Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!
Jun 7 2012, 10:17 AM
1 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
let me check with the boatman if he's available..
Jun 7 2012, 10:33 AM
QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jun 7 2012, 10:19 AM) Added on June 7, 2012, 10:21 am lai lo,game on! lets try 6lbs on exotic pond. shallow shad rap 07-09 would do Since Viox and myself game for the 6lb challenge for Red tail cats, Bro Inv, you game? Let me go hunt 6lb at ocean sea Added on June 7, 2012, 10:38 amBtw, the challenge is on braided line or mono line? because:- 1. Mono line 6lb will break around 8lb 2. braided line 6lb will break around 10lb Unless IGFA rated lines. Meaning that if it's 6lb line, it will break before reaching 6lb My personal record of 5kg toman in the wild with 4lb line... This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 7 2012, 10:38 AM |
Jun 7 2012, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jun 7 2012, 10:39 AM) Ahh..I'll contact you if i'm heading there Added on June 7, 2012, 11:12 am QUOTE(wetwetwater @ Jun 7 2012, 10:43 AM) We used to go with only ecogear vib in natural exotic. asian red tail almost like taruk makan. thats long time ago. apparently now the trend has changed. I was thinking about the same lure tooAdded on June 7, 2012, 11:12 am QUOTE(daddyVW @ Jun 7 2012, 10:49 AM) bro rory, you go aboy let me know aa.. very near maa.. wanna make membership card lah... can go there lepak2 also... I'll let you knowBTW, my personal record - 1.0kg Toman in wild with 60Ib main line... Added on June 7, 2012, 11:13 am QUOTE(fookie @ Jun 7 2012, 10:55 AM) the toman jaw ada dislocated tak? hahahaha eh sifu, when you go aboy there, check braided 30lb berapa harga. hehe jaw dislocated? i think the whole body's joint is out~!!This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 7 2012, 11:13 AM |
Jun 7 2012, 11:30 AM
Alrightey~!!
Game is on!! Now we need to set a date and time. Bro Inv, Any recommendation of time of availbility? no need to ask Bro Viox, he's practically free anytime of the day Added on June 7, 2012, 11:38 amJigging trip coming up!! Venue: Port Dickson Date: Sunday (TBA exact date) Tentatively July 2012 2nd week Target: GT and Queenfish Day trip only Depth: 240ft Base: Sunken shipwreck Rod: PE6 for 250g, PE4 all rounder Line: 40lb Leader: 60lb Jig: Range of 150g to 250g Price: RM150/pax Boat size: 36feet centre console HP: 2x 300hp 4stroke 1. Rorytate 2. Vioxmonsta 3. Wai1460 4. Kayent 5. Fookie 6. QiW 7. Rapala 8. Anyone else interested? This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 7 2012, 11:38 AM |
Jun 7 2012, 11:40 AM
Bro Inv,
7th July for the catfish? Could we do it a week earlier? in june instead? 30th June evening? |
Jun 7 2012, 11:48 AM
Bro Wai1460,
Which trip are you referring to? Catfish or jigging? Added on June 7, 2012, 11:48 amBro Viox, Best time for Saturday afternoon game? This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 7 2012, 11:48 AM |
Jun 7 2012, 11:59 AM
Jigging trip coming up!!
Venue: Port Dickson Date: Sunday 15th July 2012 Target: GT and Queenfish Day trip only Depth: 240ft Base: Sunken shipwreck Rod: PE6 for 250g, PE4 all rounder Line: 40lb Leader: 60lb Jig: Range of 150g to 250g Price: RM150/pax Boat size: 36feet centre console HP: 2x 300hp 4stroke 1. Rorytate 2. Vioxmonsta 3. Wai1460 4. Kayent 5. Fookie 6. QiW 7. Rapala 8. Anyone else interested? Date updated!! |
Jun 7 2012, 12:22 PM
Bro Chun,
Want me to bring 1 week ahead? Bro Daddy, The kaler kaler line is the YGK JigMan ler.. |
Jun 8 2012, 09:33 AM
QUOTE(evildonkey @ Jun 7 2012, 02:34 PM) Yea la that's what happen when you fail to get what you wanted after scouring through the 1st, 2nd and 3rd tackle shops and start caressing pricier alternatives. Dont worry about castability. Soon you'll master. My MGX is able to cast 2.5gram Baby Cima lure. If only the scorpion dc is a tad cheaper, i would have ended up with that but hey i'm not complaining now coz even without the dc , cbh ain't exactly an issue for the mgx provided you don't cast anything lesser than 5g. Good match with the Hornet too Added on June 8, 2012, 9:34 am QUOTE(DeepBluez @ Jun 7 2012, 05:53 PM) Welcome in. Do check us out regularly for events and get-together Added on June 8, 2012, 9:34 am QUOTE(Einjahr @ Jun 7 2012, 05:59 PM) Hello guys, I need your help. I'm thinking about buying some Yamashita/Yozuri Squid jigs from some tackle shops in KL ( the biggest being Kepong Tackle) but unfortunately I cannot buy them here coz i live across the South china sea, Sabah to be precise. Any Bros out there who can help me grab some squid jigs ? Bro,thank you for reading, please PM. Let me know where to pick the items up, cost and i'll deliver to you. Added on June 8, 2012, 11:24 amBro Einjahr, Managed to obtain a contact in Bukit Mertajam Call 04-5383025 and look for Daniel He has the Yamashita squid jigs of 3.5 and 4.0 at RM18 each. He is also willing to deliver to you with minimal cost. Good luck! This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 8 2012, 11:24 AM |
Jun 9 2012, 09:36 AM
Bro WWW,
I saw someone selling ABEC5 at Mudah. Google them. RM30 if not mistaken for a pair. Darn cheap. Let me know too if you are getting. PS to all Anglers: Bearing does not make your cast further. It's just smoother. Whoever felt that it's further is morelikely placebo effect |
Jun 11 2012, 09:29 AM
QUOTE(wetwetwater @ Jun 9 2012, 02:54 PM) I saw that ad too. Sounded too good to be true. LOL! Any idea ori bearings are of what grade? Basically ABEC ratings in bearing is more towards the capability of the bearing, in term ofBut according to this, it did improve distance. http://fishinglifestyle.net/2012/02/boca-b...sting-distance/ 1. resistance 2. RPM 3. precision Resistance - pressure on the bearing RPM - optimum or maximum rotating speed of the bearing Precision - all those little little gaps between parts of the bearings The only reason why you get a distance when you put in precision bearings, is because of your previous bearings are worned out!!! Imagine you having your reel for the last 2~5 years, and tiba-tiba change another bearing and you get like 15~20% distance...??! Even if you change to a stainless steel bearing of Abec1 rating, could get you those ratings Allow me to share a little of my 2cents knowledge of bearing ![]() i've done some test personally and there are some discovery too. For cleaning 1. remove the retainer 2. remove the shield 3. place into zippo or kerosene 4. spin accordingly 5. 1 drop of daiwa oil 6. place on the tip of pencil and spin using thumb To get higher speed 1. remove the retainer and shield Note: debris may get caught in between easily, regular clean up please. Here's a read up of ABEC and bearings info http://www.lushlongboards.com/workshop/abe...-c-199_200.html *just noticed the image attached is missing the retainer. It is just a C shaped clip that ensure the shield does not come out from the bearing frame. Also, there are bearings that does not have a shield but merely a piece of thin plastic that is slotted into the framework to prevent dust. Boca Orange Seal for example. Most of the Boca users i know from Singapore, removed the orange colored plastic for easy maintenance. This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 11 2012, 09:32 AM |
Jun 11 2012, 10:20 AM
Jun 11 2012, 10:31 AM
Bro Daddy,
Please advice the servicing charge |
Jun 11 2012, 11:49 AM
Bro,
Just a thought. How about a cheap telescopic rod with a cheapo china reel? |
Jun 11 2012, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(daddyVW @ Jun 11 2012, 04:18 PM) no prob.. i'll know a place where got flower horn whacked my spinner bait... i'm sure she will whack SP as well... How you know it's a she?You referring to the amou there or you fetish with the mermaid? Pronounced it as mermaid kepla benjol = flower horn!! Muahahahaha cabuts! |
Jun 11 2012, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Jun 11 2012, 11:08 PM) dear sifu Good evening Katsumoto San,need some advice on beginner gear my friend is bringing me go fish pacu on next sunday , so i need to pick up a rod and a reel can anyone recommended me a set of rod and reel, budget around rm300 fish hook,line,and the gold color thing that where you put the hook , i dont know what you call that in english and anything else ? Basically RM300 is more than enough. Am unsure of your interest in fishing, thus I would only recommend entry level no brand stuffs. Go to Kepong Tackle(along Jalan Kepong) and you should be in heaven of fishing tackles. 1. Find a rod that suits you around 8-17lb or 10-20lb. Am unsure if you know how to cast, therefore higher poundage is just to prevent disappointments(rod broke!). Rod poundage will be stated clearly at the rod side. 2. A reel at the basket of promotion. Should be less than RM70. Look for a reel around size 1000 to 2000. It would be stated at the side of the reel. It's basically the amount of line that the reel can store. As for the terminal tackle, it is sole dependable on your fishing method. I reckon you check with your friend on the line poundage and the terminal tackles such like hook size and swivel size(the gold color thingy you mentioned) Hope this helps! |
Jun 12 2012, 12:29 AM
Jun 12 2012, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(kayent @ Jun 12 2012, 02:12 AM) Greenbait eh? If you guys do pop by to Xjigger at Taman Maluri, do give me a call. I'm just around the corner Unless u order online, only place i know that u can get it in KL is at X-Jigger near Jusco Taman Maluri, Cheras. Personally, the bait smells quite good. I've tried Greenbait (1), P1, P3. Still got a pack or two of durian and yam at home, yet to try. So far I havn't landed any with this bait yet, but my friend did land a few patins with the P3 mix with some other bait. But depends on where u fish la. Like how they put it "lain padang lain belalang" |
Jun 12 2012, 09:23 AM
bro Daddy,
6lb for 20kg red tail catfish, game? Btw, your time almost there. Has he arrived? |
Jun 12 2012, 10:14 AM
30th june 2012