148 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Bottom

Headphones Headphone Amplifier and DAC Recommendation, portables, desktops, amps, dac, lai

Ban-kun
post Apr 17 2012, 09:22 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Apr 17 2012, 09:12 PM)
IINM that will be double amping from dacport, dacport does not do line out, LX does
Okay, but nothing bad, right? Does double amping have any side effects? My only worry is that it'd somehow distort the analog signals by repeated amping.
noobandroid
post Apr 17 2012, 09:40 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(Ban-kun @ Apr 17 2012, 09:22 PM)
Okay, but nothing bad, right? Does double amping have any side effects? My only worry is that it'd somehow distort the analog signals by repeated amping.
well, by generally speaking, we don't prefer double amp, unless u are seeking a particular sound character from that amp
Ton-chan
post Apr 18 2012, 09:03 PM

38 posts

Anyone has any experience with the Meier Audio Stepdance? I hardly see anyone selling it except jaben, does this mean everyone is satisfied with their purchase?? ;D
hongrui
post Apr 18 2012, 09:11 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

if you want a secondhand step dance, i know someone selling

i've asked the seller to contact you directly.
Ton-chan
post Apr 18 2012, 09:28 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(hongrui @ Apr 18 2012, 09:11 PM)
if you want a secondhand step dance, i know someone selling
Oh? Do share...

QUOTE(hongrui @ Apr 18 2012, 10:45 PM)
i've asked the seller to contact you directly.
Okay. Thanks. Though I would still like to hear some reviews from M'sian users of the Stepdance, cause I hardly read about them in LYN forum.

Anyone???
stringfellow
post Apr 19 2012, 08:04 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Been looking around, not much info on this.

If my source is limited to 24/96, would it make sense to get the Cambridge Audio DACMagic or the Cambridge Audio DACMagic Plus DAC?

I rather like the Cambridge Audio DACMagic 100 DAC, but no local stores have them for audition. Between the non-Plus and the Plus DAC, they're carried by CMY, at least.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Apr 19 2012, 08:05 PM
g3n0c1d3
post Apr 19 2012, 08:20 PM

hai hai... kazuma dayo....
6,497 posts

QUOTE(Ton-chan @ Apr 18 2012, 09:03 PM)
Anyone has any experience with the Meier Audio Stepdance? I hardly see anyone selling it except jaben, does this mean everyone is satisfied with their purchase?? ;D
i have stepdance. im particularly satisfy with the amp.... this amp is really powerful and can drive most of the headphone i can throw it with... the amp makes soundstage feels so wide.... the details are awesome.

i want to tell u more about the amp but unfortunately im not really good in describing the sound so much.

what i can tell u is, its worth it...
hongrui
post Apr 19 2012, 10:04 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Apr 19 2012, 08:04 PM)
Been looking around, not much info on this.

If my source is limited to 24/96, would it make sense to get the Cambridge Audio DACMagic or the Cambridge Audio DACMagic Plus DAC?

I rather like the Cambridge Audio DACMagic 100 DAC, but no local stores have them for audition. Between the non-Plus and the Plus DAC, they're carried by CMY, at least.
do you need the balanced outputs and all the bells and whistles (bluetooth connectivity?) of the DACmagic plus?

hardware specs wise the DACmagic plus is definitely better than that of the DACmagic 100.

if you're comparing the old DACmagic against the new DACmagic plus, get the new DACmagic plus as the old one does not support 24/96 over usb native. you have to convert USB -> Coaxial to get 24/96 support. the new DACmagic plus does support 24/96 over usb, at least that's if i'm reading its website correctly.

in that case just get the DACmagic 100.

noobandroid, he already has got the LX.

Try checking with all the dealers:
http://www.cambridgeaudio.com/dealers_regi...le=Kuala+Lumpar

This post has been edited by hongrui: Apr 19 2012, 10:07 PM
stringfellow
post Apr 19 2012, 10:12 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(hongrui @ Apr 19 2012, 10:04 PM)
do you need the balanced outputs and all the bells and whistles (bluetooth connectivity?) of the DACmagic plus?

hardware specs wise the DACmagic plus is definitely better than that of the DACmagic 100.

if you're comparing the old DACmagic against the new DACmagic plus, get the new DACmagic plus as the old one does not support 24/96 over usb native. you have to convert USB -> Coaxial to get 24/96 support. the new DACmagic plus does support 24/96 over usb, at least that's if i'm reading its website correctly.
The only part I need is the 24/96 feature, I don't need balanced amps for the time being.

So difficult la with home DACs. If I didn't know any better, I'd say the DACPort LX is much more worthwhile than the DACMagic, price/perfomance-wise.

QUOTE(hongrui @ Apr 19 2012, 10:35 PM)
in that case just get the DACmagic 100.
Question is, where? CMY doesn't have one.

The thing is with Malaysian "dealers" is that they're extremely lax in terms of keeping up to date with the latest products available by the brands they carry. Yes, I've called every one of them, and all results in no availability of the DACMagic 100. Result ranging from an Apek-like response saying they don't sell, to rude retorts and some with disconnected numbers from that link you gave, hongrui.

I have learned to get things on my own with most of my stuff (because typical Malaysian vendors are useless when it comes to stocking latest items), but auditioning requires having the said equipment in hand before I can test them, listen to them before buying them.

Not to mention that these "dealers" who have the DACMagic/Plus pushing it like it is the latest thing from Cambridge Audio, without even knowing that the Plus has been out for more than half a year already. Not even more to mention about their ignorance about the DACMagic 100 model. Useless.
noobandroid
post Apr 19 2012, 10:38 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Apr 19 2012, 10:12 PM)
The only part I need is the 24/96 feature, I don't need balanced amps for the time being.

So difficult la with home DACs. If I didn't know any better, I'd say the DACPort LX is much more worthwhile than the DACMagic, price/perfomance-wise.
come come, join me on centrance

QUOTE(hongrui @ Apr 19 2012, 10:39 PM)
noobandroid, he already has got the LX.
oh.. i see.. din notice
GenericMav
post Apr 20 2012, 04:45 PM

just call me GM
1,175 posts

Maverick Audio D2 poke my interest, too bad no one got this locally hmm.gif

my brain is full with Maverick TubeMagic D1 lately, anyone can tell me how good it is? hmm.gif

D2 is very good, but the cost plus shipping is very damaging to my financial

o ___o now.. time to fork out some more money, perhaps there's no more turn back for me now

This post has been edited by GenericMav: Apr 20 2012, 04:46 PM
noobandroid
post Apr 20 2012, 05:05 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(GenericMav @ Apr 20 2012, 04:45 PM)
my brain is full with Maverick TubeMagic D1 lately, anyone can tell me how good it is?  hmm.gif
it's very good, you must have one brows.gif true or not, go figure..
scsoo
post Apr 20 2012, 05:15 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(GenericMav @ Apr 20 2012, 05:45 PM)
my brain is full with Maverick TubeMagic D1 lately, anyone can tell me how good it is?  hmm.gif
Not forgetting, there is the Maverick TubeMagic D2 as well........
darkddly
post Apr 20 2012, 06:38 PM

432 posts

yo bro's of audophiles...

nak tanya fiio e7 or e10 is better?

i know e7 is portable and 1st gen, e10 is usb based but quality bagus.

so mana sedap ar, in b4 using for desktop > FiiO > speaker 2.1.
plus i'm using creative soundblaster 2.1 vx but i feel macam tak best.

so if i bought it, will it boost "creative > FiiO > speaker" is better or "FiiO > speaker"?

noobandroid
post Apr 20 2012, 08:04 PM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(darkddly @ Apr 20 2012, 06:38 PM)

so if i bought it, will it boost "creative > FiiO > speaker" is better or "FiiO > speaker"?
fiio>speaker if e10, creative > fiio> speaker if e7 and maybe u can consider e9>speaker, since e7 and e10 is kinda lower power range

This post has been edited by noobandroid: Apr 20 2012, 08:05 PM
E1 - AKG
post Apr 20 2012, 08:36 PM

Your personal audio store!
6,439 posts

QUOTE(darkddly @ Apr 20 2012, 06:38 PM)

PC > FiiO E10 > Speakers (powered)

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Apr 20 2012, 01:26 PM)
The thing is with Malaysian "dealers" is that they're extremely lax in terms of keeping up to date with the latest products available by the brands they carry. Yes, I've called every one of them, and all results in no availability of the DACMagic 100. Result ranging from an Apek-like response saying they don't sell, to rude retorts and some with disconnected numbers from that link you gave, hongrui.

I have learned to get things on my own with most of my stuff (because typical Malaysian vendors are useless when it comes to stocking latest items), but auditioning requires having the said equipment in hand before I can test them, listen to them before buying them.

Not to mention that these "dealers" who have the DACMagic/Plus pushing it like it is the latest thing from Cambridge Audio, without even knowing that the Plus has been out for more than half a year already. Not even more to mention about their ignorance about the DACMagic 100 model. Useless.
Coming from a distributor point of view, Malaysia is like the third world country especially with the big manufacturers. Typically, you will not be informed of new product release till it has been in market for at least 3 months. It will be another 3 months before you get the official price listed. Then you place your order and depending on demand / supply, you get your stock in another 3 months the earliest. So typical lead time from release to availability in Malaysia is 9 - 12 months. nod.gif

This post has been edited by E1 - AKG: Apr 20 2012, 08:37 PM
hongrui
post Apr 20 2012, 08:46 PM

AudioHubber
1,594 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Apr 20 2012, 01:26 PM)
i will be going down to the Adelphi Singapore next week, will help you check for availability there. beyond that i can't do much.

QUOTE(GenericMav @ Apr 20 2012, 05:31 PM)
D2 is very good, but the cost plus shipping is very damaging to my financial
depends on what you want, D2 is a pure DAC with no headphone out, unlike D1. if you're after the tube sound, then TTD is a an option that you should consider as the D1 only has got tube pre-amp out, D1 headphone out is SS.

can also consider the audinst hud-mx1, SS DAC/Amp.

darkddly
post Apr 20 2012, 09:45 PM

432 posts

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ Apr 20 2012, 08:36 PM)
PC > FiiO E10 > Speakers (powered)

hmm..so e10 now how much biggrin.gif
noonies_naruto
post Apr 21 2012, 12:03 AM

736 posts

aiyaa now i using e5 wanna upgrade to e11..

worthy upgrade? i also wanna get a bigger capacity battery for e11..

anybody with experience on bigger batteries? does it last significantly longer?
noobandroid
post Apr 21 2012, 09:59 AM

Audiophile
11,836 posts

QUOTE(noonies_naruto @ Apr 21 2012, 12:03 AM)
aiyaa now i using e5 wanna upgrade to e11..

worthy upgrade? i also wanna get a bigger capacity battery for e11..

anybody with experience on bigger batteries? does it last significantly longer?
u can also consider cMoyBB, using 9v batteries, and can mod to dual 9v to give u a whooping 18V power, add in rechargeable module, DC power plug and the rechargeable battery, and you get a rechargeable amp that has bass boost and changeable opamp

148 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.3589sec    0.67    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:05 AM