8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

<< LG Optimus 2x Official Thread v2 >>, Cheapest Dual Core Phone !

wulfredz
post Nov 12 2011, 11:53 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(ahnee92 @ Nov 12 2011, 10:09 PM)
wulfredz... no la bro...my problem is i can't even open the link they gave...
damn dissapointed.... mad.gif
so i open a thread and ask some1 to mirror the link 4 me...but still the same sad.gif
Bro, try this link and see if its ok for you,

LG Gingerbread 2.3 v20L
http://www.filesonic.com/file/2862194085/v...tock-rooted.zip

Paul's back to ext3
http://www.filesonic.com/file/3423207415

Try this steps: Click slow download, and you will notice that above that box will open counter and count download before appear the catch box asking you to keying what is written on the box. When keyed in correctly, it will show you the link to download

P/S: pls try open with IE, sometimes i notice the Opera/Firefox block the java

Added on November 12, 2011, 11:54 pm
QUOTE(brian12988 @ Nov 12 2011, 08:56 PM)
getting a bit lazy waiting plus reviews on the LG GB update seems a bit bad..

looks like Topogigi rom is better..hmm.gif
Agree biggrin.gif, so far i think so too, only that the v20L is final, and v20J is beta but tuned by modders biggrin.gif

Added on November 12, 2011, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(pitywoman @ Nov 12 2011, 01:01 PM)
stock rom 20l? europe? mind to upload at sharing site? fileserve dl very slow for me....
Pls try the link i posted above biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wulfredz: Nov 12 2011, 11:56 PM
wulfredz
post Nov 13 2011, 12:26 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(ahnee92 @ Nov 13 2011, 12:13 AM)
my stock version be4 i flash to cm7 i remember was v20b...so it won't be a problem right???  blush.gif
Just flash back-to-ext3 before flashing the rom then ok, otherwise you may face problem stuck at LG bootscreen

This post has been edited by wulfredz: Nov 13 2011, 12:32 AM
wulfredz
post Nov 14 2011, 08:48 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(Heav3nCl0ud @ Nov 14 2011, 12:06 AM)
Running on Stock V20L Gingerbread now (Italian ROM) made by Paul@Modaco.
None issues occured until now, boot time is 12 hours.
Will continue observing.
Horse Extreme Power Kernel can be applied without errors (tested)
Hmm HP SR1?, maybe you want to try SR2 & see biggrin.gif

wulfredz
post Nov 14 2011, 11:56 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(cedricjy @ Nov 14 2011, 11:32 AM)
Just found that the HongKong has been launched the GB in this morning. I will try to update it after work today. The Version V20b for HongKong Stock.
Yup Hong Kong released GB already, tried earlier and MY still not release yet.

Check this out (link :http://galnetmiui.co.uk/landing/ics-change-log/)
(extracted from the website)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Galnet MIUI ICS is our experimental builds for the Ice Cream Sandwich framework being introduced into MIUI. These builds don’t look any different, however they do come with some of the ICS benefits such as power management and ram management.
ICS
Change
Log

Network Modifications:
Improved Signal Strength over all supported devices
Fixes to prevent "No Service Bug" on certain I9100 handsets
Added a script to flash K14 modem on I9100
Correct management of 3G and 2G selections ( Error being on certain models that it wouldn’t work perviously )

Framework Modifications:
Correct management of ICS framework requirements
Fixed occastions where Android Process would crash (required reboot to resolve)
Power management fully implemented from ICS
Repair to Sensor management in Debug mode

UI Improvements
Improved 3D support throughout rom (All Devices)
Correct issues where lockscreen clock would randomly freeze (Defy)
Improved camera response (Shutter) speeds

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In case you're wondering, YES this support LG 2X (i'm downloading and try it out - my main focus would be the points in bold above)

too bad i'm outside and the downloading speed is sloooow for 100+mb file rclxub.gif

wulfredz
post Nov 14 2011, 12:55 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(kento @ Nov 14 2011, 12:23 PM)
can2  biggrin.gif
anyone know how to backup app/games with titanium? so can restore after flashing new stock rom

update will delete all my apps rite?
Its easy to backup your apps using titanium, just click on the apps you want to backup then you will see one backup (remember to copy the folder out to you pc and put them back into your phone after update)

To restore, copy the folder back to your phone (take the whole folder) and when you open the titanium to restore, scroll all the way down, those apps which have backup but not installed will appear at bottom of the line with strikeout on the name (means not install biggrin.gif)

Update will wipe everything includes your sms, contact list, etc

Added on November 14, 2011, 12:59 pm
QUOTE(CANONPIXMA @ Nov 14 2011, 12:19 PM)
can update edi?
Yes for Hong Kong set, malaysia set not yet

This post has been edited by wulfredz: Nov 14 2011, 12:59 PM
wulfredz
post Nov 14 2011, 01:05 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Number92 @ Nov 14 2011, 01:00 PM)
a simple question , if i dun wanna use titanium , can i use mybackup instead ? is it the same ?
Titanium backup allow you to perform apps backup + data, and when you restore, you can choose to restore only apps or with data and this includes the batch backup + restore too. As for mybackup, i'm not sure would it be the exact/same (i use titanium pro alot since i flash the phone with custom roms, and lazy to restore one by 1 and reconfigure them)

P/S: titanium free edition can do batch too but only 1 copy of backup & cannot freeze apps
wulfredz
post Nov 14 2011, 02:43 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(parek @ Nov 14 2011, 02:19 PM)
what about base band or kernel, are they changed ?
Kernel is the same, baseband is 725 (there has been reports there are like 3 different 725 --> 725(froyo), 725(GB Aug v20A-v20J) and 725 (Oct v20l similar to 823), this update gives you the 3rd's 725 BB

Added on November 14, 2011, 2:46 pm
QUOTE(parek @ Nov 14 2011, 02:08 PM)
bro wulfredz,

Did u flashed MIUI 1.11.9. Mine already flashed. Run smooth and faster than stock. BTW, i tried to flashed the MIUI tweak from owain94 but got bootloop. Any idea?
Well, not yet as i still need the phone biggrin.gif later tonite when i don't expect much calls biggrin.gif, hmm tweak and got a bootloop, is that the kernal patch/tweak? if yes, maybe same case as those who just flash over ext4 but the tweak is design for ext3, check again biggrin.gif

Oh ya, check again, is that tweak for MIUI 1.11.9 or 1.11.11? (if 1.11.11 then you need to get the nightly 1 to support, the 1.11.9 is based on older miui)

This post has been edited by wulfredz: Nov 14 2011, 02:54 PM
wulfredz
post Nov 14 2011, 03:52 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Spootid @ Nov 14 2011, 03:45 PM)
We are running gaga over LG finally having GB update when Samsung is already planning to launch ICS... hmmm... sad.gif
LoL, what to do, LG is super slow and GB is 'LATEST thing' for them. Oh ya, the planned the upgrade includes for tablet too (so far not sure whether the PT-1000 is included or not, but the others will be sad.gif

This post has been edited by wulfredz: Nov 14 2011, 04:01 PM
wulfredz
post Nov 14 2011, 05:21 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Spootid @ Nov 14 2011, 04:30 PM)
I'm just hoping that with the GB update it can solve the minor issues with the phone. I still got the 'phone-display-suddenly-blank-after-a-few-minutes-talking' syndrome... and lately the 'd@mn-phone-suddenly-reboot' syndrome...
Hmm, not sure whether is the rom related or hardware related. Have you tried other rom and see if the problem still happens? example topogigi's rom? If still happened with other rom, probably is hardware related. If not, maybe GB helps biggrin.gif (Well i had that experience on my 2X too, but it was cause by hardware and after resolve, even froyo dont give this symptom)

Added on November 14, 2011, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Nov 14 2011, 04:35 PM)
can claim warranty if IPS yellow bleed screen happen?
Not sure whether its accepted, maybe you can walk into one of the service center and ask them? (of course must be under warranty biggrin.gif & not AP )

This post has been edited by wulfredz: Nov 14 2011, 05:23 PM
wulfredz
post Nov 14 2011, 11:49 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(brian12988 @ Nov 14 2011, 11:02 PM)
thne looks like i will get a 32GB C4 then..
There are difference between this two. If you transfer big files alot, go for class 10,if just read only and alot of small files class 4 (but i seriously dont recommend it)

Class 10 allow you to write @ 10mb and if you plan 32gb means you plan to put alot of stuff right? Its going to take time to copy those things into it biggrin.gif (i tried class 4 - 10 @ class 6 isnt that bad in pricing decent speed and cheap- i got mine 16gb class 6 like 60+ during promotion)

Added on November 14, 2011, 11:56 pm
QUOTE(parek @ Nov 14 2011, 02:08 PM)
bro wulfredz,

Did u flashed MIUI 1.11.9. Mine already flashed. Run smooth and faster than stock. BTW, i tried to flashed the MIUI tweak from owain94 but got bootloop. Any idea?
OK i've flash MIUI 1.11.9 and tried it, interface is nice biggrin.gif, battery so far good i say, need to let it run till dry but i found something funny. I flash from v20L and my baseband is 725(v20l). Installed getril and its not compatible so i downloaded compatible one. 1st attempt no problem since i select 725 for froyo. The itchy finger to click getril again and try this time v20L and guess what, LoL baseband now become unknown ....duh, baseband can go missing doh.gif

Smartflash again and it will recover the bb, and will try all over again. No wonder there is a question earlier on how to flash bb 725 in earlier post flex.gif

This post has been edited by wulfredz: Nov 14 2011, 11:56 PM
wulfredz
post Nov 15 2011, 08:31 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(brian12988 @ Nov 15 2011, 12:53 AM)
i intend to dump movies on it because I travel a lot..and that LGO2X does not have Out of the box USB Host support(which would be much much better)

MIUI ada english tak?
Well i have to agree 32GB SD class 4 is affordable compared to class 10, only thing you have to bear is during the time you copy the huge files into it. Imagine you transfer 32GB of files @ 4mb vs @ 10mb (sharing from experience using class 4, after a while with alot of transfer, you want to transfer those file faster biggrin.gif )

Yup MIUI does come with the english. Refer to the link i posted earlier (one with ICS framework included to improve on the battery & memory management, this one is good but with warning, If your Baseband is 725, don't get any of those 725 design for non asia, example, v20J Europe, v20L Italian, etc get the one like 725 Asia, or 725 Froyo's is ok. Otherwise you get problem where baseband becomes 'unknown' (learned from mistake since it originate from China, duh BB becomes unknown when you select RIL from Europe)

So far what i can summarize is
1. Interface is good/nice compare vanilla android but no apps folder, what you install goes appear on right side of the screen aka on desktop but you can organize by placing in folders (like iphone, all you install goes on desktop)

2. Battery seem better, still on 1st charge after 1 day (not as drain compared to stock v20L)

3. More responsive and instead of you doing widget to get your shortcut, its available via notification pulldown (toggles) and you can skip widget such as widgetsoid that give/provide shortcut access to link directly to system file like tethering with one click (example of shortcut i use biggrin.gif)

4. Switching for 2G/3G seem friendlier compare to stock v20L - problem i faced even after flashing BB 725 (v20L) is on places where you have weak 3G and it will keep switching between 2G/3G to have stable connection, after a while you notice battery drain is worst and sometimes the connection shows it connected but actually you're not - tried calling my phone from LAN line and it goes engage and if you reboot, can get thru again aka line drop (some feedback mention its telco related such as some of those users in Europe, well not sure its due to BB related, maybe?)

5. Well more memory available compared to stock (vanilla MIUI install, you have like 190mb - 200mb free vs stock around 90 - 150mb, depends on what you turn on - yeah you can turn off, try do that with OTA which takes up 20MB and you don't use it at all? doh.gif )

Well still trying it out - just give it a try if you're feeling adventures

P/S: for those have problem on baseband becomes unknown after select RIL, download the RIL again and select 725 ASIA + do dalvik's cache wipe, it will come back (if worst, flash BB and repeat the those mention earlier)

wulfredz
post Nov 15 2011, 03:04 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Spootid @ Nov 15 2011, 02:55 PM)
Called LG a few minutes ago and ask when can we receive GB update here in Malaysia... She said probably by end of the year... reason... they have to do test 1st... hehe... test my @$$ la LG...!!!
sweat.gif announce schedule suppose to be nov, and they told you Dec? Communication problem? or their side having problem getting the GB?
wulfredz
post Nov 15 2011, 04:44 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(kento @ Nov 15 2011, 04:11 PM)
hmm...loss of signal.. is it same here... hmm.gif
Its the same for the Europe/Italian rom too, think its got something to do with their baseband & ril, but thing is cannot simulate it to happen all the time

Added on November 15, 2011, 4:46 pm
QUOTE(Number92 @ Nov 15 2011, 04:03 PM)
i'm not sure about it , i change to malaysia and it can be update , the only problem i had is in this morning there is a loss of signal , battery wise is a bit ok compare to froyo
Yup better then froyo, but still not as good as cm7. Now i'm trying on MIUI and so far no line drop/lost of signal and battery still ok (still 1st charge)

This post has been edited by wulfredz: Nov 15 2011, 04:46 PM
wulfredz
post Nov 16 2011, 10:04 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(kento @ Nov 16 2011, 08:45 AM)
i think battery now better a bit...but not much la smile.gif
Bro, if you really want to improve on the battery, you may want to consider flashing custom kernal, this is where feedback based on v20e (beta) release tweak on battery
wulfredz
post Nov 16 2011, 01:17 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Number92 @ Nov 16 2011, 01:00 PM)
bro wulfredz , battery life is not a big problem for me , i just wanna look out for cooler interface and better rom .. any recommendation ?
If you're into theming your phone, try MIUI (get the nightly its based on MIUI build 1.11.11 @ aka android version 2.3.7) there is alot of nice interface, refer to my earlier post on the link on galnet MIUI, its english so should be ok for those worry about chinese MIUI.

If you're into tweaking rom, check out XDA's forum, there is tons of it around, topogigi's was good recommendation however he stop supporting it due to family matter, never the less, its still good rom only thing is its based on v20e / v20j (beta release), other than that, there are few more interesting rom like Paul's modaco GR5 (improving day by day with inputs from users on bugs & tune up feedback from users).

Hmm, actually for another top on list like Thanatos2X (but currently waiting for v4.2 as the current one still have some issue, well depends on how you look @ it.)

update: it has been updated with Thanatos2X v4.2 EXT4 flex.gif but i haven't try it yet (update 15/11/11 @ yesterday doh.gif )

Give it a try and see (advise, backup your files via titanium for easy restore biggrin.gif ) That what i do when i switch around roms to see & experience them (now playing with MIUI nightly to compare - latest version is quite stable, haven't found any noticeable problem yet, BT work, battery decent, interface is interesting biggrin.gif, kinda of like the idea but miss the separate apps storage area, MIUI stores all the apps you install on desktop like iphone, and you can create folders to put them separated

My 2cent biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by wulfredz: Nov 16 2011, 01:24 PM
wulfredz
post Nov 16 2011, 01:25 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(kento @ Nov 16 2011, 01:23 PM)
2.3 cannot use superoneclick i think  sweat.gif
I tried official flash using kdz which is unroot (superoneclick cannot work on it, but you can still flash cwm ontop to get root access)

wulfredz
post Nov 16 2011, 10:56 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Number92 @ Nov 16 2011, 07:01 PM)
thanks for the  wonderful advice bro wulfredz
You're welcome bro biggrin.gif

Added on November 16, 2011, 10:58 pm
QUOTE(cloud4822 @ Nov 16 2011, 10:51 PM)
Just upgrade to official GB 2.3.4.
Seems there's nothing special of the upgrading.Screen lock oso no different.
Yup.. All contact,setting remain.
Not sure what's the advantage yet.

Added on November 16, 2011, 10:54 pmI spent 1 hr for the updating.
Actually there is a hidden lockscreen, you need to manually edit the setting to enable it, read somewhere in modoco for instruction and got screenshot too but not enable, other than that, baseband changed and some bug fixes. Don't remember where is the link, got compiled feedback about the changes biggrin.gif

Added on November 16, 2011, 11:00 pm
QUOTE(Spootid @ Nov 16 2011, 09:27 PM)
Updating now...!!! P1 very slow la tonite... too many O2X user updating maybe...??? Hehe...

Added on November 16, 2011, 9:28 pmBtw... have to enable USB debugging to update the phone...???
Bro, earlier post on the feedback from LG call said end dec? LoL i think its miscommunication from their side doh.gif at least we get the update rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by wulfredz: Nov 16 2011, 11:15 PM
wulfredz
post Nov 17 2011, 03:41 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 17 2011, 01:29 AM)
LG not very good at updating their product eh? how about the modding scene? a lot group doing it? very fast releasing new update?

is the 2X bootloader is locked or unlocked?
2x roms are plenty out there.Just check out at xda-developers.com or google android.modaco.com for more info (well there are more but these two have more concentration of modders and active users.

Unlike samsung galaxy s2, you dont need jigs to reset counters after flashing or maker that lock their bootloader, 2x doesnt do anything or make any effort to trace or track any mod on the phone biggrin.gif. At worst if you screw up the phone by bricking it up when you flash it with wrong model of rom like flashing your international 2X with G2X or korean model (p990 vs p999) just refer to instruction on nvflash to reset them back to stock and you can bring your phone back alive

my 2¢ :-)

Added on November 17, 2011, 3:57 am
QUOTE(Warden @ Nov 16 2011, 11:44 PM)
any big change ? and what bug fix?
if nothing big change I guess I will stick with cm7
Well common feedback would be stock responsiveness. Original lg feel abit sluggish on stock launcher, gb felt like smooth and battery slightly improved. Some bugs in froyo has been squshed. List of those bugs you may refer to xda posting of beta v20 feedbacks. If you're asking worth or not to revert back to stock? Depends on what you want from it, battery not as good as cm7 but you wont have to worry on the part like no able to use on hdmi or bt or radio (cm have fix alot of along the way already. Which is thumbs up for their effort)

This post has been edited by wulfredz: Nov 17 2011, 03:57 AM
wulfredz
post Nov 17 2011, 08:23 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(cloud4822 @ Nov 17 2011, 07:13 AM)
My signal is good but don know y have this type of signal.
Bro,
Try download 'getril' from market, can you screen capture and show us what is your baseband and ril result from getril?

I have this problem earlier too but it was due to the baseband somehow not compatible with the ril, after update it works (well, i did few things like flashing baseband and download ril which fit the new baseband)

This post has been edited by wulfredz: Nov 17 2011, 08:55 AM
wulfredz
post Nov 17 2011, 04:47 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Warden @ Nov 17 2011, 02:26 PM)
woot thx for your feedback

is it I have to revert back to stock rom to can update to GB?
current using cm7 nightly.
Yup, you need to revert back to stock rom only can update 'official' rom. Just remember to do 'back-to-ext3' flash otherwise you may stuck at LG logo after restore to stock biggrin.gif

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0565sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:15 PM