zz287963
post Sep 3 2019, 05:19 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 3 2019, 04:37 PM)
Lol, my T495 delivery in Singapore that fast one 😳

Oh damn bro, you've received it! Congratulations!
Mine supposed to receive today, but it's stuck in Custom. Same old issue - MISSING IMPORT LICENSE.
Was in KL just now and intended to collect myself, called UPS but said still not receive the permit from Lenovo... doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
Benefon
post Sep 3 2019, 05:22 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(zz287963 @ Sep 3 2019, 05:19 PM)
Mine supposed to receive today, but it's stuck in Custom. Same old issue - MISSING IMPORT LICENSE.
Was in KL just now and intended to collect myself, called UPS but said still not receive the permit from Lenovo...  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Not need called, this is common practice, UPS take 2-3 days for release the import license
zz287963
post Sep 3 2019, 05:23 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 3 2019, 05:22 PM)
Not need called, this is common practice, UPS take 2-3 days for release the import license
but then it will be too rush for me ady.. flying next week.. so must rush them
Benefon
post Sep 3 2019, 05:24 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(zz287963 @ Sep 3 2019, 05:23 PM)
but then it will be too rush for me ady.. flying next week.. so must rush them
Nothing can do bro.
G-17
post Sep 3 2019, 05:56 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(zz287963 @ Sep 3 2019, 05:19 PM)
Was in KL just now and intended to collect myself, called UPS but said still not receive the permit from Lenovo...Β  doh.gifΒ  doh.gifΒ  doh.gif
I don't really think it's the import license. To my knowledge, import related documentation and duties payment can be handled by the company or contracted agency prior to the goods even reaching customs, with only the inspection (usually just checking labels and invoices) to be carried out upon arrival.

It's most likely the SIRIM related nonsense. That department in particular is super inefficient. That's the reason why I HATE importing computer related stuff myself into the country. Had a lot of trouble with some OpenWRT routers in the past. The bastards held my goods for 3 weeks while I had to go back and forth with paperwork and whatnot. There are usually agencies (like this one) that handle the matter and speed up the process for individual buyers or small businesses (for a fee of course, usually 3-4 working days), but big companies like Lenovo probably have their own people or full-time subcontracted agency on the ground. All depends on how fast these people are willing to work.

So the actual issue might be related to "regulatory approval". I think UPS simply groups everything together under "import license" category in the tracking info slip/screen, but probably not the imports people delaying things. At least that's my experience.

This post has been edited by G-17: Sep 3 2019, 06:14 PM
zz287963
post Sep 3 2019, 07:49 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Sep 3 2019, 05:56 PM)
I don't really think it's the import license. To my knowledge, import related documentation and duties payment can be handled by the company or contracted agency prior to the goods even reaching customs, with only the inspection (usually just checking labels and invoices) to be carried out upon arrival.

It's most likely the SIRIM related nonsense. That department in particular is super inefficient. That's the reason why I HATE importing computer related stuff myself into the country. Had a lot of trouble with some OpenWRT routers in the past. The bastards held my goods for 3 weeks while I had to go back and forth with paperwork and whatnot. There are usually agencies (like this one) that handle the matter and speed up the process for individual buyers or small businesses (for a fee of course, usually 3-4 working days), but big companies like Lenovo probably have their own people or full-time subcontracted agency on the ground. All depends on how fast these people are willing to work.

So the actual issue might be related to "regulatory approval". I think UPS simply groups everything together under "import license" category in the tracking info slip/screen, but probably not the imports people delaying things. At least that's my experience.
I see I see. So it's actually not really the permit but the SIRIM things? Actually when I called them earlier around 9 something, they told me it's the documents that have arrived for inspection but not the physical item itself. The physical item arrives a bit later.
G-17
post Sep 3 2019, 07:55 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(zz287963 @ Sep 3 2019, 07:49 PM)
I see I see. So it's actually not really the permit but the SIRIM things? Actually when I called them earlier around 9 something, they told me it's the documents that have arrived for inspection but not the physical item itself. The physical item arrives a bit later.
SIRIM thing is just my guess, based on past experience importing from overseas. Sometimes with these big multinational companies (Lenovo, Dell, Apple, etc) the order won't even physically go through the customs office at the airport/port. It's all handled by agencies with people on the ground. Likely your laptop will receive approval permit without even setting foot inside any customs office. It now all depends on how fast the involved staff work. Typically, in other advanced countries, having various staff from both parties on-location saves time and makes things more efficient. In Malaysia, the two parties will make a detour for goreng pisang first. Sorry for you my friend, but that's typical bolehland. Hope you get it in time.

This post has been edited by G-17: Sep 3 2019, 07:59 PM
zz287963
post Sep 3 2019, 08:39 PM

358 posts

QUOTE(G-17 @ Sep 3 2019, 07:55 PM)
SIRIM thing is just my guess, based on past experience importing from overseas. Sometimes with these big multinational companies (Lenovo, Dell, Apple, etc) the order won't even physically go through the customs office at the airport/port. It's all handled by agencies with people on the ground. Likely your laptop will receive approval permit without even setting foot inside any customs office. It now all depends on how fast the involved staff work. Typically, in other advanced countries, having various staff from both parties on-location saves time and makes things more efficient. In Malaysia, the two parties will make a detour for goreng pisang first. Sorry for you my friend, but that's typical bolehland. Hope you get it in time.
I see. Thanks so much for the information!
Hmm, as it usually get done within 1-3 days, hopefully it won't go wrong this time so that I can receive it on time!
G-17
post Sep 3 2019, 09:51 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

Actually when I called them earlier around 9 something....
What number did you call? The 1800 one from the website is it? I also need to call them to check order status (my order page says order on hold due to credit block, but my bank says nothing was blocked) but their hotline number says open from 9AM to 6PM only bangwall.gif

zz287963
post Sep 3 2019, 10:07 PM

358 posts

Actually when I called them earlier around 9 something
QUOTE(G-17 @ Sep 3 2019, 09:51 PM)
What number did you call? The 1800 one from the website is it? I also need to call them to check order status (my order page says order on hold due to credit block, but my bank says nothing was blocked) but their hotline number says open from 9AM to 6PM only  bangwall.gif
For this I actually meant UPS haha.
However, regarding the order status you may just call the hotline provided in the website and press 1 for after sales service. Yes, they only operate from 9am to 6pm sweat.gif sweat.gif However, when I attempted to call them today (3rd Sept) for around 10 times, no call was answered for even once LOL. Today just merely through email (quite slow in replying) and live chat with my sales rep.
G-17
post Sep 3 2019, 10:24 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

^ Thanks for replying smile.gif
Have to say, Lenovo's order system has a lot of room for improvement.
Eternalgl0ry
post Sep 3 2019, 11:47 PM

463 posts

Lol i just bought x1c7 last month

Then lenovo say the 10th gen cpu, wifi 6 and LTE-A coming for the next batch of thinkpads

!@#$
Benefon
post Sep 3 2019, 11:58 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Sep 3 2019, 11:47 PM)

Then lenovo say the 10th gen cpu, wifi 6 and LTE-A coming for the next batch of thinkpads

!@#$
Next year 2020
eveready
post Sep 4 2019, 12:49 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Sep 3 2019, 11:47 PM)

!@#$
https://www.notebookcheck.net/Lenovo-brings...0.431728.0.html
Benefon
post Sep 4 2019, 07:27 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(eveready @ Sep 4 2019, 12:49 AM)
September/October 🀭
Again 15W only for Intel 10 gen , anyway just enjoy whatever you owns now

Better don’t eat today and keep awaiting next few months then foods is available then eat again. 😏😏

Unless you buy for gaming.
The rest has not help much.

This post has been edited by Benefon: Sep 4 2019, 07:31 AM
Eternalgl0ry
post Sep 4 2019, 10:11 AM

463 posts

can you upgrade or replace wifi card in x1c7 ?

Benefon
post Sep 4 2019, 10:14 AM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Sep 4 2019, 10:11 AM)
can you upgrade or replace wifi card in x1c7 ?
Why the current wifi receiver not strong enough?
Yes you can replace the wifi card.
But no point to replace it right

This post has been edited by Benefon: Sep 4 2019, 10:14 AM
Eternalgl0ry
post Sep 4 2019, 03:05 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 4 2019, 10:14 AM)
Why the current wifi receiver not strong enough?
Yes you can replace the wifi card.
But no point to replace it right
Its strong

Just in case future upgrade to wifi 6 or wireless AX

Benefon
post Sep 4 2019, 03:09 PM

4,800 posts

QUOTE(Eternalgl0ry @ Sep 4 2019, 03:05 PM)
Its strong

Just in case future upgrade to wifi 6 or wireless AX
Hmmm so far using at home, not an issue.
Haha πŸ˜‚
Eternalgl0ry
post Sep 4 2019, 03:18 PM

463 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 4 2019, 03:09 PM)
Hmmm so far using at home, not an issue.
Haha πŸ˜‚
it looks like the wifi card is soldered i think
Oh well unsure.gif

As long if i connect by 5ghz band can utilize otherwise 2.4 ghz slow as turtle.

This post has been edited by Eternalgl0ry: Sep 4 2019, 03:19 PM

234 Pages « < 185 186 187 188 189 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:01 PM