127 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V18, Super AMOLED Screen with Gorilla Glass!

lightning69
post Jun 12 2011, 07:56 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(reehdus @ Jun 12 2011, 07:30 PM)
I've had an Ipod and I currently have an SGS. I've used ITunes on the Ipod and Itunes to sync music to my SGS as well. I've also used winamp to wirelessly sync music to my android device. I know you can't sync music wirelessly over ITunes...unless they've changed that. My opinion is that everyone is entitled to their own opinion. We had this exact same discussion about Apple vs Android tens of pages ago started by the same guy who started this argument again. Can't we just agree to disagree and continue discussing more productive stuff? Like how we helped darkz88 solve his flashing problem? Btw lightning69, hows ur GPS issue?
I don't wanna try it now cos I don't have 3G or wifi connection where I am now. Will wait till get back home to try my GPS again. So far my SGS is behaving like it should be without crash or hang. Just the Cell Standby that happens every time I flash new GB roms.

CrossX
post Jun 12 2011, 08:00 PM

726 posts

well said, and i get ur point at least u made urself clear

[quote=lightning69,Jun 12 2011, 07:07 PM]
Very well said kfc. I am not trying to create any rift here. I use both system. I just think some comments here sounds like apple is shit while androd is best.

[/quote]

oh dear, do look around, we never said how shit is apple

what we are saying are our own opinion against apple, personally i have no grudge against apple and i would agree with kfc that they made a really great invention that created a unified environment for both users and developers

but do remember, this is a android thread where we are supposed to talk about android and also SGS

i'm not some senior member or anything but do respect other members of the thread here, if u have a complain u can do it elsewhere...
glorifying iOS and i-products here does nothing but invite more arguements u must have realize that

yesterday if i'm not mistaken, a forum member made a thread and copy-paste an article commenting on how android users are? but did he stop and think for a while what he did?
imagine when ur pooping and in the middle of ur business ur mum banged the door open and said ur poop smells (bad example but thats how bad it is)
the worst thing is, he left by saying we android users went fanatic and just ran without a word... what kind of ppl does that? if the comment u said is strong, stand there dun run...

I use apple before and i'm amazed at most of the features of iphone except for facetime, itunes, bluetooth, etc
Both phones have their pros and cons, each user choose their own phones themselves... if u dont like ur current phone u can trade it in for an iphone its as easy as that

Remember this, ppl come into this thread to find out more info and get help or make friends with fellow SGS users, not to argue, fight, and to talk about others or complaining how bad it is.
So do respect others, if u cant do that, i believe there's more to come

kmrdeva
post Jun 12 2011, 08:03 PM

4,776 posts

Wow, so many pages on iOS vs Android. Personally, I don't care whether iOS or Android is the best sh1t in the universe. I bought my SGS because:

01. I did not want to be tied to a PC-based sync/backup software because I use both Windows and Linux
02. I wanted a pure multitasking OS that will allow me to manage my apps as I see fit, you know, like how I can control stuff on the PC
03. I wanted to be able to either buy or donate for apps as I want and not be stuck to a single app repository
04. I needed a big and sharp display for my aging eyes, and capacitive touch for smoother UI navigation
05. I want to be able to change any aspect of the OS as I like, e.g. keyboard, launcher, kernel, firmware and not just the wallpaper and colour scheme
06. I needed access to Twitter, Facebook, GMail, GTalk, WhatsApp and a few other core apps
07. I didn't want to install 500,000 apps on my device and only pay for 10 of them, piracy is a big no-no for me (I do try warez for a few days, especially for expensive apps, then I buy or uninstall once I've decided)
08. I need direct FTP (wifi) or USB mass storage access to the filesystem of my device, something I have had since I started using smartphones many years back
09. I did not need a seamless user experience as dictated by the hardware manufacturer or the platform maker. I can figure things out by myself, thank you very much
10. I wanted to contribute and be a part of the Open Source community, like how I have adopted Linux @ home
11. No video or audio format conversion for me, I want native codec support. Don't have a 20-core machine at home for format conversion/transcoding/encoding

No prizes for guessing which platform I chose.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by kmrdeva: Jun 12 2011, 08:07 PM
ic3joker
post Jun 12 2011, 08:03 PM

328 posts

the conclusion is, choose whatever device that suit yourself. android and apple both have their pros and cons.

Edit: there are still plenty of mobile OS out there, why just compare android and ios?

This post has been edited by ic3joker: Jun 12 2011, 08:08 PM
TSgmhafiz
post Jun 12 2011, 08:06 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(pikachu01 @ Jun 12 2011, 03:56 PM)
Mount doesn't need su right?
Odd, I just checked and you are correct. No need su for mount command on cm7. In desktop linux, mount command needs root access.

Added on June 12, 2011, 8:12 pmI grew tired of xda-dev development forum. most of the posts are filled with trolls, talking about something else, belittling newbies, newbies not reading first post resulting in questions being asked repeatedly, sometimes asking a questions that has been answered few posts back on the same page!

I do not have time to go through all the posts.

i like going in here because the community is very nice and sticked to the topic. sometimes misinformation happens, so please educate yourself and do not be blind fandroids and apple fanbois.

This post has been edited by gmhafiz: Jun 12 2011, 08:12 PM
Bap3
post Jun 12 2011, 08:21 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 12 2011, 07:56 PM)
I don't wanna try it now cos I don't have 3G or wifi connection where I am now.  Will wait till  get back home to try my GPS again.  So far my SGS is behaving like it should be without crash or hang.  Just the Cell Standby that happens every time I flash new GB roms.
lightning69,

cell standby is normal of being high because it is a cell radio services...mine is 23% in

in GB the main culprit of battery sucking is Android OS...2.3.4 GB seemed to solve it...

GB release consist of GPS fix...so i believed your is well perform as it is..here how to check whether you gps is working or not

1) go to market and download GPS test app (free)
2) go to settings > location and security > tick gps sattelites and tick sensor aiding, do not tick use wireless networks(this use data)
3) open gps test app and take note gps locking time, it will take some time for the first try..

hope this will help you....cheerss

Added on June 12, 2011, 8:21 pm
QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 12 2011, 07:56 PM)
I don't wanna try it now cos I don't have 3G or wifi connection where I am now.  Will wait till  get back home to try my GPS again.  So far my SGS is behaving like it should be without crash or hang.  Just the Cell Standby that happens every time I flash new GB roms.
lightning69,

cell standby is normal of being high because it is a cell radio services...mine is 23% in

in GB the main culprit of battery sucking is Android OS...2.3.4 GB seemed to solve it...

GB release consist of GPS fix...so i believed your is well perform as it is..here how to check whether you gps is working or not

2) go to settings > location and security > tick gps sattelites and tick sensor aiding, do not tick use wireless networks(this use data)
3) open gps test app and take note gps locking time, it will take some time for the first try..

This post has been edited by Bap3: Jun 12 2011, 08:21 PM
lightning69
post Jun 12 2011, 08:43 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Jun 12 2011, 08:21 PM)
lightning69,

Added on June 12, 2011, 8:21 pm

lightning69,

Cell Standby is not ok. I went to sleep with 50% battery and wake up 7 hrs later with flat battery. And this is with Airplane mode turn on so cell radio is off. On normal day, I only use like 1% battery when I sleep.

So far I never experience Andriod OS bug but Cell Standby is my main problem.

I cannot go to Android Market because I don't have 3G and Wifi where I am now. That lead to another disappoint thing about Android is that it cannot support Adhoc connection. I have try wpa supplicant but only cannot get pass getting the ip address. I only have wired connection to my laptop so I really need Adhoc to get my SGS on the net.

Those setting you recommended is what I did but still no go for Papago.

Thanks for your help.
Bap3
post Jun 12 2011, 08:46 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 12 2011, 08:43 PM)
Cell Standby is not ok.  I went to sleep with 50% battery and wake up 7 hrs later with flat battery.  And this is with Airplane mode turn on so cell radio is off.  On normal day, I only use like 1% battery when I sleep.

So far I never experience Andriod OS bug but Cell Standby is my main problem.

I cannot go to Android Market because I don't have 3G and Wifi where I am now.  That lead to another disappoint thing about Android is that it cannot support Adhoc connection.  I have try wpa supplicant but only cannot get pass getting the ip address.  I only have wired connection to my laptop so I really need Adhoc to get my SGS on the net.

Those setting you recommended is what I did but still no go for Papago.
Thanks for your help.
mine telling me what os did you use for your laptop?..windows 7?
TSgmhafiz
post Jun 12 2011, 08:52 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Jun 12 2011, 06:16 PM)
mine telling me what os did you use for your laptop?..windows 7?
windows 7 has a feature that lets it act as a wifi access point. You can connect your phone to your laptop by wifi.
lightning69
post Jun 12 2011, 08:52 PM

2,298 posts

Yes...Win7 64 bit.

Added on June 12, 2011, 9:00 pm
QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jun 12 2011, 08:52 PM)
windows 7 has a feature that lets it act as a wifi access point. You can connect your phone to your laptop by wifi.
Yes..that is Adhoc connection and Android cannot support adhoc connections. That is disappointing because sometimes I am in a hotel where I have wired connections but cannot share with android devices.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Jun 12 2011, 09:03 PM
casper1
post Jun 12 2011, 09:04 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jun 12 2011, 05:53 PM)
I can go to the Pavilion too but they don't lock me in.
- sgstools: open it > apply script > click mount_system_rw.q.txt
- not familiar with cf-root

- to check if /system folder is mounted rw, use Terminal Emulator app, open it, type
CODE

$ su  
# mount

If it is rw at the same line with /system, then it is writable.
Thank you very much, it works now!!!
Bap3
post Jun 12 2011, 09:04 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 12 2011, 08:52 PM)
Yes...Win7 64 bit.

Yes..that is Adhoc connection and Android cannot support adhoc connections.
lightning,

google for connectify ...download for free and install it...it's a simple step for making your laptop as AP...

i using it for quite some time now and have no problem connecting my sgs to my laptop...

but i'm using win7 32bit...i'm not sure whether 64bit is available..
TSgmhafiz
post Jun 12 2011, 09:17 PM

Arch
1,022 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 12 2011, 06:22 PM)
Yes...Win7 64 bit.

Yes..that is Adhoc connection and Android cannot support adhoc connections.  That is disappointing because sometimes I am in a hotel where I have wired connections but cannot share with android devices.
Ic. I guess we need a compatible hardware to make mobile wifi hotspot possible like all post-froyo phones.

Bap3
post Jun 12 2011, 09:21 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jun 12 2011, 09:17 PM)
Ic. I guess we need a compatible hardware to make mobile wifi hotspot possible like all post-froyo phones.
i'm using connectify in my laptop..making my laptop a hotspot...i'm using it with my sgs from froyo until gingerbread..no problem...with no hassle.

yujin86

1,736 posts

i am on jv9 with fuguroot but seems like i cant record video... anyone know wads the problem?
BuFung

8,407 posts

somebody tried the modifying KIES register method to download ROM here?

work for KIES 2.0???

lch78
post Jun 12 2011, 09:26 PM

b.e.y.o.n.d.r.e.a.l.m.s
2,114 posts

Wow, what a long debate!

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 12 2011, 09:52 PM)
Yes...Win7 64 bit.

Yes..that is Adhoc connection and Android cannot support adhoc connections.  That is disappointing because sometimes I am in a hotel where I have wired connections but cannot share with android devices.
I face the same problem. Therefore, I bought a mini wireless modem whenever I check into hotel these days.
Bap3
post Jun 12 2011, 09:31 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 12 2011, 09:26 PM)
Wow, what a long debate!
I face the same problem. Therefore, I bought a mini wireless modem whenever I check into hotel these days.
try connectify...works on win7 only

Added on June 12, 2011, 9:31 pm
QUOTE(lch78 @ Jun 12 2011, 09:26 PM)
Wow, what a long debate!
try connectify...works on win7 only

This post has been edited by Bap3: Jun 12 2011, 09:31 PM
lightning69
post Jun 12 2011, 09:33 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Jun 12 2011, 09:21 PM)
i'm using connectify in my laptop..making my laptop a hotspot...i'm using it with my sgs from froyo until gingerbread..no problem...with no hassle.
THANKS A MILLION Bap3. It works.
Bap3
post Jun 12 2011, 09:36 PM

422 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 12 2011, 09:33 PM)
THANKS A MILLION Bap3.  It works.
welcome lightning...glad i can help people in here...hope i can contribute more.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

sharing is caring...cheersss!!!

127 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0165sec    0.70    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 08:32 PM