found out from yahoo, though it is more about us markets...
http://autos.yahoo.com/news/10-most-disapp...rs-of-2011.html
what do u guys think?
°° LYN Honda Insight Owners Thread V3 °°, The Power Of Hybrid. Owners Welcome ! !
Jun 6 2011, 05:28 PM
24 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
found out from yahoo, though it is more about us markets...
http://autos.yahoo.com/news/10-most-disapp...rs-of-2011.html what do u guys think? |
Jun 6 2011, 05:43 PM
1,357 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Londinium, Albion |
here in UK Prius rules. Mainly because there are no large benefit (like low or 0% tax on zero emmision car) when purchasing the car. So the difference of price between Prius and Insight are not of a big margin.
If Prius and Insight price difference is just 4k instead of 40k and for 4k extra u get 1.8 instead of 1.3 cc engine which 1 u want to buy? The only relief here is road tax is cheaper for zero emission cars so most ppl will go for prius instead. the ratio of Prius vs Insight here in UK is like 20:1 |
Jun 6 2011, 06:01 PM
24 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Jun 6 2011, 06:02 PM
191 posts Joined: Oct 2007 |
Jun 6 2011, 06:11 PM
99 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
fair enuff, but I am wondering why the commentator didnt comment on Lexus Hybrid car? If his comparison is merely based on the sales contribution on Insight, I wonder whether Lexus sales boost up from the new range of Hybrid car. I am just dissapointed that the sales contribution used as a judgement on this Insight. As matter of fact, it is really worth every penny.
Even for Prius, no doubt the sales volume is higher than Insight, but what's the percentage contribution to total Toyota sales at the end of the day? ![]() Well, anyway, I also received many bad comments on Insight from my colleagues and friends but who cares, at the end of the day, I am paying RM0.09 per km; which is 50-60% lesser than their so called perfect ride. Added on June 6, 2011, 6:13 pm QUOTE(iphone @ Jun 6 2011, 06:02 PM) Illegal parked in front of the police station haha, actually backdated oredi, it was in May (2weeks after gotten my ride)...drove all the way to spend 1 night in Penang. This post has been edited by jacek: Jun 6 2011, 06:15 PM |
Jun 6 2011, 06:22 PM
if you have the money to spend you can buy some better cars
Here in UK and am sure in US as well, Diesel rules coz it saves more fuel than driving an hybrid if you are travelling long distance. Prius is enjoying its good sales due to its presence for quite some time in western market (about 10 yrs i think) and when you talk about hybrid the 1st thing that comes into mind is Prius. As for Lexus, I dont see much Lexus around here in UK coz if you are rich in UK you wouldve been driving European luxury cars |
Jun 6 2011, 06:32 PM
0 posts Joined: Dec 2006 |
QUOTE(chizzu @ Jun 6 2011, 07:22 PM) if you have the money to spend you can buy some better cars Hate it when some people keep on comment the hybrid car especially regarding the hybrid battery... some more it's coming from family members...Here in UK and am sure in US as well, Diesel rules coz it saves more fuel than driving an hybrid if you are travelling long distance. Prius is enjoying its good sales due to its presence for quite some time in western market (about 10 yrs i think) and when you talk about hybrid the 1st thing that comes into mind is Prius. As for Lexus, I dont see much Lexus around here in UK coz if you are rich in UK you wouldve been driving European luxury cars I believe we save money already when we buy this car and we know the advantage and disadvantage of this car. No need other people to comment... In the end, insight = no tax + save fuel + cheaper insurance + cheaper road tax = long term benefit. So, who cares insight is not worth it... just my 2 cents |
Jun 6 2011, 06:49 PM
99 posts Joined: Jul 2008 |
True, to me, if anyone said Prius is better, or even Ford Fiesta, Golf or Vios FC is better than Insight and they worried on the IMA battery cost, my answer is simple, DON'T buy Insight. haha
Especially when I fetched my colleagues out for lunch, they keep commenting car space small lah, very dangerous lah coz the battery is under rear passenger seat, no side airbag lah, no rear discbrake lah... since then, I stopped fetching them... This post has been edited by jacek: Jun 6 2011, 06:51 PM |
Jun 6 2011, 07:05 PM
If you are going long distance, Diesel car makes more sense
My friend rented a diesel 2.0 car (Ford Mondeo) for a weekend trip and I am impressed it can easily achieve 42-45mpg (17-20km/l) on highway roads. For me, the purpose of getting insight is the low emission and the awsm dashboard If you really want to calculate the FC it wont cost much for us since our petrol is subsidised. there wouldnt be a significant amount of fuel saving compared to countries that buys the gasoline where the price fluctuates based on the market. Its msian mindset that they cannot accept new technology that is growing rapidly. It takes time for them to adopt the way of the future The only real complaint you will get most of the time are the small headroom and the auto off air cond when autostop |
Jun 6 2011, 07:23 PM
168 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: KL |
Jun 6 2011, 07:35 PM
2,696 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Butterworth,Penang Status: Available |
QUOTE(jacek @ Jun 6 2011, 05:17 PM) Wat happen? Drive my black pearl to sunway mall n watch x-men 1st class? Cant remember the movie name N tomorrow wil let u all know wat they wil solve my jerking issue. Added on June 6, 2011, 7:45 pm QUOTE(jacek @ Jun 6 2011, 06:11 PM) fair enuff, but I am wondering why the commentator didnt comment on Lexus Hybrid car? If his comparison is merely based on the sales contribution on Insight, I wonder whether Lexus sales boost up from the new range of Hybrid car. I am just dissapointed that the sales contribution used as a judgement on this Insight. As matter of fact, it is really worth every penny. Actually i dun giv a sh1t about that. As long as i happy den ok. If someone complain about, den i wil ask them go to buy. Else story ends. Even for Prius, no doubt the sales volume is higher than Insight, but what's the percentage contribution to total Toyota sales at the end of the day? ![]() Well, anyway, I also received many bad comments on Insight from my colleagues and friends but who cares, at the end of the day, I am paying RM0.09 per km; which is 50-60% lesser than their so called perfect ride. Added on June 6, 2011, 6:13 pm Illegal parked in front of the police station haha, actually backdated oredi, it was in May (2weeks after gotten my ride)...drove all the way to spend 1 night in Penang. I think who hav drive insight before, power enug rite? So do u think need to go for 1.8cc or more? In malaysia road, how far u can speed? We jus nid a low cost and fuel saver car. As someone calc before, how much mileage u can use for another rm40k? I do hav a lot gang drive t.prius. It because they previously drive camry, madza6, merc or bmw. So diff level ppl hav to choose same lvl cars. Correct me if i wrong. Dun forget, honda insight still can driving even ur battery kong, other... Cannot. This post has been edited by kelvin_hata: Jun 6 2011, 07:45 PM |
Jun 6 2011, 08:21 PM
12 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Petaling Jaya |
yeahla...my mom too keeps on nagging about "got save fuel meh?" i told her "come on la....when you're in a jam...you'll be smilling away at other drivers.." hence,since that day she kept quite about it di. and now its other aunties commenting "why didn't you buy prius? T better resale value mah..."asked them a simple question "are you worried that I'm going to sell of my car in a year or two? if I'm not,why are you so worried about the resale value of MY CAR?" they LOL-ed.....no more comments after so...heheh! PEACE YO!!! XD
Jun 6 2011, 10:31 PM
11 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(yipguseng @ Jun 6 2011, 11:56 AM) Both hands still on the wheel while snapping pic QUOTE(infinitium @ Jun 6 2011, 12:02 PM) I try to keep the dome green even at speed Today resume my driving (lightly) the mileage gone up to 18.5km/l QUOTE(kapultek @ Jun 6 2011, 12:23 PM) 2 insights doing 140 snapped back to back in the speed cam QUOTE(W@ng @ Jun 6 2011, 12:24 PM) If i remembered correctly, within 3 to 3.5K rpm range.QUOTE(pAcAq @ Jun 6 2011, 05:28 PM) found out from yahoo, though it is more about us markets... Proud to know due to whatever reason, our car is in the same group with X6, R Class, Tundra, Maybach....http://autos.yahoo.com/news/10-most-disapp...rs-of-2011.html what do u guys think? |
Jun 6 2011, 11:08 PM
20 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
i love this car....but i'm concerned about the resale value
this is the oldest hybrid technology which means the chances it will be replaced will be high? if let's say i'm planning to use this car for 5-7 years.....not that i don't like it but there's always room for improvement right, what do you think the second hand cars market response will be? |
Jun 6 2011, 11:17 PM
2,696 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Butterworth,Penang Status: Available |
QUOTE(seejovin @ Jun 6 2011, 11:08 PM) i love this car....but i'm concerned about the resale value this is the oldest hybrid technology which means the chances it will be replaced will be high? if let's say i'm planning to use this car for 5-7 years.....not that i don't like it but there's always room for improvement right, what do you think the second hand cars market response will be? if u buy now from rm98000 til now rm99800, im sure ur resale value should be ok after 5-7 years, because now gov giving no tax on this car, in future... wa tak tau. and after 5-7 years, battery should drop to 50-60% i think... so another cons point for this car... BUT, if another 5-7 years and our "1 Malaysia" petrol increase the price 30-50%, den i dun think u sell ur car. hahaha and if you looking for high resale value car, pls go for vios. tqvm |
Jun 6 2011, 11:25 PM
133 posts Joined: May 2006 |
QUOTE(seejovin @ Jun 6 2011, 11:08 PM) i love this car....but i'm concerned about the resale value You cant get the best of both worlds ... this car is tax free, fuel saving, fully import with 5 years IMA battery warranty.this is the oldest hybrid technology which means the chances it will be replaced will be high? if let's say i'm planning to use this car for 5-7 years.....not that i don't like it but there's always room for improvement right, what do you think the second hand cars market response will be? Why do u still concern about resale value, it won't go too bad because the fuel price will not going to drop. Technology keep changing, get it when you need it ... |
Jun 7 2011, 04:02 AM
12 posts Joined: Nov 2010 From: Petaling Jaya |
if you're afraid of loosing out in terms of technology everyday....then my 2cents is to not buy a car..use bicycle...easy...no need to worry about the latest tech out there....=)
Jun 7 2011, 05:57 AM
i remembered someone looking for RHS Honda Insight 2 Din a while ago?
Jun 7 2011, 08:46 AM
14,245 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
QUOTE(kelvin_hata @ Jun 6 2011, 11:17 PM) if u buy now from rm98000 til now rm99800, im sure ur resale value should be ok after 5-7 years, because now gov giving no tax on this car, in future... wa tak tau. and after 5-7 years, battery should drop to 50-60% i think... so another cons point for this car... BUT, if another 5-7 years and our "1 Malaysia" petrol increase the price 30-50%, den i dun think u sell ur car. hahaha and if you looking for high resale value car, pls go for vios. tqvm personally i bought the car without worrying the resale value as i love the car (had taken into account that the worst case scenario the car has no resale value at all, of course it won't be worst til that extent). if want to talk logically, think most owners like myself definitely are not going (or should say not able) to sell the car within the next few years soon. As frankly speaking, msian does not appreciate new technology therefore in terms of resale value, b4 u get the car, u should already take this into account. if cannot get good resale value, u can only suck thumb and continue to live with the car. |
Jun 7 2011, 08:50 AM
7 posts Joined: Aug 2008 |
QUOTE(chizzu @ Jun 7 2011, 05:57 AM) yes that was me. Dont think this is glossy black |
| Change to: | 0.0182sec
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:36 AM |