Renovation budget tak cukup, any one source for loan in this case ?
Jun 29 2011, 12:21 PM
3,173 posts Joined: May 2007 |
rent out those rooms that you are not using. Then can generate monthly income... later can proceed with your Phase 2, 3, 4....
Jun 30 2011, 11:24 PM
630 posts Joined: Oct 2010 |
QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Jun 28 2011, 12:12 AM) Hi guys, actually i have allocate some a budget for my renovation project however due to the fact that i do not knnow anything about renovation which now i learn much more in the forum i found out that my budget was slightly low than the things i wanna do.. it's like around 30% higher then my budget.. If you don't mind use Indon worker, you can save some cost. Read my previous post here. http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1938107my friend told me to source for loan which there is reno loan by OCBC bank given blr -0%, i'm not sure if this is a wise move.. i'm in dilema of the below... A. Cut out some part of the work that is not so necessary and also some thing to be postone like KC or porch reno (inclde the awrning, gate and bla bla bla) and do it in later days when is financial fit (6months or so ) B. Just go take a loan, 1 time kasi all habis and move in happily however borne my self to few years of struggling paying off house installment, car installament, cc easy payment for furniture and now the reno loan which mostly those done reno or have experience to advice if that would be a wise mmove to take a reno loan ? or does anyone really rely on reno loan ?? |
Jul 1 2011, 09:13 AM
no offense meant, one should be ready to face some headache when dealing with Indon workers. Not every Indon are the same.
Frequent progress payment and also advance payment Workmanship can be questionable at times Delay may happen Same goes to even Chinese workers. Sometime it is your luck... |
Jul 1 2011, 09:49 AM
1,610 posts Joined: May 2008 |
yes i did source a lots of quotation, the ranging from highest to lowest is about 10k difference however i also afraid to take lowest cox scare quality problem later
[/quote] Sometimes it also have to depend your luck too. Lowest may not necessarily bad quality and yet expensive does not guaranteed good quality too. All said you must do ur homework , make comparison and understand why it cost more or cost less. One thing very important is you must able to negotiate with the contractors or suppliers. It is always better for itemised quote which you will know which item the contractor overcharged you and get back to nego with them. You will not believe how high these business ppl mark up their costs. Every each you saved, you can use for other stuff. Most important must not hurry especially on house appliance. Even now you should go survey for those house appliance that you need and keep record the prices. I did that and it really saved for a sum of money too. Ex: LED 40" TV used to be @ RM3k plus, now can get @RM2.5k, perhaps i still wait for their promotional activities. |
Jul 1 2011, 11:58 AM
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jul 1 2011, 10:13 AM) no offense meant, one should be ready to face some headache when dealing with Indon workers. Not every Indon are the same. Agreed. If you ever want to get an Indon worker or Chinese worker too, try use someone recommendation, someone that they have used before, save you a lot of headache. Of-course the person who recommend to you, can be trusted.Frequent progress payment and also advance payment Workmanship can be questionable at times Delay may happen Same goes to even Chinese workers. Sometime it is your luck... |
Jul 1 2011, 01:38 PM
QUOTE(escargo75 @ Jul 1 2011, 12:58 PM) Agreed. If you ever want to get an Indon worker or Chinese worker too, try use someone recommendation, someone that they have used before, save you a lot of headache. Of-course the person who recommend to you, can be trusted. you are spot on, bro.sometimes when the contractor runs into financial problem, even if he has been a good contractor all along will also turn bad. They could be just using payment for the current job to cover his previous expenses. |
Jul 1 2011, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jul 1 2011, 02:38 PM) you are spot on, bro. Right never never agreed to pay one lump sum payment. Start paying him small money like RM500-RM1000 then as you see him progress, pay him accordingly. Off -course he had to agreed with this kind of arrangement first before he start. Like my case he agreed for progressive payment, so play safe for me, if he screw up anything or not demanding advance payment, I can stop him anytime. At least I only pay whatever he had done and those not done can always get a new contractor to finish it up. Not all contractors willing to do that especially so for Indon worker. sometimes when the contractor runs into financial problem, even if he has been a good contractor all along will also turn bad. They could be just using payment for the current job to cover his previous expenses. |
Jul 1 2011, 05:21 PM
477 posts Joined: Nov 2007 |
QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Jun 27 2011, 11:12 PM) Hi guys, actually i have allocate some a budget for my renovation project however due to the fact that i do not knnow anything about renovation which now i learn much more in the forum i found out that my budget was slightly low than the things i wanna do.. it's like around 30% higher then my budget.. In chinese there is a saying "if you don't have big head, don't wear a big hat" or something like that lar. my translation sucks. anyway, you get my point. most of the item you are doing it for the sake of luxury and not necessity. don't have enough money? skip the alarm, auto-gate, kitchen cabinet (why are u in the kitchen btw) and stuff like that. Those stuff you can always add on the next time you have spare cash. looking at your above post, i can see that you even swap your card for furniture so basically it's all "hutang". You'll be the slave for the bank for the next 10 years or so. my friend told me to source for loan which there is reno loan by OCBC bank given blr -0%, i'm not sure if this is a wise move.. i'm in dilema of the below... A. Cut out some part of the work that is not so necessary and also some thing to be postone like KC or porch reno (inclde the awrning, gate and bla bla bla) and do it in later days when is financial fit (6months or so ) B. Just go take a loan, 1 time kasi all habis and move in happily however borne my self to few years of struggling paying off house installment, car installament, cc easy payment for furniture and now the reno loan which mostly those done reno or have experience to advice if that would be a wise mmove to take a reno loan ? or does anyone really rely on reno loan ?? You case reminds me of my friend, he bought a single storey terrace house and he doesn't have much spare cash to do renovation but he insist to go all the way to install customize shoe rack, tv cabinet, wardrobe, alarm, expensive furniture, 5 freaking aircond! (3 on the rooms, 1 at the hall, 1 at the kitchen) and etc. Ended up emptying his bank account and have to go to the extent borrowing from his mother, few times. Seriously, it's not worth doing Moving in into a new should be fun and joyful. Not stress and sad |
Jul 1 2011, 05:41 PM
10,429 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
got allocate some money to pay gangster for protection money? If your housing area is new area then most probably there will be gangster that will come over to collect renovation "fee". They usually ask for around 5k.
Jul 2 2011, 09:29 PM
Jul 3 2011, 10:25 PM
742 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
QUOTE(abubin @ Jul 1 2011, 05:41 PM) got allocate some money to pay gangster for protection money? If your housing area is new area then most probably there will be gangster that will come over to collect renovation "fee". They usually ask for around 5k. What the... Seriously Added on July 3, 2011, 10:34 pm QUOTE(trinityz @ Jul 1 2011, 05:21 PM) In chinese there is a saying "if you don't have big head, don't wear a big hat" or something like that lar. my translation sucks. anyway, you get my point. most of the item you are doing it for the sake of luxury and not necessity. don't have enough money? skip the alarm, auto-gate, kitchen cabinet (why are u in the kitchen btw) and stuff like that. Those stuff you can always add on the next time you have spare cash. looking at your above post, i can see that you even swap your card for furniture so basically it's all "hutang". You'll be the slave for the bank for the next 10 years or so. talk to my uncle yesterday, he actually advice me to go for bank reno loan, take 10 years also nevermind as it could be pay up earlier if financialy capable that time, as per him he done his house reno, he experience doing things in stages as specially once he move in.. more hassle and unconfortable also according to him he end up paying more by doing stages renovation...You case reminds me of my friend, he bought a single storey terrace house and he doesn't have much spare cash to do renovation but he insist to go all the way to install customize shoe rack, tv cabinet, wardrobe, alarm, expensive furniture, 5 freaking aircond! (3 on the rooms, 1 at the hall, 1 at the kitchen) and etc. Ended up emptying his bank account and have to go to the extent borrowing from his mother, few times. Seriously, it's not worth doing Moving in into a new should be fun and joyful. Not stress and sad example he said he did not change all bathroom door, by times 1 years plus the wooden door bottom rosak d, then he change new plastic / alluminuim door i forget d.. but the wall surrounding the door is damage hence need to get ppl come touch up occur extra cost and then he do kitchen cabinet after a year.. so many habuk flying around the house sitted at the sofa and here there, come back everyday cough non stop, he did complete his car porch but he told me dun do car porch at later stages, as u move in when they do car porch, meaning u dun have a front door to secure your self as it make took weeks to complete hence ur door is wide open for theif and buglar as per this thread 90% advice me not into extra loan and cut item or do on later stage, but a few friend / family tell me go ahead some even say where got ppl reno use saving cash ? cox he said after purchase house D/p + lawyer fees where got extra cash for reno, he say nowdays mostly all go for bank reno loan, is this true ? sigh pening la this thing.. This post has been edited by Kelvin5717: Jul 3 2011, 10:34 PM |
Jul 3 2011, 11:34 PM
285 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
Bro,
I can't object you take Bank Loan or etc to Reno your house.. I also not sure how extensive is your renovation.. My advice try to do whatever that is within your limit or control.. Is your new or old? Since you have budget constrain, my advice get all the wet works done first Lo.. Any ID stuff can do later... Things like tiling if ok stay as per original lo.. |
Jul 4 2011, 08:43 AM
QUOTE(sl2007 @ Jul 4 2011, 12:34 AM) Bro, I don't think doing house renovation stage by stage is good idea as most likely you will end up not doing it. So for you to save money work on those that are wet works like what sl2007 said. Air-con, furniture, curtain, dining tables, coffee table, tv rack, cupboard, etc that you can get a cheaper one and later when got money can change to a better one without messing with you house.I can't object you take Bank Loan or etc to Reno your house.. I also not sure how extensive is your renovation.. My advice try to do whatever that is within your limit or control.. Is your new or old? Since you have budget constrain, my advice get all the wet works done first Lo.. Any ID stuff can do later... Things like tiling if ok stay as per original lo.. Also for you to save some money from wet works, you can get and Indon worker who work as boss but you have to get from reliable source and constant monitoring. Good luck! |
Jul 4 2011, 09:22 AM
@ Kelvin5717,
Everyone here can just give advice basing what they perceive to be correct. It is only yourself that would know better. You would know your actual financial situation and thus should be in a better position to decide for yourself. Hope you make the right decision.. |
Jul 4 2011, 09:50 AM
388 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
wait can..but pricing of materials keep on rising..so how??
this year say cost of reno rm20K?so cut budget short..then wait 2-3 months time..prices go up...then delay again..huhu |
Jul 4 2011, 10:14 AM
12,019 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Spend all money till the max, up to the nose. Anything happen how?
Pay Cut, Need urgent money? Car need repair? Like many advice you hear, spend what you can afford. Don't burn future money. |
Jul 4 2011, 10:20 AM
bottom line... Never be your financial slave
Jul 9 2011, 10:23 PM
QUOTE(Serofax @ Jun 29 2011, 01:57 AM) Kelvin, HAHAHA i also dunno, so far car is cash therefore i seldom hutang ppl or bank dunno the stress level can go up to where but i did stay before at a low cost rented flat and the experience is disaster hahaha i move out after 1 month lol coming back to a house with patches more stress, or paying off debts more stress? LOL normally, or mostly ppl would go for the latter. anything to do with $$ = stress/worries. otherwise we all wouldnt be working our socks off to make more money to clear our debts haha. but your call man. alot of suggestions given, follow whichever you feel comfortable with QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jun 29 2011, 12:21 PM) rent out those rooms that you are not using. Then can generate monthly income... later can proceed with your Phase 2, 3, 4.... rent out can earn how much ? hahaha double story tak laku 1 la the most 1k per month, my condo rental is 800 lol after minus left 200 dunno save until when... QUOTE(escargo75 @ Jul 1 2011, 01:44 PM) Right never never agreed to pay one lump sum payment. Start paying him small money like RM500-RM1000 then as you see him progress, pay him accordingly. Off -course he had to agreed with this kind of arrangement first before he start. Like my case he agreed for progressive payment, so play safe for me, if he screw up anything or not demanding advance payment, I can stop him anytime. At least I only pay whatever he had done and those not done can always get a new contractor to finish it up. Not all contractors willing to do that especially so for Indon worker. hmm i plan to tell contractor like this.. i pay them 1k as earnest payment, then i seperated things into few stages as below;Kitchen: complete all extension and relocating of ground floor toilet with table top and all flooring tile = then pay as per quotation itemized Living : complete all tiling and staircase work = then pay plumbing & eletricity : all point done = then pay plaster ceiling : all done then pay izzit ok to suggest like this to the contractor ? QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jul 4 2011, 09:22 AM) @ Kelvin5717, ya hahaha i rethink few days d i think i will go with NO-SLAVERY-FOR-BANK right now hahaha i will work within my budget and also got a soft loan from my brother for extra 10k, even thou my budget is escalate to 30k therefore i will cut 20k works.. need to work on my home works Everyone here can just give advice basing what they perceive to be correct. It is only yourself that would know better. You would know your actual financial situation and thus should be in a better position to decide for yourself. Hope you make the right decision.. QUOTE(gjohn @ Jul 4 2011, 09:50 AM) wait can..but pricing of materials keep on rising..so how?? hahaha actually i think the same, but i think KC can wait kot hmmthis year say cost of reno rm20K?so cut budget short..then wait 2-3 months time..prices go up...then delay again..huhu QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 4 2011, 10:14 AM) Spend all money till the max, up to the nose. Anything happen how? my car battery just kaput last sunday.. extra 200 sighPay Cut, Need urgent money? Car need repair? Like many advice you hear, spend what you can afford. Don't burn future money. QUOTE(kelvyn @ Jul 4 2011, 10:20 AM) + 1 |
Jul 9 2011, 11:05 PM
13 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Jun 27 2011, 11:12 PM) Hi guys, actually i have allocate some a budget for my renovation project however due to the fact that i do not knnow anything about renovation which now i learn much more in the forum i found out that my budget was slightly low than the things i wanna do.. it's like around 30% higher then my budget.. Hi.my friend told me to source for loan which there is reno loan by OCBC bank given blr -0%, i'm not sure if this is a wise move.. i'm in dilema of the below... A. Cut out some part of the work that is not so necessary and also some thing to be postone like KC or porch reno (inclde the awrning, gate and bla bla bla) and do it in later days when is financial fit (6months or so ) B. Just go take a loan, 1 time kasi all habis and move in happily however borne my self to few years of struggling paying off house installment, car installament, cc easy payment for furniture and now the reno loan which mostly those done reno or have experience to advice if that would be a wise mmove to take a reno loan ? or does anyone really rely on reno loan ?? Im a i/d deco and specialist contractor. We can discuss some sort of way to suit your budget. Our price is cheaper than market price. Maybe i can help you out to achieve your dream house.Please call us for details. Thank you. PERKHIDMATAN SPETRA Registered with PKK and CIDB Izuan ( 010-3605715, 019-3743128 ) Shila ( 010-3605715 ) Added on July 9, 2011, 11:15 pmhi, Im a i/d deco and specialist contractor. I noticed about your constraint budget . Maybe i can help you out to achive your dream house. coz our price is cheaper than market price. Please call us for details. Thank you. PERKHIDMATAN SPETRA Registered with PKK and CIDB Izuan ( 010-3605715, 019-3743128 ) Shila ( 019-3775715 ) This post has been edited by shila83: Jul 9 2011, 11:15 PM |
Jul 10 2011, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(shila83 @ Jul 9 2011, 11:05 PM) Hi. ID = Interior Designer ? cost lagi banyak Im a i/d deco and specialist contractor. We can discuss some sort of way to suit your budget. Our price is cheaper than market price. Maybe i can help you out to achieve your dream house.Please call us for details. Thank you. PERKHIDMATAN SPETRA Registered with PKK and CIDB Izuan ( 010-3605715, 019-3743128 ) Shila ( 010-3605715 ) Added on July 9, 2011, 11:15 pmhi, Im a i/d deco and specialist contractor. I noticed about your constraint budget . Maybe i can help you out to achive your dream house. coz our price is cheaper than market price. Please call us for details. Thank you. PERKHIDMATAN SPETRA Registered with PKK and CIDB Izuan ( 010-3605715, 019-3743128 ) Shila ( 019-3775715 ) |
| Change to: | 0.0226sec
5 queries
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 10:37 PM |