7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

wtm0325
post Jul 10 2007, 09:52 PM

1,796 posts

@roimepuniran u wanna change R60 w me? mine got IBM logo tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
wtm0325
post Jul 12 2007, 07:59 AM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(myliew @ Jul 11 2007, 12:42 AM)
hi guys, my company got me a T60 IBM Thinkpad OS winXPpro 2 weeks ago. im having this problem. im not sure is post b4. but after reading for many page, i still cant find the solution.

this is what im facing. i always need to show some short video file to my customer at the site. so as normal, i did not plug in the power supply. when the video file finish playing, my screen always turn into black or blinking. after that i cant do anything and i just push the power key to shut down my T60.
this does not happen if i had plug the power supply. I also install the ThinkVantage System Update 3.0 to keep my T60 updated with the lattes driver and so...... but untill now, it does not solve my problem yet.

please give me some advice.
thaks alots.
how bout bios update? and did u tried to use other video player?
wtm0325
post Jul 12 2007, 07:21 PM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(myliew @ Jul 12 2007, 08:49 AM)
if im not mistaken, the last Bios Version i update is
-79ETD4WW (2.14)
Btw, how do i check what bios version im using now? sweat.gif

im using WMP and CyberLink. all video player give me the same problem.

do u guys have this problem b4?
Thanks for the fast reply.
I nvr face those problem b4, my bios is 2.17, i'm using R60 w gma950

i oso skip the system update, i feel more confident on manual update via website

u can use cpuz to check, page 2 of the program
http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpu-z-140.zip

anyhow try to use new player eg klite codec pack, real alternatives & quicktime player
source: www.free-codecs.com
wtm0325
post Jul 17 2007, 11:51 AM

1,796 posts

myliew, is ur screen flicking or blank when on battery?

recently my screen also blink suddenly when i'm using battery, i need to close the lid and open back then the problem solved, i set the action for closing lid is do nothing

i suspect the latest driver cause me this
wtm0325
post Jul 18 2007, 12:36 AM

1,796 posts

myliew, i suspect the problem as i disable the intel start up applications - igfxtray, hkcmd, igfxpers

now i enable them back, only able to tell the result after few days usage

did u disable them as well through msconfig or other 3rd party software?
wtm0325
post Jul 27 2007, 10:56 AM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(myliew @ Jul 18 2007, 06:59 PM)
igfxtray, hkcmd, igfxpers??? hehe so malu to tell you sweat.gif , im not a pro in IT.
and i dont know how to use the "msconfig" funtion.
so i think i dint do any configaration from there before.
This is my configaration "pic".
[attachmentid=263624]
hi myliew, i found the solution at last

after reverting back to the earlier graphic driver, the problem solved biggrin.gif i downloaded the driver from intel website, let me know if it works in ur case as well rclxm9.gif
wtm0325
post Aug 12 2007, 07:49 PM

1,796 posts

v3000, envy lar, got spare money for x61.. i'm still w my R60, but still enjoying it compare to other notebook tht i used thumbup.gif
wtm0325
post Aug 13 2007, 12:29 AM

1,796 posts

hehe v3000, u r the man, i must owe one when my R60 die tongue.gif

recommend u 2 software if u hvnt own them, i just found it today n it was very useful

1) www.lingoes.net - free dictionary, can integrate multi language dictionaries
2) www.orbitdownloader.com - free downloader, can download youtube n others non downloadable musics n movie

credited to sotong168 for posting the thread

wtm0325
post Aug 14 2007, 07:09 AM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(liew_jls @ Aug 7 2007, 07:27 AM)
Hi, mine is T43, now I have a very big puzzel with my language of Access IBM. Last 2 months, I have installed update driver including access connection, Power manager etc. Now the language of my window xp is using english but I have language bar (which has chinese language and also english). Everything is in english but only the ThinkVantage Access Connection is using Chinese language. it's version 4.23
Anyone can tell me what's going on with my access connection?? Is it someone hacked into my laptop?? Any solution change back to english version?? :icon_question.gif:....
Thanks...
hi liew, sorry for replying late

u may need to uninstall the thinkvantage, change ur regional setting to english, then install the thinkvantage again, after tht only revert back to chinese regional setting

hope tht might helps
wtm0325
post Aug 22 2007, 10:20 AM

1,796 posts

hi liew,

Pls follow the steps here:
1) goto control panel> add/remove program, uninstall the intel graphic driver
2) restart
2) launch the new downloaded driver again

if it still doesnt works,
1) download this driver - http://downloadmirror.intel.com/13881/a08/win2k_xp1431.zip
2) extract the driver
3) run setup.exe

i'm doing fine using the .zip driver

waiting for ur results icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by wtm0325: Aug 22 2007, 10:21 AM
wtm0325
post Aug 22 2007, 11:39 AM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Aug 22 2007, 10:32 AM)
Ya this also happen to me even i've disable it on bios. The only way is to uninstall the Fingerprint software.
@awetan & v3000,
i still prefer the boot up n hdd password in bios, i feel more secure than using the fingerprint brows.gif
if someone had stolen ur lappy, they need to dismantle the whole notebook to clear cmos then only can use ur laptop
if they cant steal the data as well, if u had set the password at ur hdd, rather than just formating the whole lappy n u r done tongue.gif

@babymiki,
thinkpad for normal gaming n surfing sure no problem, the things shine were it's super rugged casing, best keyboard n cool running, making it's a real though machine flex.gif
u wont really need to take care the lappy, like me, i on it 24 hours without cooling pad, always carrying it around, taking public transport, handle it w one hand while using, open close lcd lid more than 10 times a day, it's still running fine and like new, thts y people always said "thinkpad will grow inside u day by day"
i used many branded laptop eg dell, compaq, hp, toshiba, acer, fujitsu etc, u just wont get those feeling like using thinkpad, all of them need to be sayang sayang, well handled, appropriate usage bla bla, it's like u intend to hire a staff to lighten ur burden, end up it creates more problem and u hv to well taken care of it sweat.gif

anyhow thts my personal opinion, it depends on what kind of laptop u r searching for as well icon_rolleyes.gif

wtm0325
post Aug 22 2007, 05:35 PM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(Austin @ Aug 22 2007, 04:41 PM)
As I was told by ThinkPad repair engineer, there is no way to reset the password by clearing CMOS on ThinkPad.
Everything is stored in the security chip EPPROM, even they also cannot help if you forgot your own password.  brows.gif
wow this is real cool man cool2.gif

i thought it's like desktop, just take out the battery n left for few days n it's done

thanks for the great news, i set it since day 1 i used my lappy brows.gif
wtm0325
post Aug 23 2007, 03:48 PM

1,796 posts

yes, ur gc is the same

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss...9&validate=true

hv u UNINSTALLl ur previous gc driver and restart it before proceed to the installation of the new gc driver?

i found the intel gma tray icon is still there in the pic, if it's uninstall, it shouldnt be there smile.gif
wtm0325
post Aug 25 2007, 11:27 PM

1,796 posts

i suggest u use other software like everest to test out
wtm0325
post Sep 21 2007, 09:32 AM

1,796 posts

@v3000, just on it 24 hours, T series comes w 3 years warranty brows.gif

@sena, i guess rm500 is cheap, lcd should cost near or more then rm1k in service centre.. my fren accidentally drop his 3 months old toshiba, lcd crack, go service replace cost RM1.5k sweat.gif
wtm0325
post Oct 18 2007, 08:03 PM

1,796 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Oct 17 2007, 11:49 AM)
Lets put the price aside (since tech gadget price drop kinda fast) i just worry that is this drive work with ThinkPad? Our ThinkPad have a "Shock-Mounted Hard Drive" that come with "Active Protection System) software.. When the "Shock-Mounted Hard Drive" detect movement it stop the HDD to spin... if we install 2.5" SSD inside what will happen? (Lets say i activate the Active Protected System software). Other then this does our BIOS recognize SSD?

"shock mounted hard drive" is the technology where the 2 piece rubber attach at the both side of the hdd, and hence it's might not fit 2.5" hdd and our so called "shocked mounted hdd" will gone tongue.gif

"active protection system" is the software tht enable the hdd stop spinning when detects movements. if this software is not installed, the hdd will runs like an ordinary drive and wont stop spinning if movements are detected.. however sdd is running on flash memories, so it's will be the time for "active protection system" software to say bye bye rclxms.gif
wtm0325
post Oct 19 2007, 07:58 PM

1,796 posts

hehe it's my wrong, it will fit, i forgot our drive are using 2.5" hdd as well tongue.gif
hv a look at the "shock mounted drive" technology
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-63910.html

guess "active protection system" just wont work, since it's designed to park the read/write head when there's movement, while flash memory doesnt hv, nvr use before so cant really tell

hv a read here
http://www.anandtech.com/storage/showdoc.aspx?i=2982
it should be able to detect like ordinary hdd, since the test above doesnt mention any special requirement to run it smile.gif

wtm0325
post Nov 16 2007, 06:28 AM

1,796 posts

dang! lenovo laptop & pc is on sale now!

http://www-07.ibm.com/lenovoinfo/my/catalogue/?thinkpad

R61 is drooling
c2d 1.8, 965gm, 1gb, 80gb, dvdrw, vista business, only RM3688 drool.gif

anyone wanna donate me money for upgrading from R60? tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
wtm0325
post Nov 17 2007, 04:29 AM

1,796 posts

it is confirmed that NO firewire, however the pc card/express card should be comes as standard, i cant confirm that tht but u can refer it here

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss...ocid=MIGR-67724
wtm0325
post Nov 18 2007, 01:42 AM

1,796 posts

R61 7732-15a
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss...thEntry=773215A

my R60 9455-a18
http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss...9&validate=true

my description has firewire while R61 doesnt hv

maybe i'm wrong, suggest u check via sales person

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top