12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Asus Eee Pad Transformer TF101 - Official Thread, 10.1" Android Honeycomb 3.1 tablet

TSmydragoon
post Jun 10 2011, 08:34 PM

7,044 posts

ya, i was gonna tell you its keyboard thingy is due to language settings. you'd hve noticed if you tried the keys on the the numbers... you'd get the pound instead of dollar sign. i know coz i also changed my default language originally to UKcoz i sun like my 'S' turning into 'Z'. smile.gif

i m super happy... man, the ablet really takes on a different feel once its dock. i mean, the keyboard really makes the tablet exprience even more fun.

however, there is still lag even with the quick reply box.

so far, i'm loving this TF. previously , it was hard to control the cursor with thouchscreen. but now with mouse pad, so easy!

ok... i asked. the leather (so-called la) is about rm100.

for bleding issue. need to bring to asus service centre -- was told its opposite times square. they will assess and then decide if a repair is required.

charger and usb cabe... evernew dun ell them. again, have to go to the service centre... sad.gif

i asked evernew staff abt charging -- can charge together, etc... they dun really know. i believe thy are really just into selling. product knowledge is almost zero. i guess during the launch, they had the sifu on site. coz during the launch, i asked many questions and the guys there could really answer.

forinitial charge of the dock, they told me only 3-4hrs is required. believe them or not?
TSmydragoon
post Jun 10 2011, 10:05 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 10 2011, 09:12 PM)
please let me know whether they accept the eee pad transformer, i might send it there for RMA at one point. thanks smile.gif

Added on June 10, 2011, 9:18 pmTS please add this to first page:

Note: The "Menu" key is the key that looks like 4 horizontal lines, next to the "Alt" key.
ok, will update by tmrw. now charging my dock so a bit diff to edit.

Added on June 10, 2011, 10:09 pm
QUOTE(tyenfei @ Jun 10 2011, 09:54 PM)
well .. my keyboard dock charged for 6 hours + jor ..

beh tahan want to dock in and experience it again ^^
personally, i won't follow the advice in the dock manual even though it states initial charge is 8 hrs. i suspect some lazy guy just do simple edit from the tablet manual coz sometimes can see manual talk about the tf101.

another thing... manual calls it the tf101 dock or sth like that. means this dock can't use on future models??? was hoping can wordk on padfone. wink.gif

Added on June 10, 2011, 10:12 pm
QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 10 2011, 08:53 PM)
so means for the bleeding issue cannot 1 to 1 exchange? did u ask on that?also means we have to go to times square and send in the tablet ourselves...mafan
accordingto the guy at evernew, whether got 1-to-1 depends on what the service centre says.

then again, i now find it hard to believe what those guys at evernew mv says. :-)

Added on June 10, 2011, 10:16 pmjust wondering... with just the tablet, how do i get the text edit option up? sometimesi only get the cursor option... i have to press the screen many2 times and hope the text option (copy, paste) appears.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 10 2011, 10:37 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 10 2011, 11:43 PM

7,044 posts

我 testing...

i added google pinyin keyboard.

later will try with dock. charging now.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 10 2011, 11:45 PM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 11 2011, 08:35 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(neihc @ Jun 11 2011, 01:31 AM)
Warranty:
1 year international warranty (Eee Pad)
6-months international warranty (Docking station)

ohmy.gif

ya, forgot to ask the shop abt this. confirm dock only 6 mths? i expected both to have same duration - 1yr.

Added on June 11, 2011, 8:47 am
QUOTE(tyenfei @ Jun 10 2011, 10:54 PM)
eh .. any of u know how to key in chinese with the dock ?? i'm checking how now .

Added on June 10, 2011, 10:57 pmhm.. have to change to chinese input before docked. but still looking a way that can switch between chinese / asus keyboard.
ctrl + shift. the kb option box should come up.

1Q. yesterday i was quite sure when i use the mouse pad to click a link, it opened up on the same tab inside the default browser. this morning, it now opens up as another tab. weird. how to make it open on same tab?

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 11 2011, 08:47 AM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 11 2011, 10:01 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mikeis18 @ Jun 11 2011, 09:55 AM)
yep interested... but would like to see pics too please smile.gif

Noticed something this morning... yesterday usedmy pad with dock until the red light blinking, should be out of battery already, so charged the dock by itself for about 7 hours. Then after that i plug in the charger to the pad, but it didn't charge. tested it a few times, but seems like it wont chargethe pad. But when i docked it, it wil charge. Any body noticed this anomaly?

Using with dock to type this post. Stock browser lag is kindairritating lol. Cannot check for typos immediately rclxub.gif
nope, din notice anything like that. charged fine both alon and with tablet. try again and see... could be just loose connection? smile.gif
TSmydragoon
post Jun 11 2011, 11:37 AM

7,044 posts

i am beginning to suspect the stock browser crashes quite often. at first, i tot maybe i pressed the home screen or sth... but when i click last used apps and select browser, none of my open tabs are there. anyone using stock browser and noticed this?

also, i noticed the charger can get quite hot... was charging for just 1hr or so.,.. but it felt quite hot. maybe that's the reason why XDA forum mentioned not to charge overnight? i was charging both dock and tablet.

TSmydragoon
post Jun 12 2011, 12:09 AM

7,044 posts

ASUS says EeePad Transformer beats all tablets in June, besides iPad
According to Taiwan Economic News, ASUS’ CEO Jerry Shen said that the company is poised to ship 300,000 units of its EeePad Transformer Android tablet this month. Those shipment figures, Shen argues, will exceed shipments of all other tablets, besides Apple’s iPad. ASUS took the wraps off of the EeePad Transformer in March, and it allows users to plug the tablet into an optional keyboard for a laptop or netbook-style experience. The device was hard to find in the United States initially, and the company ramped up production of the tablet in May. Shen also noted that his ASUS shipped 400,000 units in April and May.

TSmydragoon
post Jun 12 2011, 12:52 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(halow @ Jun 12 2011, 11:11 AM)
Guys,

is this call bleeding ? See the pics enclosed is it normal ?
mine is also similar... *sigh*

guys... i'll be adding the new owners to the name list and updating Pg1 in 1-2 days time. Sorry for the delay....
TSmydragoon
post Jun 12 2011, 01:40 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 12 2011, 01:13 PM)
yours as bad as his?? wah
ya... top a few spots... bottom a few spots...

but din really wanna bother making noise since its only apparent/ visible during bootup or when the screen is showing pitch black background. plus, worry if i return and get a new unit with dead pixels... lagi jialat.

from what i read in XDA forum, 'repair' is usually just tightening up and covering the gaps. so, to me... kinda pointless la. but see how... maybe i log a call next week and see how. it's probably too late for a 1-to-1 anyway.

TSmydragoon
post Jun 12 2011, 03:50 PM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(shark7 @ Jun 12 2011, 03:45 PM)
I think i got light bleeding too bottom left but i dont see its a big problem so far.. Maybe its a problem if u play in dark/black background ?
Can someone list all the problem of TF ? Wanna check everything . So far my worst prob was the touch screen that cant be used at all.
ya, i'll probably put a summary of issues as well on Pg1. but i think XDA forum got a comprehensive list... if i'm not mistaken. again... gimme 1-2 days ya... sorry. a bit rushing a few things and no time to edit the Pg1 today...
TSmydragoon
post Jun 13 2011, 08:19 AM

7,044 posts

just checking... anyone with Honeycomb 3.1 before getting the dock... after you get the dock, any firmware updates? i dun have any updates yet until today.

also, added new owners to the list on Pg. if i missed out anyone, please PM me. added keyboard shortcuts as well. many thanks the CyberKewl for this. will do a 'known issues' section shortly.

Added on June 13, 2011, 8:21 amoh ya... how many showed off their TF during the angry birds thingy? smile.gif i din go...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 13 2011, 08:21 AM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 13 2011, 09:03 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(hazremi @ Jun 13 2011, 08:42 AM)
the eee pad looks like my notebook  but the function is less than my notebook..i cant do office work efficiently with eee pad like my notebook.

i'm still looking for reason to get this
one must remember... TF101 is still a tablet first. notebook second.

and personal opinion... tablet = touchscreen entertainment gadget. if you can do work with it, then its a plus point. and that's where the dock comes in. it helps 'doing work' easier.

Added on June 13, 2011, 9:07 am
QUOTE(edwinlcw @ Jun 11 2011, 11:03 PM)
same... i asked them this morning... they asked me go to asus service center at imbi plaza.. if asus center says can change.. then need to bring it back to evernew together with a letter/receipt from asus service center for exchange...
just to add to this and my earlier comment about warranty via Evernew.

According to ppl @ Evernew MV, they can also do it for us (sent for service) but it will be slower coz they do in batches -- possibly once a week. So they advise us to go direct to service centre instead for faster turn-around.

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 13 2011, 09:07 AM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 13 2011, 09:31 AM

7,044 posts

for those with the speaker imbalance problem (if i understand the problem correctly, it should affect everyone), you can try the fix posted at XDA forum:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1118010

from what i understand, its probably a type in a config file (missing a '0'). if this is truly the case, I am quite sure Asus will issue a fix/ update in the near future.

i'll wait for the official Asus update since the method posted in XDA forum requires rooting.
TSmydragoon
post Jun 13 2011, 09:36 AM

7,044 posts

took quite sometime for me to copy out the photos from my camera... anyway, thought i'd share some of my unboxing photos...

TSmydragoon
post Jun 13 2011, 09:45 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jun 13 2011, 09:38 AM)
tablet is never meant to be a notebook replacement.
if anything it is a complement to our notebook/PC.
i'd like to think that the future is headed towards using tablet being the mainstream device. however, there's still improvements to be made to the hardware (processing power), OS, etc...

but the TF offers a glimpse of what it would be like. you can type on the physical keyboard AND also manipulate the screen. nice! smile.gif
TSmydragoon
post Jun 13 2011, 10:21 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(mikeeeee @ Jun 13 2011, 10:18 AM)
BT mouse have not tested but wired usb and radio usb mouse both tested to be working fine.

Today I'm gonna run TF with dock full time at work and see how it works out. Mainly wanna try the duration of the battery smile.gif
this is something to think about...

some ppl believe its not good to charge the battery all the time. these ppl believe battery should be sufficiently drained before we charge it.

with the dock, the tablets gets charged all the time until the dock runs out of juice.

so, how? does that mean we can charge our tablet while its at 90%?
TSmydragoon
post Jun 13 2011, 10:31 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(uzary @ Jun 13 2011, 10:23 AM)
i was wondering wat makes asus TF so special? i love it, but i was wondering wat is the different with TF compared to other tablet?i mean, if u say about it can attached to its keyboard, i thought most other tablets can do that is it n they hav their own physical keyboard am i right? soguys do explain why this TF is outstanding compared to others..   notworthy.gif  innocent.gif
honestly, TF is nothing special as a tablet. it is like any other tablet out there.

the TF stands out when it is wit the dock -- which is why its also called Transformer. the dock is specially designed for the tablet and what makes the dock really useful is the fact that it is also a battery pack -- the TF101 with dock can last abt 16hrs. the keyboard also comes with special keys that makes the tablet even easier to use.

so far, usually the additional keyboard for other tablets dun have the extended battery function.

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jun 13 2011, 10:23 AM)
i don't plan to buy the dock and i think only mouse is important since some functions on website required the usage of a mouse in order for it to work properly.

namely cropping photo in facebook. tongue.gif
so honestly, if you dun plan to get the dock... any other 10" tablet should be very much the same...

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 13 2011, 10:33 AM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 13 2011, 10:45 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(faizalmzain @ Jun 13 2011, 10:37 AM)
no they're not the same.
android tablets don't have exact same hardware.

and developer support also very important to me since i like to root my device.
i'm not very sure abt this... but if you are talking about tablets, they can't run too far off.

in the first place, currently there are very few 10" tablets in the market. the variations are more likely to be... USB ports on tablets? screen technology? OS updates? i think most would have Tegra 2 chipset anyway... smile.gif

i'd think that the current 10" tablets in market would eventually all be getting HC3.1 anyway. i think Xoom and TF already have this. Iconia should be on its way...

if you want developer support, i guess one way is to check XDa forum and see which tablet has a section there. smile.gif

Added on June 13, 2011, 10:47 am
QUOTE(littlekev @ Jun 13 2011, 10:38 AM)
Totally agree with you, that's how I use my phone as well. If I know that I need to go out later and the phone left with 50%, I will still charge it til 100% before I leave the house. Unlike some people scared or too sayang of their batt, left with 50% also don't want to charge and he/she knows that they are going out for whole day, how la the 50% going to last you for a day.
same here. phone and notebook stays charged when i'm using it in office. phone gets charged usually in the morning.

so i guess tablet is no different then.

so now... 1 concern i have & i need to monitor... i felt my charge quite hot when i was charging both the dock and tablet 2 nights back. so far, seems only i have this problem. defective charger?!? sad.gif

This post has been edited by mydragoon: Jun 13 2011, 10:48 AM
TSmydragoon
post Jun 13 2011, 11:28 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(CyberKewl @ Jun 13 2011, 11:26 AM)
So there you have it. I've rolled out the great features about the dock. Its really something, not your average tablet + keyboard dock combo. For the price of the keyboard dock which is RM 300 (if you buy the bundle pack tablet + keyboard dock that is), it is a lot more worth it compared to ipad's RM 229 keyboard dock that doesnt have any extra battery pack, no extra usb ports for plugging in external storage/keyboard/mice, no SD card reader..how's that for special ? tongue.gif
+1
+1
+1...
thumbup.gif
TSmydragoon
post Jun 13 2011, 11:43 AM

7,044 posts

QUOTE(tyenfei @ Jun 13 2011, 11:38 AM)
My TF will slowly replace my notebook for mobile usage. As specially when most of the old projector replace by HDMI supported model.

Now I still need to bring my notebook only "if" need to connect VGA projector and do some network testing/configuration with RJ45.
buy that mini hmdi to vga cable and you got only rj45 excuse left... LOL...

12 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0413sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:08 AM