21 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!

rorytate
post May 30 2012, 04:45 PM

QUOTE(purple @ May 30 2012, 03:28 PM)
Rory, the petronas for the meet up is it the one on the left hand side along jln batu arang heading towards jurrasic?
Petronas Rawang direction. (N3 18.653 E101 32.351)
1. Travel North South Highway towards North
2. Exit at Rawang
3. After toll, there will be T junction. Turn left
4. Travel straight a couple KMs, you will see Petronas on your left.
5. Park and wait smile.gif
rorytate
post May 30 2012, 11:33 PM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 30 2012, 08:28 PM)
The gear ratio of a reel indicates how many times the bail arm makes a full 360 degree rotation for each full turn of the reel handle. For example if the reel has a gear ratio of 5:1 that means that the bail arm will travel around the spool 5 times for each full turn of the handle. If the ratio is 4.2:1 then the bail arm revolves around the spool 4.2 times for every single full turn of the reel handle and so on.

Many anglers tend to go for the fastest ratio, believing that faster is better, but this is often not the case. Certainly for high speed spinning, or some jigging applications the ability of the reel to quickly retrieve the lure is important, but in most other forms of fishing high speed is not only not essential, it is in fact undesirable.For example, when finesse fishing with soft plastics, a slower retrieve speed is often more effective in enticing strikes. Attempting to retrieve the lure slowly using a high speed reel is a difficult and sometimes frustrating technique to master.Another disadvantage of high speed reels is that they lack pulling power. They simply lack the grunt when trying to pull large fish up from the deep. And whilst the rod should do most of the work when pulling up fish, a lower gear ratio is definitely an advantage. It’s a bit like trying to ride a bicycle up a step hill in top gear. You end up doing a lot of peddling but not getting anywhere fast, whereas a lower gear would enable you to climb the hill with relative ease.Another point to keep in mind is that a reels gear ratio does not actually indicate the reels retrieve ratio. By that I mean that even though one reel might have a higher gear ratio, another reel with a lower gear ratio might actually retrieve the same length of line for each full turn of the reels handle. This is because the amount of line that is retrieved is dependant on the size of the spool and length of the handle as much as it is dependant on the gear ratio.
To better understand this, imagine a large spinning reel with a long handle and large spool circumference, yet a relatively modest gear ratio of 4.1:1. Now imagine a smaller 1000 size reel with shorter handle and small spool circumference, but with a high speed 6.3:1 gear ratio. You might assume that the smaller reel wuld retrieve line faster, but due to the differences in handle length and spool circumference, it’s possible that both reels would retrieve exactly the same length of line for each full turn of the reel handle.
Bro Viox,
Nicely written and well said. Like my Revo Mgx, it is a 7.1(or 7.9, I couldn't remember) it is stated as IPT the same as 6.3.

Ultimately, faster gearing = fast reeling in, slower gearing = cranking power. That's why Shimano have 2 reel set even tho same size and model, take twin power for example.

For me, slower gearing for jigging, faster gearing for popping. A good match definitely reduces alot of body fatigue and more control

Added on May 31, 2012, 9:52 amAdd in from Abu Garcia's website
REVOLUTIONARY COMPACT DESIGN
Because this reel is so much more compact and ergonomic than anything on the market today, we introduced new gear ratios for the MGX that provide similar line retrieve rates as other existing Revo reels. The Revo MGX 7.1:1 gear ratio provides similar inches per turn "IPT" to other standard 6.4:1 Revo models (28" IPT). The Revo MGX 7.9:1 high speed gear ratio model provides similar IPT to other 7.1:1 high speed Revo models (31" IPT).

This post has been edited by rorytate: May 31 2012, 09:52 AM
rorytate
post May 31 2012, 11:41 AM

wat hooks?

single hooks?
rorytate
post May 31 2012, 12:10 PM

Usually i take size 1
rorytate
post May 31 2012, 12:57 PM

ah.. those size i got smile.gif

SR9 you can mount a size 2 on the belly and size 1 at the tail... Wide wiggle actions biggrin.gif
rorytate
post Jun 1 2012, 09:40 AM

QUOTE(wetwetwater @ May 31 2012, 01:40 PM)
I am using size 4 with my 7cm-9cm lures. bigger than that, im using normal 1/0 hooks with double split ring.

cant find 1/0 single lure hooks. sad.gif
Size 4 for 7~9cm lures, kinda small ler...

Seek for WaterLand hooks(by cultiva), largest they have is 4/0 if not mistaken. But pricey la.. 7pcs for 20buckaroo~

Added on June 1, 2012, 9:41 am
QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ May 31 2012, 02:41 PM)
jia lat lo..those diam diam 1 sure sapu all d.

Bro rory,u tried fishing at klang gate dam b4? or empangan sungai langat?
Red district. Discuss offline better smile.gif

This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 1 2012, 09:41 AM
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 08:55 AM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jun 2 2012, 08:19 PM)
CBH x 100
you got a few minor mistakes there nia. Once you catch hold of it, you'll be fine.

Try this:
1. Tension knob(that the one right under your star drag) - tightened it to nominal where your spool are unable to move left and right + a little more for security.
2. Your Mag brake set to 10

When you cast, the spool should be resting on the side, rather than straight. I have shared this with you on that day, but i dunno how to elaborate the casting with slightly adjustment biggrin.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 8:57 am
QUOTE(max_cjs0101 @ Jun 3 2012, 12:04 AM)
Hey guys, how was the catch?
Weather was good right?
Hey Max,
Weather was awesome, with some ice cold beer in hand, it's heavenly.

I was just casting around, jalan jalan here there, enjoying my beer. Enjoyed seeing our group catching one after another one... I see many newbies angler benefited in this little FTT too. I just lepak and enjoyed biggrin.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 8:58 am
QUOTE(wetwetwater @ Jun 3 2012, 12:12 AM)
Back at home with sore arms. Currently lying on the bed half dead. It was a good day out at Jurassic Pond. Special thanks to organizer Vincent, Jurassic Pond, Rapala VMC, Pure Fishing and all who attended. It was definitely a good outing.

Cheerios!
Bro WWW,
No worries about that. Just doing my part for the clan smile.gif

Train up a little more dude, i smell jigging coming up tongue.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 9:01 am
QUOTE(wai1460 @ Jun 3 2012, 09:44 AM)
Thanks for the organiser for such good events & gathering.
Bro Wai,
Dont mention. More coming up. Mighty glad that everyone enjoyed the FTT

Added on June 4, 2012, 9:02 am
QUOTE(kayent @ Jun 3 2012, 10:44 AM)
Thanks to the organizers and sponsors, my arm hurts now. But it was fun! Kudos.

PS: our photos all up on the Jurassic fb page!
Bro Kayent,
Same goes, i smell some jigging trip coming up very soon....

That one gonna kill your arm!!

Added on June 4, 2012, 9:03 am
QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jun 3 2012, 12:30 PM)
Why not try on the exotic pond those Asian red tail will weight up at least 5kg,confirm catch! drool.gif
Bro Viox,
Round 2 FTT, you orgy ya.. biggrin.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 9:03 am
QUOTE(1dollar @ Jun 3 2012, 05:57 PM)
no need diving ler, diving lures only got me haruan. both toman I landed were on soft plastic and hard minnow.

Added on June 3, 2012, 6:01 pmnice meeting all,... well most of you. I enjoyed myself with my 10lb setup, the fight & drag noise really damn shiok!
vioxmaster,
didn't get to meet u leh, where were you hanging out?
Bro 1Dollar,
Great seeing you there too. Btw, nice toman colors!!

Added on June 4, 2012, 9:05 am
QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jun 3 2012, 06:39 PM)
I da 1 who ran around looking for my popper.
What knot did you use?

Broke from leader-braid or broke from the snap? sad.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 9:06 am
QUOTE(HarryzSandhu @ Jun 3 2012, 08:50 PM)
A well organized event and great hospitality smile.gif thank you smile.gif -Harvin-
Bro Harvin,
Pleasure to meet you too bro. Pardon me for not able to get the larger sizes. It's already XXL that i could hold off sad.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 9:08 am
QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jun 4 2012, 08:50 AM)
that catfish fish = jackpot.
The red cat sure KO one ler. Cos not able to raise for air.

This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 4 2012, 09:08 AM
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 09:34 AM

Bro Viox,
I agree with Bro Daddy. Hardly that the FG fails.

Our next meet up, you tie and show me please..

Added on June 4, 2012, 9:51 amBro Viox,
Just information about BaitCasting.

Basically these are the components. The thumb release is also called clutch

At the point of casting, if like photo above, then it's incorrect. This will cause more CBH. All you need is just rotate you wrist to the left(if you're right hander, vice versa)

BTW, post some good catch photos lehhh..... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 4 2012, 09:51 AM
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 10:30 AM

Handsome angler with beautiful red cat... biggrin.gif
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 11:02 AM

Jigging trip coming up!!

Venue: Port Dickson
Date: Sunday (TBA exact date)

Target: GT and Queenfish
Day trip only
Depth: 240ft
Rod: PE6
Line: 40lb
Leader: 60lb
Jig: Range of 150g to 250g
Price: RM150

1. Rorytate

rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 11:12 AM

Jigging trip coming up!!

Day trip only
Base: Sunken shipwreck
Rod: PE6 for 250g, PE4 all rounder
Price: RM150/pax

Boat size: 36feet centre console
HP: 2x 300hp 4stroke

1. Rorytate

* Added info

This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 4 2012, 11:16 AM
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 11:17 AM

Jigging trip coming up!!

Day trip only
Base: Sunken shipwreck
Rod: PE6 for 250g, PE4 all rounder
Price: RM150/pax

Boat size: 36feet centre console
HP: 2x 300hp 4stroke

1. Rorytate
2. Vioxmonsta
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 11:21 AM

PE2~4 can also. Good when the tide slows down smile.gif

Use 60~100grams jigs, but have to wait awhile for the jigs to sink to the seabed

Added on June 4, 2012, 11:22 ambo toilet!

This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 4 2012, 11:22 AM
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 12:28 PM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jun 4 2012, 11:37 AM)
bro rory,theres this guy giving me a offer to trade his Jigging master rod pe5-9 (brand new) for my oceano. what u think? hmm.gif
No game!
PE5-9 is extremely heavy jigging stuffs. We dont have much chance to do so. Better not. If there is something between PE3`PE6, then it's all right and you can multi use the rod.
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 12:35 PM

QUOTE(1dollar @ Jun 4 2012, 11:41 AM)
silly punye pasal,.. forgot to secure the lanyard before releasing the fish,.. went into the water with the fish.
if any of you hook a red tail with a lip grip,.. thats mine! lol

Added on June 4, 2012, 11:49 amdunno if my rod can go jigging or not. I dont have the lure weight specs for my rod... reel i confirm can handle, but on 20lb line only wor? Can ar?
Bro 1Dollar,
Jigging rods are usually fast taper to ensure the movements of the jig. If you dont have one, i strongly suggest you get one. Need not expensive ones, Eupro are good jigging rods too, and affordable.

20lb line could do also, but preferably if jigging is conducted, 30lb a safer bet. Would you be lucky enough to snag on coral or sunken boat, chances of pulling it up is higer compared to 20lb ma.. smile.gif

Anything with 200m line would do liao.

Added on June 4, 2012, 12:36 pm
QUOTE(daddyVW @ Jun 4 2012, 12:18 PM)
Ooo... yuzuri micro popper... now days longging on gunnish... all lures now looks like gunnish... wub.gif  ordered from Japan edi... lust.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 12:20 pmWaa... sifu chun join kaa that day? you guys should kacau him also worr...  tongue.gif
Sifu Chun great assistance to everyone ler.. smile.gif from distribution to mentoring to unhooking the fish... smile.gif Appreciate that he could made it biggrin.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 12:39 pm
QUOTE(ivanlim @ Jun 4 2012, 12:33 PM)
Thanks for an amazing educational trip.
It's the first time I'm fishing the way you guys do (we call it trolling, dunno what you guys call it).
Normally just cast and wait for fish to bite.
Anyway, sudah thinking like a fish. Thanks for the poison.
Glad that you enjoyed the trip. Got quite some catch too biggrin.gif

It's called luring or casting.

This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 4 2012, 12:39 PM
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 01:08 PM

QUOTE(dosnx @ Jun 4 2012, 12:45 PM)
penang angler reporting in.
Welcome in Buddy~!

Added on June 4, 2012, 1:09 pm
QUOTE(daddyVW @ Jun 4 2012, 12:48 PM)
previously you not cast... you just through it away and wait... called bottom technique/play... ahaks...  biggrin.gif

wellcome to caster world... you can register and join the association now... get form from bro rory... MuaHaHaHa... laugh.gif
The forms are with you lar.... rclxm9.gif

Added on June 4, 2012, 1:10 pm
QUOTE(fookie @ Jun 4 2012, 12:53 PM)
wanna join but no gear. sad.gif
Any reel with size 4000 + 30lb line
Rod no need to get high end one ler.. As said, Eupro rods are quite ok and affordable too

Added on June 4, 2012, 1:11 pm
QUOTE(kayent @ Jun 4 2012, 01:01 PM)
Wah jigging trip. I also wan join but no gear le.
Come come... Spare me some budget, i'll match it for you smile.gif

I never encourage newbies to get high end stuffs. Just some good to use stuffs is enough

This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 4 2012, 01:11 PM
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 01:32 PM

Nice coloration!! Bro Dan.

Come come let's go get some biggies. biggrin.gif
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 01:47 PM

Well, It's a good reel for a starter to use. Not too expensive anyway smile.gif
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 02:20 PM

Bro Viox,
40lb go for YGK JigMan X4
rorytate
post Jun 4 2012, 03:04 PM

QUOTE(wai1460 @ Jun 4 2012, 02:32 PM)
This month got jigging trip already.....
Pigi mana la bro?

Added on June 4, 2012, 3:05 pm
QUOTE(daddyVW @ Jun 4 2012, 02:40 PM)
waaa... goood...  thumbup.gif  interested on casting bulu for tenggiri at Yan...  rclxm9.gif
Quickly komplot bro~!!

This post has been edited by rorytate: Jun 4 2012, 03:05 PM

21 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0530sec    0.26    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:55 PM