234 Pages « < 208 209 210 211 212 > » Bottom

>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

ohman
post Oct 11 2019, 03:08 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Oct 11 2019, 01:31 PM)
cs answered thinkbook only got 1 ram, not soldered on-board + ram slot.

who want spend 2k+ for single channel ram notebook nowadays? just for the name of Thinkbook?
Chill.

Why is dual channel ram is so important for this product target consumer?

2k+ is the lowest price range.

Between rm2k to rm4k, how many with 2 ram slot ( that allow up to 16gb ram) that has a nice screen?

In other words, how many below rm4k laptop can go 16gb ram that has a nice screen?

brows.gif
BeastX
post Oct 11 2019, 03:25 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Oct 11 2019, 03:08 PM)
Chill.

Between rm2k to rm4k, how many with 2 ram slot ( that allow up to 16gb ram) that has a nice screen?

In other words, how many below rm4k laptop can go 16gb ram that has a nice screen?

brows.gif
Actually, the single slot could be populated with a single 32GB RAM... at roughly RM700 (market pricing now)...
ohman
post Oct 11 2019, 03:37 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Oct 11 2019, 03:25 PM)
Actually, the single slot could be populated with a single 32GB RAM... at roughly RM700 (market pricing now)...
Ah yes, no wonder there was a reviewer specifically mentioned it supports up to 32gb
myway1985
post Oct 11 2019, 03:59 PM

12,089 posts

hehe.. i got 4 x 32GB ecc ram... for pc.. wan ah

btw the P73 render video faster than i9-9900k and i9-7900x
myway1985
post Oct 11 2019, 03:59 PM

12,089 posts

hehe.. i got 4 x 32GB ecc ram... for pc.. wan ah

btw the P73 render video faster than i9-9900k and i9-7900x
ZM Fong
post Oct 11 2019, 06:20 PM

Laptop advisor
8,240 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Oct 10 2019, 10:59 PM)
i shocked while seeing that response time figure, whereby desktop LED large screen plus <2ms.   Budget one also just <5ms, nice for movie playing, no ghost image
Actual GTG response will be higher in desktop monitors

Laptop IPS usually have around 20-30 ms GTG, if need low ms need to get 144Hz/240Hz (every panel also has different ms, actual response 4-10ms)
QUOTE(Benefon @ Oct 11 2019, 01:07 PM)
Abang thinkbook is entry level
Thinkbook=Ideapad
Chill.

Every bit of performance increase is appreciated

This post has been edited by ZM Fong: Oct 11 2019, 06:20 PM
Benefon
post Oct 11 2019, 06:27 PM

4,800 posts

Chill.

brows.gif
Dual sound like greater than single ram slot.
Actually I did it before 32gb single stick, still run well, never notices got reduce the performance.
After put back for dual sticks of 32gb ddr 4.
Totally can’t tell lah.
Actually ddr 4 2400mhz or 2666mhz all is there not much different.

This post has been edited by Benefon: Oct 11 2019, 06:28 PM
ohman
post Oct 11 2019, 06:48 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(ZM Fong @ Oct 11 2019, 06:20 PM)

Thinkbook=Ideapad

Every bit of performance increase is appreciated
Rm2k , cant complain la.
kuci_mayong
post Oct 11 2019, 06:53 PM

808 posts

Chill.

brows.gif
Agreed, This is not a thinkpad, it's a thinkbook. Thinkbook is not a performance laptop. Lenovo tagline itself for this product is "Where work & leisure unite".

People who buy this probably just want something good enough to run Microsoft Office, Youtube, Facebook, watch movies etc.
msacras
post Oct 12 2019, 02:28 AM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(coolstore @ Oct 11 2019, 01:04 PM)
thinkbook with 1 ram slot in 2019 really an obsolete design

dual channel is a basis for the sake of CPU and GPU

guess they would launch 2nd gen of thinkbook with dual ram slot then should be acceptable. Just don't know how the screen performs. Watching movie smoothly is basis demand nowadays, 40ms is WTF

my desktop LED monitor LG 22" below RM400 already got <5ms GTS, refresh rate is not important as no playing games, 60Hz enough. Just response time very important. thus i only watch movie on desktop monitor.
Brah, people buy it just because it’s only RM1k, not because it’s a beast machine or so.

If want to spend RM2k-3k for an ultrabook, X395 will be the smarter choice. But from value point of view, you paid extra RM2k more than a RM1k thinkbook, but the performance and experience gain is hardly 2x.

You will get accustomed to the 40ish ms delay, all laptops are like that, even those highend panels like X1 Extreme’s 4K 500nits HDR display does so too. The tech and general market demand hardly complain about it, as it’s also part of the formula to keep your laptop battery lasting longer. High resolution, high brightness and high refresh rates will all eat up your laptop battery faster.

However, there’s an exception - OLED display for some ultra premium laptops, which had arguably better image quality and reaction time. But not only does it cost you more than an arm and a leg, it’s also having issue with PWM brightness control, which can totally spoiling the premium experience after you paying for >RM10k for your laptop.

This post has been edited by msacras: Oct 12 2019, 02:34 AM
kuci_mayong
post Oct 12 2019, 06:20 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Oct 12 2019, 02:28 AM)
Brah, people buy it just because it’s only RM1k, not because it’s a beast machine or so.

If want to spend RM2k-3k for an ultrabook, X395 will be the smarter choice. But from value point of view, you paid extra RM2k more than a RM1k thinkbook, but the performance and experience gain is hardly 2x.

You will get accustomed to the 40ish ms delay, all laptops are like that, even those highend panels like X1 Extreme’s 4K 500nits HDR display does so too. The tech and general market demand hardly complain about it, as it’s also part of the formula to keep your laptop battery lasting longer. High resolution, high brightness and high refresh rates will all eat up your laptop battery faster.

However, there’s an exception - OLED display for some ultra premium laptops, which had arguably better image quality and reaction time. But not only does it cost you more than an arm and a leg, it’s also having issue with PWM brightness control, which can totally spoiling the premium experience after you paying for >RM10k for your laptop.
One advantage the thinkbook 13s has over the x390/x395 is battery life, according to this, it can last up to 9 hours compared to 7 hours with x390 in their testing. Also I do think it looks more stylish with its aluminum built, compared to the black thinkpad style.

https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-ThinkB...t.428235.0.html

This post has been edited by kuci_mayong: Oct 12 2019, 07:21 AM
Return P
post Oct 12 2019, 11:27 AM

Probation

Thinkbook 13s and 14s, really one ram slot only?

Max one ram slot 16GB or 32GB? Speed? 2400mhz or 2666mhz?
Benefon
post Oct 12 2019, 11:42 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(Return @ Oct 12 2019, 11:27 AM)

Aiyoh, this is so important about single ram
Slot?
How about 8/16gb soldered on board?
ohman
post Oct 12 2019, 12:48 PM

1,178 posts

top up a bit for X1 extreme or gaming laptops
Benefon
post Oct 12 2019, 12:52 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Oct 12 2019, 12:48 PM)
top up a bit for X1 extreme or gaming laptops
TOP up a bit get Legion gaming laptop
BeastX
post Oct 12 2019, 03:30 PM

5,987 posts

One RAM slot available without any soldered on.....officially only up to 16GB, but a 32GB memory module should be supported.
casper_7779 P
post Oct 13 2019, 03:44 AM

Probation

Anyone with experience using x390 and x1 carbon recommend me a either for a business laptop?. Email, MS office apps, browsing and occasional netflix.
Benefon
post Oct 13 2019, 06:54 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(casper_7779 @ Oct 13 2019, 03:44 AM)
Anyone with experience using x390 and x1 carbon recommend me a either for a business laptop?. Email, MS office apps, browsing and occasional netflix.
X390 identical with X395 and price way cheaper now.
X390 have Intel cpu, thunderbolt 3 only, the rest all same.
Nowadays getting more people’s going for X395, except those needs thunderbolt docking or workstation, gaming user may remain on Intel cpu only.

This post has been edited by Benefon: Oct 13 2019, 07:16 AM
kuci_mayong
post Oct 13 2019, 08:13 AM

808 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Oct 12 2019, 03:30 PM)
One RAM slot available without any soldered on.....officially only up to 16GB, but a 32GB memory module should be supported.
It's 16gb because that's the max that Lenovo sells it for.

But officially, that processor itself is able to take in 32gb base on the processor specs.

https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark...o-3-90-ghz.html

(Max 64gb for 2 slots, but since 1 ram slot, only 32gb)

This post has been edited by kuci_mayong: Oct 13 2019, 08:24 AM
BeastX
post Oct 13 2019, 09:24 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(kuci_mayong @ Oct 13 2019, 08:13 AM)
It's 16gb because that's the max that Lenovo sells it for.

But officially, that processor itself is able to take in 32gb base on the processor specs.

https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark...o-3-90-ghz.html

(Max 64gb for 2 slots, but since 1 ram slot, only 32gb)
What's listed on ark.intel is not necessary true....

For instance I'm running 32GB on my J5005 processor....which I believe, I could run even up to 64GB...when it's listed as only 8GB

https://ark.intel.com/content/www/us/en/ark...o-2-80-ghz.html

Most Intel kabylake and above CPUs should be able to handle standard 32GB sticks (non Asus proprietary 32GB ones)

32GB sodimms (non ecc)....maybe just limited to Samsung ones for now...though

This post has been edited by BeastX: Oct 13 2019, 09:26 AM

234 Pages « < 208 209 210 211 212 > » Top

0.0478sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:48 AM