12,089 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Dec 26 2019, 12:08 PM)
Anyway MAC Pro Ram can do customised up to 1.5TB
fu yoh... DELL T7920 only 512GB
BeastX
post Dec 26 2019, 01:10 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 26 2019, 12:24 PM)
fu yoh... DELL T7920 only 512GB
MacPro through Apple:
28 core, 1.5TB RAM for RM166.8k (RM112.54k w RAMs not from Apple)

EPYC (Rome):
32 cores, 2TB RAM for around RM100k.... 75% of the cost goes to the RAM
@ 10% more (RM110k)... you could double the CPU to 64 cores...

This post has been edited by BeastX: Dec 26 2019, 01:10 PM
myway1985
post Dec 26 2019, 05:25 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Dec 26 2019, 01:10 PM)
MacPro through Apple:
28 core, 1.5TB RAM for RM166.8k (RM112.54k w RAMs not from Apple)

EPYC (Rome):
32 cores, 2TB RAM for around RM100k.... 75% of the cost goes to the RAM
@ 10% more (RM110k)... you could double the CPU to 64 cores...
intel platinum support how many gb de ya
BeastX
post Dec 26 2019, 06:08 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Dec 26 2019, 05:25 PM)
intel platinum support how many gb de ya
4.6k GB according to this...

https://en.wikichip.org/wiki/intel/xeon_platinum
myway1985
post Dec 26 2019, 06:10 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Dec 26 2019, 06:08 PM)
no wonder SG got 1 project dual xeon platinum server cost RM500k

yks8845
post Jan 3 2020, 11:30 AM

317 posts

Held in Warehouse
UPS is holding the cargo at a secure facility, pending instructions and agreement.

- my laptop Tracking Details, any one what happen ? how long gonna take to clear all and reach me ? lol
BeastX
post Jan 3 2020, 07:11 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(yks8845 @ Jan 3 2020, 11:30 AM)
Held in Warehouse
UPS is holding the cargo at a secure facility, pending instructions and agreement.
- my laptop Tracking Details, any one what happen ? how long gonna take to clear all and reach me ? lol
2 to 3 working days...
kuci_mayong
post Jan 19 2020, 12:04 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(zz287963 @ Dec 9 2019, 12:36 PM)
T495 bro, just got it this September.
I am using T495 too, my laptop charges really fast like 10% to 80% in 1 hour, or fully charge in around 1.5 hours. (50,450 mWh battery)

01:29:52 Active AC 10 % 5,160 mWh
03:06:10 Active Battery 97 % 48,880 mWh

I think you should call CS and maybe try change your charger, could be the charger is faulty.

Btw on another note, I am facing this issue sometimes, not all the time, if i charge my laptop when the laptop is off, it does not charge, only charges when i turn it on, do you face the same thing?
ryder
post Jan 19 2020, 06:19 PM

Ice Madness
875 posts

Hey guys, anyone here using the T495 with the 3500U CPU? Would like to check on your idle and load temps, I'm having a problem where on idle, it's north of 80C and when I do image export on Lightroom (raw to PNG) it will go up to 97+C and throttle down freq to ~800hz.

Brought this to the service center, technician mentioned this might be normal for AMD CPUs.

kuci_mayong
post Jan 20 2020, 06:17 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(ryder @ Jan 19 2020, 06:19 PM)
Hey guys, anyone here using the T495 with the 3500U CPU? Would like to check on your idle and load temps, I'm having a problem where on idle, it's north of 80C and when I do image export on Lightroom (raw to PNG) it will go up to 97+C and throttle down freq to ~800hz.

Brought this to the service center, technician mentioned this might be normal for AMD CPUs.

I don't think that is normal. If you're on windows have you updated bios and windows to latest. I notice my system gets better with each update.
anyways here is snapshot of my T495 temperature when max load and idle:

https://i.imgur.com/WZpCml4.png - battery: high performance / lenovo vantage: performance

https://i.imgur.com/UQ7CzJ0.png - battery: balanced / lenovo vantage: cool & quiet

This post has been edited by kuci_mayong: Jan 20 2020, 06:23 AM
djkeoni
post Jan 22 2020, 11:29 AM

167 posts

Hi guys,

I have seen that the T495 is a crowd favourite.

However given the choice of the E595 (RM2,551) v T495 (RM3015) v X395 (RM3,340) whats the verdict like?

Is the price difference worth getting the T495 over the E595 i.e. a better buy?

Appreciate the advise sifus!
AdrG
post Jan 22 2020, 12:12 PM

36 posts

Guys, want to get a lenovo thinkpad p53 and t590. im torn between these 2, help pls... want a cooler and reliable laptop so that it can last longer but not sure whether P53 justify the cost or not. on the other hand T590 seem like a good choice but the screen has to choose either the most basic one or the most premium one...

anyone has experience on either one of these before??

appreciate the advice. TQ TQ
BeastX
post Jan 22 2020, 12:45 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(djkeoni @ Jan 22 2020, 11:29 AM)
Hi guys,

I have seen that the T495 is a crowd favourite.

However given the choice of the E595 (RM2,551) v T495 (RM3015) v X395 (RM3,340) whats the verdict like?

Is the price difference worth getting the T495 over the E595 i.e. a better buy?

Appreciate the advise sifus!
T495 v E495 v X395...
T495: better built quality/design tested with multiple extreme conditions, half the memory channel is soldered on 8GB, Pro type Ryzen CPU, larger battery<< the extra money you pay is mainly for the functional design advantage...

X395: All soldered on RAM, light weight design with more premium case materials.... non-Pro processors...

If computational performance per cost is your major preference/piority: E595

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jan 22 2020, 12:46 PM
ryder
post Jan 22 2020, 05:35 PM

Ice Madness
875 posts

QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Jan 20 2020, 06:17 AM)
I don't think that is normal. If you're on windows have you updated bios and windows to latest. I notice my system gets better with each update.
anyways here is snapshot of my T495 temperature when max load and idle:

https://i.imgur.com/WZpCml4.png - battery: high performance / lenovo vantage: performance

https://i.imgur.com/UQ7CzJ0.png - battery: balanced / lenovo vantage: cool & quiet
Thanks for the info from your end, told them that those temp cannot be normal, they took it back for a few more days and told me its solved after they applied some heat tape..which only made it worse since half the heat tape was blocking the ventilation grill for the CPU, which in turn made the CPU are of the laptop so hot it can burn my lap doh.gif ;

I really give up with Lenovo support already
lsm1991
post Jan 22 2020, 06:50 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ryder @ Jan 22 2020, 05:35 PM)
Thanks for the info from your end, told them that those temp cannot be normal, they took it back for a few more days and told me its solved after they applied some heat tape..which only made it worse since half the heat tape was blocking the ventilation grill for the CPU, which in turn made the CPU are of the laptop so hot it can burn my lap doh.gif ;

wow this one genius level.... not quite sure what they hope to achieve with the tape placed there... even if it wasn't blocking any vent
BeastX
post Jan 22 2020, 08:02 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(ryder @ Jan 22 2020, 05:35 PM)

Since there's 2 additional large openings at the back of the case.....blocking that opening should have minimal effect....

Assuming your heatpipes and fans are fans are still functioning you may want to repastings & remounting the heatsink..... If not paste & mount issues.... Then likely heatpipe failure....

My 3700u runs at 75-80C stressed

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jan 22 2020, 06:50 PM)
wow this one genius level.... not quite sure what they hope to achieve with the tape placed there... even if it wasn't blocking any vent
Thermal tape allows transfer heat to the back panel as a large heatsink....unfortunately it only works if the back panel is metal, t495 has polycarbonate lined with glass fiber back plate which localised the heat....

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jan 22 2020, 08:05 PM
ryder
post Jan 22 2020, 08:17 PM

Ice Madness
875 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Jan 22 2020, 08:02 PM)
Since there's 2 additional large openings at the back of the case.....blocking that opening should have minimal effect....

Assuming your heatpipes and fans are fans are still functioning you may want to repastings & remounting the heatsink..... If not paste & mount issues.... Then likely heatpipe failure....

Thermal tape allows transfer heat to the back panel as a large heatsink....unfortunately it only works if the back panel is metal, t495 has polycarbonate lined with glass fiber back plate which localised the heat....
By any chance do you know if warranty will be void if we do the re-pasting ourselves?
BeastX
post Jan 22 2020, 08:23 PM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(ryder @ Jan 22 2020, 08:17 PM)
By any chance do you know if warranty will be void if we do the re-pasting ourselves?
Should be fine as long as you don't crack the CPU die or use corrosive liquid metal.... Thinkpad are meant to be serviceable by IT departments...
ryder
post Jan 22 2020, 08:41 PM

Ice Madness
875 posts

Nice..thanks..I'll try to repaste it and see how it goes
lsm1991
post Jan 22 2020, 08:56 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Jan 22 2020, 08:02 PM)

yea exactly... its plastic, not sure what the bugger attempted to achieve

234 Pages « < 221 222 223 224 225 > » Top

0.0210sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:05 AM