6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V3 °°, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !

infinitium
post Jun 13 2011, 06:42 PM

312 posts

Bros, going to share w/you a very "painful" story - of what happened to my HID kit. Basically, my mechanic didn't install the HIDs properly, one HID bulb popped out of the housing. The heat from the bulb was so damn hot, it melted the aluminium projector housing.

I found out halfway driving, when I noticed my left side main beam started flickering, and smoke coming from my engine area (O-o)....

burnt-out housing... 1 day after the light burned out, I could still smell smoke in my cabin area...

there was only 1 thing to do: disasemble the housing. so my mechanic ripped out the left light panel from its socket, and slowly pry open the plastic clear case from the lamp housing (like opening durian)...

u can still see bits & pieces of the HID bulb filament + glass left in there... melted like cheese with the housing....

projector lamp focusing lens... in the background is my IN2 baby on "life support" while we operate on her...

at this point, 99% people would think their housing is f**ked, and have to spend RMXXXX to buy new one. but my mechanic is one smart fella - he manage to replace just the projector lamp housing that melted, with another HID lamp housing (taken from an old Merc). then he basically hot-wire them together....

u can see the right side is the original lamp H11 housing (sawed off the burnt part), then weld in the new HID lamp housing (from old Merc). install a make-shift mounting bracket to hold then both together (piece of metal in the middle). Taadaaa!

After put it back together, ensure all tightly fitted in, and turn on engine - whaddaya know, works like normal. actually, my light now is damn bright... brighter than before (i think it's coz the Merc HID housing is a proper solid steel housing with a proper focusing cup meant for HID lights).

Going to test this out for awhile and see if any problems (so far no issues).

So that's my story for today - heart a bit pain to see my beloved undergone 5-hr "open heart" surgery @ mechanic's "ICU"... but so far, patient 100% recovered rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by infinitium: Jun 13 2011, 06:45 PM
infinitium
post Jun 13 2011, 08:15 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(iphone @ Jun 13 2011, 07:39 PM)
Wow infinitium!!..how did that happened? That's one scary meltdown man. Bulb poped out from the casing?! As in comes off ..or dropped deeper into the light housing?
yeah, bulb popped from the casing (wasn't screwed on correctly/tightly enough). i guess the bulb filament made contact with the aluminium housing/reflector dish... then slowllllly heated it up. after an hr of driving w/lights on, guess the "melting point" was reached and it melted thru the dish.

scary huh. if i wasn't observant enough, it could have started a fire. then tmrw's newspaper u see front page pic ... one guy jumping out of a blazing Insight on fire (TOUCHWOOD! smile.gif).

so if you have HIDs, pls pls plssss make sure your mechanic installed for you correctly. check if you got the right kind of wiring harness (that can support the 35W needed to power most HID kits). and more importantly if the bulb is sitting/locked in the reflector properly.

going to temple this wkend to pray. someone up there loves me. smile.gif
infinitium
post Jun 13 2011, 08:17 PM

312 posts

on a happier note, sharing more photos i snapped of my Hella Supertone horn installs:

1st try (DIY install using existing brackets... horns too close to each other):

2nd try (bring to my mechanic, get a custom harness/metal brace plate, lock both horns on opposing ends, hang from existing horn harness/screw-in point):
infinitium
post Jun 13 2011, 08:19 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Mr.DC @ Jun 13 2011, 07:54 PM)
What a terrible story~~~~ sweat.gif
scary huh. i see now also sked. phew. thank god didn't whole car didnt become charcoal-grill Hybrid Kebab smile.gif
infinitium
post Jun 13 2011, 11:19 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(sbanboy @ Jun 13 2011, 09:42 PM)
Thank God you ok lah ... thanks for sharing ... I guess I wont be changing mine.
well if you find a reputable shop that can do it properly, then i still say you should go for it. HIDs vs standard halogens make a big diff smile.gif
infinitium
post Jun 14 2011, 07:28 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(bobchu @ Jun 14 2011, 01:05 AM)
Hi Infinitium, do u know how much they are selling Hella Supertone here in malaysia.
i don't think you can find it easily in MYS (I cannot find it in any shop @ Penang). Order online and ship it here... it's USD 50 or so. Then either DIY install yrself or ask a car shop install for you.

here's my exact horns order link: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0002MA03..._rev_prod_title

Note that Hella horns are now Made in India. the earlier batches few yrs ago were made in Germany (quality was better). Germany factory tutup kedai liao. However my India horns seem OK. build quality was good. no physical damage when i received.

Added on June 14, 2011, 7:30 am
QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Jun 14 2011, 02:09 AM)
hmm.gif with the projector lens , 4350 k shud be safe..

tongue.gif
bro Sh@rty is right - 4350K should be yellowish, and almost same color as our halogen spotlights lights/low beam. shd not raise any suspicions @ roadblocks.

FYI, my 4350K HIDs from my old car (Myvi) ... used it for 5 yrs, passed hundreds of JPJ/police roadblocks, never got stopped. i just made sure my lights was never shining directly into people's eyes. keep low profile smile.gif

This post has been edited by infinitium: Jun 14 2011, 07:30 AM
infinitium
post Jun 14 2011, 07:38 AM

312 posts

Sharing a new set of photos... from my latest project in IN2 car improvement smile.gif

This time, i got my mechanic to upgrade the grounding cables. basically, got better, thicker cables... and swap the old grounding cable (from battery to car body out). this new cable now goes from battery -ve terminal... to 2 mounting points on the car:

A) the car body
B) screwed onto the engine body itself (which is solid steel deep down below the engine compartment area)

THICK cables... best for carrying current smile.gif

cut-out of the cables. nice thick wires...

final connection - replacing the existing thin grounding cables our cars come with.

Benefits of doing this - in long-term, you'll find the car starting easier, and slightly better FC. Think of it as improving the overall flow of current in your car... from battery to engine/body back to engine. the new cable gives less electrical resistance, resulting in some slight benefits.

Didn't take a photo of the mounting point on the engine block - itself. Basically it was screwed onto the exposed metal engine block... deep down, in the engine compartment (close to where the CVT oilstick is). doing this so the grounding is better (ground straight to engine block, v.s. the metal chassis which still has some resistance).

if i'm free and you guys are interested to see where i locked it in, then i'll snap more photos later lah smile.gif

wonder what H technicians will say, the next time i go in for my service... so many stuff under my hood changed. LOL!

This post has been edited by infinitium: Jun 14 2011, 07:42 AM
infinitium
post Jun 14 2011, 07:47 AM

312 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Jun 14 2011, 07:42 AM)
Nice sharing bro infinitium smile.gif
But u make me scare to install hid now.
sorry lah bro if i scared you - don't be scared OK... i'm sure mine is isolated case. you just need to make sure that your HID installer LOCKS IN the HID bulb securely... so it doesn't drop out (that what happened in my case).

as long as the naked filament doesnt make contact with the soft Al housing, then you are OK. smile.gif
infinitium
post Jun 14 2011, 07:55 AM

312 posts

on a related note, i am now seriously going to shop for a car extinguisher to put into my car. anyone got one already? what type to buy? (i never do research yet). I know some of the old Merc models come with a dry powder-type (Type C) red colored extinguisher. even have a custom harness built in under the driver's seat to put the extinguisher there.

found one here: http://www.superbuy.my/shop/p-1868-fire-x-...tinguisher.aspx

good to have one... after my Close Encounter with Car Fire case biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by infinitium: Jun 14 2011, 07:58 AM
infinitium
post Jun 14 2011, 08:30 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(watonk @ Jun 14 2011, 07:54 AM)
How is your right lamp? You should carefully observe it and see if there's any symptoms of melting. In a lot of case, the housing itself cant withstand excessive temperature from these aftermarket bulb. Which some are very, very hot. Ask waja owners experience. sweat.gif

Tell us if there right site is doing ok and didnt melt after extended use. We're looking forward for HID too. Thanks for your RnD biggrin.gif
bro, so far no issues - all working fine. the lamp is not overheating, and my HIDs are now fitted in correctly, staying in place. quite happy w/my HIDs... though part of me feels they can STILL be brighter (probably our projector headlamp housing not 100% suitable for HIDs, since it doesn't reflect HIDs 100% completely... am seeing some spillover light at the sides... but that's just me being picky kua smile.gif

infinitium
post Jun 14 2011, 09:50 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(CSC @ Jun 14 2011, 08:47 PM)
Pls help me to decide. Is it worth change vios G (2007-latest model) to Insight?  Thank
you come into a forum with Insight lovers/owners, and you ask if you should change yr current car to Insight? Errrr... the answer should be fairly obvious to you by now.... (it's like asking monkeys if they want to eat bananas - not that all Insight owners are monkeys).

i am pretty sure 99.99% responses you will get is a definitive yes (no brainer).

you're asking the wrong crowd - if you want a truly subjective opinion, then you should post to general car forums where you get different folks w/different car types weighing in.

but since you asked - yes, buy Insight! buy Insight... buy Insight.... buy Insight... buy Insight....
infinitium
post Jun 14 2011, 10:32 PM

312 posts

photos of my HIDs (in case some of our bros here was wondering WTF happened to my HID light quality after my nearly-fry-the-car-on-fire incident biggrin.gif)....

sorry aar... quality tak pass a bit... camera phone. the color of the light is off - it's yellowish (4300K).. not blue-ish like it appears in this photo.

so far so good w/my HID set (OEM Philips bulbs). these are ripped off my 5-yr old car, and "transplanted" into IN2... no probs @ all. gotta love the old Philips ballast/build/bulb quality. use so many years, no issues. emang pass! rclxms.gif
infinitium
post Jun 15 2011, 04:02 PM

312 posts

Penangites - good news. my SA confirms availability of IN2 cars just arrived in his showroom. immediate availability. WHITE n SILVER units only (other colors hv to wait until Sept for delivery).

if you are interested and want a car urgently, pls PM me. will give u my SA contact and you can nego w/him directly.
infinitium
post Jun 15 2011, 08:11 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(mardzi @ Jun 15 2011, 07:56 PM)
actually there is another way to disable autostop. when ur car stop at traffic light for example, then push the gear to P mode and go back to N. It will reset your autostop without need to release your feet from the brake or pull the handbrake.  rclxms.gif

Added on June 15, 2011, 7:58 pm
hmm.gif  lucky that was prius.. i tot it was insight belongs to infinitium (touchwood)  brows.gif
haha... oi! luckily not mine. *sweat*
infinitium
post Jun 15 2011, 10:36 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Jun 15 2011, 10:25 PM)
wuhahaha... egate jus now include me got 5 unit insight at outdoor parking tongue.gif

2 black 3 white tongue.gif

Added on June 15, 2011, 10:26 pm
tak mau  laugh.gif 
u better bring more item la...  thumbup.gif
u shd have taken pic.. then the owners will walk out wondering WTF you doing w/their car... then you can get to know them, and have a IN2 TTT on the spot biggrin.gif
infinitium
post Jun 16 2011, 03:16 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(sin88 @ Jun 16 2011, 11:39 AM)
hi all ,have been reading this forum since ver1 and i will be getting my eco ride next month(hopefully).i want to know is there any need to check during taking the car and i have amp n nice speaker from my car that i want to install it to the new ride but will it void the warranty and damage the car battery?and will the power same or better than city 2003 ?

Thank you first for all the sifu and bro who answer me
car checklist - someone here once compiled a checklist for IN2. do a quick search and you should find it in V2 thread.

ICE - yes, it will void some parts of yr warranty (not sure which part) but it shd not damage your battery/electronics, as long as you take it to a reputable ICE shop who know what they're doing.

i replace my car amp and speakers (see my signature) the week i got my car. so far, no problems. v happy w/my sound quality now smile.gif
infinitium
post Jun 16 2011, 10:56 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Jun 16 2011, 06:12 PM)
last set of modulo door visor sold .. Heheh will post bro kelvin_hata door visor later..

Modulo out of stock

but just order another 2, diff design, not sure how it looks like yet , hehe who wanna be the first white mouse?
pls PM me when you have modulo door visor bro... and let me know price too smile.gif
infinitium
post Jun 17 2011, 05:23 PM

312 posts

it was super hot today, so i turn off my ECO button... and drove the rest of the way home w/ECO off. Wow, can feel the difference - suddenly felt like I was driving sports car smile.gif

(haven't been driving w/ECO off, since I always drive w/ECO on, 95% of the time. good to feel what it's like w/ECO mode off!)

This post has been edited by infinitium: Jun 17 2011, 05:24 PM
infinitium
post Jun 17 2011, 09:37 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(chizzu @ Jun 17 2011, 05:29 PM)
so econ off = turbo on? tongue.gif
yeah man. like turbo boost smile.gif
infinitium
post Jun 18 2011, 08:48 PM

312 posts

was parking in open-air car park today... got 3 hybrids in a row... my IN2 in middle, another white IN2 to my left, and a silver Prius in the right.

of all 3 cars, some passers-by stopped and was looking @ my car (probably wondering if the DRLs i pasang comes w/the car or not biggrin.gif).

not bad. of all 3 hybrids, mine catches their attention. aisehhhh....

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0221sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:52 PM