06:05 PM)
[attachmentid=2344701]

[attachmentid=2345371]

New cloth for my phone.
i got this case smile.gif but i stick with my moovworks case little longer

This post has been edited by jenwww: Jul 23 2011, 07:10 PM
jenwww
post Jul 24 2011, 11:04 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(mkit @ Jul 24 2011, 02:41 AM)
can anyone tell what the price for ori and ap now?
if compare to Desire HD and Incredible S, which one is better?  icon_question.gif
if compare to dhd you getting froyo 2.2

if compare to IS depends you wan bigger screen or not . everything is same just bigger screen and better camera

price for both dhd and IS is 1699 on pc expo

This post has been edited by jenwww: Jul 24 2011, 11:19 AM
jenwww
post Jul 24 2011, 09:00 PM

734 posts

share share your cool apps with me biggrin.gif . here are my cool apps that i cant live without blush.gif

Added on July 24, 2011, 9:01 pm
QUOTE(muslayer @ Jul 24 2011, 08:19 PM)
HTC Desire S got new update,download now and don't know what it improve yet.

Version update was 1.48.707.1.
Menu kinda a bit different after update, so with the colour of ringer & media volume bar change to green

Others still checking. Phone like more smooth than before.
check your setting there is a Dock there . and check ur app drawer there should be something called Dock .

if dont have maybe just for my EU software

This post has been edited by jenwww: Jul 24 2011, 09:03 PM
jenwww
post Jul 25 2011, 07:42 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(muslayer @ Jul 24 2011, 09:25 PM)
Yup , have Dock there, (Mine is Maxis Set)

Still need to see what is new first,
tongue.gif
new hboot . speed is improve 20% . hmm.gif i do nothing some optimized on the ram . then nothing else i saw
jenwww
post Jul 26 2011, 06:42 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(kept @ Jul 26 2011, 05:50 PM)
then how to downgrade the hboot version to 0.98.0000 fro 0.98.0002? i found something about it on xda forum but could't understand. help please.
is kinda complicated . what gold card la what what adb la rclxub.gif same here so confused .
jenwww
post Jul 26 2011, 11:25 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(kanethesun @ Jul 26 2011, 10:01 PM)
the only option there is English, without bracket while about to make the selection

but after choose, and it goes back to the menu
it actually show English (India)

its an AP set btw ...
hmmm, India set? biggrin.gif

but all the English word is reading correctly.
maybe my EU set cant set it either . when i change english again it from english uK to english italy LOL
jenwww
post Jul 27 2011, 05:56 PM

734 posts

@nodeffect can you help me ask 1 question on xda devolopers?? biggrin.gif i dont have permission to ask at that thread .

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1187231

i saw you wrote something there . i so wanna know .

ok my question is .
if i wan to install asia stock rom using ruu it get customer id error . mean cant pass CID and i did try using goldcard method and it didnt work . so can i s off my phone and then use this method to s-on again and install asia ruu stock rom?.

hope you can help me tongue.gif i really wan chinese language and test out asian software can fix my gps problem

This post has been edited by jenwww: Jul 27 2011, 06:30 PM

0.0342sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:39 PM