71 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Bottom

Renovation Extreme Work In Progress, Sharing my house renovation journey.

kamion
post Oct 14 2011, 10:34 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 13 2011, 06:57 PM)
The contract maybe using a thicker and longer hinge that look like the old hinge. Mine replace with a 1' length install in the left and right pillar.
I don't know what it looks like. I think the contractor just re-used the old hinge that was there. I only moved one pillar, the other pillar still the same pillar as before.

QUOTE(tiensong @ Oct 14 2011, 10:11 AM)
It's good...because I saw your house door and gate also don't have....

The thief broke into my house around 6-8 times during my renovation period...they stole the steel metal or any other things that can be sold...even my wire also been cut once...nightmare gone...plan to move in during school holiday.....hopefully...
Yikes! mad.gif Really nightmare! sad.gif Thank God nothing was stolen from my place, even though had no door or windows for quite a long time. Finally I have a front door now.
ssshk
post Oct 14 2011, 10:41 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Oct 14 2011, 10:11 AM)
It's good...because I saw your house door and gate also don't have....

The thief broke into my house around 6-8 times during my renovation period...they stole the steel metal or any other things that can be sold...even my wire also been cut once...nightmare gone...plan to move in during school holiday.....hopefully...
sorry to hear that. mst have cost u a lot of money to buy back the materials.
tiensong
post Oct 14 2011, 11:12 AM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(ssshk @ Oct 14 2011, 10:41 AM)
sorry to hear that. mst have cost u a lot of money to buy back the materials.
Not my things..all things stolen are contractor materials or working tools...

But during the period, I feel worried all the time...even during holidays, I also will always thinking about my house...
ozak
post Oct 14 2011, 11:59 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Oct 14 2011, 11:12 AM)
Not my things..all things stolen are contractor materials or working tools...

But during the period, I feel worried all the time...even during holidays, I also will always thinking about my house...
New taman, new house? Why the developer no hire security guard?
tiensong
post Oct 14 2011, 12:07 PM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 14 2011, 11:59 AM)
New taman, new house? Why the developer no hire security guard?
OLD taman and old house...

not everybody manage to buy new house at new taman...

I am a poor guy....

ozak
post Oct 14 2011, 12:12 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(tiensong @ Oct 14 2011, 12:07 PM)
OLD taman and old house...

not everybody manage to buy new house at new taman...

I am a poor guy....
Most of this case happen in new taman. Which still not much ppl stay and easy target.
scouser7
post Oct 14 2011, 12:17 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 12 2011, 10:44 AM)
Piping and Wiring -> Plaster -> Wall tiles -> Plaster ceiling -> Floor water proofing -> Floor tiles
Great advise. Thank all you for ya input rclxms.gif notworthy.gif
tiensong
post Oct 14 2011, 12:19 PM

2,237 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Oct 14 2011, 12:12 PM)
Most of this case happen in new taman. Which still not much ppl stay and easy target.
Initially I also think that...but after several break into my house, i believe small thief like to target renovating house to steal the materials to sell....

coconutzz
post Oct 18 2011, 08:33 AM

1,109 posts

Bro are u replacing the parquets in the rooms?
TSphoenix69
post Oct 18 2011, 10:27 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Oct 18 2011, 08:33 AM)
Bro are u replacing the parquets in the rooms?
Yup plan to use laminated floorboards. Cheap tongue.gif
coconutzz
post Oct 18 2011, 10:41 PM

1,109 posts

R cheap boards cheaper than tiles?
TSphoenix69
post Oct 19 2011, 08:56 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Oct 18 2011, 10:41 PM)
R cheap boards cheaper than tiles?
Generally Around the same.
Of course it depends on the grade tiles vs the grade of laminated floorboards.
So far laminated flooring can cost from RM3.50/sq feet (boards only) to RM10/sq feet.
Tiles can cost from RM4.00/sq feet to RM10.00/sq feet

Installation cost is another matter wink.gif
Not actually gotten quotation yet but I think tiles installation are pricier.

weikee
post Oct 19 2011, 11:07 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Oct 19 2011, 08:56 AM)
Generally Around the same.
Of course it depends on the grade tiles vs the grade of laminated floorboards.
So far laminated flooring can cost from RM3.50/sq feet (boards only) to RM10/sq feet.
Tiles can cost from RM4.00/sq feet to RM10.00/sq feet

Installation cost is another matter wink.gif
Not actually gotten quotation yet but I think tiles installation are pricier.
You need to add in floor leveling. Laminated required good flat base.
scouser7
post Oct 26 2011, 10:12 PM

233 posts

Could any sifu's please here tell me if the quote i got below is reasonable, cheap, or parang? hmm.gif

1. Floor & Porch Tiling using 2ft X 2ft tiles 2728sq ft X RM7.50 psf RM 21,800.00
or, RM4.50 just for materials + labour n without tiles
2. Toilet Tiling 12” X 12” tiles X 2 toilet RM 2,400.00
3. Kitchen top & Wall Tiling 12” X 12” tiles RM 2,000.00
4. Plaster Ceiling for entire house 2728 sq ft @ RM3.50 psf
(Not including corniche) RM 9,500.00

5. Drains along house (about 80 feet) RM 1,500.00
7. Painting entire house RM 3,500.00

Thanks in advance.

eclipse-space
post Oct 26 2011, 10:28 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Oct 26 2011, 10:12 PM)
Could any sifu's please here tell me if the quote i got below is reasonable, cheap, or parang?  hmm.gif

1. Floor & Porch  Tiling using 2ft X 2ft tiles 2728sq ft X RM7.50 psf  RM 21,800.00
2. Toilet Tiling 12” X 12” tiles X 2 toilet                    RM  2,400.00
3. Kitchen top & Wall Tiling 12” X 12” tiles      RM  2,000.00
(Not including corniche)                                    RM  9,500.00

5. Drains along house (about 80 feet)      RM  1,500.00
7. Painting entire house                              RM  3,500.00

Thanks in advance.
should insist on FIXED pricing ie rm4.50 psf for tiling.

watch out for hacking prices as well.

painting - does it include plastering and/or skim coating?

otherwise reasonable
scouser7
post Oct 26 2011, 11:03 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(eclipse-space @ Oct 26 2011, 10:28 PM)
should insist on FIXED pricing ie rm4.50 psf for tiling.

watch out for hacking prices as well.

painting - does it include plastering and/or skim coating?
otherwise reasonable
Thanks for ya reply.

When you said FIXED pricing, do you mean RM4.50 for whole house tiling work but i buy the tiles?
Did not discuss hacking price with contractor but will ask him. Anyway, the tilers are chinese.
Pint works includes removing old paint, small touch ups and skim coating as well.

weikee
post Oct 27 2011, 12:18 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Oct 26 2011, 10:12 PM)
Could any sifu's please here tell me if the quote i got below is reasonable, cheap, or parang?  hmm.gif

1. Floor & Porch  Tiling using 2ft X 2ft tiles 2728sq ft X RM7.50 psf  RM 21,800.00
2. Toilet Tiling 12” X 12” tiles X 2 toilet                    RM  2,400.00
3. Kitchen top & Wall Tiling 12” X 12” tiles      RM  2,000.00
(Not including corniche)                                    RM  9,500.00

5. Drains along house (about 80 feet)      RM  1,500.00
7. Painting entire house                              RM  3,500.00

Thanks in advance.
Plaster ceiling price is on the high side.

peterbrutus
post Oct 27 2011, 01:05 AM

528 posts

Hi, mind if I ask what kind of windows are u using? Is it normal casement and which brand? Normal glass or tempered glass? Tinted?

Do you plan to put grille?
scouser7
post Oct 27 2011, 10:54 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 27 2011, 12:18 AM)
Plaster ceiling price is on the high side.
Thanks for ya reply.
Thats what I thoght about the plaster ceiling as well. But contractor said that its more expensive coz need longer metal support since my ceiling and roof is a big distance. Are you able to recommend a plaster ceiling guy? What should the rate be?

Thanks in advance.
TSphoenix69
post Oct 27 2011, 12:15 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(peterbrutus @ Oct 27 2011, 01:05 AM)
Hi, mind if I ask what kind of windows are u using? Is it normal casement and which brand? Normal glass or tempered glass? Tinted?

Do you plan to put grille?
Normal casement windows. No brand lah.. Normal green glass.. no tinting. tongue.gif
Just that I insisted on 1.2mm thick aluminum.
The branded ones usually give 1.3mm and above.
Grille. Yup... with Angle bars .

Added on October 27, 2011, 12:16 pm
QUOTE(scouser7 @ Oct 27 2011, 10:54 AM)
Thanks for ya reply.
Thats what I thoght about the plaster ceiling as well. But contractor said that its more expensive coz need longer metal support since my ceiling and roof is a big distance. Are you able to recommend a plaster ceiling guy? What should the rate be?

Thanks in advance.
Care to explain about this metal support thing??

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Oct 27 2011, 12:18 PM

71 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0270sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:38 PM