4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!

katsumoto2011
post Jul 17 2012, 10:05 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jul 17 2012, 01:04 AM)
Bro katsumoto, where r u fishing?
how big is the pacu? 50lb leader,thru ur statement I assumed that the pacu are atleast 10kg above ?if not u would need that big poundage leader 20-30lbs nelayan leader would do.BTW, if is uglystick rod, maybe it's becoz of the fiberglass tip
Just my 2cent
my friend bring me to shah alam , yellow water dam

the biggest i and my friend land was around 5kg , usually the pacu around 1-2kg size but there 1 story around this pound that make me wonder ....... cool2.gif

from my friend testimony, he was fishing at the bigger pound (got 2 size , 1 is big and the other is small).

been waiting for half a day not a bite , just before he wanna switch pound suddenly something bite hard
he say he tighten the drag until max on his abu cardinal but the line going out didint stop, so this keep on going until
the line reach half of his spool then the line broke , after winding all the line back he check the main line already broken.
so since that day he change to using braid line 30lb with a 50lb mono line as leader .

as for the story is that is truth or not , i did meet several more stranger at the pound and i ask if they have similar experience
all of them all have the same story of line being pull until broken,while fishing at the bigger pound

since nobody ever manage to land it or maybe it was landed before just we not at the scene , we dont even know what bite and what size of fish is that.

that why we use 50lb leader, just in case . we might meet it again ?

QUOTE(jedi_master @ Jul 17 2012, 08:19 AM)
Katsumoto.. ur setup sounds pretty normal. Just that medium action rods tend to need a bit more strength when casting. And ur bait needs to be slightly heavier..

After you cast, does your line look like a spring or straight?
the line if just start fishing , you can see the line is round

but after several throw the line become straight again, do does this mean the line have minor memory ?

QUOTE(rorytate @ Jul 17 2012, 09:29 AM)
Bro Katsumoto,

This is what i think plus a few solution for you smile.gif

1. You need not put any more leader for your Berkley Trilene Big Game. The 20lb mono main line is sufficient. The reason why the name BIG GAME is for the high tensile strength and thicker diameter line to prevent abrasion and making the line more lasak. Personally i think, if the Pacu want to whack your line, 100lb also putus, irregardless of poundage smile.gif

2. You may want to use a longer shank hooks. If you reacted fast enough, the strike should be at the shank, not causing the line to be bitten.

3. In comparison of your friend's setup, he is having much thinner and lighter line compares to you. MUCH MORE LIGHTER!! Your 20lb Triline Big Game diameter is 0.022inch VS Power Pro 30lb at 0.011inch diameter. Obviously with much bigger diameter line denotes a few points here. Your line is heavy. Your line is against the air - not aerodynamic biggrin.gif AND causing short distance. smile.gif

4. I can feel your frustration over this matter. Let me help you choosing a good line but you have to trust my judgements smile.gif Just spare me RM50 for your line, if you do not satisfied after using a few time(eg: prematurely snap), i PERSONALLY will give you money back guarantee biggrin.gif

Getting the distance is not much a problem, all you need to do is to have the right combo setup smile.gif The ultimate problem for all Anglers is to get the fish to BITE!

Can i suggest you to give me a call at my mobile? 0162110891 and i will guide you accordingly smile.gif

Added on July 17, 2012, 9:45 amGood Morning Bro Takeshiru,
Said you attended the LYN Jurassic Pond event, may i know what is your name? I would like to put a face to the name  You could PM me too
totally facepalm on the diameter .......
no wonder my friend as me switch to braid lah .....

QUOTE(1dollar @ Jul 17 2012, 10:11 AM)
Got my reel liao.. bidding for more. I kena ebay shopping frenzy. Especially bidding addiction.
I am sure we have met but i dont recall or remember your face with your nick, no tax if you bring in 1-2 items.
This round of shipping only 1 reel, more to come this month. Gonna buy some cheap china made replica lures by bulk.
Bidding for some used rapala Lots, rods and more BC reels. As for soft plastics, I prefer them on my light spinning setup, casting 1/4-1/8oz with very good distance. Add on those small clip on drop shot weights and you can go even further.

Within your budget for BC,.. i can get you 300 for a fine setup if you arent too particular bout brands and what not.
I was at kepong helping a friend to shop, we walked out with a BC setup below RM300.
Go get the Banax Big SHoot (Rm120) full graphite and plastic on mag brakes. Really smooth and damn good buy for the price.
Abu Vengance rod RM125 and spider wire 15lb code red about RM36. Enough to buy Xzoga 20lbs flouro leader also.
There were cheaper Rods also but its up to you,... maybe if you wanna invest on the rod,.. get the new Fenwick ELite smallmouth... love that rod
8-14lbs and its whippy going for RM255 in Ocean Sea, 253 in Kepong and 250 in Digital Puchong.

Other BC reels you may wanna consider
Shimano Caenan approx RM250
Abu garcia Promax 1 approx 190-210
Abu Promax 2 - 280
Team Seahawk Infinity bass II - RM230

They are all good BC reels with graphite frames.
QUOTE(rorytate @ Jul 17 2012, 10:42 AM)
WOW!

Very much bang for buck! Abu Vengeance casting rod for RM125?

Care to share the specs? Am looking for a 7~8feet 10~20lb rod biggrin.gif
the abu vengeance casting rod i think not rm125 leh ........
last saturday i with my co worker go to kepong tacker , he buy the exact same rod leh but if i not mistaken the price tag was rm102 ?????
katsumoto2011
post Jul 17 2012, 10:34 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(takeshiru @ Jul 17 2012, 10:18 PM)
Bro...im william....so many ppl there dono u guys rmb me anot...hahaha

Im using bass sterra shimano with aeronos reels....totally not ngam with bait casing....

Bro...seen the rod u mention....abu vengence....not bad but the thing abt abu rod the quality control sucks to the max....check out the ring...sure got 1 senget....maybe im particular la...haha seen a Opass rod shekry...not bad but its 6'6....quite stiff...wana use 10g lures...sked cant cast far....also seen the small mouth u mention but its one piece....hard for me to bring it around coz car not big enough ma...
ring senget didint notice but i do notice got 1 rod the tip is bengkok , look to me like someone vandalize the tip rather then manufacturing defect
katsumoto2011
post Jul 18 2012, 10:43 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jul 17 2012, 11:27 PM)
Bro katsumoto, maybe the toman there took your friend's bait. Lol as far as I know biggest Pacu I landed on the 2nd pond was bout 7kg  was bout a year ago.toman never land any b4. But I was told  is as big bout 6kg,that's wad abang malik the incharge person told me.

Nowadays I see alot of rich kids usings pagani drool.gif
SEXY CORK HANDLE,bro 1$ help me roam eBay n check up the price.6.6ft would do.
toman ??? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

we using dadak and chicken intestine for bait woh , my friend put the intestine in blender then mix it with dadak

SUPER FREAKING SMELLY , he open the container i almost puke , doh.gif doh.gif , i swear to god he ever do that again i m not going to fish with him ..........

i dont think toman will grap that shit ! sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(kayent @ Jul 18 2012, 12:54 AM)
got 7kg pacu there?  haha...btw, this sunday i might go the yellow water dam there again with takeshiru. he's one of my friends whom came together with me to jurassic during the FTT.

btw...if u guys interested to go try luck at the legendary 'white fruit kolam' seksyen 24 at shah alam can try this puasa month period. the boss, arif, got some ramadan promo going on. can use floaters which is usually banned there and special rate of rm30 for 10 hours.
big pond hard to fish now dont know why , the fish rarely bite

small pond bite much offen but smaller size and 1 more thing is the small pond talapia all got PHD ......

use gardenia bread try to fish , they eat until near hook part then swim away doh.gif doh.gif

katsumoto2011
post Jul 21 2012, 06:56 PM

219 posts

any sifu here try tuf line braid before ?
katsumoto2011
post Jul 23 2012, 09:28 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(rorytate @ Jul 23 2012, 09:30 AM)

Added on July 23, 2012, 9:30 am

Tried, good and TUFF but kinda thick tho.

Last me 2 good years of jigging and popping smile.gif

i just brought 1 roll of tufline 20lb as mainline , maybe this is the 1st time i try using braid

i feel the line so thin , i keep thinking it gonna break compare with my trilene
( my mind keep playing mindtrick with myself laugh.gif )

1 thing i do feel the advantage of braid, until i finish whole roll still haven fill up my spool ......
now only around 80 % full only ....

1 more thing i wanna ask every sifu here , i done some reading in internet says braid line will cut hand ah ???
is that truth ????

because i always use mono line , normally i just set the reel in low drag everytime when the fish pull i hear the "ting ting" noise
(i m gonna be honest to this , i just cant get enough of that sound i even set it as my HP ring tone laugh.gif laugh.gif )

then i put my hand at the spool , then i 打钓 (how do you say that in english ??)

so i wanna ask if i keep doing that will i cut my hand with braid line ah ????

katsumoto2011
post Jul 24 2012, 09:29 PM

219 posts

cant wait to test the new line on sunday
katsumoto2011
post Jul 30 2012, 07:27 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Jul 30 2012, 01:15 PM)
Try in the evening? My friend went the same day u did, but in the evening. Caught 5 tomans. I went last week also landed haruans only. Line also snapped few times. Toman berpuasa. Haha.

Went EAK on Sunday. Spotted Toman fry in the lower dam. But no response to the casts made. Landed few pacus n a jelawat at the upper dam later on
lol you at EAK yesterday ????

i was also there fishing pacu , what color shirt you wearing ????

katsumoto2011
post Jul 31 2012, 08:39 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Jul 30 2012, 11:59 PM)
Yeah lol. White tshirt with black cap. My friends and i were at the platform opposite. I assume u were one of the bc guys casting from the dam wall? Haha.
nope i m the solo guy that fishing near the hatchery under hot sun for whole day......
katsumoto2011
post Jul 31 2012, 10:06 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Jul 31 2012, 09:56 PM)
Oh that's u. Wah damn hot there le. What were u using to fish?
dedak + fish pellet + bread

how about you ?

katsumoto2011
post Aug 1 2012, 08:32 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Jul 31 2012, 11:06 PM)
Ahhh no wonder I saw u throwing something like a spring. I using bread with strawberry flavoring. Played with a sinker and single hook. That day damn epic, my friends rod got pulled into the water. Lol.
i see both of your friend later go rent boat to get the rod back ????

i saw them pull up some lines at the lake but didint see any rod did they manage to get it ????

Added on August 1, 2012, 8:56 pm
QUOTE(1dollar @ Aug 1 2012, 09:56 AM)
one day must join u all at EAK la. need learn from u guys on bait fishing.
lol i m a noob lah, i 5 year didint fishing already.
just come back recently after my friend poison me.

This post has been edited by katsumoto2011: Aug 1 2012, 08:56 PM
katsumoto2011
post Aug 1 2012, 09:29 PM

219 posts

hmmm just curious

who going to EAK this sunday ?

brows.gif brows.gif

katsumoto2011
post Aug 1 2012, 11:11 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Aug 1 2012, 10:17 PM)
which pond is this? drool.gif
yeah...they took the boat out to retrieve it. at first when the rod flew in we didnt know where it went because it sank damn fast. then somehow i manage to snag his line with a treble hook. so my friends took the boat out and following my line they found the rod. the fish was one end and the rod the other. so they pulled the line out all the way till the rod surfaced. then fought the fish awhile before it got away. must be some fish la...our rods were resting on the wooden rail but somehow the whole rod was lifted up and over and flew in a split second.

this sunday i not free though...might head to jurassic.  brows.gif
most probably the line circle at the tip of the rod when fish pull line cannot go out so whole rod fly in loh......

i see the poster at kepong tackler famous for toman and jigging brows.gif brows.gif
but too bad rawang is abit far from me and the most important part i dont have a jigging rod and never use baitcaster before .......

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Aug 1 2012, 11:03 PM)
Just check the rate for the pond,is totally nuisance.. kolam 3 with kerapu naga rm 300 for 3hours
BTW, this is kolam Shg in pandamaran
that is expansive ......... rclxub.gif
go out sea fish probably can get better loot

katsumoto2011
post Aug 4 2012, 09:42 PM

219 posts

tomorrow i be at EAK with my friend

those who heading to EAK see you tomorrow

Added on August 4, 2012, 10:17 pmall sifu i wanna ask what knot you use to tie fluorocarbon leader line to swivel ????

i cant seem to find the knot that tie nice enough ....

the fluorocarbon line damn hard, the knot look like shit when i pull the line doh.gif

just for the info i use 30lb leader damn thick and hard

This post has been edited by katsumoto2011: Aug 4 2012, 10:17 PM
katsumoto2011
post Aug 4 2012, 10:57 PM

219 posts

mostly i try uni knot

but i dont know why everytime i tie with a fluorocarbon line the knot end up look like shit lol
katsumoto2011
post Aug 5 2012, 07:43 PM

219 posts

today at EAK is such a disappointment

bunch of moron messing with the fishing spot ........
katsumoto2011
post Aug 5 2012, 08:17 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Aug 5 2012, 08:02 PM)
Where were u bro? The opposite jetty?

I saw a very depressing sight. Some idiots caught a fish on the boat. Lifted the fish into the boat. Left it there. Then went back on land with the fish. Tried to unhook it or dunno do what but failed. Then threw the fish back into the water. Let it run loose then played with it again. =.=
yalah i waited half a day for that spot , when i arrive at morning the jetty and the bridge beside the hatchery already taken
so i when to the lower dam to fish, diditn get any action
when the people at the jetty left, i go occupies it . when know then come 4 person moron go into boat and went to our fishing spot

so tell me will the fish eat my bait if you park the damn f***ing boat on top of my bait .......... vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif
not to mention they keep park the boat at the branch scare off the fish already ....

i and my friend get like 6 pull in the 1st hour
after those moron come, the bait didint even get touch .....
in the end only manage to land 3 fish today , 2 pacu and 1 西刀鱼

your on the bridge at the hatchery right ????
saw you reel in several fish, hows your catch for today ???
btw your katak drag quite loud , i can hear it from the other site of the lake

This post has been edited by katsumoto2011: Aug 5 2012, 08:18 PM
katsumoto2011
post Aug 5 2012, 10:33 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(kayent @ Aug 5 2012, 10:02 PM)
oh i wasnt there in the morning. was at jurassic. then my friend wanted to go EAK, his first time, so i accompany him with another friend. yah we were at the hatchery. i managed to land 3 pacus, my friends all one each. one got stuck in which my friend had to paddle the boat to unhook the fish out. the katak was his not mine. damn paiseh weih the sound.  laugh.gif

really retards la those ppl. for a moment when they caught the poor fish i though they gonna bring it back. like parading it summore in and out of the water.  shakehead.gif too bad the boss wasnt there to take action. cant really understand what they were thinking. my friend damn tulan also when they keep paddling back and forth over his line. how to fish lidat.  doh.gif
btw today the mama toman got some action today
by the time i leave i think you saw the 2 person come from the lower dam bringing the aluminum boat ?

the blue color shirt dude try to fish using lure, mama toman didint bite . so he go mess with the young fish
who know the papa toman come to surface and snap his line LOL ......

from his testimony , he say the 2 toman was always escorting the young fish and the size should be around 6-7kg drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

katsumoto2011
post Aug 5 2012, 10:53 PM

219 posts

just finish skype with my friends , so now we planing next week going to tow foo pond

any sifu got any experience at tow foo pond can share ????

what type of setup/line/gear/bait can recommended ???

my friend says ask me go find palm oil seed to fish at tow foo pond ?????
may i ask what is that ?? and where can i get that ?????
katsumoto2011
post Aug 5 2012, 11:11 PM

219 posts

you go lower damn eat white fruit only

that blue shirt dude come to upper damn because he and his friend didint manage to land anything today

only 1 solo fellow at lower dam at the roof cover jetty manage to land
one 4kg pacu at around 2pm after that not even a bite ....
katsumoto2011
post Aug 5 2012, 11:26 PM

219 posts

the toman is at lower dam but he come to upper dam because there no action in lower dam

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0919sec    0.34    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:39 PM