16 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Hobbies Fishing Thread V9, Let the reels go crazy!

1dollar
post Jun 29 2012, 03:59 PM

QUOTE(rorytate @ Jun 29 2012, 12:25 PM)
I've built a couple of these spiral wrap or acid wrap rods.

Best part is i dont feel the torque anymore and there is no line slapping on my blanks smile.gif

Particularly, i use for casting and jigging... and it does not affect the casting distance at all.

Added on June 29, 2012, 12:31 pm

Is there a retainer on the shaft?

Refer the pics below
Metanium type wiffle spool

MetaniumXT/Scorpion type wiffle spool
Pardon me,.. i didnt realised its not the spool shaft its the drive shaft.

1dollar
post Jun 29 2012, 09:17 PM

OK got my answer liao.
Curado will be curado, a super tuned citica will not surpasses some performance on the curado due to some factors.

Citica E centri brakes are graphite pins while curado ones are made of brass.

even upgrading and adding all the Spool bearings and drive shaft bearings, Curado still smoother in reeling because of the bearing at the knobs.

Best of all,.. Curado will still cast further with lures below 5g because the spool is wayyyyy lighter than the citica E. Smoothness of line shooting out Curado wins with the titanium coated guide over the SIC on Citica.

Conclusion : If you spend that much money on a citica E upgrades it will be same price as a curado E. But budget is the biggest issue, Curado 200/1 E still fetching RM550 even its pre-owned.

I think it would be fun to mod and tune the reel tho,.. get technical and hands dirty.

Also learnt that Curado/ Citica / Chronarch / Core / Scorpion / Amenista all shares the same body / deisgn and some parts. Only made up from different materials.

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Jun 29 2012, 09:26 PM
1dollar
post Jun 30 2012, 11:02 PM

QUOTE(vioxmonsta @ Jun 30 2012, 02:35 PM)
On the way.lawl
White fruited. Hooked 1 big 1 got stuck beneath the canteen lastly sad.gif
white fruit never cost this expensive.... lol
100 bucks fish pak gor... think I'll join evil donkey in jurassic next time

Added on June 30, 2012, 11:12 pmrm666 revo alt
rm783 elite ib
rm675.75 pflueger xt
rm648 scorpion xt 1001

price from ocean sea today.

agreed with evildonkey, buy & use first before tuning it. just that if calculations of all those upgrades & tuning, its the same price as curado lioa. perhaps I can consider revo alt or the scorpion xt instead. but that tuning intrigues me, got rory to help sumore. my daiwa still siting in US, wanna get another item to reduce the shopping cost. daiwa box only took 20% space of the shopping box

Added on June 30, 2012, 11:54 pm
QUOTE(inv @ Jun 30 2012, 11:49 AM)
agreed. now he's poisoning me to get zillion... but i got my heart set out for steez and pixy.. haha..
forgot to poison u on the pixy p68l and type r.
rm125x for px68l and rm129x for the type r

Added on June 30, 2012, 11:55 pmoh crap or was it 15xx, can't remember

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Jun 30 2012, 11:55 PM
1dollar
post Jul 2 2012, 02:23 AM

Go SPAIN!
1dollar
post Jul 2 2012, 11:59 AM

tried all sort on Sat.
Power bait smelly worm with texas and caraolina.
Kena bite on carolina worm but i set hook too fast felt few tugs and then gone.
Another bite with Carolina rig on SP minnow, same case.
bottom cranking and topwater and mid water lures all no work. Haiiihhzzzz
Tried jighead hooks with SP also nothing.
the 3 hours there only saw 2 person with RTC and others getting talapia.
And Ivan got his baung, didnt notice anyone else caught any.

Added on July 2, 2012, 12:06 pm
QUOTE(inv @ Jul 2 2012, 08:55 AM)
Wrong thread bro..

Went to sj lake yesterday evening. Berlambak anglers n I saw a fcuker take a 30 cm Pb back home.. fkn mofo!
Sighhh sad,.. no wonder I dont see any more PB in the lake. fark those retards!
Anyone keen Kota Damansara forest this Sat ? Dry season,.. weeds shd be thick like hell now.
Else can go Covar condo lake or the hidden pond near Ribs@Oasis

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Jul 2 2012, 12:06 PM
1dollar
post Jul 2 2012, 01:27 PM

Daiwa replacing the TD Advantage 153 model with Daiwa Lexa.
This model will compete with Shimano Curado / Chronarch or the Abu Revo S series

Description :
Perfect for anglers who still want the control of a casting reel when throwing lighter baits, the Daiwa Lexa 100 Casting Reel features a precision balanced, super lightweight A7075 aluminum spool capable of casting the lightest lures in addition to Daiwa’s advanced Magforce Cast Control. Featuring a new, compact design as well, the Lexa 100’s aluminum frame and sideplate keep it lightweight, and a seven bearing system ensures consistently fluid casts and retrieves. Also featuring a sleek, stealthy look, the Daiwa Lexa 100 Casting Reel delivers the reliablility and tournament caliber performance anglers have come to expect from Daiwa reels.

Additional Features:

-Ultimate Tournament Drag System
-Infinite Anti Reverse
-Rugged, Six-point drive train support
-Paddle handles

Comes in 4.9 / 6.3 / 7.1 ratio
Line Cap : 14/120, 16/100 (lbs/yards)
Bearings : 4CR, 2BB + 1RB

Open for pre-order in Tackle direct, wonder if its Japan or THailand made. Retail price US$139.99

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Jul 2 2012, 01:28 PM
1dollar
post Jul 2 2012, 06:05 PM

you have your point which i agree too. I am only sadden by the fact that Subang lake fishes are almost all totally gone. I see the change and fishes are getting lesser every time i go on Saturdays. Regardless of foreign species or local, anglers shd be considerate of other anglers too.

If the pond/lake is abundant with tomans/haruan/talapia/pb then its only fun to take some reasonable size back to eating. i go spear fishing in rivers whenever I go camping or off road trips, I pick fishes to spear. Only hunt for reasonable size fishes to eat, or reasonably delicious fishes like sebarau or tengas, occasionally kelah, most of time are just river carps.

Over the years of spearing those fishes,.. we stopped for a while and saw the drastic decline of "reasonable" size. Those days, if we get one fish a day its a happy day,.. nowadays,.. we go home empty handed. Only to find out that kampung ppl are also spearing them as main food. They whack all sort of sizes as long they can feed their families. Again, cant blame em, cos cost of living and our crappy salary are going opposite directions. Only thing to do is Sigh away and HAAAIIIHHHHHhzzzz

bro Chun,
I feel you,..lets go Perak and kill all those PB muahhaha
Where to hunt Pacu?? they are not local species too

Added on July 2, 2012, 6:21 pm
QUOTE(kayent @ Jul 2 2012, 02:56 PM)
am keen but need to reconfirm my schedule. might be busy.

was at EAK last Sunday. Casted whole morning but get nothing. Maybe should use a boat.  biggrin.gif  In the afternoon at least managed to land 2 Pacu playing bottom. But the bigger ones got away. Any tips or tricks to share guys when hooked on the bigger pacus? They keep heading for the branches and reeds, at one point it got stuck and i had to cut my line  cry.gif

Ken,
EAK, been there and went home eating white fruit few times liao. but still a nice serene place to hang out.
There are PBs there that will appreciate diving shads, dont know if the huge mama toman still hang around that left lake.
Go with bomb and dedak might land you some decent pacu in mid water or bottom might get you some patin.
Fly fishermen there always gets pacu on the far left side where the dead tree are.
Fren of mine caught a 7kg toman on the right side where he took a boat out and went where no man has gone lol.

So far, only manage to catch Pacu, PB and Patin there.
Best experience i had was when i was landing my patin, the huge mama toma came from the deep wanting to get an easy meal of my patin.
That toman was easily 4-6ft, and the belly girth was like my tigh.

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Jul 2 2012, 06:22 PM
1dollar
post Jul 2 2012, 06:30 PM

QUOTE(chun @ Jul 2 2012, 06:22 PM)
glad that you agree with my point there bro 1dollar...

I guess it's more about educating the people nowadays... same with a lot of fish species that are dissapearing from our oceans.

Have tried reasoning with a lot of people to stop eating shark fins soup but sad to say that a lot of people are still ignorant and refuse to believe that Sharks ARE endangered species with 100million sharks killed (recorded) each year.

They also refuse to believe that if the mercury content inside the fins (yes! mercury) won't kill you, the chemicals they used to wash the fins WILL!

Even more shocking to hear that some complaint that Sharks are pests, and should be killed at first sight... Sigh... when will people learn... 

Have been diving for about a year now with 20+ dives and sad to say that I've not seen any sharks before...
Aiks,... glad to know i save 50 tables of shark fins during my wedding lol.
Speaking of diving, its all about luck man,.. I saw a leopard shark on my first dive in Lang Tengah 6 years ago.
it was just hang around at the reef not too deep, think we were at 50-60 feet depth.

Aiseh man,... think going to perak would be better than the white fruit in natural Exotic.

Added on July 2, 2012, 6:40 pmHmm we dont hear of PB invasion in Singapore, maybe their resevoirs and dams dont channel out to their local streams and lakes.
Envy the, they have large temensis sp living happy in their dams with haruan and tomans who knows what other sp.

Added on July 2, 2012, 6:45 pm
QUOTE(evildonkey @ Jul 2 2012, 06:22 PM)
The very core of this problem lies on the enforces...see how the US purge the snakeheads and other indegenous species...once they realize that it started breeding, they would emptied the entire lake and kill em all. You think we would ever see such efforts locally?

Conservation effort is pratically kosong over here. Only when there's $$ involved like holding fishing competitions at tasik titiwangsa then you'll see they stock up fishes at these lakes for the event. Chances are half of the sponsorship funds and the fees collected will end up in some comittees pocket. Even so they are stocking up fishes like pacu which isn't even local fishes.
Fishery dept are doing something about it, but we dont see the significant changes.
Arowana was endangered due to over fishing and high priced, but govt gave out loans and encourage to breed in farms.
Would be nice to hook up an aro... I'll take back and keep in my tank lol.
Slowly seeing the same with kelah these days, many people are switching to breed kelah biru and merah.
10-15 years ago, you wont see kelah in LFS.
Malaysian bettas also deteriorating.... ermm out of fishing topic liao hahah

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Jul 2 2012, 06:45 PM
1dollar
post Jul 2 2012, 07:41 PM

actually,.. all are different itsself.

RTG is indonesian gold aro - cheaper and bred here as entry level gold

Malaysian Gold is proudly malaysian SP mainly from pahang waters

Bluebased is from Perak waters mainly in Bukit merah. Prolly radiated into blue from the from the rare earth radiation in the 80s. lol

Red/Super red/ Chili red comes from Indonesia also

Platinum and gold heads are selective breeding from our local MG sp. This is mainly achived by putting the fishes in white tank or background to manifest their instinct to blend with the surounding. When exposed to sun (aro are top water feeders) it will turn dark.

Green is also local but it comes in 2 variant, wild caught grren from perak and bukit merah carries batik patterns on their scales, we call it nami Green.

Silver and black from Amazon
Pearl or jardini from Australia
African aro.

Then there is the rose gold or hyrid from farm selective breeding crossing the red and gold or blue. Thats what I learnt from farms and enthusiast when i was keeping my aro.
1dollar
post Jul 2 2012, 07:58 PM

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Jul 2 2012, 07:39 PM)
may i ask what is this PB you guys are talking ?
PB = peacock bass but its not from the bass family species.
It is an Amazon river cichlid, on of the biggest.
Chinese calls it emperor fish or wong tai yu aka king fish
In malay its called Ikan raja

Check this Hereout

Temensis is the largest variant, IN the amazon they can get to 10Kg up to 1 metre. Very distinct 3 stripe bar

Invaded our waters, as pest
We commonly hook up Monoculus Sp (orange belly)
It was brought in to our country as pets and was released into our rivers for fishing.
They soon invaded our water system especially in Perak, being a pest and competing with our local species.
Breed fast and eats anything, like the haruan and tomans.

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Jul 2 2012, 08:15 PM

Attached image(s)
1dollar
post Jul 2 2012, 08:05 PM

QUOTE(evildonkey @ Jul 2 2012, 07:59 PM)
Yea you know more than me on aro and you do realize that anything to do with aro is big business rather than conservation.
Same same with betta.. macrostoma also becoming endangered.. so illusive in the wild now.
Dunno how to appreciate em,.. ppl pay 300-500 for a wild caught b.macrostoma last time. Life span 2-3 years ?

Prefer Apistos and african cichlids.
1dollar
post Jul 2 2012, 10:44 PM

I'm really considering to breed some temensis and let go some where for fishing lol.
big monster 10kg PB...
any fishes local ppl wont eat?
haruan medicinal healing power
talapia/catfish common food
PB heard good deep fried
sebarau/ jelawat / tapah / kelah / soon hock pricy meat.
what can we release and safe to fish back?

1dollar
post Jul 3 2012, 11:43 AM

yup he is right,. you need a pond at home and set up a community tank. The most dominant male will be the best colouration, best green blue purple due.

People do eat toman,.. ppl also eat pacu. Ppl eat everything,.. espcially chinese. I've seen frozen toman slices in super marts.
Breeding in tank is all about chemistry and temperature. Inv is right,.. get the mini snakehead.... its the nicest among all the local breeds, it wont bust your 4ft tank.

If you want haruan,.. no need to breed on your own,.. just go market and buy live ones.

Added on July 3, 2012, 4:47 pmfolks,..

If you all goin to any tackle shop, please look out for Team Daiwa T bc rod for me. Ocean Sea sold out liao.
6'6" length / 8-17lbs / its a black and grey rod with Electric blue trims.
I wanna go test the rod tip for whippy and price.

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Jul 3 2012, 04:47 PM
1dollar
post Jul 3 2012, 07:47 PM

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Jul 3 2012, 07:17 PM)
the tackle shop at equine park got sell alot of daiwa product

the name is hasya joran

phone number is 03-89431808 or 0192172865 look for bob
Thanks. will go check it out. Is it very far from Ocean Sea?
Hows the pricing like over there?
1dollar
post Jul 4 2012, 01:31 PM

QUOTE(inv @ Jul 3 2012, 10:51 PM)
what time?
ermm tak mau la,... my hands wanna go but my heart says no.
Wallet also fighting to say no rofl.
wait for my reel to arrive first,... lemme know how does the rapala snow feels with tomans and haruan.

Added on July 4, 2012, 1:34 pm
QUOTE(rorytate @ Jul 3 2012, 10:49 PM)
Anyone keen on recon at exotic with 6lb? biggrin.gif 10lb pun boleh... smile.gif
aiyoo,... sakit hati if i go back there.
need to know the secret of the pond la,.. what bait.
Vioxmonsta said live lampam bait the best, heard another customer leaving last week said the same thing.

Added on July 4, 2012, 1:36 pmanyone reviewed or tried the Berkley Nano fil for Spining reels?
Some kind of super fishing line. Anyone wanna share your reviews and experience?

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Jul 4 2012, 01:36 PM
1dollar
post Jul 4 2012, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(evildonkey @ Jul 4 2012, 03:03 PM)
Ohhh some 1 brought new rod...that's it la the poison has ran too deep in the veins...point of no return de LOL.
Live baits also getting hard on exotic?
That day we went,.. live baits were mini talapia.
Maybe also the sky was super cloudy like gonna rain.
Poison is good muhahahahhaha

Jialatz,... at least you all keep an fishing account... I dont even know how much i spent liao.
BAD weii,..

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Jul 4 2012, 04:30 PM
1dollar
post Jul 5 2012, 01:11 PM

QUOTE(inv @ Jul 4 2012, 07:24 PM)
dun think you've reached our level yet. maybe 1k-1.5k shy.. haha
I buy cheap stuffs and non branded stuff. hehehehe
I want quantity with quality ma,.. cant wait for my first branded reel to arrive
wanna go rod hunting. Sat morning Jurassic ON! coming with my colleague another Alex.
After fishing you all wanna drop by the Rawang tackle shop ? Wanna go check out for the team Daiwa t Rod
1dollar
post Jul 5 2012, 01:23 PM

QUOTE(evildonkey @ Jul 5 2012, 09:19 AM)
what's the damage? okay la fishing set kau dim de so when gonna start your lure stock up?
Weii,. mana kau tim?? Salt water setup belum kena lagi la
MUAHHAHAHAHA trolling, jigging, egi
U also need to stand by liao
1dollar
post Jul 6 2012, 12:36 PM

Chun what time you leave office today ?? I dont have your number.
I can get to your place at about 7ish maybe 715pm, need to drop by red hot tackle on the way.
1dollar
post Jul 6 2012, 02:44 PM

330 HH,.. wahlau,.. damn early right??
we small fries still stuck at work.

Chun ,.. u going HH with Rory ? i can meet up u all to collect the pen rod

This post has been edited by 1dollar: Jul 6 2012, 02:46 PM

16 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0791sec    0.33    8 queries    GZIP Disabled