Grim Dawn, by the makers of Titan Quest

TSTiF
post May 16 2012, 02:54 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(Medierra @ May 16 2012, 02:42 PM)
Hello All,

Arthur Bruno here, one of the developers on Grim Dawn.  A member of this forum who backed us on Kickstarted sent me the link to this thread.  I just wanted to thank everyone for the support and positive comments!
You are welcome, now get back to work, I can't wait to play it already! laugh.gif
neoengsheng
post May 16 2012, 03:10 PM

261 posts

395K reached.

A little bit more to 400K.
Cheesenium
post May 16 2012, 06:39 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Hello All,

Arthur Bruno here, one of the developers on Grim Dawn.  A member of this forum who backed us on Kickstarted sent me the link to this thread.  I just wanted to thank everyone for the support and positive comments!
Hello Arthur, just want to say, good luck and all the best with Grim Dawn. Cant wait for the Alpha to be honest. ARPG with open world elements sounds like the next evolution of ARPG.
kof91
post May 17 2012, 08:45 AM

82 posts

409k thumbup.gif
51 hours to go

Hello All,

You are welcome. I guess most of us who funded will likely be participating back in Grim Dawn forum. Looking forward to play Grim Dawn! biggrin.gif
neoengsheng
post May 20 2012, 07:04 PM

261 posts

New video from the game.

From the way they name the video, my guess is that the game will feature a class system like the one in Titan's Quest where you start classless and pick 2 masteries/talent tree you like the most to form your own class.

So it is entirely possible to play a sword and board warrior, rogue which throw fireball/lightning bolt or a mage with 2 handed axe.

Also Grim Dawn raised 537,515USD and with it unlocked the following rewards:

[UNLOCKED] $480.5k - New and higher-quality developer beer, as requested by many after the sad beer in Update #10. Surely this will help enhance the quality of all our work!

[UNLOCKED] $490k - 2 additional monster types (models and animations) and another 25 extra pieces of unique item art

[UNLOCKED] $500k - A new dungeon art-set with a choice of catacom... scratch that! Not exciting enough? Fans have suggesting visiting the Aetherial or Chthonic home-worlds and we're down for that! We'll post a thread on the forum to gather other ideas and then put it up to vote in a poll. ; )

[UNLOCKED] $520k - SURVIVAL MODE! We'll create a new gameplay mode that will be free for all backers (KS or Website Pre-order). In survival mode players will fight to stay alive against increasingly difficult waves of monsters. It will release sometime after the game so as not to delay development.

[UNLOCKED] $535k - A new faction and story-line! This stretch goal was determined by a fan poll thanks to William Potash for having the idea to run that!
Fhaarkas
post May 21 2012, 09:45 AM

263 posts

Dammit I wish I have the time to contribute some.
kof91
post Jun 3 2012, 05:44 PM

82 posts

receive grimdawn kickstarter keys thumbup.gif
anyone received it yet?
but what can I do with the key now?

Added on June 3, 2012, 6:14 pm
QUOTE(Fhaarkas @ May 21 2012, 09:45 AM)
Dammit I wish I have the time to contribute some.
preorder is back online you could get if you want.
similar tier to kickstater
http://www.grimdawn.com/contribute_buynow01.php

This post has been edited by kof91: Jun 3 2012, 06:14 PM
pandah
post Jun 4 2012, 09:19 PM

719 posts

ah titan quest, a nice game.

now still pre-order or the game release edy.
TSTiF
post Jun 5 2012, 09:33 AM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(pandah @ Jun 4 2012, 09:19 PM)
ah titan quest, a nice game.

now still pre-order or the game release edy.
still not yet release.
ashx
post Jun 6 2012, 02:25 PM

230 posts

I liked TQ a lot. Going to PO. Hmm.. I'll prolly go pioneer. But i don't really want beta..lol
Boldnut
post Jun 6 2012, 10:02 PM

2,209 posts

kinda makes me wonder why nobody buy this company and set things up straight
Cheesenium
post Jun 6 2012, 10:27 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jun 6 2012, 10:02 PM)
kinda makes me wonder why nobody buy this company and set things up straight
Because Crate wants to remain independent as they were burned badly over the whole Titan Quest issue. They didnt get paid much for making the game to begin with, on an IP they dont fully own. Then, there are other superiors from THQ instructing them to do things to THQ's liking, such as no mature creature design and content must be designed in a way that every player get to experience it.

One of their blog post did mention that there are a couple of publishers wanted to buy over their company and game, but Crate wants to remain independent. I think the designer was even offered a job personally by Jay Wilson to work at Blizzard to develop Diablo 3.

Do correct me if im wrong.
TSTiF
post Jun 6 2012, 10:58 PM

1,192 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 6 2012, 10:27 PM)
Because Crate wants to remain independent as they were burned badly over the whole Titan Quest issue. They didnt get paid much for making the game to begin with, on an IP they dont fully own. Then, there are other superiors from THQ instructing them to do things to THQ's liking, such as no mature creature design and content must be designed in a way that every player get to experience it.

One of their blog post did mention that there are a couple of publishers wanted to buy over their company and game, but Crate wants to remain independent. I think the designer was even offered a job personally by Jay Wilson to work at Blizzard to develop Diablo 3.

hope they remain independent and dun sell their soul sad.gif
Cheesenium
post Jun 6 2012, 11:07 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(TiF @ Jun 6 2012, 10:58 PM)
hope they remain independent and dun sell their soul  sad.gif
From the numerous blog posts i have read from Arthur, i think he wont want this to happen again. It is gonna be fully indie.

I just hope they can improve their engine, like Slightly Mad Studio with their DX11 powered engine that is heavily upgraded from Shift 2.
Boldnut
post Jun 6 2012, 11:50 PM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 6 2012, 10:27 PM)

things is not all the publisher are bad one.
Cheesenium
post Jun 7 2012, 12:03 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jun 6 2012, 11:50 PM)
things is not all the publisher are bad one.
Then, tell me which publisher is good then?
Boldnut
post Jun 7 2012, 08:53 AM

2,209 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ Jun 7 2012, 12:03 AM)
Then, tell me which publisher is good then?

Anything not EA, activision? tongue.gif

nagflar
post Jun 7 2012, 05:00 PM

1,813 posts

ok gonna support them by preorder . stop feeding the $$ sucker

This post has been edited by nagflar: Jun 7 2012, 06:21 PM
TSTiF
post Jun 7 2012, 05:17 PM

1,192 posts

Collect blueprints that allow you to combine salvaged components into unique crafted items and then, later, use those basic crafted items with higher-tiered recipes to complete items of unprecedented badassness.

this make me extremely excited tbh
neoengsheng
post Jun 8 2012, 12:49 AM

261 posts

Kickstarter results

For those who are curious, the final amount we've received from Kickstarter is about $481,000 after fees, failed transactions and such.  Don't worry, this doesn't affect the stretch goals as we had already accounted for this loss in our planning.  We haven't begun creating the physical rewards yet as many of them are dependent upon completing the game first but, since we kept physical rewards in higher tiers, we expect the cost of producing and shipping them will only be about 7% or less of the remaining funds.  Our website pre-order system went back online a few days ago and has generated about $3500 so far.
Facepalming at those people that pledge and refuse to honour the pledge.

14 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:13 PM