120 Pages « < 94 95 96 97 98 > » Bottom

SAMSUNG GALAXY S II Official thread V8, NEW Users be SMARTuser - PLS read Page 1

takumin_86
post Jul 16 2011, 04:48 PM

99 posts

i tried to dial *119# but no menu came out only "MMI Completed".. any solutions?
koshimae
post Jul 16 2011, 04:50 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Jul 16 2011, 04:37 PM)
Did you put the phone outdoor? For me if i put the phone out the window i can get satelite  lock within 30 seconds or so.
already did that..but still the "?" appear at top right of my phone..
is there any software to check the satellite signal?..
btw im new to android n smartphone..
c010
post Jul 16 2011, 04:52 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Jul 16 2011, 04:45 PM)
Of course i know, if not i wouldnt be commenting that.  smile.gif Im staying in HSDPA area coverage most of the time, so i dont think boosting signal much is needed. I use 3g frequently in a day to surf the net. It would be a damn hassle to turn 2g/3g on and off.

All im saying sure all those steps reduce battery drain but phones are meant to be used regularly anyway, better find a solution that doesnt involve turning off things.

I havent root and optimize my phone yet so i dont know how much optimization can be done to save how much percentage of battery.  blush.gif
the solution would be, battery technology. our battery technology for pass 10 years has not evolved much vs the other parts of the devices. more powerful CPU, bigger screen
megadisc
post Jul 16 2011, 05:11 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Jul 16 2011, 05:52 PM)
the solution would be, battery technology. our battery technology for pass 10 years has not evolved much vs the other parts of the devices. more powerful CPU, bigger screen
yeah quite sad case
no wonder have to buy backup battery ?
anyone got or not ?
Proclaimer
post Jul 16 2011, 05:11 PM

1,150 posts

QUOTE(koshimae @ Jul 16 2011, 04:50 PM)
already did that..but still the "?" appear at top right of my phone..
is there any software to check the satellite signal?..
btw im new to android n smartphone..
how long did you test it outdoors? there are some gps test apps in market.

QUOTE(c010 @ Jul 16 2011, 04:52 PM)
right, back to battery. Why not a 2000mah battery instead of a 1650mah? That only samsung can answer i guess.

True much other parts have evolve alot, but as the evolve they should be more energy efficient. smile.gif
takumin_86
post Jul 16 2011, 05:24 PM

99 posts

issue resolved itself.. mind boggling
vkyip
post Jul 16 2011, 05:25 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jul 16 2011, 04:44 PM)
I can't find paypal in market even with marketaccess also. But I did manage to find with appbrain and access from there.
I can find Paypal using Appbrain. But when I click at the bottom "Market" it says cannot find. Using web then click install, can, but cannot install successfully.
hye
post Jul 16 2011, 05:26 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Jul 16 2011, 05:11 PM)
how long did you test it outdoors? there are some gps test apps in market.
right, back to battery. Why not a 2000mah battery instead of a 1650mah? That only samsung can answer i guess.

True much other parts have evolve alot, but as the evolve they should be more energy efficient.  smile.gif
The Andida battery which I am using right now is 2000mAh. About 55%-59% power right out of the box and lasted about 12 hours before I need to change batteries again. (3G, WiFi is on. K-9, SPB Shell, WidgetLocker, PowerAMP and Equalizer at the top of the active list. Stock ROM)

Actually battery technologies have progress over the last few years but making it commercially feasible for us consumers have not. E.g : Look at Hybrid batteries technology.

To be fair existing batteries technologies have evolved and matured but power demands are higher than before. If we were to use current batteries technologies on phone 10 years back, it will be a massive breakthrough. However, current phone technologies demands more power than ever before.
afad
post Jul 16 2011, 05:27 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Jul 16 2011, 04:46 PM)
bro, all this little implementation are not in OS level doesn't mean you cant use other FREE app to enable (disable data). you can download it from market for FREE! i would say its not fair to comment on Samsung/Google implementation of "UI" on OS level that doesn't come with a shortcut to allow you to turn of 3g, turn off data or etc. everybody has their own opinion or preference and there is no 100% perfect OS especially a mobile platform that cater to mass consumer market. why dont you ask the same question to other mobile platform such as BB, iOS, WP7? if you can find any of this OS allow you to turn on/off 3G within 2 clicks, then i will give in whatever you trying to say here.
+1, im using widgetsoid2.x now..and i only need 2 clicks to enable packet data and 2g/3g..
megadisc
post Jul 16 2011, 05:35 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Jul 16 2011, 06:26 PM)
The Andida battery which I am using right now is 2000mAh. About 55%-59% power right out of the box and lasted about 12 hours before I need to change batteries again. (3G, WiFi is on. K-9, SPB Shell, WidgetLocker, PowerAMP and Equalizer at the top of the active list. Stock ROM)

Actually battery technologies have progress over the last few years but making it commercially feasible for us consumers have not. E.g : Look at Hybrid batteries technology.

To be fair existing batteries technologies have evolved and matured but power demands are higher than before. If we were to use current batteries technologies on phone 10 years back, it will be a massive breakthrough. However, current phone technologies demands more power than ever before.
mind to share where u get andida battery ????

QUOTE(afad @ Jul 16 2011, 06:27 PM)
+1, im using widgetsoid2.x now..and i only need 2 clicks to enable packet data and 2g/3g..
yeah...that would be nice
vkyip
post Jul 16 2011, 05:38 PM

118 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Jul 16 2011, 04:46 PM)
bro, all this little implementation are not in OS level doesn't mean you cant use other FREE app to enable (disable data). you can download it from market for FREE! i would say its not fair to comment on Samsung/Google implementation of "UI" on OS level that doesn't come with a shortcut to allow you to turn of 3g, turn off data or etc. everybody has their own opinion or preference and there is no 100% perfect OS especially a mobile platform that cater to mass consumer market. why dont you ask the same question to other mobile platform such as BB, iOS, WP7? if you can find any of this OS allow you to turn on/off 3G within 2 clicks, then i will give in whatever you trying to say here.
I agree with with you but definitely the UI could be better. I've seen cynogenmod with a much better friendlier UI. But then again, I don't mind if these settings are nested in 10 levels, if I could leave them on all the time. The problem is that I can't leave em on all the time becoz I have to maximize battery time. Don't get me wrong, I still think it's a good phone, but it would be great if the UI is more polished.

Yes, widgetsoid is great.

This post has been edited by vkyip: Jul 16 2011, 05:39 PM
c010
post Jul 16 2011, 05:49 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(vkyip @ Jul 16 2011, 05:38 PM)
I agree with with you but definitely the UI could be better. I've seen cynogenmod with a much better friendlier UI. But then again, I don't mind if these settings are nested in 10 levels, if I could leave them on all the time. The problem is that I can't leave em on all the time becoz I have to maximize battery time. Don't get me wrong, I still think it's a good phone, but it would be great if the UI is more polished.

Yes, widgetsoid is great.
Yes agreed that it could be better but that's their decision on the ui level and I always believe in the theory of never enough. Bear in mind that cyanogen is a customize rom that implementing most of the "suggested" features from consumer feedback and this consumer are not the consumer like us (phone savvy). Most of the consumer out there are just normal user that don't even know that they can turn 3g on/off. Imagine you slap cm rom to their phone, what would be the impact? They will confuse like hell.

We are the minority and if samsung/google decided to do so, we have to respect their decision.
hanjo55
post Jul 16 2011, 06:29 PM

270 posts

QUOTE(penny2 @ Jul 16 2011, 03:15 PM)
My friend just placed the pre-order in SenQ for S2, according to the salesperson, it's kinda difficult to get one S2 in anywhere of Malaysia right now, everyone is still waiting for the second batch from Samsung, unless you want to tag with maxis data package. Even some maxis center is out of stock also. Is that true?

Any idea when is the second round release?
I don't think the word "anywhere in Malaysia" is correct. Not at all. There are still around. I would say, "bersepah" = plenty. Perhaps cannot find anywhere in SenQ maybe la.
Ultima
post Jul 16 2011, 06:54 PM

KiRiSuTe GoMeN
5,197 posts

Berdaya in bahau got stock so I guess its ez to find now..
afad
post Jul 16 2011, 07:45 PM

308 posts

guys, can the stock camera set to embedded the date and time in the picture?
i cant seem to find the setting...or is there an app that can be use to embed the date and time in the picture?
Ash
post Jul 16 2011, 07:46 PM

Legend
1,697 posts

Hi guys , a new user here. Just tried to import contacts from my Nokia N900 and all the contacts are being seperated into .vcf files. I am getting tired of importing the file 1 by 1. Does anyone have other method to import all directly?
hoifu75
post Jul 16 2011, 07:51 PM

74 posts

just got my sg2 pls add to list....thanks

xsaintzx
post Jul 16 2011, 07:53 PM

598 posts

QUOTE(Ash @ Jul 16 2011, 07:46 PM)
Hi guys , a new user here. Just tried to import contacts from my Nokia N900 and all the contacts are being seperated into .vcf files. I am getting tired of importing the file 1 by 1. Does anyone have other method to import all directly?
Import the .vcf file to your Google contacts, then sync the contact in your phone. smile.gif
Ash
post Jul 16 2011, 07:55 PM

Legend
1,697 posts

QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Jul 16 2011, 07:53 PM)
Import the .vcf file to your Google contacts, then sync the contact in your phone.  smile.gif
same story, google only accepts 1 import file at a time.
yehlai
post Jul 16 2011, 08:03 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

QUOTE(xsaintzx @ Jul 16 2011, 07:53 PM)
Import the .vcf file to your Google contacts, then sync the contact in your phone.  smile.gif
Hi bro, mind to elaborate more? Hoe to go into Google contacts?

This post has been edited by yehlai: Jul 16 2011, 08:03 PM

120 Pages « < 94 95 96 97 98 > » Top

0.3559sec    0.53    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:15 AM