27 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

joshhd
post Mar 7 2019, 05:09 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Mar 7 2019, 04:37 PM)
The dish that will be used for receiving MYTV satellite TV programme on Asiasat 9? It will require installation from certified installers.

Yes, that's correct.

It will require installation from certified installers.
Err, you can actually install by yourself if you know how. Same goes to Astro. biggrin.gif
But there are MYTV's DTH installers out there to provide free installation to users.
joshhd
post Mar 7 2019, 10:18 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Mar 7 2019, 05:15 PM)
Did Mytv broadcasted through Asiasat 9 already?
Only MYTV S2 decoder could view the channels?

MYTV already begin to relay its channels to Asiasat 9 on the transponder 11490 V 45000 (Frequency of 11490MHz, Vertical polarisation, symbol rate of 45000). But it appears that they have not publicly allow every Hybrid MYTV box users to receive via satellite, even they receive the hybrid box for free. And yes, only MYTV hybrid box can view those channels, as it is encrypted, not free to air (FTA) on satellite.

Satellite version of MYTV (DTH, direct-to-home) is meant for viewers who is unable to receive DTT signals due to whatever reasons (e.g. too far away from transmitter, obstructions, other surrounding factors, etc.) because satellite can guarantee 100% coverage across Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia, while DTT coverage reception for now is more than 95.3% in human populated areas for now.

Source: https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...-meet-deadline/
joshhd
post Mar 7 2019, 11:02 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ Mar 7 2019, 10:37 PM)
Dang it. Actually no need encryption so ppl can use parabola to watch.
QUOTE(work_tgr @ Mar 7 2019, 10:46 PM)
Thanks for the detailed info.
Yeah... True. Like Singapore and Indonesia channels, some are FTA. Not like Malaysia,  those programmes where got premium and high quality, why need to be encrypted.
The reason is quite obvious. They want users to use only hybrid MYTV box, so that they can earn profit from it, whenever the user purchases the hybrid MYTV box. Plus, that transponder exclusively belongs to MYTV, not RTM or Media Prima or whatsoever, so it is up to MYTV to control whether they want the channels to be encrypted or FTA. Same goes to Astro, like why RTM and Media Prima channels on Astro/Njoi encrypted and not FTA.

Singapore Mediacorp don't transmit all of its channels to satellite except Channel NewsAsia on Asiasat 7 C band because that channel is meant to be available outside Singapore as well.

Transmitting those channels in FTA are like a charity, non-profit behaviour kind of thing. If the channels are made FTA, everyone will choose to buy and use their own universal satellite receiver to receive it for free, and MYTV benefit nothing from it, and that is what MYTV is trying to prevent from happening. If you follow up the news on MYTV recently, you can sense that MYTV this company, is not in profit, and it's like a money losing business. Still remember TM shuts down their DTT towers almost nationwide for quite some time especially on end of last year?

Another reason (not the main reason) is, transmitting the channels in FTA via satellite may have content and licensing issues, especially premium sports content, as neighbouring countries within the satellite coverage footprint of Asiasat 9's SEA Ku band beam will be able to receive the FTA channels too.
joshhd
post Mar 8 2019, 12:23 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Mar 7 2019, 11:58 PM)
Heard that MYTV DVB-S2/T2 combo box is not supporting DiSEqC for multi dish but curious why the freq input GUI not locked, as this can be done if any changes in freq, FEC or S/R can be done by ONLY OTA, no user input is allowed.

Even Astro STB also doesn't have DiSEqC option on its Satellite Settings.
And if there is parameter changes on the frequency, symbol rate, FEC like you mentioned, it shall be auto updated, just like Astro.

They don't want to make it like a universal satellite receiver, that's why manual frequency input isn't allowed by default.

If there is any hackers out there, who can hack the firmware/software of hybrid MYTV box and make it able to input frequencies manually to receive foreign satellite TV broadcasts, that will be great biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
And if supports features like BISS, Powervu, and even CCcam, then a RM187 hybrid MYTV box is really worth buying rclxms.gif
joshhd
post Mar 8 2019, 12:31 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Mar 8 2019, 12:11 AM)
Maybe China engineer forgot to lock it. 😉
Yaloh... Analogue TV is FTA but why now DTV becomes encrypted, so 'small gas'.
Digital Terrestrial TV (DTT) is FTA, not encrypted.
Only the satellite version of MYTV is encrypted, and only hybrid MYTV box can view the channels (unless if the encryption can be bypassed, then it's different story). So far I don't see anyone reveal info whether MYTV uses smart card pairing or not. If it's not pairing type, then illegal card sharing may be possible, to bypass the encryption using universal satellite receiver's CCcam feature and an Internet connection.

Anyway, if you can watch DTT channels via UHF antenna, then you don't have the necessity to receive it via satellite.... wink.gif
MYTV uses Ku band, so it will have rain fade issue, just like any other pay TVs operators around the world that uses Ku band, and that includes Astro.
joshhd
post Mar 8 2019, 12:54 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Mar 8 2019, 12:28 AM)
heard that MYTV DVB-S2/T2 Combo stb is made by Coship (深圳同洲) , the manufacturer

Hmm, never hear that company before. But knowing that MYTV box is manufactured from China, is definitely no surprise biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Mar 8 2019, 01:34 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Mar 8 2019, 01:09 AM)
Coship is quite a well known stb manufacturer. Some pay-TV providers (IPTV, sat., cable, etc) contracted Coship to manufactured stb for them.

Ooo...
Since MYTV chose that company to manufacture their STBs, then it should be okay.
joshhd
post Mar 8 2019, 01:16 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Mar 8 2019, 09:37 AM)
I think the normal installation fee for both MYTV satellite reception and NJOI is about the same. If people are forced to too choose between them, obviously most people will choose NJOI because it has more channels and could be upgraded to Astroto watch premium channels. So how MYTV could compete with NJOI?

Like there are some channels only available on MYTV platform, while Astro/NJOI don't have, such as RTM Sports, BES, Channel W.

But then, are those "exclusive channels" mentioned, would convince people to go for MYTV myFreeview instead of Njoi anyway?

Not to forget that Njoi is a free-to-view non subscription satellite TV service, while MYTV DTH is meant to complement with DTT where DTT reception is not available on the particular area due to surrounding factors, then you can receive it using MYTV DTH.

Both are satellite TV service but purpose are mainly different, for now.

joshhd
post Mar 9 2019, 02:18 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(kimgy86 @ Mar 8 2019, 09:45 PM)
if the satellite one can be encrypted and must use MYTV decoder to watch...how about antenna one? can antenna one be encrypted as well? but if can, then built in TV cant watch...so I guess antenna one they wont encrypt even if they can, right?

Yes. DTT channels can be encrypted if MYTV wish to do so, making it only MYTV box can view those channels.

The best example will be Philippines, like one of the TV network (e.g. ABS-CBN) encrypts their DTT channels, and launch their very own digital TV box called TVplus, forces viewers to buy/use their digital TV box to watch the channels and some exclusive channels from that TV network.

Of course, many Filipinos are unhappy with this, as it seems the broadcasters are exploiting DTT for profit from forcing people to buy their digital TV box. Meaning, even your built in digital TV tuner on your TV may only able to detect those channels but can't watch it.
https://banatblogsite.wordpress.com/2018/03...he-philippines/

Not every country practices encrypting DTT channels, but that doesn't mean it can't be done. Don't forget, there's a smart card slot on every MYTV boxes, even without satellite input ones (only Terrestrial ones). That also means, every MYTV boxes can support Conditional Access (CA) to decrypt an encrypted channels, especially perhaps if MYTV offer some premium subscription channels via DTT, like an example, Fox Movies on MYTV (DTT), that kind of channels sure will encrypt one lor, and MYTV can be from a free TV service to pay TV service. That's how they earn profit and making sure the company will not remain as a money losing business.

Also, in Germany as well... https://www.broadbandtvnews.com/2018/01/30/...uring-olympics/

This post has been edited by joshhd: Mar 9 2019, 02:30 AM
joshhd
post Mar 9 2019, 09:02 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(kimgy86 @ Mar 9 2019, 07:38 AM)
premium services encrypted i dun mind la...
dun encrypted free one lor...
bcos really plan to buy a good cheap tvbox...
mytv one really lousy  sweat.gif

What are the good and cheap ones you plan to buy?

joshhd
post Mar 10 2019, 04:33 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Mar 10 2019, 12:16 PM)
Oh great, infamous 'small gas'... . Just add one more Rg6 cable +lnb specifically for MYTV. And I won't surprise if MYTV decoder only support KU band. 😒
Can give it a try but it has to be rotatable with actuator installed if you want to watch channels from different satellites or else you have to rotate the dish direction manually.

Those lnb up to quad because the cables are connect to multi decoders or signals receiving from close satellites for example chinasat 11 and measat 3.

Whether their MYTV box supports only Ku band or not, most importantly they'll only use Ku band to customers is for sure already.
joshhd
post Mar 11 2019, 06:32 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ Mar 11 2019, 06:10 PM)
Is there any indoor antenna in Mr DIY shop which can support digital freeview channels?

Actually as long it is a good quality, UHF antenna (not VHF type), you're good to go and can be used to receive myFreeview digital TV channels. biggrin.gif
Doesn't matter where you buy, Mr DIY or whatever shop or even online like from Lazada or Shopee.
Of course, I won't recommend look for cheap antennas like under RM10 ones (you can go for this one if the TV transmitter tower is very very close to your location). Active antenna (the ones that has booster and electrical powered type) will be better, but it may not be necessary.

Just a tip for you. Antenna is just an antenna receiving equipment to receive signals. There's no such thing like, "this" particular antenna can support digital TV signal, while "that" antenna can only receive analogue TV signals. Indication on packaging like "HD antenna", "DVB-T2 digital TV antenna" or "Crystal clear quality antenna" is purely for marketing purpose.

If you need further advice on how to receive myFreeview channels, do post questions on this thread.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Mar 11 2019, 06:36 PM
joshhd
post Mar 14 2019, 07:15 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(failed.hashcheck @ Mar 14 2019, 12:06 AM)
woah. this is amazing tool!
Simple and staightforward. thanks.
I think ill just go with something 75cm+

Not sure exactly what sat I want.
My house arrangement makes it requires lot of work to install dish facing west towards Measat neighborhood.

Ill point it to whatever on east sky instead.
Ill point it to whatever on east sky instead
You got to have a direction on which satellite to aim before carry out dish alignment though. The best is if you could relocate your dish to somewhere higher for instance, somewhere that can be aim both West and East sides will the best.

Ku band satellites at East position has quite a limited FTA content, unless you're going opt for neighbour country pay TV services like Indonesia pay TV services, or Philippines (receivable in East Malaysia only), Laosat, etc. And also, DTH version of MYTV on Asiasat 9.

What kind of content you're looking for?

This post has been edited by joshhd: Mar 14 2019, 07:15 AM
joshhd
post Mar 14 2019, 08:41 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Mar 14 2019, 08:24 AM)
Exactly. This is the first question one should ask. Like I can receive lots of FTA channels from Indonesia, Arab, Myanmar, Philippines and Thailand but I wouldn't even watch them, I prefer to watch China drama dan blockbuster movies so I will focus on those satellites with these programmes.

Now I am interested to test Asiasat 9 for MYTV , just a kind of self satisfaction to receive the signal even though it's encrypted 😂 and not watchable with my ahem decoder.

If you prefer China content, for Ku band, go for Laosat, pay a yearly fee on that, and can get it done even with Astro 65cm dish.

The best would be C band, which is Chinasat 6b and Chinasat 6a.
Minimum recommensed dish size is 6 feet (180cm) is required to receive adequate satellite signal reception.
joshhd
post Mar 17 2019, 04:59 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 17 2019, 01:34 PM)
So the bitrates quality on all channels hasn't changed much, wonder if next month it'll be changed? unsure.gif

Why next month?
joshhd
post Mar 18 2019, 11:43 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Mar 18 2019, 06:54 PM)
Another hindrance to MYTV.

https://malaysiakini.com/news/468461

This Channel W has been poorly executed since the beginning. No interesting programmes, no viewership, no commercial income. It is no surprise that we may wave goodbye to Channel W soon.

The news link seems inaccessible... The article has been taken down by Malaysiakini?

Btw what did the article mention? Did it mention when will the channel ceases transmission on MYTV?
joshhd
post Mar 19 2019, 11:37 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Mar 19 2019, 12:55 AM)
https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/468461

Bekas pekerja Channel W dakwa tak dibayar gaji
Ramieza Wahid  |  Diterbitkan 18 Mac 2019, 3:50 petang  |  Dikemaskini 18 Mac 2019, 3:50 petang

Sekumpulan bekas pekerja Channel W yang disiarkan melalui MyTV hari ini merujuk masalah gaji mereka ke Jabatan Tenaga Kerja selepas tuntutan kepada pihak majikan masih belum ditunaikan.

Wakil mereka, Mohd Haizal Yatiran, berkata mereka sebelum ini sudah membuat aduan kepada polis berhubung masalah yang dihadapi.

Menceritakan kesulitan dialami, Mohd Haizal berkata mereka dijanjikan bayaran gaji pada 27 Feb lalu.

"Bagaimanapun sehingga ke hari ini gaji berkenaan masih belum diperolehi," katanya kepada media di Subang Jaya hari ini.

Mohd Haizal berkata mereka bercadang mengemukakan aduan kepada Suruhanjaya Komunikasi dan Multimedia dalam tempoh terdekat.

Sementara itu pegawai syarikat Ritz Global TV Bhd yang dihubungi Malaysiakini enggan memberi komen.

Oh thanks...

No salary ah? That's a sign of a company failure.
joshhd
post Mar 23 2019, 06:20 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 23 2019, 05:31 PM)
They're doing decent job, minus the picture quality and zero commercial ads. whistling.gif
Who watches Channel W anyway? And how many Malaysians are aware of that channel, and continue watching it?

Zero commercial could mean that because their viewership is too freaking low, airing commercials on their platform/channel aren't gonna convince the advertisers.
joshhd
post Mar 30 2019, 05:45 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Mar 30 2019, 05:31 PM)
Finally RTM announces that they will be upgrading all of its channels to HD quality from 1 April, which are TV1, TV2, and TV Okey.

Hope that's not an April Fool... 😂
joshhd
post Mar 30 2019, 11:48 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(michaelkkl @ Mar 30 2019, 08:49 PM)
Looks like RTM deleted their post. The post is no longer available.
Screenshot not by me.

27 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.2629sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:54 AM