14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Bottom

Nokia N9 V1, Experience Perfect Fluidity

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 21 2011, 05:08 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Sep 21 2011, 12:13 PM)
the repository got whatsapp?viber?then good enuf.
Repository stuff are mostly free/open source stuff

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Sep 21 2011, 03:50 PM)
Friggin Aegis, at this rate, don't say Power Kernel, heck even Easy Debian cant be used by Meego-Harmattan. Truly frustrating, as it is surely a dead weight in the OS. I really hope that Nokia will allow users to bypass this. Or else, it wouldn't be in the same level of hackability of my N810 and N900 fo sho.
Actually javispedro already managed to bypass the stuff & qole managed to run easy debian in his N950.
But when Nokia updated N950 OS that day it seems like they patched the hole.I'm sensing Apple-like movement here shakehead.gif

If Nokia decided to continue using Aegis most probably javispedro & co will just make new patch in kernel & release it so others can use it but without informing anyone on what's the second "hole" is.Have to do this so Nokia don't patch this also.
But really attempt to disable Aegis is like playing russian roulette.If you screwed up something during you attempt you might need reflash:x

Anyway I think running easy debian in N9/N950 will be bit weird.It's hard to press the small icons in capacitive screen.When I tried N950 last week one of the guest showed me his ported application.It's quite hard to navigate the program.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Sep 21 2011, 05:14 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 21 2011, 05:56 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 21 2011, 05:51 PM)
No whatsapp for Nokia N9 or meego devices. Official word from Whatsapp Inc.
Not a surprising announcement
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 22 2011, 04:37 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 21 2011, 09:27 PM)
What's new inside? Reno for so long.

Any inside info about N9 promo? Sure will have promo qua??
So far Nokia have invited bloggers for unofficial launch,made official media launch,promote the phone with MeeGo enthusiast in Malaysia.
No idea whether there'll be any tv ad for N9.But I think there'll be ad for N9 at least in newspaper.

Well overall Nokia is making much for promo for N9 compared to N900.

Aren't you as Nokia Ranger know about their promotions compared to others here? whistling.gif

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 21 2011, 10:49 PM)
Nothing new. Mostly dummy phones, yet secured electronically.

Price from them is uncertain yet. The staff said "16GB: 1800-1900". After I heard his price, I didn't bother to remember what he said for 64GB.
If it's Nokia Store they have to follow RRP don't they?
RRP already been fixed.But I think Nokia should lower the price even more for 16GB model.

QUOTE(keeekeee @ Sep 21 2011, 11:17 PM)
Was thinking to give a last try for Nokia. Changed my mind since it doesn't have apps like whatsapp and viber. Better stay with iOS and android. Bye-bye Nokia
You can buy Nokia SeaRay or whatever it's called.WP7 got whatsapp now.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 22 2011, 01:55 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Sep 22 2011, 12:05 PM)
Don't see the point in that unless they could develop an app that could connect to whatsapp.
I mean what makes whatsapp important to some people (including me) is that our circle of friends is using it already and in my case I have totally replaced sms with whatsapp to communicate with them.
Whatapp is proprietary software.It's impossible for the company to allow others to simply connect to their application.
If whatsapp open up their API I'm quite sure we'll see at least a beta version of whatsapp for Maemo/MeeGo within 1 week.

From your post you'll how hard for the telco providers to compete with free service right? cool2.gif
It's going to be even harder for the telcos in future because of increasing free voice/messaging services & also data usage.

You have to understand how open source folks thinks about the application like whatsapp.
These folks believe that any form of communication through web should be free & not restricted by OS/application type.These type of communication should be cross platform & easy to be adopted in multiple type of devices.This why IRC & IM protocol always been open source enthusiast's choice.However commercial application writers as usual disagree with them prefers applications like whatsapp & skype.Their opinion is these type of application is much more convenient.I don't quite agree with their opinion.
Like Andy said Maemo have excellent social network integration which allowed us to communicate with others without the restriction of OS & device type because IM protocol is a free protocol.From what see in latest Android,Google has implement the similar stuff.I prefers to use this in my phone although I do have whatsapp installed in my phone.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 22 2011, 02:57 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Looks like N9 will have Nokia Link,sort of iCloud for Apple
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 22 2011, 07:24 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Upsilon @ Sep 22 2011, 03:05 PM)
i think it is more like a ovi suite replacement only for n9
http://swipe.nokia.com.my/support/
My bad.I guess we need to wait till the N9 launch to see what are the functions available.

I kinda remember someone telling me that Nokia will provide a silicon case with same color as your N9 with every purchase.
I think Nokia did the same thing with N8 right?But with hard case?
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 22 2011, 07:43 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

You all think N9 is overpriced?
Check SE XPERIA RAY price

Murtazin: Only 92,425 Units of Nokia N9 Made

I wish Nokia will produce 92,426 unit of N9 just for lulz.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Sep 22 2011, 07:48 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 22 2011, 10:21 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Sep 22 2011, 10:18 PM)
I shall go around and get a preorder. If there is one, approximately how many would be interested?
Ask them for a cheap2 price.
I can't afford the N9 with it's current price biggrin.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 22 2011, 10:39 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(aspire2oo6 @ Sep 22 2011, 10:35 PM)
count me in for 2 units
Fuh..I'm jelly now cry.gif
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 22 2011, 11:00 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(luckyhillkop @ Sep 22 2011, 10:53 PM)
I don't want to be part of the '41 ppl bankrupt everyday' stat in the star today tongue.gif

More good reviews for N9 http://mynokiablog.com/2011/09/22/nokia-n9...aturally-smart/
Read somewhere that the effort to port major apps to N9 will be continuous.

*Maybe Sifu Aspire will donate one of his future N9s to me when he got bored with it  brows.gif
There are plenty of question regarding the Android application in N9:
i)Does it run natively or in emulator?
ii)Does it need extra libraries?
iii)How will the patch applied in OS (especially now with Aegis making all kind of trouble)
iv)How will we get the Android application? Is it through Market or other 3rd party App Store?
v)Do the user/developer have to repackage the ipk file to deb?

And it's goes on....

I won't mind if someone dropped a N9 in front of my house too biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Sep 22 2011, 11:00 PM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 22 2011, 11:10 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 22 2011, 11:04 PM)
Why do you need Android apps anyway?
There are people keep on harping that they want whatsapp.This is the another way of getting the application.
And this is the fastest way to increase the number of MeeGo application.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 22 2011, 11:20 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Sep 22 2011, 11:15 PM)
MeeGo apps? Hehehehe... goto repository lor... Market only sell fish
If you can make such an app go ahead do it.
You'll get N950 for free
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 23 2011, 02:48 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 23 2011, 11:35 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

I propose to Nokia to give a free N9 to the 1st person who guessed the release date of N9 in Malaysia correctly

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Sep 23 2011, 11:36 AM
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 23 2011, 06:27 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(zeeker87 @ Sep 23 2011, 06:11 PM)
Is there any demo units in any Nokia store for the time being??
Don't think so...
N9 is sort of unicorn now.I think you have to ask from Nokia employees or go to any N9 related function to test the phone.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 24 2011, 01:29 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 23 2011, 10:51 PM)
Would let u know when we have the phone, but I think yeah, it can pawned a dual core android phone.
Nah...Won't happen.
In term of raw performance dual core processors especially Exynos simple much more powerful.

Before I moved to SGS II I tried to move all my 3K+ sms from N900/Maemo to N900/Android.Basically the transferring requires conversion of xml format sms to format recognizable by Android.
Even though my N900 was OC-ed to 1.15GHz at that time the conversion took almost 15 minutes.Compared to that SGS II completed the same task within few minutes.
Don't think any Cortex A8 based SOC will be able to keep up with Cortex A9 based SOC.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 24 2011, 05:36 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Sep 24 2011, 05:22 PM)
I have 100+ apps in my SGS2, but I regularly use 5-8 apps nia.
Better than me.I only use 3.
Phone,message (consider as apps la) & NOVA2.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 24 2011, 08:50 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Sep 24 2011, 08:13 PM)
1GB memory is plenty. The N9 has been shown to multitask up to 10 apps without breaking a sweat. The real concern is whether essential apps will be there. I need ebook, internet streaming radio, dictionary and some other utilities as a minimum. I'm adopting a wait and see attitude.
He mean the build in storage memory.
64GB can filled easily if you install a lot apps,extra OS & saving bunch of hd videos.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 24 2011, 09:12 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(nicholasbeh @ Sep 24 2011, 09:02 PM)
those hd game each 600mb+
Yeah.I know.
My painfully slow internet aware of that.
TSsuper_evil_alien
post Sep 24 2011, 10:51 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(KennyKB @ Sep 24 2011, 10:16 PM)
You're not going to get better than 64GB for any smartphone in the market now. Galaxy S2 has a 32GB model + support up to 32GB micro-SD card = 64GB.
I can always dream since there is microSDXC now.

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0431sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:42 PM