HTC Sensation with Sense 3.0 Official Thread, HTC's 1st Dual Core Smartphone

vemp
post Jul 30 2011, 04:01 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(lcs87 @ Jul 30 2011, 03:40 PM)
so..does flashing rom wipe everything on the phone?
Flashing a new rom will wipe everything from your phone, its like formatting ur pc/notebook and install new windows.
AzeL
post Jul 30 2011, 05:05 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(vccy118 @ Jul 30 2011, 03:28 PM)
Flashed custom rom, running on Android Revolution HD now biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Did you refer to this for s-off and flash?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1098849
vccy118
post Jul 30 2011, 05:18 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(vemp @ Jul 30 2011, 04:01 PM)
Flashing a new rom will wipe everything from your phone, its like formatting ur pc/notebook and install new windows.
huh? who told u so -.-

NO, it does NOT wipe your data if you choose to keep the data... like u said it is like pc/notebook, other than the "reformat" option, there is also the "upgrade windows" option which does not wipe anything

Added on July 30, 2011, 5:19 pm
QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 30 2011, 05:05 PM)
Did you refer to this for s-off and flash?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1098849
yes I did XD

word of warning thou: Please follow the instructions EXACTLY and be PATIENT"

some steps might take longer time, around 10-15 minutes u will see the HTC logo stuck there. Dun touch it and wait patiently and everything will sort itself out.

This post has been edited by vccy118: Jul 30 2011, 05:19 PM
AzeL
post Jul 30 2011, 05:32 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(vccy118 @ Jul 30 2011, 05:18 PM)
yes I did XD

some steps might take longer time, around 10-15 minutes u will see the HTC logo stuck there. Dun touch it and wait patiently and everything will sort itself out.
Okay let me do a check list of things to do, First I need to S-Off, can i refer to http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1192300 for that?

After that i need to s-off radio?, or is that optional?

then finally flash the rom.
vemp
post Jul 30 2011, 06:08 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(vccy118 @ Jul 30 2011, 05:18 PM)
huh? who told u so -.-

NO, it does NOT wipe your data if you choose to keep the data... like u said it is like pc/notebook, other than the "reformat" option, there is also the "upgrade windows" option which does not wipe anything

Added on July 30, 2011, 5:19 pm
yes I did XD

i din know u can keep ur apps in flashing a new rom. u can do that ? without the backup of titanium? wont it reset everything ? cause everytime i flash a new rom all my apps are gone.
vccy118
post Jul 30 2011, 06:50 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(vemp @ Jul 30 2011, 06:08 PM)
i din know u can keep ur apps in flashing a new rom. u can do that ? without the backup of titanium? wont it reset everything ? cause everytime i flash a new rom all my apps are gone.
That depends if the custom rom can retain the data or not. If the custom rom is using the same baseband, then u essentially just upgrade the OS, nothing more. If the baseband is different, you need to clear and wipe all partitions.

Added on July 30, 2011, 6:52 pm
QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 30 2011, 05:32 PM)
Okay let me do a check list of things to do, First I need to S-Off, can i refer to http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1192300 for that?

After that i need to s-off radio?, or is that optional?

then finally flash the rom.
S-off radio no need, that 1 is to unluck the phone to use with any sim card. Our's is already unlocked at factory.

For custom rom, u dun need to do the rooting, just flash the custom rom, the custom rom will include the root function.

This post has been edited by vccy118: Jul 30 2011, 06:52 PM
vemp
post Jul 30 2011, 06:52 PM

197 posts

How do we see the baseband ? and care to make a example with the custom rom we have now for sensation ?
AzeL
post Jul 30 2011, 07:30 PM

304 posts

QUOTE(vccy118 @ Jul 30 2011, 06:50 PM)
S-off radio no need, that 1 is to unluck the phone to use with any sim card. Our's is already unlocked at factory.

For custom rom, u dun need to do the rooting, just flash the custom rom, the custom rom will include the root function.
Ohhhh...so I just need to S-Off and I can flash already....is there any way to back up original things (roms etc) for warranty purposes?

Edit: Its downloading CWM now, how long does this take?, I hate it when they don't show a percentage, makes you so nervous.

This post has been edited by AzeL: Jul 30 2011, 07:43 PM
ChaosSixth
post Jul 30 2011, 07:44 PM

Nothing special
1,420 posts

argh so many things i dunno and dun dare to do it man..haha..
AzeL
post Jul 30 2011, 07:48 PM

304 posts

Okay where do i get the Super Wipe?, link please, google turned up so many results i dunno which is which
bkcheah75
post Jul 30 2011, 07:55 PM

QUOTE(vccy118 @ Jul 30 2011, 03:28 PM)
Flashed custom rom, running on Android Revolution HD now biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
What is the different after you flash the new rom? Mind to share what is get improved?

niko_bellic
post Jul 30 2011, 08:21 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 30 2011, 07:48 PM)
Okay where do i get the Super Wipe?, link please, google turned up so many results i dunno which is which
it's in the revolution rom 1st post
here u go:

http://tinyurl.com/6bh9jvc

vccy118
post Jul 30 2011, 08:29 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(vemp @ Jul 30 2011, 06:52 PM)
How do we see the baseband ? and care to make a example with the custom rom we have now for sensation ?
Actually I also dunno... but the custom rom maker will mention if you need to wipe or not, so need to read through when u choose a custom rom. The one i am using now, Android Revolution HD, does not require wipe as mentioned by the author.

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 30 2011, 07:30 PM)
Ohhhh...so I just need to S-Off and I can flash already....is there any way to back up original things (roms etc) for warranty purposes?

Edit: Its downloading CWM now, how long does this take?, I hate it when they don't show a percentage, makes you so nervous.
if you want to backup stuff, you can use CWM to do it. It is mentioned in the thread in XDA where they teach you how to S-OFF.
Warranty I really dunno... that one need to consult with SIS.

QUOTE(bkcheah75 @ Jul 30 2011, 07:55 PM)
What is the different after you flash the new rom? Mind to share what is get improved?
change log on the custom rom's author page. each custom rom got their own improvements, so u need to read through to know which custom rom suits you best.
for me, I choose this rom because it is exactly the same as stock rom as the author just make improvements to the original rom supplied by HTC. bloatwares are removed, better battery efficiency and ram efficiency are among the few things which made me choose the rom. There are also custom roms which doesn't use sense 3.0 for those who want to get rid of sense once and for all.
AzeL
post Jul 30 2011, 08:45 PM

304 posts

Hahahaha I'm on Revolution HD too now!, I chose to wipe because i wanted it to be clean again, nothing much to lose anyway, everything can be downloaded again and my contacts are backed up.

Btw, how do I set the cpu speed etc those kinda things?
ChaosSixth
post Jul 30 2011, 08:50 PM

Nothing special
1,420 posts

QUOTE(AzeL @ Jul 30 2011, 08:45 PM)
Hahahaha I'm on Revolution HD too now!, I chose to wipe because i wanted it to be clean again, nothing much to lose anyway, everything can be downloaded again and my contacts are backed up.

Btw, how do I set the cpu speed etc those kinda things?
so whats the differences? what did u do? how bout the premium navigation thing? is it still working after u insert the code into it and then wipe it all clean? u wipe all clean means ur SD card or ur phone internal memory?

This post has been edited by ChaosSixth: Jul 30 2011, 08:51 PM
vemp
post Jul 30 2011, 09:02 PM

197 posts

Htc Premium navigation is Locked with ur Phone IMEi, so i think it wont be a problem, problem is the cooker they dun include the apps in the custom rom >.<
ChaosSixth
post Jul 30 2011, 09:07 PM

Nothing special
1,420 posts

QUOTE(vemp @ Jul 30 2011, 09:02 PM)
Htc Premium navigation is Locked with ur Phone IMEi, so i think it wont be a problem, problem is the cooker they dun include the apps in the custom rom >.<
so the custom rom dun have premium navi?
old_and_slow
post Jul 30 2011, 09:10 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Jul 30 2011, 09:07 PM)
so the custom rom dun have premium navi?
can download from pasar malam what... brows.gif
ChaosSixth
post Jul 30 2011, 09:15 PM

Nothing special
1,420 posts

QUOTE(old_and_slow @ Jul 30 2011, 09:10 PM)
can download from pasar malam what... brows.gif
haha.lazy ba..wan download again and install then cari crack somemore..haiz~
old_and_slow
post Jul 30 2011, 09:16 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(ChaosSixth @ Jul 30 2011, 09:15 PM)
haha.lazy ba..wan download again and install then cari crack somemore..haiz~
no need crack one... download .apk file, transfer to SD, and install. its just 3 easy step. brows.gif

120 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0321sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:05 PM