8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 Official Thread V2, 10.1" Android Ice Cream Sandwich Tablet

jananan
post Aug 15 2011, 02:20 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(cheeyc @ Aug 15 2011, 01:41 AM)
Anyone has the folowing problem?
1.browser auto close if 2 flash runing simultaneously in a same tab
2.a notification pop out "Refreash failed, please try again later"
3.downloaded aps from android market, but do not install.try again then can already
one more thing, anyone's gallery force closes when viewing details ?
jananan
post Aug 15 2011, 11:57 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(cheeyc @ Aug 15 2011, 08:36 AM)
+1...Same
i dont remember that happening in HC 3.1...

cry.gif
jananan
post Aug 15 2011, 12:03 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 15 2011, 11:59 AM)
to answer you:
* speakers imbalance -- not yet but could be easily fixed. just wondering why asus taking so long. to be honest, i dun even know if mine is affected. i can hear sound. fine with me... lol

* keyboard keys not working, keyboard not recognised -- first time hearing this. i think like i mentioned before, just test everything before you pay for the unit. tell the shop what you wanna do and make sure they agree. and make sure they break the seal in front of you.

* battery drain -- depends on one's definition of battery drain. if leave wifi on... expect battery to be 'used'. but i think if one shuts down the tablet, one should not have such issue.

* camera apps not working -- first time hearing as well...

* frequent crashes -- again, first time hearing as well. apps crashing as in Force Close? once in a while... but that's more to do with the apps.

* etc -- do list your etc so we can help clarify... smile.gif
the only *real* problem for me that prevents me from using the TF to its fullest potential :

- keyboard lag

i know, opera and other browsers, but i really love the stock browser interface...
jananan
post Aug 15 2011, 10:01 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Aug 15 2011, 06:31 PM)
for android since the wallpaper rotates as you swipe the homescreen, there's no way it can be set without cropping or losing a part of the wallpaper. you can check out my guide on how to properly do this but there'll still be some cropping involved, just not as bad as the stock honeycomb one:

http://www.androidsupernova.com/2011/06/su...operly-set.html
yeah,that software works perfectly. you can select scrollable or fixed.
jananan
post Aug 16 2011, 10:28 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(mydragoon @ Aug 16 2011, 09:53 AM)
i think everyone here would have heard... Google is buying up Motorola Mobility... what happens to An

droid in the future is a guess for now...

but no one can push our robot andy around... smile.gif
end of BLUR biggrin.gif

Added on August 16, 2011, 10:31 am
QUOTE(kitman @ Aug 16 2011, 09:50 AM)
got my transformer yesterday and all i can say is am impressed. very glad i didn't go ipad way tongue.gif .......it's a b70 built but still having speaker imbalance (which was on every demo unit i saw hehe) but can be fix by rooting from what i read. anyway i suppose i can live with it. the sound quality through headphones were very good, no bleeding at all from the screen. thanks all for helping me out ......now off to learn more about android.
test and see if nvflash can communicate with it.

mine is B70 as well but i'm one of the lucky ones...

This post has been edited by jananan: Aug 16 2011, 10:31 AM
jananan
post Aug 16 2011, 12:45 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(itman2000my @ Aug 16 2011, 12:36 PM)
BB do not hv the wifi hotspot function.

U can use bluetooth to share yr BB 3G with yr TF. However, using this setup, yr BB battery will drain very fast.
Enjoy!
i always thought wifi hotspot consume more power than blutooth tethering ?
jananan
post Aug 16 2011, 01:37 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Dothan @ Aug 16 2011, 01:02 PM)
Btw, anyone B70 owner here? My unit is B70, any luck to get the device rooted? I had been to xda-developers but seems their guide on rooting quite various... scare bricking my eee pad.
dont try to root. try to see if nvflash can communicate with TF in APX mode...

Added on August 16, 2011, 1:41 pm
Btw, anyone B70 owner here? My unit is B70, any luck to get the device rooted? I had been to xda-developers but seems their guide on rooting quite various... scare bricking my eee pad.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.p...61&postcount=50

Added on August 16, 2011, 1:44 pm
anyway, mine is B70...

Added on August 16, 2011, 1:54 pm
QUOTE(itman2000my @ Aug 16 2011, 12:55 PM)
What im explaining is that, whatever tethering you do, battery will drain faster!
Enjoy.
thats for sure.... tongue.gif

Added on August 16, 2011, 1:58 pm
QUOTE(-ZeN- @ Aug 16 2011, 12:57 PM)
is the setting and way of doing it is same as this page?
This page saying 1 is android phone to xoom.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1046234
bluetooth tethering is built into honeycomb.

i tried with few nokia mobile phones, easy as 123...

This post has been edited by jananan: Aug 16 2011, 01:58 PM
jananan
post Aug 16 2011, 04:37 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(WhatMan @ Aug 16 2011, 02:52 PM)
I have an Asus Transformer that I need to sell. However I need to install a few apps from Android Market to show off the capability of the device, but that would mean I have to register it under my gmail account right?

But would it be a problem if I were to sold the Transformer to someone else and can he/she re-register that same device under his/her name without problem?
under settings, accounts and sync, can remove your account. then can setup a new account...
jananan
post Aug 17 2011, 02:46 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Aug 16 2011, 11:49 PM)
So you still need a screen protector?  rclxms.gif  rclxm9.gif  tongue.gif

those with weak stomach and heart please dont watch...... just kidding

thats why i dont use a screen protector...
jananan
post Aug 17 2011, 11:36 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(narkon @ Aug 17 2011, 08:26 PM)
when i press enter, it will go to another line....this only happen in opera...if use default browser, can press honeycomb enter...

the problem is, if use default asus browser, it lagg very much...

that y i cahnge to opera...but now cannot post pulak... T_T
welcome to honeycomb keyboard lag issue.

and opera tends to enter a new line instead of submitting the comment.

u know what, i blame it on facebook for removing that 'post comments' button

try the new firefox mobile 6.0, i've got no time to try, not with my tablet now...

Added on August 17, 2011, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(xk2 @ Aug 17 2011, 05:16 PM)
i seriously think screen protector spoiled the beauty of a phone and tablet biggrin.gif  i see most ppl stick matted screen protector on their iphone / ipad / SGS etc.... looks so ugly  biggrin.gif
ugh!!! matte screen protector makes your screen look ugly and cant see anything right at certain angles...

Added on August 17, 2011, 11:39 pm
QUOTE(Vinspire @ Aug 17 2011, 11:19 PM)
Hey guys, I put my TF to charge and I don't see the "lightning" charging icon. So, I don't think it is charging. Tried using the adaptor charger and also the dock.

Anyone experiencing the same thing?

Added on August 17, 2011, 11:22 pmAnd how do I get rid of "Compass Interference" thing? Its so annoying! >.<

All these happen after I upgraded the firmware.
move your tablet in a pattery like the infinity symbol (like no 8 lying down)

just keep moving it in that manner until the compass is calibrated.

its pretty stupid if you ask me, esp. if people see you waving your tablet in the air like a madman...

Added on August 17, 2011, 11:41 pm
QUOTE(tracktion3 @ Aug 17 2011, 09:20 PM)
i got facebook preinstalled but i use dolphine hd with tablet kb or swiftkey tablet x. no problem. minor lag for me.
its more of a honeycomb browser problem than keyboard... thats why both asus keyboard and android keyboard both lags.

Added on August 17, 2011, 11:45 pmhere is mozilla firefox 6.0 (supposed to be tablet optimized...)

its a new version, you can see just released 16th Aug 2011

https://market.android.com/details?id=org.mozilla.firefox

This post has been edited by jananan: Aug 17 2011, 11:45 PM
jananan
post Aug 17 2011, 11:54 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Vinspire @ Aug 17 2011, 11:46 PM)
Its very annoying. Anyway to deactive it?  vmad.gif

And anyhow having the charging issue like mine? Its weird .... :/
its popping up because your GPS is switched on, and it relies on the compass.

switch off the GPS if you are not using it.

otherwise, if you still need to use your GPS....

- move away from magnetic / electrical interference
- go to an empty room / outdoors
- keep moving the tablet in a figure 8 movement until the message does not pop up anymore
- good luck if you are staying near a power station / electricity distribution towers
jananan
post Aug 18 2011, 12:05 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Vinspire @ Aug 18 2011, 12:02 AM)
OFF the GPS. Don't really need it. Annoying thing.

Now I can charge my TF. Weird ...  sweat.gif
maybe you didn't plug the connector all the way in.

anyway, charging in android is partially handled by the Android OS, thats why it needs to boot up and then charge when its flat.

so, expect some bugs when charging, esp. if your OS has some issues
jananan
post Aug 18 2011, 08:31 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(vista enthusiasist @ Aug 18 2011, 03:27 PM)
hey guys anyone  of you notice there is a flick sound when u switch on the camera?

btw where to get sp and casing for tf-101?

thanks.
most autofocus camera's makes a small tick noise.

on some devices, its louder than others.

depends on the camera module being used.

trust me, on some other phones its much louder than the Asus TF.
jananan
post Aug 18 2011, 10:21 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(cweew @ Aug 18 2011, 09:24 PM)
BEWARE OF :

- Sand, sandy particles, rocks and other silica based objects (gorilla glass and other types of glasses are made from this stuff as well), make sure there are no sand particles on the screen or cloth when you wipe your screen.

- Diamonds and gems (duh...)

- Hardened metals (hardened steel screwdrivers, knives that are guaranteed to remain sharp for a long time, sharp drill bits)

- Cigarette lighters (steel roller of the lighter is made of hardened steel to cause to flint to spark) - my friend's Nokia N8 (gorilla glass) got scratched from it.

- Keys (even though most youtube demos of Gorilla Glass shows people trying to scratch it with keys, brass and copper keys might be soft but not all keys are made from those materials)

WARNING : There could be other stuff that could scratch the Gorilla Glass that i am not aware of so always exercise caution, plain old common sense plays a big role here.
jananan
post Aug 18 2011, 11:10 PM

Android
1,513 posts

if you feel the charger cable is too short...

http://www.lelong.com.my/1-5m-usb-3-0-type...1-08-Sale-P.htm

i am not the seller, but if its a real usb 3.0 cable it should be able to extend the charger's range.

i'm planning to get one, soon.
jananan
post Aug 19 2011, 12:09 AM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Aug 19 2011, 12:07 AM)
can i do online register warranty?
good question.... do we need to ? i also didnt register anything...
jananan
post Aug 19 2011, 08:51 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(ebackbone @ Aug 19 2011, 07:03 PM)
got the transformer. thankfully am one of the lucky ones to root it even on a b70 model so that i can fix the stupid left speaker softer problem. minor light bleed noticed.

mine is B70 as well, rootable

[ A ] Graphics
1. Video Capability.. am saddened that there are no good media player out there for the android honeycomb. mkv and high profile encodes play choppily/terribly whereas on the ipad2 it runs absolutely fine. yes, i've tried all the main players: vplayer, moboplayer, diceplayer & rockplayer. even then, the media players don't support all formats so you're stuck with having to install ALL of them and trying one by one to see which is the best for the particular media file.
2. Image Viewer/Playback.. again saddened by the offering of the asus transformer/tegra2. Well, at least there is a decent image viewer provided by ASUS compared to the other honeycomb releases. nonetheless, it pales in comparison to the speed for loading and manipulating high definition images (large files) compared to the ipad2.

wait for players that fully utilize tegra2 hardware acceleration

[ B ] Processor
still quite small amount of apps tailored for the android honeycomb with tegra2 processors and already asus is planning to be first to release a tablet that will come out with the new nvidia quad processor (kal-el) soon sometime this year. this gives very little incentive for android developers to produce optimized codes to perform best based on the tegra2 cause seriously, the android honeycomb was just release early this year only.

Overclock ?

[ C ] Sound
sound is also quite a big negative for the asus transformer both speaker wise and output jack.

1. firstly the speaker placement is bad being placed at the bottom of the screen whereby it is mostly covered where you spend most of the view time.
2. next, the default max sound volume is abysmally low. if you're in a slightly crowded environment, you won't be able to hear anything from the tablet. even if you do fix/change it via apps, prepare to run yourself into blown speakers as reported by other users.
3. think the speaker output jack will be better? nope, it has the same low max volume that isn't allowed to be changed by the user.
because of all the above, it is quite frustrating to be an android honeycomb with tegra2 owner sad.gif

Volume+, Voodoo patch
This post has been edited by jananan: Aug 19 2011, 09:57 PM
jananan
post Aug 19 2011, 10:08 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Aug 19 2011, 10:01 PM)
The keypad is a turn off for me... Lag too much. Anyone could suggest any kb replacement?
I mean apps like swype etc
Swiftkey for Tablet
Hacker's Keyboard
Thumb Keyboard

but the lag is caused by the underlying OS and Honeycomb browser.

these keyboards improve the situation but its not a 100% fix.

try Opera for Mobile 11, no lag with the default Android keyboard or the Asus keyboard
jananan
post Aug 19 2011, 10:49 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(lek_e30 @ Aug 19 2011, 10:36 PM)
Thx
Thx will try it out, by the way any suggestion on cover for this babe?
those folder type covers.

i ordered one and waiting for it. RM 99 cos other people all no stock...

http://www.lelong.com.my/asus-eee-pad-pouc...2-07-Sale-P.htm

but i saw some other seller just started selling it for RM81, damn

http://www.lelong.com.my/leather-case-asus...2-06-Sale-P.htm
jananan
post Aug 20 2011, 08:13 PM

Android
1,513 posts

QUOTE(vista enthusiasist @ Aug 20 2011, 01:59 PM)
anyone has any idea of flashing stock rom to tf101?

i'm using prime 1.7 right now and there is a problem with my wifi lol
AFAIK nvflash is the only way to return to stock rom + stock kernel + unrooted

Added on August 20, 2011, 8:14 pm
QUOTE(jananan @ Aug 19 2011, 10:49 PM)
those folder type covers.

i ordered one and waiting for it. RM 99 cos other people all no stock...

http://www.lelong.com.my/asus-eee-pad-pouc...2-07-Sale-P.htm

but i saw some other seller just started selling it for RM81, damn

http://www.lelong.com.my/leather-case-asus...2-06-Sale-P.htm
shit, the courier service SkyNet is rubbish.

2 days they say have been trying to deliver my casing, and the online tracking says i am not at home > but i am at home whole day

never ever use SkyNet...

This post has been edited by jananan: Aug 20 2011, 08:14 PM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0449sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:52 AM