125 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Bottom

ACCA V7, Global Body for Professional Accountants

tzxsean
post Nov 30 2011, 11:20 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Nov 30 2011, 10:32 PM)
like what Collenlee said, the another article is about Anti-avoidance, the article came out on 1 Nov 2011 written by examiner.
but i see quite many students failing P7 also, and after P5 examiner has been changed few sittings ago, i heard a lot of complaints regarding the exam becomes tougher.
ok, remember to share!  thumbup.gif
im sure this sitting Alex Watt and Lisa Weaver will set it easier because I'm taking both of them laugh.gif
neverknowgirl
post Nov 30 2011, 11:43 PM

2,060 posts

Guys, give me tips for f5&f6!!!
This is my first exam..kind of scared... No confident
Kh90
post Dec 1 2011, 12:25 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Nov 30 2011, 11:20 PM)
im sure this sitting Alex Watt and Lisa Weaver will set it easier because I'm taking both of them  laugh.gif
I took last sem p5 and p7 as well, failed both at marginal mark.. Haih.. And hopefully this sem easier as u said..

Good luck!!
liez
post Dec 1 2011, 12:36 AM

1,346 posts

Guys I want to take accounting course next year. can I know:-

1) to do ACCA, is it that I need to do CAT first and if yes, where can I get the cheapest but good & effective CAT course?
2) where can I get cheap and good ACCA course? I last heard that UTAR provide ACCA course thats not too expensive as well.
neverknowgirl
post Dec 1 2011, 12:50 AM

2,060 posts

If u are bumiputra u can apply uitm.. But im not suggest although i am student there...the fees is really cheap rm450 per sem and if ur result for midterm exam ok they will sponsor u for exam papers fees ...however i heard kasturi is good
shirley_andy
post Dec 1 2011, 12:54 AM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

QUOTE(liez @ Dec 1 2011, 12:36 AM)

1) to do ACCA, is it that I need to do CAT first and if yes, where can I get the cheapest but good & effective CAT course?
2) where can I get cheap and good ACCA course? I last heard that UTAR provide ACCA course thats not too expensive as well.
1) if not mistaken, the fastest way is to do CAT 1st then u can continue to ACCA with 3 papers exemption(F1-F3)
2) you may refer to 1st post, there have a list of recommended lecturer and where they're teaching for each subject in ACCA, u can go for their classes. But if you prefer to attend all classes in a tuition provider only then there're KSA(Kasturi School of Accountancy, EliteJaya by APEC, FTMS, TARC, Sunway, Orange International etc..
Kh90
post Dec 1 2011, 01:07 AM

42 posts

I'm the one taking CAT for the first year then get exemption for f1 f2 f3 in acca, ..
For me, I feel that with cheapest course, definitely they will provide lesser time of lecture and u need more on your own study to properly understand the course. For CAT, maybe u can choose cheapest course which provided by any tuition centre, but till acca , u need put in more effort compared to cat.
TSnotmycupoftea
post Dec 1 2011, 09:57 AM

444 posts

QUOTE(Kh90 @ Dec 1 2011, 01:07 AM)
I'm the one taking CAT for the first year then get exemption for f1 f2 f3 in acca, ..
For me, I feel that with cheapest course, definitely they will provide lesser time of lecture and u need more on your own study to properly understand the course. For CAT, maybe u can choose cheapest course which provided by any tuition centre, but till acca , u need put in more effort compared to cat.
ya agree. when it comes to ACCA level, self discipline is very important.
those colleges in KL, the lecturers there won't force or nag u to do homework, u r the one to decide whether u want to suffer now (do all the PYQs or homework) in order to benefit in the exam or vice versa.

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Nov 30 2011, 11:20 PM)
im sure this sitting Alex Watt and Lisa Weaver will set it easier because I'm taking both of them  laugh.gif
wah? you're the vvip of ACCA? laugh.gif
nick67
post Dec 1 2011, 10:56 AM

What?
1,501 posts

Kasturi is pretty cheap. or can try elitejaya also. both much cheaper than sunway! sunway uni now increase the resource fee from 300 to 400 sad.gif..And the tuition fees all also increased already..

BTW, seniors...is it possible to pass f7 based on calculations alone? I hear so many seniors who passed saying just focus on q1,2 and 3 is enough to pass.. rclxub.gif
nothingz
post Dec 1 2011, 11:21 AM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(nick67 @ Dec 1 2011, 10:56 AM)
Kasturi is pretty cheap. or can try elitejaya also. both much cheaper than sunway! sunway uni now increase the resource fee from 300 to 400 sad.gif..And the tuition fees all also increased already..
BTW, seniors...is it possible to pass f7 based on calculations alone? I hear so many seniors who passed saying just focus on q1,2 and 3 is enough to pass.. rclxub.gif
the main concentration is on Q1 to Q3 but there are theories in between them, you can't pass without knowing the theories/doing analysis. However Q4 and Q5 may decide whether you pass/fail with marginal marks. Therefore you must try to complete all the questions unless you really don't know how & what to write
tzxsean
post Dec 1 2011, 11:22 AM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Kh90 @ Dec 1 2011, 12:25 AM)
I took last sem p5 and p7 as well, failed both at marginal mark..  Haih.. And hopefully this sem easier as u said..

Good luck!!
im taking p3 p5 p7 rclxub.gif

QUOTE(notmycupoftea @ Dec 1 2011, 09:57 AM)
ya agree. when it comes to ACCA level, self discipline is very important.
those colleges in KL, the lecturers there won't force or nag u to do homework, u r the one to decide whether u want to suffer now (do all the PYQs or homework) in order to benefit in the exam or vice versa.
wah? you're the vvip of ACCA?  laugh.gif
laugh.gif i think so
from f5 until p2 ...i think the questions are relatively normal (on easier sides) brows.gif

it is enough to pass f7 based on 1st 3 questions ... only if you're really good with it
but the theory is there to help u pass
in case the calculation part troubled u
yyyuenn
post Dec 1 2011, 02:02 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(colleenlee @ Nov 30 2011, 10:19 PM)
2 articles from examiner.

1 article is regarding on OHQ, IPC, RDC, ...as u mentioned.

another article is on settlement....tax anti-avoidance provision...

u could get the articles from acca website

thx thx..
i nearly miss this article..
colleenlee
post Dec 1 2011, 04:09 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 1 2011, 11:22 AM)
i think so
from f5 until p2 ...i think the questions are relatively normal (on easier sides) brows.gif
p2 relatively normal(on easier sides)?
too much to study
retake the subject...sighh!~~
rclxub.gif
tzxsean
post Dec 1 2011, 04:11 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

QUOTE(colleenlee @ Dec 1 2011, 04:09 PM)
too much to study
rclxub.gif
i mean on my sittings

the conso part
not difficult
maybe theories part abit hard

as for the section B
i think quite ok oso la for last sitting
IFRS 9 came out as predicted

nothingz
post Dec 1 2011, 04:29 PM

6 Stars General
2,757 posts

QUOTE(tzxsean @ Dec 1 2011, 04:11 PM)
i mean on my sittings

the conso part
not difficult
maybe theories part abit hard

as for the section B
i think quite ok oso la for last sitting
IFRS 9 came out as predicted
last round was predictable but not this time. as for Q1, we don't know what will come out this time since SOFP came out in the last sitting, this time may be SOFP again or SOCI or combo. most likely not SOCF

This post has been edited by nothingz: Dec 1 2011, 04:30 PM
colleenlee
post Dec 1 2011, 04:35 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(nothingz @ Dec 1 2011, 04:29 PM)
last round was predictable but not this time. as for Q1, we don't know what will come out this time since SOFP came out in the last sitting, this time may be SOFP again or SOCI or combo. most likely not SOCF
yeah, i agree. last sitting was predictable. i was unable to complete some questions in Section B doh.gif

i dun think it would be a combo unless lesser adjustments. i think as an examiner, they would test us on standards, rather than technique of conso. rclxub.gif

just study our best. sweat.gif
aaron1kee
post Dec 1 2011, 05:34 PM

Rock n' Roll
3,997 posts

QUOTE(colleenlee @ Dec 1 2011, 04:35 PM)
yeah, i agree. last sitting was predictable. i was unable to complete some questions in Section B    doh.gif

i dun think it would be a combo unless lesser adjustments. i think as an examiner, they would test us on standards, rather than technique of conso.  rclxub.gif

just study our best.  sweat.gif
Collectively P2 is one of the easier papers, it boils down to the amount of time you spend to cover the voluminous syllabus.
tzxsean
post Dec 1 2011, 05:59 PM

Lonely Driver
5,608 posts

i would say the key to pass p2 is on section B and section A's theory

no matter how perfect u can do ur financial statements

u cant pass without doing good in section B

candidates usually wasted too much time on f/s and neglected other marks

im now in last 3 papers..n i hate calculations more now ...

low marks but alot of steps to calculate...

Added on December 1, 2011, 6:01 pm
QUOTE(colleenlee @ Dec 1 2011, 04:35 PM)
yeah, i agree. last sitting was predictable. i was unable to complete some questions in Section B    doh.gif

i dun think it would be a combo unless lesser adjustments. i think as an examiner, they would test us on standards, rather than technique of conso.  rclxub.gif

just study our best.  sweat.gif
maybe it's time to group structure conso with increase/decrease in shareholdins brows.gif

they will test ur standards 99 in section b along with scenarios laugh.gif

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Dec 1 2011, 06:01 PM
shiloong7081
post Dec 1 2011, 07:43 PM

928 posts

Relax guys, p1-p3 passing rates are 50%. not hard at all.
Kh90
post Dec 1 2011, 07:57 PM

42 posts

I passed my f7 by doing q1 to q3 only.. I get 58 out of 75 if I not mistaken. Hehe

Added on December 1, 2011, 8:00 pm
QUOTE(colleenlee @ Dec 1 2011, 04:09 PM)
too much to study
rclxub.gif
Passed p2 last sitting with 50 marks! God blessed! May luck with me this sitting too!

This post has been edited by Kh90: Dec 1 2011, 08:00 PM

125 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.0314sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:07 AM