>>Malaysia ThinkPad User Community<<, Post Pics of your Setup & Discussion

G-17
post Aug 25 2019, 08:48 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

X395 price is very tempting, but for Linux users like myself;

1. Lenovo have been very poor with LVFS support for their AMD based ThinkPads in the past. BIOS/UEFI and embedded controller updates for their AMD models are only provided on the Windows side, which makes it a no-go for me since the first thing I'll do with any laptop is completely wipe Windows.
2. AMD themselves are very slow in providing open source drivers for the Linux kernel, and show no signs of improving. Their desktop and server CPU support has improved a lot recently, but for the mobile APUs it's still quite flaky, especially with regards to the graphics (Vega) and KVM (Kernel-based Virtual Machine) drivers/modules.
3. Advanced power management on Linux is still quite poor on the AMD side. With Intel, I can easily equal or exceed Windows on most good laptops nowadays, but for AMD APUs things remain a bit of a lottery.

Shame, because I would have liked to save a bit of $$ by going AMD. Looks like I'll need to play safe and stick with Intel this time around and pay more for the X390 instead, especially since I require virtualization on a daily basis.

This post has been edited by G-17: Aug 25 2019, 09:31 PM
G-17
post Aug 25 2019, 09:04 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Aug 25 2019, 08:56 PM)
Any reason to buy ThinkPad and work with Linux OS?
Because I consider Windows an insult to human dignity. tongue.gif

Joking aside, I do a lot of virtualization (edited my previous post) and container work. For virtualization, nothing beats Linux's native QEMU-KVM for performance. For containers, Docker was made for Linux and runs better on it compared to other operating systems.

I don't do gaming or use Office or AutoCad (I have access to Macs in the office for photo/graphic work if required), so don't really have any need for Windows. Also don't need to worry about security so much.

If possible, I'd get a dedicated Linux laptop from boutique manufacturers overseas, but then I'll need to deal with the SIRIM approval nonsense when it arrives in Malaysia. So the next best bet are ThinkPads, since they're also used by the majority of Linux and BSD developers. Don't want to spend too much since this will be a personal machine for pet projects, so don't want any "flagship" level ThinkPad like the X1 Carbon or whatnot.

This post has been edited by G-17: Aug 25 2019, 09:27 PM
G-17
post Aug 26 2019, 01:48 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

Question:
I noticed Lenovo has an Education Store on their site. Do they offer education discounts on ThinkPads, and is there any paperwork required to prove you're an educator?

I know for Apple Macs and iPads in Malaysia you can buy from the their Education K-12 site without any paperwork or questions being asked (you can't claim from company or get income tax deduction though) even if you don't work in the education sector.

For Lenovo, I'm unsure. Thinking of registering with a throwaway email account to find out, but just asking here first in case anyone has experience.
G-17
post Aug 26 2019, 04:51 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(zz287963 @ Aug 26 2019, 03:53 PM)
For Education Store there will be a 15% discount, which is quite good but there are other better codes to be use ie. After 9pm you may apply code "NIGHT" for better discount, around 25% for ThinkPad T495 (not sure bout the exact discount).

For paperwork I'm not too sure but if not mistaken it's needed for verification such as student card ID.
You mean the coupon codes under the price tab are better than education discounts? I've never seen "NIGHT" before, but over the last couple of days I've seen a lot of "SCHOOL" and "WEEKEND" codes.

The Lenovo store site is damn weird. Sometimes, right below the price section you can see small options you can tick (before you enter the customize page) that offer upgraded warranty or backpack for extra RM$1. The strange thing is that it can change whenever. Sometimes I can simply Ctrl-R refresh the page and suddenly more/different options will appear.

Is there some special technique/timing for best pricing?
Feels like those games where you enter cheat codes. I wonder if got God Mode or not. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by G-17: Aug 26 2019, 05:43 PM
G-17
post Aug 26 2019, 06:55 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(zz287963 @ Aug 26 2019, 06:23 PM)
NIGHT would be available for Sun to Thurs night after 9pm based on my observation. However, it only applies to selected model but not all.

While for the bonus options, I'm not quite sure is it keep on changing from time to time, but it differs for product. For some you add on RM1 to get their wireless mouse but some you add on to get normal USB mouse. Then some warranty upgrade is just RM1 but others is RM299 or more.

So far I found out that for certain model you can get the cheapest price with the code "NIGHT".
Hmm, interesting. I will try again after 9:00PM later.

So far, the best I've been able to get X390 with these options;
- Core i5-8265U, 16GB RAM 256GB NVMe, 1080p 300Nits Anti-Glare Screen, Backlit Keyboard 65W Adapter
- 3yr Premier support with on-site NBD upgrade from 1Y Depot/CCI (+RM1)
- 3yr Accidental Damage Protection Add-On (Free)
- 3yr Sealed Battery Add-on (+RM1)
- Basic backpack (+RM1)

Total = RM4,241.80 (free standard shipping) after applying the "SCHOOL" coupon code.
For now, I'm keeping that browser tab open and have also saved the Cart ID number. Maybe I can do better later, but the accidental damage protection and free 1-time battery replacement is quite attractive in this package. The backpack is probably useless, but I can give it away to someone.

This post has been edited by G-17: Aug 26 2019, 07:18 PM
G-17
post Aug 26 2019, 11:09 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Aug 26 2019, 10:50 PM)
Don’t buy the customisation specs Loh.
Just buy the instant packaged will do.
Mine taken almost a month, if you can wait it’s worth for you.
But the standard specs for so many models are shit. I'm not 80 years old, so I don't need gigantic fuzzy fonts of a 768p display. 8GB RAM cannot even dedicate enough for my virtual machines or containers. 45W charger and wait till my hair falls off for the thing to fully charge? No, thanks. The standard specs are for Lenovo to clear old parts inventory, me thinks. whistling.gif

Your order took almost a month?! shocking.gif
Now I'm scared to order already. The checkout page for mine (yes, I have the same tab open for half a day sweat.gif ) says 4 or 5 September. Cannot trust their estimate ah?

This post has been edited by G-17: Aug 26 2019, 11:14 PM
G-17
post Aug 27 2019, 10:16 AM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

Ordered a X390 last night. Hopefully they're honest with their estimate. It seems the backpack (I cropped that part out) will be shipped on a later date. I guess everybody wants a $1 backpack laugh.gif

My order;

Total around RM4,250. Maybe could get cheaper if I was patient, but the 3yr battery coverage was too good to pass up. Called the hotline just now and they transferred me to a technical guy who claimed that if the battery went below a certain threshold in that time, I'd qualify to change it for free and only have to pay for labor. Means I can hammer the machine without worry. icon_rolleyes.gif
G-17
post Aug 27 2019, 10:25 AM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Aug 27 2019, 10:18 AM)
You so careless ah?
Add battery packs and accidentally damaged
Battery coverage was +$1. Accidental damage protection was free. thumbsup.gif

G-17
post Sep 1 2019, 01:09 AM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Aug 31 2019, 06:27 PM)
after windows setup and then do windows update with login vantage via ur email account and do update driver as well

Email account? The same one we used when buying from the Lenovo online store?
Can Vantage perform UEFI/BIOS updates as well? If can, maybe I'll use Windows to upgrade the BIOS first before wiping it.

Easier than Linux, where we have to download a "Boot CD" iso image from the Lenovo Support site and create a bootable USB drive to perform UEFI/BIOS upgrades, although one side benefit of using the iso method is that we can insert an image to replace the Lenovo logo that appears when you turn on the laptop. I plan to replace it with the classic ThinkPad or IBM logo.

This post has been edited by G-17: Sep 1 2019, 01:53 AM
G-17
post Sep 1 2019, 10:07 AM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 1 2019, 07:50 AM)
When do u receive your ThinkPad?
13 Sept according to Lenovo's order tracking thing.

G-17
post Sep 3 2019, 05:56 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(zz287963 @ Sep 3 2019, 05:19 PM)
Oh damn bro, you've received it! Congratulations!
Mine supposed to receive today, but it's stuck in Custom. Same old issue - MISSING IMPORT LICENSE.
Was in KL just now and intended to collect myself, called UPS but said still not receive the permit from Lenovo...  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
I don't really think it's the import license. To my knowledge, import related documentation and duties payment can be handled by the company or contracted agency prior to the goods even reaching customs, with only the inspection (usually just checking labels and invoices) to be carried out upon arrival.

It's most likely the SIRIM related nonsense. That department in particular is super inefficient. That's the reason why I HATE importing computer related stuff myself into the country. Had a lot of trouble with some OpenWRT routers in the past. The bastards held my goods for 3 weeks while I had to go back and forth with paperwork and whatnot. There are usually agencies (like this one) that handle the matter and speed up the process for individual buyers or small businesses (for a fee of course, usually 3-4 working days), but big companies like Lenovo probably have their own people or full-time subcontracted agency on the ground. All depends on how fast these people are willing to work.

So the actual issue might be related to "regulatory approval". I think UPS simply groups everything together under "import license" category in the tracking info slip/screen, but probably not the imports people delaying things. At least that's my experience.

This post has been edited by G-17: Sep 3 2019, 06:14 PM
G-17
post Sep 3 2019, 07:55 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(zz287963 @ Sep 3 2019, 07:49 PM)
I see I see. So it's actually not really the permit but the SIRIM things? Actually when I called them earlier around 9 something, they told me it's the documents that have arrived for inspection but not the physical item itself. The physical item arrives a bit later.
SIRIM thing is just my guess, based on past experience importing from overseas. Sometimes with these big multinational companies (Lenovo, Dell, Apple, etc) the order won't even physically go through the customs office at the airport/port. It's all handled by agencies with people on the ground. Likely your laptop will receive approval permit without even setting foot inside any customs office. It now all depends on how fast the involved staff work. Typically, in other advanced countries, having various staff from both parties on-location saves time and makes things more efficient. In Malaysia, the two parties will make a detour for goreng pisang first. Sorry for you my friend, but that's typical bolehland. Hope you get it in time.

This post has been edited by G-17: Sep 3 2019, 07:59 PM
G-17
post Sep 3 2019, 09:51 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(zz287963 @ Sep 3 2019, 07:49 PM)
Actually when I called them earlier around 9 something....
What number did you call? The 1800 one from the website is it? I also need to call them to check order status (my order page says order on hold due to credit block, but my bank says nothing was blocked) but their hotline number says open from 9AM to 6PM only bangwall.gif

G-17
post Sep 3 2019, 10:24 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

^ Thanks for replying smile.gif
Have to say, Lenovo's order system has a lot of room for improvement.
G-17
post Sep 6 2019, 08:57 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

You people so fashionable. I'm low class - prefer my ThinkPad full of scratches and smudges. Only thing I do is cover the Windows swastika key with a penguin sticker tongue.gif
G-17
post Sep 7 2019, 04:32 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 7 2019, 03:58 PM)
Accidental damage such as drop from the Heigh.
Not doing touch on the screw.
How you gonna to explain?
Once you unscrew mean you gonna to touch on the board.
This is consider void your warranty.
Teardown mean is consider user faulty
In my experience, opening up the machine to add storage or memory won't void your warranty with Lenovo. Last year my friend (Johor) had to make warranty claim for his T480, due to a noisy fan. Prior to that, he replaced the SSD with his own. Got info from online support chat and carry-in to authorize service center. No problems. They checked, said need to order fan and told him they'll call in 2-3 days once the part arrived. He didn't have to leave the laptop there also. Didn't need to pay any money. Actually, it cost me more because I had to drive him and pay for parking....

Also, my cousin (Singapore) has a ThinkCenter desktop for her business front desk. When new, came with HDD only, so I added a budget ADATA SSD and reinstalled Windows to use it as system disk and the stock HDD for user files. Few months later her power supply failed and on-site tech didn't say anything. He took the desktop and returned it in around a week, no charges. Even offered to unplug the SSD + HDD and let my cousin keep while the machine was away, for privacy reasons.

Of course, they won't cover the component you installed yourself (you claim from that component's own manufacturer), but for most user installation like RAM, SSD, keyboard swap (from top only), etc, they usually don't make noise.

This post has been edited by G-17: Sep 7 2019, 04:43 PM
G-17
post Sep 7 2019, 05:46 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 7 2019, 05:35 PM)
Storage or ram upgrade I think is should not an issue.
But due to screw broken into the chassis, I don’t think they will replace for you.
Unless is technical did the faulty
But it's a new laptop right? If like that he can contact support first with photo and receipt. See what they say.
G-17
post Sep 7 2019, 06:15 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 7 2019, 05:48 PM)
Anyway u can capture and do a case with live chat from support.
Just make sure don’t let them know who you are before confirm that issue.
Just need to clarify will do.
Good idea. Will remember that for next time, just in case.

QUOTE(afiqsabri @ Sep 7 2019, 06:09 PM)
I did contact the support, they said they will bring new back cover...
That's good. They will bring to your location?
G-17
post Sep 9 2019, 12:05 AM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(werrbug @ Sep 8 2019, 08:59 PM)
Any issue if im buying imported thinkpad? Other than warranty and the charging adaptor type issue?

Shouldn't have any issues in terms of hardware config, though it's probably best to cross ref the model number at Lenovo's PSREF page to be sure.

Other than that, it's the permit thing you have to worry about - products with wifi antennas/chipsets require some sort of SIRIM approval. Usually, when package reaches M'sia, customs will hold it and shipping company will contact you to inform you of the hold and send you the relevant papers. After that it depends; in some cases the shipping company will offer to do the procedure for you (for additional fee), other times you're left on your own to contact the relevant departments with the correct forms. You can also engage an external agency that specializes in SIRIM approval services (like this one), again at additional cost. Process is usually 3-4 working days, iirc.

In any case, if it's a single laptop for personal/soho use, be prepared to pay around MYR200 on top of the total cost of laptop/tax/conversion/shipping if you're to engage the courier or external agency to augment the approval process. Usually 3-4 working days, iirc. Cheaper if you do it yourself, but time and inconvenience should be factored in.

Of course, there's always a chance that you might get lucky and customs overlooks your package, in which case you won't have to go through the hassle, but that's rare and usually only happens with EMS type packages. If it's one of the big courier type companies doing your shipping (DHL, UPS, FedEx, etc), then 99% of the time customs will end up holding the package.

I was actually very tempted to order a laptop from a small Linux-dedicated manufacturer in England. Price was good even after factoring in tax and SIRIM approval, but the overall time delay and hassle with documentation, coupled with potential warranty issues or logistical challenges in case of product return (and also the lack of keyboard nipple) eventually put me off the idea. I had a very bad experience with M'sia customs dept when importing WRT routers a couple of years ago, and didn't want to go through the same headache.

Lenovo has almost monthly sales, so maybe you should bide your time this month while visiting the website every night to see if prices go down. Next sale is supposed to be 9.9.2019, but I have no idea what will be discounted. There's also the Citibank thing at the end of every month, as other comments have mentioned. There was also one comment recently mentioning being able to obtain better discount codes from sales/support rep, though I cannot recall if this was via the online chat or phone, but maybe you can try that method.

Just my 2 cents. Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by G-17: Sep 9 2019, 02:04 PM
G-17
post Sep 17 2019, 02:13 AM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

Lenovo's component choices are so frustrating sometimes, especially for the 14" notebooks.

For the T490 or T490s; if you want 1440p (WQHD), then your only choice is the glossy HDR display. If you want WQHD anti-glare, tough luck.

Then the X1C; 6th Gen only had glossy WQHD. 7th gen now has anti-glare WQHD, but they went and reduced the battery size and keyboard travel.

Also hate how some models will automatically upgrade to the IR camera or WWAN modem with certain panel options, even if you don't want it.

Grrr.... mad.gif

This post has been edited by G-17: Sep 17 2019, 02:19 AM

0.1007sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:30 AM