27 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

joshhd
post Mar 31 2019, 01:41 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ Mar 31 2019, 10:19 AM)
Well apparently it seems like reposted it on another fb page of theirs but with different information

https://www.facebook.com/300961484076060/po...81299509375590/

This part sounds sketchy though

It appears that BES has renamed to Saluran Berita RTM?
Saluran Berita RTM sounds better than BES. Nobody knows what BES means or stands for, unless you're a RTM hard core fan.
joshhd
post Apr 2 2019, 11:27 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Apr 2 2019, 07:52 AM)
What are the frequency for Batu Pahat area, Johor?
Batu Pahat should be the same frequency as Gunung Ledang tower.

MUX 1: 546MHz (Media Prima channels and others)
MUX 2: 722MHz (all RTM channels and radio)
joshhd
post Apr 2 2019, 12:29 PM

7,800 posts

http://www.bernama.com/en/general/news.php?id=1711819

Analogue TV to be shut down by Q3 2019.
Only when there's a change in government, although it is not a "very fast progress" due to lots of bureaucracies and commercial issues passed down by the previous government, you can still see a clear progress on analogue switch off and digital switch-over in Malaysia.
joshhd
post Apr 2 2019, 03:07 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(kwokwah @ Apr 2 2019, 12:38 PM)
I can receive all RTM channels in HD on mux2 since 1/4. Cannot get any channels on mux1. No prima media channels so far.
Perhaps, you tried realign/relocate your antenna?
joshhd
post Apr 3 2019, 12:03 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Apr 2 2019, 09:12 PM)
JB zone is probably the priority to shut up Singapore

Many Southern Johorians don't watch Malaysian analogue TV channels since they can receive Singapore ones easily.
If Malaysia want to switch off analogue TV in phases, I suggest they would switch off the ones that is close border to neighbouring countries, especially Southern Johor (JB) area, where interference between Malaysia and Indonesian TV stations still happening today. And MYTV to use the vacant Malaysia analogue TV frequencies (<700MHz ones) for Malaysia DTT by informing viewers to retune their digital TV STB/IDTV.

That's my theory that can be happen la. Whether it can really happen or not, I don't know, up to MCMC to decide.
joshhd
post Apr 3 2019, 01:05 AM

7,800 posts

Anyone here thinks that MYTV abruptly move RTM channels to another mux without informing the public beforehand, is seriously an unwise thing to do? MYTV expects that the public would assume that when RTM channels goes no signal, is an April Fool joke, cuz so happen it falls on 1 April 2019?

And, do you think that MYTV box users to require user to enter PIN (default 0000) to access to "Auto Tuning" in case there is any frequency retune exercise, is a stupid and dumb thing to implement?
Why is it so secretive for MYTV to allow user to retune their MYTV STBs till the point need to enter PIN? Even the usual TV sets don't necessarily need to enter PIN to access Auto/Manual Tuning menu.
They don't want people to simply mess around the frequency stuff? Their frequency stuff very confidential meh? They expect the kids would mess around the settings, is it? If the STB can auto update itself, then it's okay. But, can't auto update, need PIN to retune, and I don't remember I set any PIN before on the MYTV box, even the default PIN is 0000, and if I am a person who is not good in technology, I will sure get frustrated and find that this MYTV box is a piece of trash.
Seriously I don't see the need for them to do that. This will only trouble the users when MYTV boxes itself can't even auto update the channel list, like Astro, but requires viewers to enter PIN to get back the channels that went missing. Yet, MYTV still "forces/encourages" the public to use their own MYTV digital TV STB, as if they think their MYTV box is world class standard dry.gif

Now you see what happen?
*Screenshot by Qash-M

RTM inform viewers to retune their MYTV boxes AFTER they abruptly moved all their channels to another mux/frequency overnight without informing viewers beforehand on any frequency retuning exercise, leaving viewers goes wonder how come RTM channels suddenly goes No Signal. Yes, they do inform the public that RTM channels will go HD from 1 Apr, but they did not inform that there will be a change of TV frequency. And then, still "teach" viewers to enter PIN "0000" to access Auto Tuning menu after they changed frequency. doh.gif doh.gif
I wonder is it because RTM last minute realise that there is sudden drop in viewership on that day, so that's why they find it necessary for them to educate viewers now to retune their sets like this. Terrible.

Not yet finish. MYTV informs the public to retune their MYTV boxes 1 day after (2 April) the frequency being changed??? Wahh, they wait until the viewers goes wild and lost when RTM channels on digital TV goes No Signal, and then the public kept contacting MYTV customer service on the issue, be in on social media like Facebook or customer service hotline, then only want to inform the public to retune one day later? What the heck? Why this MYTV Broadcasting so smart one? furious.gif
https://facebook.com/mytvbroadcasting/posts/2390814057603770

Another problem now is many viewers out there seems that they couldn't get any signal from the second mux (Klang Valley: 698MHz). Some say is antenna issue, some say is the transmitter for the second mux is not as powerful as the first mux (Klang Valey: 666MHz). I wonder how MYTV would seriously address and provide clear detail explanation on this issue to the public and MYTV viewers.

It's good to see that RTM has all of its channels in HD now, but in terms of how it affects the viewers on the implementation is seriously considered badly managed by MYTV.
joshhd
post Apr 3 2019, 08:29 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Apr 3 2019, 01:02 PM)

Got a feeling MCMC wanna know how much of "free" decoders actually reach receipient and overall signal coverage...... whistling.gif
They want to get the public feedback on that, which is good in general la...
I hope MCMC can contact me to ask about digital TV stuff, cuz I got lots of things to talk to them. biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Apr 3 2019, 08:37 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Apr 3 2019, 02:03 PM)
then auto rescan, got 11 TV channels back, and 6 radio channels. thumbsup.gif

*no prompt to input password laugh.gif
QUOTE(birain @ Apr 3 2019, 02:09 PM)
yup, i also use auto tuning on my dad's free decoder which he receive on March 2019. icon_idea.gif

*official MYTV decoder

on your remote, click MENU>select channel>auto search - wait for it to finish searching and save> click EXIT when all done

*you don't need special digital antenna, your existing UHF rooftop antenna can already sufficient for MYTV reception, you just need to re-align if cannot get signal in your area.

->you need a map and compass to check your nearest transmission tower.
Ah, that reminds me that MYTV do have several variations of their STB models, which I believe it may be different hardware manufacturer, and the software UI are different too.

Since the model of the MYTV box you received does not require PIN to access to Auto Search menu, lucky you then... Maybe the one you use now is their newer/latest batch, that's why.
Perhaps they've known that PIN access is not necessary, so they tweak the firmware a bit on the newer batch.

I seriously hope MYTV to provide firmware update to the MYTV STB models that requires PIN access to frequency tuning settings, which is totally a "lebih" thing to implement, be in on USB firmware update, or OTA firmware update provided if the particular MYTV box model can even support OTA update dry.gif
joshhd
post Apr 5 2019, 11:09 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(birain @ Apr 5 2019, 10:59 AM)
you only need 666, 698 can keep it one side. icon_idea.gif

But on 698MHz, you have RTM HD Sports where you can watch some live sports events for free, such as badminton, football, etc.
That is provided if you have the interests in sports content la.

Best RTM channel now is RTM HD Sports, most boring channel is TV Okey, unless if you enjoy watching most of the Malay programmes or a hard core fan of RTM.
joshhd
post Apr 5 2019, 11:16 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(truelife @ Apr 5 2019, 11:11 AM)
Fresh from the oven? I complained to MYTV yesterday morning that MYTV should publish frequency information for all transmitters. MYTV acknowledged they overlook the problem and indicated that such information would be made available in their website and social media.
I can say that currently MUX 2 in KL area is transmitted at a lower power. Those using outdoor antenna will unlikely be affected. However, if you use a cheap indoor antenna, you will need to change it to a better type. I managed to receive all channels in MUX 2 only after I changed my rabbit-ears antenna to a better indoor antenna. Signal strength for MUX 1 80% vs MUX 2 60%.
What method did you use to complain them? Call customer service? Email? Or PM via MYTV Facebook page?

And how's their response on your enquiry when you complain to them? What questions they usually ask you beforehand? Such as, "are you using MYTV box" or something like that?
joshhd
post Apr 5 2019, 04:06 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(keyibukeyi @ Apr 5 2019, 02:10 PM)
which brand decoder bagus and relaible? ease of use?

If you ask this question to MYTV Broadcasting, they will recommend you to use their MYTV box. biggrin.gif
And if you ask them "why?", they'll say it is good and reliable, and certified by MCMC with the MCMC sticker on it.
joshhd
post Apr 6 2019, 12:00 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Apr 5 2019, 10:47 PM)
I checked the Mux 1 and Mux 2 levels with a DVB-T SDR module and PC in spectrum analyser mode and Mux 2 looks like a different modulation option, weaker RSSI too

What's the different modulation?
Shows us some detailed info... Just shows us what you found.

joshhd
post Apr 6 2019, 01:05 AM

7,800 posts

It will be great if MYTV would use this photo for their PSAs.

Open your eyes, don't be a victim.

"Don't wait until the analogue TV shuts down, and be a victim of only able to see nothing but static. Switch to digital TV now before it's too late."

What an effective PSA. rclxms.gif
The Ministry of Health use wrong photo for their PSA la... This one should use for MYTV.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Apr 6 2019, 02:26 PM
joshhd
post Apr 7 2019, 10:00 PM

7,800 posts

So little info on Mytv website:
1. All in BM only
This one I agree. They should provide all the info on how to switch to digital TV, in English, Chinese and Tamil languages.

2. No info on when transmission is on or off
You can't expect much from a crony company (during BN era) to operate a service like a world class level. Just like TM, both of them like brothers.
We all of us have to tone down our expectations from them, and see how MYTV treat viewers like beta testers on digital TV reception.
When any service interruption occurs, just relax, and read the comments on MYTV Broadcasting's Facebook page.

3. No info on areas which are covered or not covered.
http://www.mytvbroadcasting.my/liputan_siaran/
Select the State, then click Semak.
If the area is not listed, then it is likely that the area is not covered by DTT coverage, hence MYTV will use DTH satellite for the viewer, by issuing a satellite dish and hybrid MYTV box to the viewer.

4. No info on channels and freq (latest) to scan for updated areas or channels.
Cuz they know if they talk a lot about technical frequency stuff to the people, majority of then will be clueless, and ask this and that, so they prefer to keep things simple by just telling people to auto tuning/search on their DTT STBs or iDTVs, and teach them if that person doesn't know how to do it. That's all. Simple.
So what can I comment any further about this? Not every Malaysians is tech savvy. That's the thing.

5. No target date mentioned when transmission test will complete.
What transmission test are you referring to? If you see "SALURAN PERCUBAAN", that is RTM doing test channel, not MYTV.

6. No target date on analogue switch off.
Gobind announced that full ASO will be done by Q3 2019.

7. No advice on the type of tv to buy especially for those not tech savy. Some may be still replacing their old tv to non digital types. Is this on purpose to promote their STB?
They mentioned before in their website, look for TVs that supports DVB-T2, and that "DTTV Malaysia" sticker.
http://www.mytvbroadcasting.my/panduan_pemasangan/
That is pretty much good enough explanation already. Brand or model doesn't matter. As long the TV can supports DVB-T2, you're good to go.
I would say, all new TV models already has DVB-T2 built in, so don't need to worry about that.
But how to double check if the TV support DVB-T2? MYTV won't help you much on that, other than telling you to go check your TV's user manual.
Too confusing to understand? Just get a MYTV box, so that MYTV can earn money from it, and consumer can think less about whether their TV can support digital TV or not. That's their mentality.

It's like your luck if you can watch any of the digital channels.
Solutions are, adjust, replace, or relocate your antenna. Still can't? MYTV's satellite service.

MCMC and Minister, please give them some "advice" on how to improve.
MYTV read this forum topic no use one. I can just hope Gobind is reading this forum topic, then only you can expect them to improve.
joshhd
post Apr 8 2019, 11:21 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Apr 8 2019, 09:52 AM)

Well done dude.

Hmm... NTV7, 8TV, TV9, Bernama News Channel are in SD, not in HD.

I think Lyngsat listed it wrongly... Hope they correct it soon.
joshhd
post Apr 8 2019, 11:44 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Apr 8 2019, 11:38 AM)
Today the spectrum looks similar, but Mux2 is weaker.
There are much stronger signals around 692 MHz, maybe a radio microphone. This could interfere with Mux2 reception.

Sounds like you use some special equipment to detect the signal? How you know there is stronger signal around 692MHz?
Can show us some photos of your findings?
joshhd
post Apr 11 2019, 09:31 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ Apr 10 2019, 09:41 PM)
More likely to be co channel interference issues with Indonesian Analogue TV that cause NO reception on Malaysian DTT channels. Even with correct antenna alignments to Gunung Pulai (+Pelangi), there will be diffcultly receiving Malaysian DTT.

If like that, what are the solutions available?
joshhd
post Apr 11 2019, 09:50 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Apr 11 2019, 09:41 AM)
Alternative method by Iptv or DTH or wait long long for MYTV to improve.

Hey, wait... Does analogue broadcast interfere digital broadcast?

As long it doesn't clash with existing frequency, then no.
But it does make frequency planning complex or difficult if both analogue and digital TV exists, especially if there are many transmitters around.
joshhd
post Apr 14 2019, 12:54 AM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Apr 13 2019, 05:03 PM)
I built a loop antenna centred at 680MHz and placed it in a Window facing Bkt Sg Besi from Ampang. This gives me stable Mux1 and Mux2 even in heavy rain.

Can show us the photo on how it looks like? And how did you built it?
joshhd
post Apr 17 2019, 12:48 PM

7,800 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Apr 16 2019, 09:48 PM)
Anyone know which satellite MYTV use to uplink the broadcast for relay to whole M'sia transmitter or sub-station for broadcast nationwide ?

What I mean here is not DtH Ku-band@ Asiasat 122'E

According to insider info, MYTV uses ABS 2/2A satellite at 75 °E for satellite backhaul via C band. The main digital TV transmitters will use a big satellite dish (TVRO) to downlink from the satellite, and then relay to DTT.
I don't think relay towers also uses TVRO to get the channels via C band satellite. I think it'll just relay the signal from nearby main transmitter to provide coverage in blind spot areas.

Frequency and technical parameters are unknown, but also according to insider info, you need a gigantic 12 feet (3.65m diameter) satellite dish (mesh type) to receive adequate signal. And even if you can receive it, the channels are very likely to be encrypted, presumably it uses the same Irdeto encryption as the one on Asiasat 9 Ku band.

So, just give up your thoughts on attempts to receive MYTV signals via C band. biggrin.gif

27 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.2887sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:27 AM