ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants

shiloong7081
post Dec 6 2011, 10:43 PM

928 posts

For P4,

Q2 and Q4 is pretty standard. If you did BPP's revision kit you would have came across similar questions. Do agree that Q1 has A LOT of calculations though, i finished Q1 by 4.50pm -.-""

Edit: What did Q2 said about basis risk ? I didn't read properly, did it say assume no basis risk and basis will decrease linearly to zero ?

This post has been edited by shiloong7081: Dec 6 2011, 10:45 PM
tzxsean
post Dec 6 2011, 10:54 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(shiloong7081 @ Dec 6 2011, 10:43 PM)
For P4,

Q2 and Q4 is pretty standard. If you did BPP's revision kit you would have came across similar questions. Do agree that Q1 has A LOT of calculations though, i finished Q1 by 4.50pm -.-""

Edit: What did Q2 said about basis risk ? I didn't read properly, did it say assume no basis risk and basis will decrease linearly to zero ?
shocking.gif
then u got time to finish the remaining questions?
Neptern
post Dec 6 2011, 10:56 PM

518 posts

Q1 take so long got time do others?

Better not think too much,got other papers to handle sad.gif

This post has been edited by Neptern: Dec 6 2011, 10:57 PM
Propernormal
post Dec 7 2011, 12:22 AM

127 posts

Pls help - i need advise on P6 - report and appendix:-

You know when you are asked to write a report , the format of the report has Appendix at the end of the report which shows all the calculations - my question is

1. Do you do calculations first as workings and then start to write report and whenever a figure is quoted in the write up is it marked with a Working# and at the end of the report show title "Appendix" but indicate to the marker "pls see workings" ?

Im confused as to how one can write up a report without doing computations first?

Do we scribble all the working on the question papers first and then write the report and when come to Appendix section , then only copy down all the workings done earlier on the question paper? - This is a waste of time but im confused!!

Pls advise

Thank you

This post has been edited by Propernormal: Dec 7 2011, 12:23 AM
colleenlee
post Dec 7 2011, 01:13 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Propernormal @ Dec 7 2011, 12:22 AM)

Pls help -  i need advise on P6 - report and appendix:-

You know when you are asked to write a report , the format of the report has Appendix at the end of the report which shows all the calculations - my question is

1. Do you do calculations first as workings and then start to write report and whenever a figure is quoted in the write up is it marked with a Working# and at the end of the report show title "Appendix" but indicate to the marker "pls see workings" ?

Im confused as to how one can write up a report without doing computations first?

Do we scribble all the working on the question papers first and then write the report and when come to Appendix section , then only copy down all the workings done earlier on the question paper? - This is a waste of time but im confused!!

Pls advise

Thank you
hi,

just leave the few pages blank for your report/letter/etc
then compute the calculations in the Appendix
then only write your report (on the blank pages that u have left earlier) and apply the figures in your report, just indicate to them: the figure is xxxx as per the Appendix attached.

please look at the PYQ and its marks allocation. quite clear...

shirley_andy
post Dec 7 2011, 02:00 AM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

For P4,

ya i got confused about basis risk too... one moment say assume no basis risk, then suddenly say basis risk linear(means must count)...

i wonder can I even get more then 20marks
TSnotmycupoftea
post Dec 7 2011, 08:57 AM

444 posts

For P4,

u read all the questions b4 u do Q1? if not how u r able to finish the paper doing n reading 3 questions within 85 minutes?
the Q2, the future and option are standard, but the collar one, standard also?

cckkpr
post Dec 7 2011, 09:25 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(YH90 @ Dec 6 2011, 09:00 PM)
MMU degree takes 4 years to complete, the same with other IPTA's out there. In addition to foundation, it takes a total 5 years to complete compared to a normal 4 years at IPTS. And if you plan to pass ACCA in that extra 1 year saved, it's practically the same. But you do get to boast saying you have a professional qualification compared to the other IPTA students out there.
I believe the problem in working overseas is not the qualification, but working experience especially in that particular country.
If I am correct, MMU accounting degree is the ONLY IPTS that its graduate gets direct entry into MIA. Others will have to go thru professional exams like CPA Australia, ACCA, CIMA etc.

TSnotmycupoftea
post Dec 7 2011, 10:15 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 7 2011, 09:25 AM)
If I am correct, MMU accounting degree is the ONLY IPTS that its graduate gets direct entry into MIA. Others will have to go thru professional exams like CPA Australia, ACCA, CIMA etc.
only?

under PART I OF THE FIRST SCHEDULE OF THE ACCOUNTANTS ACT, 1967
(l) the final examination of the Universiti Tenaga Nasional for the Degree of Bachelor of Accounting (Honours), the academic programme for which first commenced from the academic year 2002/2003 onwards;

Universiti Tenaga Nasional- UNITEN
UNITEN is one of the first private universities in Malaysia and is wholly-owned by the public-listed Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB), one of the largest utility companies in South East-Asia.

YH90
post Dec 7 2011, 10:17 AM

606 posts

QUOTE(cckkpr @ Dec 7 2011, 09:25 AM)
In addition to notmycupoftea's comment, I heard UTAR's degree also qualifies (the 4 year degree program).
nothingz
post Dec 7 2011, 10:30 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

the schedule I Part I got a whole list, more than 10 there
cckkpr
post Dec 7 2011, 11:02 AM

4,516 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Dec 7 2011, 10:15 AM)
only?

under PART I OF THE FIRST SCHEDULE OF THE ACCOUNTANTS ACT, 1967
(l)  the final examination of the Universiti Tenaga Nasional for the Degree of Bachelor of Accounting (Honours), the academic programme for which first commenced from the academic year 2002/2003 onwards;

Universiti Tenaga Nasional- UNITEN
UNITEN is one of the first private universities in Malaysia and is wholly-owned by the public-listed Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB), one of the largest utility companies in South East-Asia.
If its true, thanks for the info.

Added on December 7, 2011, 11:03 am
QUOTE(YH90 @ Dec 7 2011, 10:17 AM)
In addition to notmycupoftea's comment, I heard UTAR's degree also qualifies (the 4 year degree program).
This would be a pleasant surprise. Since when?

This post has been edited by cckkpr: Dec 7 2011, 11:03 AM
aaron1kee
post Dec 7 2011, 11:04 AM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Dec 7 2011, 02:00 AM)
ya i got confused about basis risk too... one moment say assume no basis risk, then suddenly say basis risk linear(means must count)...

i wonder can I even get more then 20marks
Basis risk is the risk of the movement of underlying instrument not being in tandem with the derivative. Basis, however, does decline in a linear manner.
elstonsaw
post Dec 7 2011, 11:40 AM

Anyone attend navzar tara P2 class?
Any P2 tips given? for this dec 2011
koreali
post Dec 7 2011, 12:26 PM

66 posts

I wish to know any clue about P2..seems like quite alot staff to remember.I worried that I will be too nervous in the exam.
shiloong7081
post Dec 7 2011, 12:48 PM

928 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Dec 7 2011, 08:57 AM)
u read all the questions b4 u do Q1? if not how u r able to finish the paper doing n reading 3 questions within 85 minutes?
the Q2, the future and option are standard, but the collar one, standard also?
Spend reading time doing Q1 as well. sweat.gif Poor time management on my part.
Practice helps a lot i guess. For Q4, did the debt/equity ratio breach the covenant ? Mine didn't , and i was like f*** it, no time to check already, then hentam the part C.

QUOTE(aaron1kee @ Dec 7 2011, 11:04 AM)
Basis risk is the risk of the movement of underlying instrument not being in tandem with the derivative. Basis, however, does decline in a linear manner.
just as i thought ! My classmates got confused between basis and basis risk
Pius
post Dec 7 2011, 12:51 PM

127 posts

F5 and F6 are fxxking hard, is ACCA trying to make my life difficult? = ="
seem like ACCA is making their exam question tougher and improve their standard
tzxsean
post Dec 7 2011, 01:17 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

anyone has any idea how to revise for calculations part in P5?

just read past years or read the works done in normal class as well?
nothingz
post Dec 7 2011, 01:53 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 7 2011, 01:17 PM)
anyone has any idea how to revise for calculations part in P5?

just read past years or read the works done in normal class as well?
Alex Watt's calculations are funny, nothing much for you to revise
tzxsean
post Dec 7 2011, 03:50 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Dec 7 2011, 01:53 PM)
Alex Watt's calculations are funny, nothing much for you to revise
but i scare like hell la...
lol...dun feel like revise the non-calculation part already

but im not steady in calculations

Added on December 7, 2011, 3:56 pmbtw...
the annual equivalent CF right ... the cost of investment is different each year by using NBV of project? or just the initial cost?

for the top part

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Dec 7 2011, 03:56 PM

125 Pages « < 59 60 61 62 63 > » Top

0.2522sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 05:00 AM