Samsung Galaxy S i9000 Official Thread V18, Super AMOLED Screen with Gorilla Glass!

CrossX
post Jun 7 2011, 09:47 PM

726 posts

noob checking in XD

anybody notice a battery drain in official GB?
i think the android OS bug is in our firmware
CrossX
post Jun 7 2011, 10:40 PM

726 posts

anybody tried flashing MEKALAS theme into our DXJV9?
CrossX
post Jun 8 2011, 12:09 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(Neomax3 @ Jun 7 2011, 11:51 PM)
tried it.. its not working on JV9  sad.gif
T_T its like the best theme ever~
CrossX
post Jun 8 2011, 02:29 AM

726 posts

is there anyway of extracting the swype from DXJV9?

I'm planning to flash back to JVO for theming... its getting boring using tw3 i wan tw4 and my lockscreens... T_T
CrossX
post Jun 9 2011, 12:24 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(blurjoey @ Jun 9 2011, 10:45 AM)
CrossX - Can JVO install mekalas theme? Or only on JVH? Not sure which ROM to download to install makalas theme.
hi, i tried using JVO and flash mekalas theme but tw4 fc so i changed to JVH.... the theme is really nice but 2.1 is better as the status bar icons looks nicer

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 9 2011, 10:58 AM)
Saw this in XDA and thought it was interesting to share...

SGS vs Iphone 4 Battery/Benchmarks

I have recently acquired an Iphone 4 to go along with my galaxy S, time to do some comparisons!

Iphone 4: 4.3.3
SGS: CM7 #16

Battery Life

Standby time (8 hours)
------------------------------Iphone 4----------SGS
2G only:-------------------------0%------------2-5%
Wifi & gmail Push:---------------1-3%-----------3-8%
Internet use, per hour
(50% brightness)
Wifi:----------------------------10%------------25%
3G:-----------------------------15-20%-------30-35%

Video Playback, per hour
(Standard Definition, 50% brightness)
-------------------------------Iphone 4---------SGS
---------------------------------10%-----------20-25%

Video Playback, per hour
(720p Software Decode on Both Phones, 50% brightness) <-- VERY DEMANDING
---------------------------------31%-----------49%

Screen On Idle, per hour
(aeroplane mode on, BLACK screen, 50% brightness)
---------------------------------4%-------------9%
Considering this was on a black screen (AMOLED supposedly drains 0% on black) the SGS should have outperformed the IP4 easily. Did not happen...

Screen On Idle, per hour
(aeroplane mode on, WHITE screen, 50% brightness)
---------------------------------6%-------------25%

Wifi Radio Stream, per hour
---------------------------------8%-----------10-11% (pretty good)

Overall, the IPhone 4's battery at least doubles the SGS's which is very impressive. You genuinely do get 10 hours usage out of it browsing and playing games which is much better than the 4 hours or so on the galaxy s.
Yes i understand CM7 is still beta software and the idle (and 3g) drain isn't as good as samsung rom's but the screen-on drain is about the same.

Benchmarks
V8
--------------------------------N/A-------------500 !
Browsermark
--------------------------------38K-------------49K !

The Galaxy S actually benches higher due to the Iphone 4 being only 750mhz, for web browsing i would say the Galaxy S is faster.

Responsiveness
The Iphone 4's touch screen cant be beat, it just doesn't have the delay or hiccups that android phones do, the animations are also very smooth.
However IOS isn't without it's flaws, it does lag occasionally in the settings page and while web browsing.

I have had my Galaxy S for a year now, and after using the Iphone 4 for about a week i can see what Apple fans mean when they say 'it just works'.
If only it didn't costs £500

So Apple fan can brag about their phone "It just Works"

So maybe here is what the SGS fan have to say....

It Might Work if....
1. You know to upgrade the firmware to custom and do lots of tweak.
2. you apply GPS fix such as Fasterfix, GPS Aids etc or send back to Samsung for a repair.
3. you remove your battery for 30 minutes and put it back and reboot it hoping that the OS bug will not strike again.
4. etc
@lightning69
do realize the benchmark is talking about cm7 rom, cm7 still has battery drain problems

do take note of the bold items,
AMOLED screen drains even more juice on a WHITE screen, if u read up on AMOLED technologies u will know.
Yes, theoretically, AMOLED shouldnt drain any battery when the screen is black, are u measuring the battery usage of the screen only?
The bullsh!t about on screen battery usage is just stupid, so in Aeroplane Mode, the phone is not running? U sure that the background services are all closed? the phone is still operational and besides, on screen power usage can nvr be compared this way its just isnt fair putting both phones side to side this way... An LCD display vs AMOLED both have different properties as well. Again, i would like to remind you that the SGS tested is using CM7

I've been using GB for quite some time but the battery drain problem havent been affecting me much, most of us didnt encounter the problem, try to troubleshoot ur phone slowly rather than ranting here and telling us how bad SGS is.

I suppose most of us in this thread knows our phone well enough and deep enough to troubleshoot if u cant, i suppose u should learn.

1 suggestion for you. Stay on latest froyo rom with speedmod kernel and lagfix enabled, that should allow stable usage for a long long time, Custom ROMs are never stable, if u insist on using custom rom thats your own choice.
CrossX
post Jun 12 2011, 04:04 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(annas473 @ Jun 12 2011, 04:01 PM)
i am just curious to ask u all about this..

anyone have tried to flash for example

CSC: DXJV9
PHONE: XXJVP
PDA: XXJVP

different CSC on others rom set ?
i'm curious too, but nvr tried XD

it should work i guess...
CrossX
post Jun 12 2011, 04:27 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 12 2011, 04:24 PM)
When you own a music store, what do you do when your client walk in.  Tell them to go next door to buy?
no but i dont lock the front door
CrossX
post Jun 12 2011, 05:17 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Jun 12 2011, 05:11 PM)
The front door was never locked!  That is how the customer got in.  What the owner did was to make sure the customer don't have the key to the back door so that they can come back later to steal the records.
ok let me rephrase, the door is a one way door only in no out hahahaha

so how does the customer come back later? they are all happy in their own "happy land" if u know what i mean XD

if the owner wants to play fair, they should allow healthy competition and not tell them "I'm always the best, dont go elsewhere, its dangerous"

so look back, whats the difference with locking the door? freedom is something we have, simplicity is something we desire, if the desire comes with a T&C then i might as well enjoy my freedom

This post has been edited by CrossX: Jun 12 2011, 05:21 PM
CrossX
post Jun 12 2011, 05:36 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(gmhafiz @ Jun 12 2011, 05:32 PM)
I agree. But there was misinformation, and I felt compelled to correct it.
You got it wrong, apple would love for people to come into its door, but then they will lock the door behind you and make sure you stays in it. They want you to buy stuffs from its store only, not other store.

For me, if I don't find a shirt I like in Jusco, I just go to another and go to Kamdar biggrin.gif
Problem is many people do not know of this trap. They only realize this after having several apple products.
u know? how i wish that the forums restrict users from being fanbois

its stupid enuf for them to come in here and read what we say and start criticizing android users.

IF IPHONE USERS ARE SO COMFORTABLE USING THEIR IPHONES PLS DONT BOTHER COMING IN AND SHOW THEIR INSECURITY TOWARDS THEIR OWN PHONE BY CONSTANTLY REMINDING US OF THEIR STRENGTH WHICH IS SO INSIGNIFICANT FOR US

sorry guys... time to get back on track, feel so insulted every time i see such posts... last comment about "iphone vs android" for today

btw, is xxjvp worth upgrading? i heard its leaked and not official or something from android central
CrossX
post Jun 12 2011, 06:29 PM

726 posts

QUOTE(isaaclimhw @ Jun 12 2011, 06:27 PM)
so far the only game that lags is tap tap. other than that everything is smooth smile.gif
and there i tot tap tap only lags to me...

whats the latest messaging app nowadays??
CrossX
post Jun 12 2011, 08:00 PM

726 posts

well said, and i get ur point at least u made urself clear

[quote=lightning69,Jun 12 2011, 07:07 PM]
Very well said kfc. I am not trying to create any rift here. I use both system. I just think some comments here sounds like apple is shit while androd is best.

[/quote]

oh dear, do look around, we never said how shit is apple

what we are saying are our own opinion against apple, personally i have no grudge against apple and i would agree with kfc that they made a really great invention that created a unified environment for both users and developers

but do remember, this is a android thread where we are supposed to talk about android and also SGS

i'm not some senior member or anything but do respect other members of the thread here, if u have a complain u can do it elsewhere...
glorifying iOS and i-products here does nothing but invite more arguements u must have realize that

yesterday if i'm not mistaken, a forum member made a thread and copy-paste an article commenting on how android users are? but did he stop and think for a while what he did?
imagine when ur pooping and in the middle of ur business ur mum banged the door open and said ur poop smells (bad example but thats how bad it is)
the worst thing is, he left by saying we android users went fanatic and just ran without a word... what kind of ppl does that? if the comment u said is strong, stand there dun run...

I use apple before and i'm amazed at most of the features of iphone except for facetime, itunes, bluetooth, etc
Both phones have their pros and cons, each user choose their own phones themselves... if u dont like ur current phone u can trade it in for an iphone its as easy as that

Remember this, ppl come into this thread to find out more info and get help or make friends with fellow SGS users, not to argue, fight, and to talk about others or complaining how bad it is.
So do respect others, if u cant do that, i believe there's more to come

CrossX
post Jun 13 2011, 04:31 PM

726 posts

ditched JVH and upgraded to JVP moments ago...

the performance is great... very smooth, gonna go out and test the gps later...

GO launcher EX is faster than before (mayb becoz i tried it when it first became free) very smooth XD

CrossX
post Jun 14 2011, 10:45 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(one81 @ Jun 14 2011, 10:33 AM)
Hi guys,
if im using stock JVP which kernel is the best? right now im using SpeedMod K15-T8 but it doesn't root my phone.. any suggestion?
speedmod kernel does root the phone try confirming again
CrossX
post Jun 20 2011, 09:31 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(ghoss @ Jun 20 2011, 08:24 AM)
Hi guys ~

How do I teach my Galaxy SL to write in Chinese ? icon_question.gif

Do I need to install or update ?
there's a hand full of chinese keyboard IMEs in the android market

U can try Google PinYin for a start
CrossX
post Jun 24 2011, 12:39 AM

726 posts

the latest MIUI is quite nice... haha

prefer MIUI coz it has a lot of built in features like hiding apps, etc

and now with different lockscreens too... XD
CrossX
post Jun 24 2011, 12:43 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(ting.soon @ Jun 24 2011, 12:42 AM)
can i ask is galaxy s can play flash??? and iphone cant???
sorry ya,im a newbie for smartphone..
yup... galaxy s got flash support
CrossX
post Jun 24 2011, 12:46 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 24 2011, 12:43 AM)
never use MIUI before because of the iphonish style. i think i am going to try it very soon. biggrin.gif
yes
hehe some poison will help i guess? ^^

http://forums.miui.us/showthread.php?1178-...ive-Target-Lock

1 of the lockscreen i'm downloading... super cool!
CrossX
post Jun 24 2011, 12:52 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 24 2011, 12:49 AM)
now sgs2 poison more in my brain. need to consult a doctor soon. okok downloading.
haha... guess its sgs2 fever spreading around like a virus...

weirdly i have no interest in getting one... innocent.gif
CrossX
post Jun 24 2011, 01:01 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Jun 24 2011, 12:58 AM)
omg, MIUI oso got fragmentation. what the h?
why not make one version, integrated? haiiihhh...
hahaha what to do... better support on htc phones but i'm very much satisfied with what they did to my SGS rclxms.gif

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 24 2011, 12:59 AM)
good la. i hope i am not interested too. btw, saw a few MIUI rom out there. custom rom's custom rom? LOL!
hahaha i'm using the official one... downloaded from miui.us
CrossX
post Jun 24 2011, 01:14 AM

726 posts

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 24 2011, 01:06 AM)
QUOTE(ali_double_seven @ Jun 24 2011, 01:08 AM)
this is the latest one..but v2 is coming.. icon_rolleyes.gif

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1134583
those are custom ones by GALNET

QUOTE(ic3joker @ Jun 24 2011, 01:09 AM)
wah so confusing. can some one link me MIUI official page?
http://miui.us/forums/content.php?12-ROM-Downloads

QUOTE(lOrDjAbU @ Jun 24 2011, 01:12 AM)
that's what I said earlier, dude. MIUI is fragmented! so many versions... damn
i nvr seen others, only seen GALNET (previously by Mambo) and the official one only

This post has been edited by CrossX: Jun 24 2011, 01:22 AM

0.0256sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:32 PM