6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V18, Super AMOLED Screen with Gorilla Glass!

lightning69
post Jun 8 2011, 11:05 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Jun 8 2011, 10:37 AM)
after flashed, just change the product code to XME, and use titanium to remove whatever thai thingy inside will do
Errr...how to change product code?
lightning69
post Jun 8 2011, 11:25 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(isaaclimhw @ Jun 8 2011, 11:10 AM)
*#272*YOUR IMEI#
lightning69
post Jun 8 2011, 12:21 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(isaaclimhw @ Jun 8 2011, 11:10 AM)
*#272*YOUR IMEI#
I try to change my product code to XME but cannot. It won't let me input. So I try copy and paste in but cannot install and then crash.

lightning69
post Jun 8 2011, 05:40 PM

2,298 posts

I am trying to add this to my sgs...

1) Home -> Menu -> Settings -> Wireless & networks -> Mobile networks -> Access Points Name
2) Menu -> New APN
Name: Celcom3G MMS Combo
APN: celcom3g
Proxy: Not Set
Port: Not Set
Username: Not Set
Password: Not Set
Server: Not Set
MMSC: http://mms.celcom.net.my
MMS proxy: 10.128.1.242
MMS port: 8080
MCC: 502
MNC: 19
Authentication: Not Set
APN Type: Internet + MMS
Thanks to uan for the update

However when I go to my Access Point Names, I see a "Celcom" and another "Celcom MSS" APN there already. So I was trying to set up a celcom3g and mms combo base on the setting on the first page, but everytime I try to save it, it would just bring me back to the APN page without saving it.

The MNC base on the default is 13 and when I wan to change it to 19, it won't let me save.

Anyone can help here?

Added on June 8, 2011, 5:45 pm
QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 8 2011, 05:17 PM)
could explain the step you take to change your product code?
i did it this about last week using gingerbread and its all good
CHANGING PRODUCT CODE WILL FACTORY RESET/WIPE YOUR PHONE, I REPEAT, WILL FACTORY RESET/WIPE YOUR PHONE

the correct step should be:

1.    check if the CSC you flash to the phone have XME code or not. to check *#272*IMEI# , there should be a box on top showing current product code and a list of available product code below
      A. if no go to step 2, and you need to have root explorer or any other apps that explore the system folder
      B. if yes go to step 5

2.    download XME from here, and extract the .zip

3.    MAKE SURE THE FOLDER STRUCTURE THAT YOU JUST EXTRACT IS LIKE THIS XME/system/... NOT like this XME/XME/system/...

4.    copy the XME FOLDER, yes the folder, not the content of the folder, copy the XME folder to system/csc

5.    dial *#272*IMEI#  , you should see a box on top showing current product code of your phone, and a list of available product code below it, beside each of the code is a round box, press it and it will be green, then press install.

that it...

Added on June 8, 2011, 5:18 pm

dont use this on gingerbread, it will make it worse
Can I just leave the product code as it is? What are the benefits to change it?

This post has been edited by lightning69: Jun 8 2011, 05:45 PM
lightning69
post Jun 9 2011, 09:48 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 8 2011, 06:36 PM)
1. the benefit of changing CSC to our country is you dont need  to add any APN manually. if you insert a DiGi sim card, it will automaticly detect it is digi, and poof, you can see digi APN automaticly in the APN list. that all the advantage of CSC

2. you have problem on saving APN, check if you got any APN widget that could mess with APN such as APN on/off ,APNdroid, extended widget, 3gwatcher, try uninstall those thing first , then try to add again.
Thanks a lot man.

Added on June 9, 2011, 9:52 am
QUOTE(silentser @ Jun 8 2011, 11:17 PM)
who here use DarkCore kernel? i getting to like DarkCore.....
I am Dark Core 2.4 now. Try 2.5 but it mess up the front cam in Darky V10.1

This post has been edited by lightning69: Jun 9 2011, 09:52 AM
lightning69
post Jun 9 2011, 10:06 AM

2,298 posts

The stupid Cell Standby bug hits again last night. Before I go to bed I have 48% bat left and this morning I woke up the phone bat is dead already. What the f*@K did the SGS consume almost 50% bat in less a few hrs in Airplane mode without any warning. Luckily I have a backup alarm or I will be late again. Damn!!!

So my opinion is GB is not ready for primetime at all. Its got OS bug and also Cell Standby battery drain and who knows what else.

I have pretty much enough with this phone already. Its so broken! GPS is broken. Software is broken. Why do i have to be on the watchout all the time for all those battery drain? For no f8@king reason the phone might eat up all your battery and the next thing you realise is you're out of juice! Or I could rely on it to wake me up in the morning only to find you the phone is already dead with no battery left.

Its just so much hustle to use the SGS. No peace of mind.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Jun 9 2011, 10:09 AM
lightning69
post Jun 9 2011, 10:42 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Jun 9 2011, 10:26 AM)
hmm, by any chance it could be Darky rom's bug? cause i'm using juwe smart, i do have the cell standby as highest battery usage, but i don't face the battery drain problem.

maybe give official rom a try?
I did try Juwe before I switch to Darky V10.2. In fact the reason I ditch Juwe is because of the same Cell Standby battery drain i got. So it has to be the GB rom.

Looks like I might have to go back to froyo as I don't any such problem when using froyo.

lightning69
post Jun 9 2011, 10:47 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(c010 @ Jun 9 2011, 10:42 AM)
i am using eRobot DXJV9 custom rom with speedmod kernel for 2 days and so far i never encounter your problem.
It was Ok during the past 2 days, then suddenly it happens again. Its there and you just don't know when it will strike.
lightning69
post Jun 9 2011, 10:58 AM

2,298 posts

Saw this in XDA and thought it was interesting to share...

SGS vs Iphone 4 Battery/Benchmarks

I have recently acquired an Iphone 4 to go along with my galaxy S, time to do some comparisons!

Iphone 4: 4.3.3
SGS: CM7 #16

Battery Life

Standby time (8 hours)
------------------------------Iphone 4----------SGS
2G only:-------------------------0%------------2-5%
Wifi & gmail Push:---------------1-3%-----------3-8%

Internet use, per hour
(50% brightness)
Wifi:----------------------------10%------------25%
3G:-----------------------------15-20%-------30-35%

Video Playback, per hour
(Standard Definition, 50% brightness)
-------------------------------Iphone 4---------SGS
---------------------------------10%-----------20-25%

Video Playback, per hour
(720p Software Decode on Both Phones, 50% brightness) <-- VERY DEMANDING
---------------------------------31%-----------49%

Screen On Idle, per hour
(aeroplane mode on, BLACK screen, 50% brightness)
---------------------------------4%-------------9%
Considering this was on a black screen (AMOLED supposedly drains 0% on black) the SGS should have outperformed the IP4 easily. Did not happen...

Screen On Idle, per hour
(aeroplane mode on, WHITE screen, 50% brightness)
---------------------------------6%-------------25%

Wifi Radio Stream, per hour
---------------------------------8%-----------10-11% (pretty good)

Overall, the IPhone 4's battery at least doubles the SGS's which is very impressive. You genuinely do get 10 hours usage out of it browsing and playing games which is much better than the 4 hours or so on the galaxy s.
Yes i understand CM7 is still beta software and the idle (and 3g) drain isn't as good as samsung rom's but the screen-on drain is about the same.

Benchmarks
V8
--------------------------------N/A-------------500 !
Browsermark
--------------------------------38K-------------49K !

The Galaxy S actually benches higher due to the Iphone 4 being only 750mhz, for web browsing i would say the Galaxy S is faster.

Responsiveness
The Iphone 4's touch screen cant be beat, it just doesn't have the delay or hiccups that android phones do, the animations are also very smooth.
However IOS isn't without it's flaws, it does lag occasionally in the settings page and while web browsing.

I have had my Galaxy S for a year now, and after using the Iphone 4 for about a week i can see what Apple fans mean when they say 'it just works'.
If only it didn't costs £500

So Apple fan can brag about their phone "It just Works"

So maybe here is what the SGS fan have to say....

It Might Work if....
1. You know to upgrade the firmware to custom and do lots of tweak.
2. you apply GPS fix such as Fasterfix, GPS Aids etc or send back to Samsung for a repair.
3. you remove your battery for 30 minutes and put it back and reboot it hoping that the OS bug will not strike again.
4. etc

This post has been edited by lightning69: Jun 9 2011, 10:59 AM
lightning69
post Jun 9 2011, 11:22 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Jun 9 2011, 11:15 AM)
feel sorry for you...i guess your the unlucky one...i think you should stick to 2.2.1 until this problem is fix...my feeling this problem will be solved in next update 2.3.4...my feeling only...not that samsung will heard my feeling..hehehe...

FYI..i'm using deodexed dxjv9 and still this battery drain happened to..what i do is rename the 3 services that some said caused this problem...and regularly checked the battery use..if the android os showed higher percentage over time..i will reboot m3y phone...so far so good...

another ultimate solution...ditch the SGS and buy iphone4 that just works out of box OR SGSII that samsung completely polished..IMHO... brows.gif  brows.gif
Oh...so the deodexed dxjv9 also got the bat drain shit. Could it be the kernel? What kernel you using? I was on Dark Core 2.5 but yesterday I flash back to Dark Core 2.4 because 2.5 mess up the front camera.

I won't be changing my phone anytime soon but will be getting another smart phone for my wife. No more Samsung whether its SGS2 or 3. It will be iphone 5 because it just works. biggrin.gif
lightning69
post Jun 9 2011, 12:06 PM

2,298 posts

So is my phone defective I ask? Physical damage I don't see any . Hardware wise there is no denying SGS is great with its beautiful Super AMOLED screen but oversaturated and inaccurate colors.

Regarding my GPS, I manage to get my GPS working in Froyo but since I switch to Gb, it have no luck getting any lock on. So is my GPS hardware broken? If it is, then why does it work in froyo 2.2.1?

So my SGS can do all the tweaks imaginable and I like that.

But imagine I got a very important appointment tomorrow which i cannot miss. So before I go to bed, i must remember to set my alarm. Alarm I set but it never ring the next day! Why because my SGS was out of juice when I was deep asleep, but how can that be? I have a 50% charge left when I go to bed. So I miss the appointment and can only live to regret it.

Then I charge my phone night before so i have a full charge the next day. Brought my lovely wife and kids out for shopping and movies etc. Was expecting a very important call from an oversea client. It was 3 pm in the afternoon and I hardly use my phone but it only got 10% juice left. But I am expecting a call from my client and he hasn't call yet. So I cut short my family outing and head back home to charge my bat? Home is a least 90 minutes in this heavy traffic so do I have enough juice left?

The moral of this story is that we can do whatever tweak we can on our SGS but at the end of the day, it has to do what it is suppose to do. And not give us any hustle doing it. I just want a peace of mind.

Now I know what iphone user meant by "It Just Work"

lightning69
post Jun 9 2011, 12:55 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(reehdus @ Jun 9 2011, 12:44 PM)
Stop ranting and do something about it...gosh...u sound just like holypredator with his gps issues...the gurus here will help if u need help, but ask them nicely. and dude, for the last time shove ur iphone comparisons where the sun don't shine. everyone has these problems. and there are fixes. if ur patient enough, the sgs is a superphone...it's in it's own category.
So iphones are for people who lives in a world where the sun don't shines. I guess they manage to fix the sun in the Android world.

lightning69
post Jun 9 2011, 01:38 PM

2,298 posts

icon_rolleyes.gif

lightning69
post Jun 9 2011, 03:23 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Jun 9 2011, 02:57 PM)
you just need to try SGS II for a week. or at least watch some reviews (like I did).
you'll see how f***ed up Samsung with SGS. that being said, I love my SGS.

but, wait.. are you one of Apple staffs? how much do you got paid to advertise the iProducts?
please don't be a fanboi coz they're a group of f*ck*d up people, the one who can see but actually blind. I wonder what kind of poison did they take?  hmm.gif

I have Android OS bug. and on CM7.. what the.. this happened after I flash ZSJPE modem. on previous modems I never encounter this. weird..
Why the bias? So Android fanboys are good people while apple fanboys are gruop of f*@kups?

Btw, i don't work for Apple.
lightning69
post Jun 9 2011, 04:00 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 9 2011, 03:55 PM)
about your android os battery drain problem i can say this is normal for gb. when i was on juwe i rename the 3files and no any battery drain problem occur. my battery can stand for 2 day. about the comparison of ip4 and sgs, i had been using ip4 before and honestly ip4 doesnt really drain much battery in standby ,but once games on, battery drain fast too. 800mhz vs 1000mhz is not fair. is like comparing a kancil with myvi. of cause myvi drain more petrol. now u wanna drive a myvi or kancil? for me i have better car of cause i must have the money to pay for petrol.
car= phone
petrol=battery
I can confirm its not that 3 files that cause the drain. I have already delete the files and it still happens.
lightning69
post Jun 10 2011, 11:06 AM

2,298 posts

Which rom can do adhoc connection? I really need adhoc connection to my laptop.
lightning69
post Jun 10 2011, 02:26 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jun 10 2011, 11:33 AM)
You want to share files? I've been trying that too without success. A

Also have you tried this fix forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1043034&highlight=gpsit i've mentioned it many times.

Edit: try this guide www.emoiz.com/how-to-connect-samsung-galaxy-s-to-ad-hoc-wifi-network
I remembered that I did it once in froyo but forgotten that I need to replace the wpa supplication when i switched rom.
Actually i need adhoc for internet sharing thru my laptop lan connection.

I did found a forum that have the wpasupplication file and try it just now. Now I can see my adhoc and when I try to connect, it could not get an ip address. Maybe I need to do some setting on my adhoc connection. Any ideas?

lightning69
post Jun 11 2011, 08:32 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(solsekuin44 @ Jun 10 2011, 08:05 PM)
Should I buy this or wait for SGS 2? I asked last two days, SGS with Super Clear Screen RM1199, Amoled RM1899 sweat.gif
SGS AP set is only Rm1250. For Rm500 difference between Ap and original warranty, I think ap is the way to go. JMHO
lightning69
post Jun 11 2011, 09:10 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(Bap3 @ Jun 11 2011, 08:35 AM)
lightning69,

how your battery today?..failed at you again?
Battery is good last 2 nights. Only use 1 % during my sleep.
lightning69
post Jun 11 2011, 04:49 PM

2,298 posts

Flashing F1 JVP Mod V5....

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0503sec    0.08    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:44 AM