27 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Bottom

Digital TV Station Malaysia, How do I tune to digital TV station?

joshhd
post Apr 17 2019, 12:58 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Apr 17 2019, 08:28 AM)
That's why, while many people are requesting for more channels and upgrading to HD quality, I only wish MYTV  could make sure the broadcast is as stable as possible.

Unifi which is always impacted by underground cable disruption because some constructions are carried out. TM will send sms to users about the excepted recovery date and time. In opposite case, MYTV always not make official announcement before the disruption or announce after the incident, which is too late and meaningless. I don't think MYTV doing its job seriously.
I don't think MYTV doing its job seriously.
Which part of MYTV you think that they ever do it very seriously?
In terms of their quality of service, it's terrible. I've already mentioned on my previous posts.

But for those who live in kampung and/or solely depend on DTT to watch TV, where all these years, the ppl there thinks that digital quality channels are a luxury and premium stuff and need to pay monthly subscription like Astro, but in reality, it is the country (during BN era) that progress so slowly and now they can enjoy it with no monthly subscription, you have no idea how thankful they are to see how clear is digital quality channels, till they forget that there are many complaints out there on not able to receive some or all channels, yet most of the viewers get advised to realign their antennas and equipment and stuff, customer service are not reliable, no public apologies being made for any sudden signal loss issues, and kept quiet as if nothing happen, pretty much like Najib la seriously.
joshhd
post Apr 17 2019, 12:58 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Apr 16 2019, 08:36 AM)
Wow.. Simple and clear explanation.
But Analogue isn't switch off due to some technical problems, so MYTV is still not paid. Where is the private money comes from? And why would some private companies (I assume) keen to fund MYTV to implement Malaysia DTT project? Obviously, it isn't a small money.  I remember MYTV owes TM too by renting transmission towers.

The answer is:
Puncak Semangat Sdn Bhd — controlled by billionaire businessman Tan Sri Syed Mokhtar Albukhary.
https://www.theedgemarkets.com/article/stum...nal-dtt-rollout

How come financial issues? Because they eventually sees that this DTT project, is like a money losing business to them.

This post has been edited by joshhd: Apr 17 2019, 01:03 PM
joshhd
post Apr 18 2019, 02:38 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Apr 17 2019, 07:36 PM)
Many older condos have cable distribution systems intended for the old VHF channels only. VHF band 1 switched off many years ago (RTM1). The cheap coax they used can just about handle TV7, but is too lossy at the high channels MyTV has to use until analog switch off

I would advise you to get an indoor UHF antenna and get it done, instead of waiting the condo management to upgrade its MATV system that can supports digital TV DVB-T2, which likely that it'll not happen, unless they put a notice that they plan to do so, with an estimated timeframe.
joshhd
post Apr 19 2019, 01:48 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Apr 19 2019, 10:22 AM)
I have lost my hope on MYTV. It's a big mistake for government to assign DTTV project to this hopeless company. Not only you have this issue, it happens to me in Sibu, Sarawak. I installed UHF antenna on roof top and direct it to transmission tower. I only able to scan 5 TV channels TV1, TV2,  TV OKEY, RTM HD sports and BES and 5/6 radios (I couldn't recall). Tv channels are almost not watchable as signal is not constant, from zero to 90% and instantly drop back to zero again, keeps showing no signal. For radio channels, it wasn't smooth streaming as well but better than TV channels. Yet, MYTV keep advertising its 'awesome' channels on the official Facebook which makes me almost vomit.

Are you using RG-6 coaxial cabling from your rooftop antenna to your TV?
At least you can still get Mux 1 but can't get Mux 2, what you can do is pretty much to invest longer UHF antennas (more elements ones, like 21-E or 37-E), or install a masthead amplifier (although it is not so recommended at some point).
Or else, if the DTT reception is still that bad, get yourself the DTH version of MYTV.

And, you're from Sarawak? I suggest you to install 6 feet satellite dish and watch TV channels from C band satellites instead. biggrin.gif
Malaysian FTA TV channels is boring lah. But if you enjoy watching it, then it's your choice la.
joshhd
post Apr 19 2019, 01:51 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Apr 19 2019, 12:13 PM)
I am not putting high hope in MYTV. As you live in Sarawak, I think you may use C-band to view overseas TV.

As I live quite near border between northern Malaysia and Thailand, Most resident here especially Chinese hooked to Thai DVB-T2 very much. Football match relay from beIn channel and available in Thai and English every weekend via PPTV HD, Thai TV3 on air Chinese  Taiwanese soap opera / series, available in Dual Audio too; BBTV 7 play Western movies available in Dual Language selection too.

I lost hope for MYTV a few years ago and I bet they will never do their best in even in the next five years.

Which part of northern Malaysia? Penang or Kelantan?
Is the Thai DTT frequencies the same across Langkawi all the way to Kelantan? Or receiving Thai DTT channels in Penang and Kelatan, both has different frequencies?

Is it easy to receive Thai DTT channels? How's the signal reception?

Can you list out what are the frequencies they use, and each mux has what channels.
Thanks a lot.
joshhd
post Apr 19 2019, 01:52 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(dayojah @ Apr 19 2019, 12:35 PM)
I am expecting that MyTV will "fail" and get taken over by TM. The creditors will take a painful haircut.

I hope to see the government would reopen tender again for the DTT infrastructure and stuff.
Just kick MYTV Broadcasting to the grave.
joshhd
post Apr 19 2019, 08:45 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Apr 19 2019, 04:27 PM)
Changlun

Thanks for the photo.

So this range of Thai DTT frequencies are the same, all the way from Penang to Kelantan, right?
joshhd
post Apr 22 2019, 01:00 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Wobblyblob @ Apr 21 2019, 10:44 PM)
I don't know how MYTV Myfreeview is going to handle the analog swith off in June or July this year.

Already missed RTM HD Sports 5 days in a row.

They better do something about it fast or Malaysia's analog switch off will be a failure.

Compare that with Thai DVB-T2, Thailand has better programs, more channels (dozens of channels) and reliable stable broadcast.

Compare that with UK Digital Terrestrial Broadcast, U.K. has even better Red
Button/Teletext function with Stock Market Info and Board Index, Travel Information, Traffic Information, Horoscope, Jokes and Riddles etc. Some even have Teletext/Interactive functions or channels that have games.

Gobind announce that full analogue shutdown will be done on Sept this year.
They better do something about it fast
From what I see, MYTV don't care also.
joshhd
post Apr 29 2019, 11:51 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Apr 29 2019, 08:55 PM)
(take this with a grain of salt)

Supposedly Northern area will get analogue signal switchoff early next month.

Really?
I would rather they switch off all analogue TV signals at border areas first, especially in Johor Bahru area, free up some frequencies and use the empty frequencies for Malaysia's digital TV, instead of overlapping with Indonesia's.

Why? Because majority people in Johor Bahru, they would rather watch Singapore channels rather than Malaysia's. And the people there can receive Singapore DTT channels much easier than Malaysia's, or in some cases, can't even receive Malaysia DTT channels and can only receive Singapore channels in Johor Bahru.

What a shame. doh.gif
joshhd
post Apr 30 2019, 12:20 AM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(nag @ Apr 30 2019, 12:10 AM)
Mono29, one of channels in Thai DVB-T2 platform is airing Scorpion s4 e5~6 now (30-Apr-2019, 12:13 am) with dual sound (Thai / English)  channel, watching it now.

Those who have C-band or IPM Ku-band able to watch this channel too.

That's when you realise other country's FTA TV channels is better than our own country, you won't bother much on the FTA TV channels from your own country anymore. biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Apr 30 2019, 04:15 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(smileguy @ Apr 30 2019, 08:39 AM)
all mediacorp channels gone bangwall.gif  cry.gif

What you mean? Something wrong with your antenna is it?
joshhd
post Apr 30 2019, 09:06 PM

7,799 posts

Deputy minister says 1.6 million MYTV decoders distributed

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/201...ributed/1748463
joshhd
post Apr 30 2019, 09:49 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Apr 30 2019, 09:32 PM)
Which means 1.6 million users are watching poor quality of DVB-T2 by MYTV.

What makes you think all 1.6 millions are even watching?
I bet majority of them keep their MYTV box in the store room.
joshhd
post Apr 30 2019, 11:12 PM

7,799 posts

It seems that some participants who eligible for free MYTV STB under BSH, they received this notice letter just like that without given directly to the owner.
*Photo credit to Farid (Facebook user)

MYTV be like, "Instead of we give you the MYTV box straightaway, and we need to entertain you by explain this and that, better just put this letter into your letterbox and wait till you call me to install it for you." biggrin.gif
joshhd
post May 1 2019, 06:25 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(shaun_kok @ May 1 2019, 03:54 AM)
Channel U (on 570MHz/Ch 33) has now taken over Okto's (which has been newly ceased transmission) HD slot. Similarly, okto (ceased) has taken over Channel U's SD slot as it is a waste to use HD for 2 information slides after ceased transmission. Expecting notices/warnings and screen shrink done (or just straight info screen) on Channel U on 586MHz really soon.

So basically is:

Before 1 May:
570MHz: Channel NewsAsia (HD), Channel U (SD), okto (HD)
586MHz: Channel U (HD)

From 1 May 2019:
570MHz: Channel NewsAsia (HD), Channel U (HD), okto (Ceased, showing closure info in SD)
586MHz: Channel U (HD - Now simulcast on 570MHz, and Channel U on this frequency will cease soon)

Am I correct?
joshhd
post May 2 2019, 07:58 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ May 2 2019, 07:54 PM)
my njoi box died after a year. thank god there's DVB-T2 now  :thumbsup:

What happened?
joshhd
post May 3 2019, 09:43 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(YoungMan @ May 3 2019, 08:07 PM)
Not sure if anyone have read this. So here you go.
https://www.theborneopost.com/2019/05/03/po...anted-decoders/

Thank you for sharing this man. I can see that the post offices employees felt so frustrated on too many "unclaimed parcel".

“Like others, my longhouse folk don’t even bother to collect them because they are meaningless,” complained a headman from Kaki Pelagus, Batang Rajang, who refused to be named.
DAMN, these words are so much burn devil.gif devil.gif
joshhd
post May 3 2019, 10:30 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ May 3 2019, 10:10 PM)
Hope Kapit Post Office would lelong the decoder RM10 each, I'll take10 boxes.

You want 10 MYTV boxes for what? Resell ah?
It is clearly stated on the box that it is "Not for Sale".
joshhd
post May 5 2019, 11:54 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ May 5 2019, 02:05 PM)
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019...nes-tv-antenna/
I wonder how would this affect users who don’t use MYTV decoders..... specifically users who brought their DVB-T2 box from Lazada, shopee, etc
Buyers should check properly on what frequencies that the particular device may emit before buying. If the digital TV box used is not certified ones, although it is cheaper, but it does carry the possibility of interfering other, telecommunication equipment or signals that is irrelevant from the equipment.
But then yes, I do think that most of the time the uncertified devices won't interfere other nearby devices, but that doesn't mean confirm 100% will not, especially cheap, cap ayam, poor quality, clone/counterfeit product.

That is the risk that you should aware and acknowledge, when you buy devices that are not certified by MCMC (devices that does not have MCMC sticker on it).
joshhd
post May 5 2019, 11:57 PM

7,799 posts

QUOTE(yongtjunkit @ May 5 2019, 06:08 PM)
Wait they can encrypt the signal...... that’s going to be very expensive with their decoders, almost RM 200 for their decoder

What about tv that has built in dvb t2?

All MYTV boxes (except the very beginning MYTV test boxes, white colour ones) does support Irdeto encryption, which requires smart card to decrypt the encrypted channels.

Meaning, MYTV can encrypt digital TV channels, forcing viewers to use only MYTV boxes to watch the channels. IDTV (intergrated digital TV) sets, or TV with built-in DVB-T2, will not able to watch those encrypted channels and forced to use only STB from MYTV to watch the encrypted channels. Pretty much like Astro/Njoi la...

Retail price for MYTV box is RM187 on Shopee, and yes, it is almost RM200 like you said. That box can support/decrypt encrypted channels.

27 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.2492sec    0.84    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 02:57 PM