9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The SONY NEX Discussion Thread V2, Sony NEX 5N & NEX7 Unveil

axii
post Aug 25 2011, 10:04 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Valentino46 @ Aug 25 2011, 07:33 PM)
i do need the hotshoe,and very much so that i keep out from nex system all together until the 7 came along,i love flash photography and bounce flash especially,and i can't live with the tiny whinny flash of the lesser model,u'll need a properly powerful flash unit to bounce effectively

i also do want the alloy body of 7,its not a life or death necessity but its a highly desirable features,it add to the "zen" of the camera as some say

i also don't need 24mp resolution but i remember during the era of 5mp camera ppl were saying 3.2mp were already too much,i guess nowadays too much is never enough

i really like more external control as well and i don't like to rely on touch screen,its part of zen i guess

i have a feeling that the different between 5n and 7 is like porshe cayman and 911,the only reason ppl go for cayman because they can't afford the 911,not sure whether its apply here but thats my take
Being able to afford a camera or not is just one part of the equation, and not the full measure smile.gif Of course, I do agree somewhat with that statement. Sometimes, budgets do hold some buyers back from what they really want.

I've barely touched flash photography, since I use the camera mostly for street shots. I carry it with me all the time, as long as I'm out. Adding a flash unit will compound that weight considerably. Think it's rude to flash strangers, or maybe, I'm not daring enough to? I have to say though, that flash photography is definitely one thing that I must pick up in the future.

Do remember that the 5N body is also of magnesium alloy, as was the original 5. One of the main things that drew me to the 5 instead of the 3 last time, along with the grip.

On the topic of the MP, my statement was based on the image quality. Like I said earlier, I'm waiting for the actual production shots to base on that. The stirrings right now are that it's a "noisy" sensor. If the production shots are fantastic / not what they are right now, then this point can just go away and disappear quietly.

I'll toy around with the 5N's touchscreen first before I actually buy it. To see until what extent it can help with interface usability. I'm hoping I can tap the shutter speed display, change it with the jog dial, then tap the aperture display, and do the same. Gotta go and read up and see if there's any information on that. If it's just for the basic "tap to focus", that would be awful. And then it can also go away and disappear.
axii
post Aug 26 2011, 12:23 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(ra7v @ Aug 25 2011, 11:15 PM)
hi fellas,
two prong question i have for you.
does nex 5 work with rmt-dslr1?
if it does, can rmt-dslr1 do interval auto shot like intervalometer with nex 5?
thank you.
The remote works with the NEX-5, but unfortunately you cannot use it as an intervalometer. Googling for NEX-5 intervalometer yields a bunch of DIY hack saw versions though.
axii
post Aug 26 2011, 02:34 AM

75 posts

Just looked at the manual for that gentLED and wow, setting longer intervals really is pretty iffy.

This post has been edited by axii: Aug 26 2011, 02:46 AM
axii
post Aug 31 2011, 08:37 PM

75 posts

Apparently there will be zoom kit bundle for the 5N, 15-55 + 55-210.

I'm guessing the price for body only won't be so high. I wager for it to be highest at RM2k, lowest RM1.9k.
axii
post Sep 1 2011, 02:53 PM

75 posts

Just went through the 5N handbook over at http://www.sonyalpharumors.com/download-th...x-5n-documents/

And found out there's AE-L smile.gif

Still crossing my fingers for 5N to be available here as body only... where'd you get the news idoblu?
axii
post Sep 1 2011, 11:43 PM

75 posts

Looking through the NEX-5N handbook a bit more, apparently my hopes of being able to adjust manual settings for aperture and shutter speed with touch controls is there. However, touch controls obviously can't be used with the EVF.

If you compare to RM300-500 budget 50mm primes, specifically 50mm F.18 DT SAM:

1) Build quality. Full metal against full plastic. I have the budget prime, and really, it feels like a toddler's toy compared to the kitlens / pancake.
2) In-lens stabilization.

First look review by Steve Huff:
http://www.stevehuffphoto.com/2011/08/31/t...ghts-and-video/

How to link video? I tried to embed the video on Huff's page, and all I get is a blank white box. Well, check out the video anyway on Steve Huff's page, he shows us how the new shutter sounds like, and it sounds really good. Just one sound, not three really loud sounds with NEX-5.

God, look at the performance of high ISO beyond 1600. This thing is making me so horny.

This post has been edited by axii: Sep 2 2011, 12:27 AM
axii
post Sep 3 2011, 02:44 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(imjowen @ Sep 3 2011, 02:12 PM)
Nex 5n out liao...

OI! My heart stop beating! Then I clicked on your spoiler. and I think I lost 10 years of my life.

So sad.
axii
post Sep 5 2011, 01:22 AM

75 posts

Wondering to myself if the 3rd party LCD hood, or even the old leather body cases would fit the NEX-5N?

Was at Sony KLCC this evening, still nothing new. Probably because it was Sunday? Hope to see something this week.
axii
post Sep 6 2011, 01:50 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(claye @ Sep 6 2011, 12:16 PM)
JOwen~thank you for the information~ ^^
wondering how long they need ... ><
everyhour refresh sony website but in the end of the day still the same T________T

Added on September 6, 2011, 12:17 pm

--->eg. NEX-5N + SEL16F28 + EVF = RM3299!!! ^^

It's really amazing~haha!
Fixed. If all that only Rm2k+, reserved long time already. EVF is USD350

This post has been edited by axii: Sep 6 2011, 01:51 PM
axii
post Sep 6 2011, 09:58 PM

75 posts

Would think that they have the customs sorted out beforehand, ya? Can update you, means got progress over there! Yeah...
axii
post Sep 8 2011, 04:45 PM

75 posts

Yes! Body only!!!! but... where is the zoom kit bundle? sad.gif

This post has been edited by axii: Sep 8 2011, 04:45 PM
axii
post Sep 10 2011, 12:53 AM

75 posts

Where did you see it? I'm at both Sony main site and Sony Style, don't see it anywhere.
axii
post Sep 11 2011, 10:11 PM

75 posts

Any one have news on the availability of the EVF?
axii
post Sep 12 2011, 11:10 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 11 2011, 10:15 PM)
Why? Have you bought a 5N? tongue.gif
No.. not yet! Gonna get one soon.. cause have a sponsor now, so gonna grab the EVF and play as well! Muahahahaha.
axii
post Sep 12 2011, 01:23 PM

75 posts

Well, 7 isn't out yet, so can play 5N with EVF... why not? Play first! Sending email to Sony now to ask about EVF... hope they reply me soon.
axii
post Sep 13 2011, 01:22 PM

75 posts

Yes, since histogram data is from sensor
axii
post Sep 13 2011, 10:07 PM

75 posts

Good news!

Sony called me up today to let me know that the EVF will be in stock in 2 weeks time. He also told me that the body only and 1855 only kit will be available next week!
axii
post Sep 14 2011, 12:19 AM

75 posts

Actually, the clicking noise is during sudden panning, not at the front and back. Problem seems widespread! I don't really take video, but having a known problem like this does dishearten me.

No price for the EVF yet; probably will announce price a few days before available, like for the double kit set?
axii
post Sep 14 2011, 10:29 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Sep 14 2011, 09:27 AM)
er..... dslr lens on a NEX?
What's wrong with having DSLR glass on the NEX?
axii
post Sep 14 2011, 03:31 PM

75 posts

Was there ever a rule that you can and should only use small lenses with the NEX? It's really up to personal preference. Some people bought it because the body was small, some because it looks bloody stylo, some because it was light, some because it was cheap for what it could provide to the user.

I use my NEX with DSLR glass as well (50/1.8 SAM being the current glued on lens), and I have it with me during commute every single day. Would I do that with a normal sized and weighted DSLR? No, I wouldn't, because my back would be broken already.

A lot of people, I don't know why, are under the impression that it's pointless or wrong to carry a NEX with large lenses. In the first place, almost all E-mount lenses will be huge due to the APS-C sensor, and the physics in designing the lens for such a sensor. M4/3 has very small lenses because of this as well: smaller sensor, hence smaller lenses / pancakes. If you want a jeans / handbag pocketable camera + lens, go for M4/3, else, stick with the NEX.

New people thinking about buying the NEX should do some research before purchasing it, else they will come back and "waa waa waa M4/3 so much smaller"

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0512sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 07:43 PM