TSKelvin5717
post May 30 2011, 03:00 PM, updated 13y ago

742 posts

Got an offer for Daikin aircond...

Normal 1 HP - RM1k + installation
Inverter 1HP - Rm1350 + Installation
Inverter 1.5HP - RM1700 + Installation

as per the sales man, he say even York is under Daikin therefore is most reliable aircond in Japan... wonder how true izzit ? anyone think this is a good buy ?

need to buy 4 1HP aircond + 1 1.5Hp for living room..

Please advice tongue.gif rclxms.gif
wpq8355
post May 30 2011, 03:07 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 30 2011, 03:00 PM)

as per the sales man, he say even York is under Daikin therefore is most reliable aircond in Japan... wonder how true izzit ? anyone think this is a good buy ?

Please advice  tongue.gif  rclxms.gif
yup.. i consider it No 1 although no one know it in Malaysia.
TSKelvin5717
post May 30 2011, 05:46 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(wpq8355 @ May 30 2011, 03:07 PM)
Serious ? but as i google around this forum.. i found mostly ppl recommend Panasonic or Mitsubishi wo ???

then is the price range a good bargain ?

bhtan
post May 30 2011, 05:51 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 30 2011, 06:46 PM)
Serious ? but as i google around this forum.. i found mostly ppl recommend Panasonic or Mitsubishi wo ???

then is the price range a good bargain ?
Daikin is one of the best if not the best selling brands of aircond in JP. However, note that best selling does not always mean the best. The best audio equipment are those that you have seldom heard of their names and not Bose or Pioneer. Moreover, most of the Daikin here are no longer imported from Japan but made in Thailand. But then Panasonic is Malaysia Boleh. If this were sepak takraw, I will buy Daikin. For aircond, I think it should be OK vs Panasonic. BTW, I actually like my Toshiba aircond even though I am not sure they are still selling them smile.gif
TSKelvin5717
post May 30 2011, 06:00 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(bhtan @ May 30 2011, 05:51 PM)
Daikin is one of the best if not the best selling brands of aircond in JP.  However, note that best selling does not always mean the best.  The best audio equipment are those that you have seldom heard of their names and not Bose or Pioneer.  Moreover, most of the Daikin here are no longer imported from Japan but made in Thailand.  But then Panasonic is Malaysia Boleh.  If this were sepak takraw, I will buy Daikin.  For aircond, I think it should be OK vs Panasonic.  BTW, I actually like my Toshiba aircond even though I am not sure they are still selling them  smile.gif
I think i saw Thoshiba Aircond also i think they still selling... hmm but Panasonic and Mitsubishi are the word of mouth for aircond is this forum.. seldom hear bout Daikin in fact dunno if it's easy to service / maintain in future ? in terms of parts and so on ?
y4ng
post May 30 2011, 06:06 PM

Kambing Lembu
632 posts

my fren who does aircon says daikon is like york...might as well buy daikon
Awakened_Angel
post May 30 2011, 06:10 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 30 2011, 04:00 PM)

Please advice  tongue.gif  rclxms.gif
Daikin is rank No 2 in the WHOLEWORLD after carrier....

Yes... few years ago, OYL(york & acson) which was under Hong Leong Industry, was sold to daikin Global...

So, your answer is yes... york and acson is under daikin....

if I am not mistaken, York WM-J series is similar to Daikin one.. just cover change.... so, buy york inverter.... cheaper,easier service, wide network of dealers(more competition)

P/S though York is under Daikin, but that`s only under management wise... there`re lots of industry that daikin is invoved into also.....
product/quality/branding/service/network is totally different.

Added on May 30, 2011, 6:12 pm
QUOTE(wpq8355 @ May 30 2011, 04:07 PM)
define No ONE...

1) by sales/revenue?
2) by brand recognition?
3) by history?
4) by technology/cooling capacity/intelligent?

P/S I reckon that the actual No ONE is the sum of all above... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: May 30 2011, 06:12 PM
TSKelvin5717
post May 30 2011, 10:54 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 30 2011, 06:10 PM)

Yes... few years ago, OYL(york & acson) which was under Hong Leong Industry, was sold to daikin Global...

if I am not mistaken, York WM-J series is similar to Daikin one.. just cover change....  so, buy york inverter.... cheaper,easier service, wide network of dealers(more competition)

P/S though York is under Daikin, but that`s only under management wise... there`re lots of industry that daikin is invoved into also..... 

Added on May 30, 2011, 6:12 pm
define No ONE...

1) by sales/revenue?
2) by brand recognition?
3) by history?
4) by technology/cooling capacity/intelligent?

P/S I reckon that the actual No ONE is the sum of all above... tongue.gif
if following what you said, then York / Acson / Daikin technology should not be the same as the only have the same management but not the engineering ? therefore York is better in terms of quality then Daikin ? then how bout Acson ?

Anyway i'm looking for above average type.. budget is

1Hp - Rm1k - 1.5k
1.5Hp Rm1.5k - 2k

any good suggestion for reliable + electric saving 1 tongue.gif also heard inverter only start saving if u on it more than 8 hours and above which there will be only possible in weekend wo.. rclxub.gif
vincentwee
post May 30 2011, 11:03 PM

126 posts

if so good, how come don see "daikin" aircon sell at Best Denki, Seng Heng, Harvey Norman, Courts Mammoth...etc

personally im Mitsubishi supporter
lazzy_dogg
post May 30 2011, 11:11 PM

943 posts

i think daikin's selling point is the R22 gas inverters.... thats why alot of ppl are buying it....
TSKelvin5717
post May 30 2011, 11:34 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 30 2011, 11:03 PM)
if so good, how come don see "daikin" aircon sell at Best Denki, Seng Heng, Harvey Norman, Courts Mammoth...etc

hmm betul jugak hmm.gif hmm.gif maybe they kurang promosi ?

QUOTE(lazzy_dogg @ May 30 2011, 11:11 PM)
i think daikin's selling point is the R22 gas inverters.... thats why alot of ppl are buying it....
Yup, the R22 gas for inverters is interesting... if not mistaken they say only them can use R22 for inverters other inverters all cannot hmm.gif

iv'N
post May 30 2011, 11:55 PM

657 posts

My aircon maintenance guy mention daikin is good and expensive stuff
lazzy_dogg
post May 31 2011, 01:30 AM

943 posts

but i heard r410 is cooler.... dunno if its true....
TSKelvin5717
post May 31 2011, 08:41 AM

742 posts

QUOTE(iv'N @ May 30 2011, 11:55 PM)
My aircon maintenance guy mention daikin is good and expensive stuff
hmm now lagi pening hmm.gif doh.gif if your aircon maintenance guy mention daikin is good.. how come it's expensive stuff since the price is lagi cheap then the Mitsubishi / Panasonic type ??

QUOTE(lazzy_dogg @ May 31 2011, 01:30 AM)
but i heard r410 is cooler.... dunno if its true....
hmmm anyone with experience can confirm this ?? hmm.gif
vincentwee
post May 31 2011, 08:54 AM

126 posts

aiyah.. don buy daikin..reason cannot easily find shop that sell daikin..
simple as that...

buy those aircon that easily can be spot at those electrical shop..like Panasonic , Sharp...

one thing is avoid korean aircon...as they are not reach to the standard yet..y i say so..as i got 2 LG aircon..exterior look is very cantik but when on that time...wakau..super loud.. i hardly hear sound come out from my Mitsubishi..and i do my own aircon maintenance... Mitsubishi is easy to clean..

lastly,...to play safe.go for Panasonic..as so many ppl use..if wanna find spare part or ppl fix it..is easy.....
Awakened_Angel
post May 31 2011, 08:59 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 30 2011, 11:54 PM)
if following what you said, then York / Acson / Daikin technology should not be the same as the only have the same management but not the engineering ? therefore York is better in terms of quality then Daikin ? then how bout Acson ?

1Hp - Rm1k - 1.5k
1.5Hp Rm1.5k - 2k

any good suggestion for reliable + electric saving 1  tongue.gif 
technology wise? yes... daikin might spare some technology to york & acson from japan... OYL group has inhouse R&D in bukit rahman putra in sg buluh whereby they research new tech etc.... not defnately daikin tech is far superior(due to japan tech, history & scale)

last time, acson used to sell same product as york but different marketing/branding/pricing.... but now, they had diverge their product(outlook, capacity, technology etc....)

also heard inverter only start saving if u on it more than 8 hours and above which there will be only possible in weekend wo.. rclxub.gif
yes your are right.. what they published in catalogue/ads(50% saving) is only half of the truth....

e.g. oldtown(which I visited yesterday)... they publish affortable meal RM 1.20 per toast set.... it is only half of the truth.... they never told you its a add on set until u want to order.. when u order, the size is half as normal..... doh.gif

Added on May 31, 2011, 9:02 am
QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 31 2011, 09:41 AM)
hmm now lagi pening  hmm.gif  doh.gif  if your aircon maintenance guy mention daikin is good.. how come it's expensive stuff since the price is lagi cheap then the Mitsubishi / Panasonic type ??
salesman say good- good margin/incentive/rebate/bonus/add on benefits by a brand if you sell his product/less competitive
serviceman say good- maybe easy to install/no fuss/no hand tail(in chinese which mean aftermath trouble) after installation

Added on May 31, 2011, 9:07 am
QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 31 2011, 09:54 AM)
simple as that...

buy those aircon that easily can be spot at those electrical shop..like Panasonic , Sharp...

one thing is avoid korean aircon...as they are not reach to the standard yet..y i say so..as i got 2 LG aircon..exterior look is very cantik but when on that time...wakau..super loud.. i hardly hear sound come out from my Mitsubishi..and i do my own aircon maintenance... Mitsubishi is easy to clean..

lastly,...to play safe.go for Panasonic..as so many ppl use..if wanna find spare part or ppl fix it..is easy.....
yes.. like car spareparts..............

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: May 31 2011, 09:07 AM
TSKelvin5717
post May 31 2011, 09:11 AM

742 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 31 2011, 08:54 AM)
simple as that...

Mitsu is expensive cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif ya originally plan to buy Panasonic... now need to survey survey to make confirmation...

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 31 2011, 08:59 AM)
technology wise? yes... daikin might spare some technology to york & acson from japan... OYL group has inhouse R&D in bukit rahman putra in sg buluh whereby they research new tech etc.... not defnately daikin tech is far superior(due to japan tech, history & scale)

last time, acson used to sell same product as york but different marketing/branding/pricing.... but now, they had diverge their product(outlook, capacity, technology etc....)

yes your are right.. what they published in catalogue/ads(50% saving) is only half of the truth....

e.g. oldtown(which I visited yesterday)... they publish affortable meal RM 1.20 per toast set.... it is only half of the truth.... they never told you its a add on set until u want to order.. when u order, the size is half as normal.....  doh.gif

Added on May 31, 2011, 9:02 am
salesman say good- good margin/incentive/rebate/bonus/add on benefits by a brand if you sell his product/less competitive
serviceman say good- maybe easy to install/no fuss/no hand tail(in chinese which mean aftermath trouble) after installation

Added on May 31, 2011, 9:07 am
yes.. like car spareparts..............
then meaning is a NO NO for Daikin due to the less popularity = hard to maintain = hard to find spare part...

Then now left to chose from is Panasonic & Mitsubishi ? any other reliable brand ? mitsu i think too expensive ??
vincentwee
post May 31 2011, 09:17 AM

126 posts

nolah.. Mitsu is cheaper than Panasonic...

if i were u, i take either P or M ..how i compare is like this
let say i take 1.5 power for both P and M

salesman quote Pana = $1500 excluding installation , $100 installation
Total = $1600 .
quote Mitsu = $1500 including installation

of course i take Mitsu... as cheaper $100...

both also good brand.. japan.. then maybe take consideration whether Pana external look nice or Mitsu..normally Pana will win it..as Mitsu external look like a big white box...haha..my wife put nice sticker on our Mitsu aircon..it look different though..

shay_g
post May 31 2011, 10:22 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 31 2011, 09:17 AM)
nolah.. Mitsu is cheaper than Panasonic...

if i were u, i take either P or M ..how i compare is like this
let say i take 1.5 power for both P and M

salesman quote Pana = $1500 excluding installation , $100 installation
                            Total = $1600 .
              quote Mitsu = $1500 including installation

of course i take Mitsu... as cheaper $100...

both also good brand.. japan.. then maybe take consideration whether Pana external look nice or Mitsu..normally Pana will win it..as Mitsu external look like a big white box...haha..my wife put nice sticker on our Mitsu aircon..it look different though..
which Mitsu..?? Mitsubishi Electric or Mitsubishi Heavy Industries...?? cool2.gif
Awakened_Angel
post May 31 2011, 10:42 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 31 2011, 10:11 AM)
then meaning is a NO NO for Daikin due to the less popularity = hard to maintain = hard to find spare part...
Not quite... i would rate Daikin A/C as perguet/mazda car... exotic, high tech, niche market, bit exp, reliable... but hard to service/find spare part.....

There`s no second doubt about daikin`s technology.... the drawback is sparepart.. as less dealer/stokist compared to york...
TSKelvin5717
post May 31 2011, 01:59 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 31 2011, 10:42 AM)
Not quite... i would rate Daikin A/C as perguet/mazda car... exotic, high tech, niche market, bit exp, reliable... but hard to service/find spare part.....

There`s no second doubt about daikin`s technology.... the drawback is sparepart.. as less dealer/stokist compared to york...
Then it's not good for long run then... hmm now comparing Mitsubishi and Panasonic... which 1 better le hmm.gif

Should i go for Inverter type or not ?

Weekdays
Use only from 8.00pm - 6.00am

Weekend
Use around 12 hours - 16 hours

1Hp - Rm1k - 1.5k
1.5Hp Rm1.5k - 2k

need 4 1HP aircond for all bedroom, and 1 unit of 1.5HP for living room.. living room space (309sqft) kitchen & dinning area use fan cukup la tongue.gif

any good suggestion ?

budget as stated above.. prefer those less noise, good maintenance & maybe save electric ? rclxms.gif oh not to be left out must be CHILL & COLD cool2.gif cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Kelvin5717: May 31 2011, 02:01 PM
vincentwee
post May 31 2011, 04:52 PM

126 posts

definitely u need inverter.... all inverter whether Pana or Mitsu inverter only effective if used aircon more than 6 hours above

by the way, with stupid lousy heartless G increase 7% starting june, definitely u need have inverter for your current situation

if not, cut down your aircon usage time.. use only few hours ..then u can get normal aircon...at same time.u don need pay so much for your electrical bill.
TSKelvin5717
post May 31 2011, 05:37 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 31 2011, 04:52 PM)
definitely u need inverter.... all inverter whether Pana or Mitsu inverter only effective if used aircon more than 6 hours above

by the way, with stupid lousy heartless G increase 7% starting june, definitely u need have inverter for your current situation

if not, cut down your aircon usage time.. use only few hours ..then u can get normal aircon...at same time.u don need pay so much for your electrical bill.
ya read that also in Star front page cry.gif cry.gif meaning should i get Inverter for my living room or all the bedroom also ?
Awakened_Angel
post May 31 2011, 06:42 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 31 2011, 02:59 PM)
Then it's not good for long run then... hmm now comparing Mitsubishi and Panasonic... which 1 better le  hmm.gif

Should i go for Inverter type or not ?

Weekdays
Use only from 8.00pm - 6.00am

Weekend
Use around 12 hours - 16 hours

1Hp - Rm1k - 1.5k
1.5Hp Rm1.5k - 2k

need 4 1HP aircond for all bedroom, and 1 unit of 1.5HP for living room.. living room space (309sqft) kitchen & dinning area use fan cukup la  tongue.gif

any good suggestion ?

budget as stated above.. prefer those less noise, good maintenance & maybe save electric ?  rclxms.gif oh not to be left out must be CHILL & COLD  cool2.gif  cool2.gif
Go for non-inverter type... You seen the graph before? the typical graph used by inverter technology ads whereby the graph show a guy cycling up and down a hill which use a lot of energy compared to a guy on flat road...

yes.. this graph is valid when you use duringthe day... but imagine at night time... you were asleep.. the heat that your body release is minimum, door was shut, there`s literally low heat emission... so the A/C wont even work so hard to cool the room...

P/S non inverter compressor works like a loop.. when a sensor sence the temperature, compare it to preset temp, then sent data to compressor on how much heat to extract from the room. this compressor cant slow or fast.. just can on 100% or close 0%.... so its the wastage that occurs....

for livingroom, please do select bigger capacity(heat from TV, frequent close opening, human activity etc) and yes... inverter is useful in saving energy here....

its akin of selecting car for proper application.... yes... car save fuel when u drive on high way... no matter what car.. the difference does not show much.. but the saving came into vision when you are stuck in a jam(pedal & brake)
regards.....

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: May 31 2011, 08:55 PM
JinXXX
post May 31 2011, 08:43 PM

2,513 posts

usually nobody uses.. inverter for living room...

they usually opt for higher HP, price/performance ratio...

bedroom usually ppl opt for inverter those that come home 8pm and just chill/stay around the room until nex day wake up 7am
slk
post May 31 2011, 09:19 PM

326 posts

you can try the shop beside topten puchung (beside tesco). Panasonic 1HP = RM 790. smile.gif
vincentwee
post May 31 2011, 11:29 PM

126 posts

im sure Panasonic 1HP is old model..maybe 1 or 2 years ago..they cant sell it..so sell cheap..

to play safe..go to panasonic malaysia website...jot down the latest model..when u go buy aircon..salesman cant cheat as there will be model number..

gunh
post Jun 1 2011, 09:22 AM

459 posts

i tot is the other way round, should use inverter for bedroom as it is enclosed and normally use for long hr (overnight)... the graph for inverter did go up initially (as to faster reach the desire room temperature) but after that will be running slowly to maintain the temperature. (in long run, it did save energy) compare to non inverter type where the compressor need to start stop more frequent...

And for the living room, it is very very hard to utilise inverter as u can hardly get the whole living room reach the desire room temperature, so we normally install a/c just for the purpose of "spot" cooling... so what's the point of having inverter for living room?

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 31 2011, 06:42 PM)
Go for non-inverter type... You seen the graph before? the typical graph used by inverter technology ads whereby the graph show a guy cycling up and down a hill which use a lot of energy compared to a guy on flat road...

yes.. this graph is valid when you use duringthe day... but imagine at night time... you were asleep.. the heat that your body release is minimum, door was shut, there`s literally low heat emission... so the A/C wont even work so hard to cool the room...

P/S non inverter compressor works like a loop.. when a sensor sence the temperature, compare it to preset temp, then sent data to compressor on how much heat to extract from the room. this compressor cant slow or fast.. just can on 100% or close 0%.... so its the wastage that occurs....

for livingroom, please do select bigger capacity(heat from TV, frequent close opening, human activity etc) and yes... inverter is useful in saving energy here....

its akin of selecting car for proper application.... yes... car save fuel when u drive on high way... no matter what car.. the difference does not show much.. but the saving came into vision when you are stuck in a jam(pedal & brake)
regards.....

Added on June 1, 2011, 9:26 amy do u say daikin is hard to find spare part? from my personnel experience, their maintenance technician is quite reliable, they do come to check within 1-2 working days from the day received ur complaint.

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 31 2011, 10:42 AM)

This post has been edited by gunh: Jun 1 2011, 09:26 AM
wpq8355
post Jun 1 2011, 01:37 PM

238 posts

look for those technician fix acson can fix daikin as well.. lots of similiarity in term of spareparts..
catpowder
post Jun 1 2011, 04:11 PM

162 posts

My friend's upmarket RM2 million ringgit condominium in Singapore uses Daikin air cons as 'defaults'... must be super reliable and efficient!

Went to a Daikin distributor yesterday in Uptown. Seems great plus it seems the inverter could be installed in a non-inverter way.

The design is timeless... albeit a bit 'old fashioned', but still, I trust these models that 'never get refreshed/redesigned so rapidly... (the model was awarded the "Good Design" in Japan). It's like an iPhone... it evolves, and doesn't have 10 different models unlike Nokia... it works, it's focused. Going to get a few for my own house!

Added on June 1, 2011, 4:33 pmBy the way, R22 - the gas used by Daikon, which is also used in most air conditioners nowadays - will one day be phased out by 2030 under the Montreal Protocol. The lady at the Daikin shop said that the new Panasonic inverters are using the new and very expensive gas called R410 that is the replacement for the R22 Chlorodifluoromethane...

A bit bothered by the ozone depletion effects... but what to do? sad.gif

This post has been edited by catpowder: Jun 1 2011, 04:33 PM
TSKelvin5717
post Jun 1 2011, 05:52 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 31 2011, 11:29 PM)
im sure Panasonic 1HP is old model..maybe 1 or 2 years ago..they cant sell it..so sell cheap..

to play safe..go to panasonic malaysia website...jot down the latest model..when u go buy aircon..salesman cant cheat as there will be model number..
hahaha this is 1 good idea tongue.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(catpowder @ Jun 1 2011, 04:11 PM)
My friend's upmarket RM2 million ringgit condominium in Singapore uses Daikin air cons as 'defaults'... must be super reliable and efficient! 

Went to a Daikin distributor yesterday in Uptown. Seems great plus it seems the inverter could be installed in a non-inverter way.

The design is timeless... albeit a bit 'old fashioned', but still, I trust these models that 'never get refreshed/redesigned so rapidly... (the model was awarded the "Good Design" in Japan). It's like an iPhone... it evolves, and doesn't have 10 different models unlike Nokia... it works, it's focused. Going to get a few for my own house!

Added on June 1, 2011, 4:33 pmBy the way, R22 - the gas used by Daikon, which is also used in most air conditioners nowadays - will one day be phased out by 2030 under the Montreal Protocol. The lady at the Daikin shop said that the new Panasonic inverters are using the new and very expensive gas called R410 that is the replacement for the R22 Chlorodifluoromethane...

A bit bothered by the ozone depletion effects... but what to do? sad.gif
no money cannot save the world lol sad.gif save our pocket 1st sad.gif
aquos
post Jun 5 2011, 10:27 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(wpq8355 @ Jun 1 2011, 01:37 PM)
look for those technician fix acson can fix daikin as well.. lots of similiarity in term of spareparts..
From personal experience if you call Daikin Malaysia for service , they will take down your details
and pass your case to their outside contractors. The contractor will then call you to set appointment.
In my case still under warranty but aftter warranty also can call them so service is not an issue.

Added on June 5, 2011, 10:34 pm
QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Jun 1 2011, 05:52 PM)
hahaha this is 1 good idea  tongue.gif  rclxms.gif
no money cannot save the world lol  sad.gif save our pocket 1st  sad.gif
very true. for old gas future service and top up about rm120.00 but new green gas Rm300 i think.
So have to choose hole in pocket or hole in ozone layer.

This post has been edited by aquos: Jun 5 2011, 10:34 PM
JoJo(0^0)
post Jun 7 2011, 04:36 PM

32 posts

Nowaday all split unit selling in malaysia are made in CHINA. Sorry, maybe there are few brands still locally assemble but component like comp, fans, motor, casing, controls...etc are imported from CHINA.

As long as the after sales service is good any JAPAN brand should be fine.

The most important is the installer not the product, dont just save few dollars for cheaper installation cost and you may suffer long term problem. Installing air cond need experiance ppl where the leveling, gas pressure, vibration pad (small rubber under the leg of condensing unit to reduce vibration & noise, some ppl dont provide, it cost about RM70 for 4 pcs)...etc.

R22 is HCFC of which is scheduled to phase out in M's by yr 2020. So there are new gas like HFC such as R134a, R407c..etc which is more environment friendly. But using HFC, pipe size is larger. Cost wise, R22 is much cheper. Performance for both type are the same.

Acson is local brand of York which they used to promote in Malaysia (no need to pay royalty to York I guess).

This post has been edited by JoJo(0^0): Jun 7 2011, 04:39 PM
scouser7
post Jun 7 2011, 04:47 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(JoJo(0^0) @ Jun 7 2011, 04:36 PM)
Nowaday all split unit selling in malaysia are made in CHINA. Sorry, maybe there are few brands still locally assemble but component like comp, fans, motor, casing, controls...etc are imported from CHINA.

The most important is the installer not the product, dont just save few dollars for cheaper installation cost and you may suffer long term problem. Installing air cond need experiance ppl where the leveling, gas pressure, vibration pad (small rubber under the leg of condensing unit to reduce vibration & noise, some ppl dont provide, it cost about RM70 for 4 pcs)...etc.

R22 is HCFC of which is scheduled to phase out in M's by yr 2020. So there are new gas like HFC such as R134a, R407c..etc which is more environment friendly. But using HFC, pipe size is larger. Cost wise, R22 is much cheper. Performance for both type are the same.

Acson is local brand of York which they used to promote in Malaysia (no need to pay royalty to York I guess).
Hi! Can i fix those larger pipes meant for new gas as you mentioned for my normal A/c now. I'm planning to renovate my house and get 4 new a/c's soon. Please advise...anyone. TQ
JoJo(0^0)
post Jun 7 2011, 07:34 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Jun 7 2011, 05:47 PM)
Hi! Can i fix those larger pipes meant for new gas as you mentioned for my normal A/c now. I'm planning to renovate my house and get 4 new a/c's soon. Please advise...anyone. TQ
Yes, is better look for good installer who can advise you the pipe size meeting the requirement. You have to decide the capacity (HP), brand, type of system (normal or inverter), type of mounting (wall/cassette), gas (R22/R410/R407c...) in order to size the pipe before start conceal piping work. Get the same ppl to do for all.

aquos
post Jun 7 2011, 07:35 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(JoJo(0^0) @ Jun 7 2011, 04:36 PM)

Over the years i have used many teams of aircon technicians either to install or service and i
notice most of them have bad attitudes and seem to be getting worse. One guy rubbed the
outside unit against the stairs and flattened a large area of the coil fins. i asked him to straighten
them and he got upset and show me sour face. No point complaining. For many companies workers
are hard to find so more important than customers
limch
post Jun 8 2011, 12:17 PM

133 posts

Do not expect quality installation if you buy air cond from electrical shop. The electrical shop charged you only RM150 per installation with 10' copper piping. They rush the job. As long they started the air cond, check that it is cold and rush off.

They cut corner on copper pipe. Thinner copper pipe which will leak gas over some time.

Buy from those air cond specialist.

I use Daikin inverter 1.5hp. The cooling take a longer time. I still have not got my bill yet to tell the savings. Nevertheless, the spare parts will be expensive comparatively.

This post has been edited by limch: Jun 8 2011, 12:20 PM
scouser7
post Jun 8 2011, 12:57 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(JoJo(0^0) @ Jun 7 2011, 07:34 PM)
Yes, is better look for good installer who can advise you the pipe size meeting the requirement. You have to decide the capacity (HP), brand, type of system (normal or inverter), type of mounting (wall/cassette), gas (R22/R410/R407c...) in order to size the pipe before start conceal piping work. Get the same ppl to do for all.
Thanks for ya advise. i think i'll get my wireman/technician to fix larger pipes so that in future i dont have to hack wall again to put larger pipes when iif have ti use new gases.
aquos
post Jun 8 2011, 02:17 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(limch @ Jun 8 2011, 12:17 PM)
Do not expect quality installation if you buy air cond from electrical shop. The electrical shop charged you only RM150 per installation with 10' copper piping. They rush the job. As long they started the air cond, check that it is cold and rush off.

They cut corner on copper pipe. Thinner copper pipe which will leak gas over some time.

Buy from those air cond specialist.

I use Daikin inverter 1.5hp. The cooling take a longer time. I still have not got my bill yet to tell the savings. Nevertheless, the spare parts will be expensive comparatively.
Totally agree but how do normal consumers get in touch with these aircon specialist?
If we ask any aircon installer if they are specialist the will definately answer yes even
though they are "chap ayam" only.

Added on June 8, 2011, 2:29 pm
QUOTE(aquos @ Jun 8 2011, 02:17 PM)
Totally agree but how do normal consumers get in touch with these aircon specialist?
If we ask any aircon installer if they are specialist the will definately answer yes even
though they are "chap ayam" only.
I get it now. Aircon specialist refer to shops which sell only aircon right?
Well I have experience with them too. Bought 5 units from Pana authorised dealer who
only sell aircon. Aircon Experts sales and service in maluri. Lousy aftersales and cannot
contact them now. Maybe gone out of business lol.

This post has been edited by aquos: Jun 8 2011, 02:32 PM
digir
post Jun 8 2011, 04:57 PM

81 posts

Is Samsung or LG inverter good?
It is cheaper than Daikin.
gunh
post Jun 8 2011, 05:28 PM

459 posts

samsung and lg are still new in the ac technology.... i got use LG art cool 1.5hp before... it really dont work like a 1.5hp.... i would say daikin / mitsu 1hp may work better than the art cool 1.5hp.... A good AC will last u for years... just for the additional few hundred, i guess choosing a good quality product will save u a lot of hassle in the future...
digir
post Jun 8 2011, 05:39 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Jun 8 2011, 05:28 PM)
samsung and lg are still new in the ac technology.... i got use LG art cool 1.5hp before... it really dont work like a 1.5hp.... i would say daikin / mitsu 1hp may work better than the art cool 1.5hp.... A good AC will last u for years... just for the additional few hundred, i guess choosing a good quality product will save u a lot of hassle in the future...
Hi, thanks for sharing your experience but i found that their new inverter is a lot cheaper than Daikin.
If anyone has owned or used LG or Samsung inverter AC, please share your experience here. Thanks.

This post has been edited by digir: Jun 8 2011, 08:06 PM
SUSendau02
post Jun 8 2011, 07:13 PM

3,180 posts

daikin is good in aircond, though trane can be better lol
cam40729
post Jun 17 2011, 04:55 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(bhtan @ May 30 2011, 05:51 PM)
Daikin is one of the best if not the best selling brands of aircond in JP.  However, note that best selling does not always mean the best.  The best audio equipment are those that you have seldom heard of their names and not Bose or Pioneer.  Moreover, most of the Daikin here are no longer imported from Japan but made in Thailand.  But then Panasonic is Malaysia Boleh.  If this were sepak takraw, I will buy Daikin.  For aircond, I think it should be OK vs Panasonic.  BTW, I actually like my Toshiba aircond even though I am not sure they are still selling them  smile.gif
QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 30 2011, 06:00 PM)
I think i saw Thoshiba Aircond also i think they still selling... hmm but Panasonic and Mitsubishi are the word of mouth for aircond is this forum.. seldom hear bout Daikin in fact dunno if it's easy to service / maintain in future ? in terms of parts and so on ?
Toshiba is made by Midea now smile.gif even some of the model from Sharp, Electrolux also made by Midea who is known as the world 3rd largest air conditioner manufacturer.
babytensai
post Jun 24 2011, 12:04 AM

191 posts

Daikin inverter ok, but price a bit higher. York, cheap lo. Lg, panasonic not advisable.
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 30 2011, 08:53 AM

12,696 posts

This is so funny. Because these mass marketer do not sell a product, they are no good. Is that why you say LV bags, Patek Philippe watches, Krell amplifier etc no good?

Added on August 30, 2011, 8:56 am
QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 31 2011, 04:52 PM)
Wrong. Try using a small air conditioner in a big all and run 24 hours a day and see what happen. In cases like this, a Invertor will actually uses 10% more electricity than normal air cond.

Invertor only uses less electricity when there are lots of stop/start operation. In a big hall with small air cond, there will be no such operation, hence no saving.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Aug 30 2011, 08:56 AM
JinXXX
post Aug 30 2011, 09:48 AM

2,513 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 30 2011, 08:53 AM)
Invertor only uses less electricity when there are lots of stop/start operation. In a big hall with small air cond, there will be no such operation, hence no saving.
thats why big halls and etc.. its best to use higher HP normal one..

while bedroom is recommended to use inverter...
phoenix69
post Aug 30 2011, 10:54 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 30 2011, 08:53 AM)
This is so funny. Because these mass marketer do not sell a product, they are no good. Is that why you say LV bags, Patek Philippe watches, Krell amplifier etc no good?

Added on August 30, 2011, 8:56 am

Wrong. Try using a small air conditioner in a big all and run 24 hours a day and see what happen. In cases like this, a Invertor will actually uses 10% more electricity than normal air cond.

I thought its the other way around.
Inverter air conditioner uses less electricity thus save money when usage exceed 8 hours,
If less uses more electricity compared to regular non inverter air conditioner,

Got this information from my uncle who is an electrical appliances distributor.
Confirmed this fact with a few electrical brands representative when I was visiting the goverment's energy efficiency subsidy roadshow (forgot name) in Kelana Jaya's Giant.
Serofax
post Aug 30 2011, 09:32 PM

318 posts

nevertheless i'm equipping my entire house with Daikin Airconds (non-inverter) =D
StevenL
post Aug 30 2011, 09:41 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(Serofax @ Aug 30 2011, 09:32 PM)
nevertheless i'm equipping my entire house with Daikin Airconds (non-inverter) =D
What's the price u r getting then for 1hp and 2hp with install? thumbup.gif I'm still lost between York & Daikin, currently my existing house is all York for the last 11 years, only once had problem with a unit where of of its coil leaked but it was repaired, washed & filled with a mere RM200.00 rclxms.gif And till date its still DAMN COLD!!! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
Serofax
post Aug 31 2011, 02:07 AM

318 posts

if im not mistaken, york was bought over by daikin sometime ago.

cheapest i've gotten so far for daikin air conds (non-inverter types) :

1hp - RM860
1.5hp - RM1260
2.0hp - RM1660

EXCLUDE installation. i didnt get a quote for installation as i hv someone else doing it for me wink.gif
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Aug 31 2011, 02:39 AM

288 posts

Regardless of which brand, but the contractor is the one which I concern the most.

Everything starts frm installation, if U have a poor installation job done, likelyhood is U r gonna get series problems.

Anyone had good experience on airccond contractor, pls share Ur experience.

I personally like Panasonic probably due to their marketing strategic tht made me attracted to their brand.

It seems like Daikin makes reliable products, but having issue of spare part availabitity.
Serofax
post Aug 31 2011, 01:34 PM

318 posts

why would daikin have spare part problem?... look for any daikin distributor and they'll be able to service you.

but if ur saying there are LESS daikin distributors than panasonic, yes i'll agree.

however if you observe well, there are quite a few daikin distributors, puchong itself already have over 5 shops that i personally know of smile.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 1 2011, 08:19 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 30 2011, 10:54 AM)
I thought its the other way around.
Inverter air conditioner uses less electricity thus save money when usage exceed 8 hours,
If less uses more electricity compared to regular non inverter air conditioner,

Got this information from my uncle who is an electrical appliances distributor.
Confirmed this fact with a few electrical brands representative when I was visiting the goverment's energy efficiency subsidy roadshow (forgot name) in Kelana Jaya's Giant.
Just because they are in that business does not mean they are not idiot.

Invertor air conditioner has to convert AC electricity to DC electricity. This conversation will incur a lost of 10%. So if you both air cond are used at FULL BLAST situation, an Inverter will use 10% more electricity. FULL BLAST commonly occurs in a big hall/huge room with too small an air cond.

In a smaller room or room with large enough air cond. When temperature in a room reaches the desired or set cool temperature, normal air cond will totally switch off the compressor (only the blower is working). And had to restart the compressor when the set temperature goes up. This stop-start operation uses a lot of electricity similar to a car uses more fuel in stop-start traffic jam situation. This is how normal air cond works.

In a similar situation of lots of stop-start, an inverter air cond's compressor DO NOT STOP COMPLETELY. It merely slows down and pick up speed again when room temperature rises. Since there is no stop-start operation, it uses less electricity. This is similar to a car that never have to totally stop or restart all over again hence reducing fuel usage.

Using car as an example, it's a fact traffic jam with stop-start uses more fuel than an non stop driving on highway. Nobody can argue with that. Likewise, nobody can argue Invertor do not save electricity.

Of course if you only use your inverter for only 1 hour when it doesn't even have time enough to cool the room or enter non-stop/non-start operation, it does not have the time to help you save money.

Added on September 1, 2011, 8:20 am
QUOTE(Serofax @ Aug 31 2011, 02:07 AM)

1hp - RM860
1.5hp - RM1260
2.0hp - RM1660
EXCLUDE installation. i didnt get a quote for installation as i hv someone else doing it for me wink.gif
I think York got several model of that power rating. So which are you referring to?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Sep 1 2011, 08:20 AM
kochin
post Sep 1 2011, 08:57 AM

I just hope I do!
10,278 posts

is york ionizer model 1HP supply & install at rm1k a good price?
thanks.
property user
post Sep 1 2011, 05:01 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Serofax @ Aug 31 2011, 02:07 AM)

1hp - RM860
1.5hp - RM1260
2.0hp - RM1660
May I know where you got your quotes from? Price looks good
How much are they selling for Daikin invertor?
Serofax
post Sep 2 2011, 01:24 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(property user @ Sep 1 2011, 05:01 PM)
May I know where you got your quotes from? Price looks good
How much are they selling for Daikin invertor?
its an aircond shop in USJ20 (LKB airconds)... pretty secluded as its the only aircond shop there, but can be seen from roadside if ur on your way through USJ heading to LDP.

i think u can contact them through email. quotes and prices too wink.gif

lkb_aircond@hotmail.com
Jo_da48
post Sep 2 2011, 08:21 AM

1,529 posts

how the condition of it? Noisy ? Fast cool ?

J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Sep 3 2011, 02:37 AM

288 posts

So back to the topic, how do U guys find the built quality of Daikin and Panasonic air conditioner. I'm currently eyeing at the Daikin FTKD25DVM / RKD25DVM - HP:1 (R22), Daikin FTKS25DVM / RKS25GVMG - HP:1 (R-410A), and the Panasonic CS-S10MKH (CU-S10MKH) ~ 1.0HP, and still hesitating, any comment on the models mentioned would be greatly appreciated.

And with regards to Daikin air conditioner, two different types of R22 and R-40A air conditioners are being offered, which one to go for? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by J1@l_ l_l l\l: Sep 3 2011, 03:17 AM
phoenix69
post Sep 27 2011, 12:01 AM

1,836 posts

I had an interesting conversation with the air-cond service man that came to service my mom's house.
My mom is using York and Panasonic air-cond.
He does all brands air-cond service (chap pa lang)
I asked what he thinks is the best brand. hmm.gif
With the current advertisement, I wanted to install Panasonic. rclxm9.gif

Below are the salient points of our discussion nod.gif

1. Daikin - It has the best build (thicker material), good quality, good technology, No.1 in Singapore, has links with Acson and York, he totally recommend, price not much different than Panasonic, was absent from Malaysia market awhile due to bad distributor but now making a strong comeback thus no problem with spare-parts, loud because it has a strong blower thus cools the room faster, only air cond with inverter that can use regular gas.

2. Panasonic - The build has gone thinner, the second brand he recommend after Daikin, well established in Malaysia thus no problem with spare parts,
loud because it has a strong blower thus cools the room faster.

Other brands - avoid if possible

A Korean brand who also produce mobile phone - avoid like plague. tongue.gif

Reporting from KL. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Sep 27 2011, 12:04 AM
kucingfight
post Sep 27 2011, 11:48 AM

5,736 posts

Any ideas how's other jap brands, like sharp, sanyo, hitachi?
jaycee1
post Sep 27 2011, 01:24 PM

AFK
2,435 posts

just come across this page.

I have installed Daikin inverter units in my old place of work (1hp for Server room) and a 2.5hp for conference room.

This is my observation. Both units are 4 years old.

- no problems whatsoever, the server room unit is left 24/7 and it has been chugging along fine for 4 years, with only normal cleaning/maintenance. Only one problem when it flooded the server floor due to a blocked water hose...which is not the fault of the A/C unit.

- the 2.5hp seems a little underpowered compared with the old York unit. feels like the inverter compressor isn't running at 100% and takes longer to cool. However, long meetings are more comfortable since you don't have the freeze/sweating cycle.

I'm using Panasonic Inverter unit at home for the past 1 year and it has been problem free. Typical usage is from 8pm to 7am daily. saves about $20-30/mth from my electricity bill compared to my 8 year old National unit. Forgot the price. Used CC card points to exchange.

SYL17
post Sep 28 2011, 12:41 AM

295 posts

i am thinking of getting a 2HP aircon.. buying from a shop which its my frens dad's shop,
and all along they have been giving me good prices.. but this time round..
aircon of 2HP (non inverter) keep staying prices on 2K and above..

wahlau.. i been hearing aircon of 2HP (branded) going for 1700-1900,
even in this thread, daikin 2HP can get at 1600++

Been surfing and finding out prices for 3 months already.. still not willing to pay 2K for 2HP.

Any experts or experienced buyers share your thoughts?

My thinking:
1. 1st choice - mitsu electric, 2nd choice - panasonic, 3rd choice - york.
2. I love mitsu cos its so quiet, compressor also quite quiet.
3. Panasonic i wanted to, but my shop said pana built quality so lousy now, customer complains..
4. I heard (& surfed) that York is very noisy, both blower and compressor.
5. Price of mitsu electric going at around 2.2K (include install), pana 2.1K, york SLIGHTLY below 2K.

Any advice?

Thanks notworthy.gif

PS: by the way I from JB, always wondered that if the singaporeans here has caused the prices to be
more ex than KL...

This post has been edited by SYL17: Sep 28 2011, 12:43 AM
Zaqwer
post Oct 26 2011, 02:03 PM

I have 2 units of Daikin (1.5 and 2 hp).

1. Daikin takes long time to cool down the room.
2. Blower kinda slow compared to Panasonic.
3. Lousy customer service.
JinXXX
post Oct 26 2011, 02:17 PM

2,513 posts

QUOTE(Zaqwer @ Oct 26 2011, 02:03 PM)
I have 2 units of Daikin (1.5 and 2 hp).

1. Daikin takes long time to cool down the room.
2. Blower kinda slow compared to Panasonic.
3. Lousy customer service.
inverter or normal one ?
Zaqwer
post Oct 27 2011, 08:44 AM

QUOTE(JinXXX @ Oct 26 2011, 02:17 PM)
inverter or normal one ?
Both are non-inverter models.
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Nov 1 2011, 11:02 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Sep 27 2011, 12:01 AM)
I had an interesting conversation with the air-cond service man that came to service my mom's house.
My mom is using York and Panasonic air-cond.
He does all brands air-cond service (chap pa lang)
I asked what he thinks is the best brand.  hmm.gif
With the current advertisement, I wanted to install Panasonic.  rclxm9.gif

Below are the salient points of our discussion nod.gif

1. Daikin - It has the best build (thicker material), good quality, good technology, No.1 in Singapore, has links with Acson and York, he totally recommend, price not much different than Panasonic, was absent from Malaysia market awhile due to bad distributor but now making a strong comeback thus no problem with spare-parts, loud because it has a strong blower thus cools the room faster, only air cond with inverter that can use regular gas.

2. Panasonic - The build has gone thinner, the second brand he recommend after Daikin, well established in Malaysia thus no problem with spare parts,
loud because it has a strong blower thus cools the room faster.

Other brands - avoid if possible

A Korean brand who also produce mobile phone - avoid like plague.  tongue.gif

Reporting from KL.  laugh.gif
May I know which specific part has gone thinner? What is the thickness? The claim was juz verbally or was proven by measuring the thickness?
phoenix69
post Nov 2 2011, 09:57 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(J1@l_ l_l l\l @ Nov 1 2011, 11:02 PM)
May I know which specific part has gone thinner? What is the thickness? The claim was juz verbally or was proven by measuring the thickness?
Did not ask specifically. It seems that this sentiment is also shared by my wetwork contractor.
Any other members have this experience? hmm.gif
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Nov 2 2011, 05:33 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Nov 2 2011, 09:57 AM)
Did not ask specifically. It seems that this sentiment is also shared by my wetwork contractor.
Any other members have this experience?  hmm.gif
I hope tht's not a rumor being spreaded without fact.

But for me, I would prefer Daikin (most of the latest models as per post date) mainly due to the design of the compressor.
phoenix69
post Nov 2 2011, 06:10 PM

1,836 posts

The air cond contractor I spoke to earlier and the Legend Hi Fi Salesman told me this, Daikin Inverter air cond is the only inverter air cond that uses regular non inverter gas. Thus service charge is the same.
Is the service charge the same. ??
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Nov 2 2011, 07:16 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Nov 2 2011, 06:10 PM)
The air cond contractor I spoke to earlier and the Legend Hi Fi Salesman told me this, Daikin Inverter air cond is the only inverter air cond that uses regular non inverter gas. Thus service charge is the same.
Is the service charge the same. ??
Those models in FTKD range are running on R22 refrigerent using inverter motor and models in FTKS range are running on R410A refrigerent using inverter motor.

Installation charges depends on the type refrigerent and the dimension of the copper piping.
wdarke
post Nov 2 2011, 08:37 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(J1@l_ l_l l\l @ Nov 2 2011, 05:33 PM)
I hope tht's not a rumor being spreaded without fact.

But for me, I would prefer Daikin (most of the latest models as per post date) mainly due to the design of the compressor.
How is the design of the compressor better?
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Nov 2 2011, 08:58 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Nov 2 2011, 08:37 PM)
How is the design of the compressor better?
Sir, I didn't say better. I said I prefer the design of the compressor mainly of their design of the swing compressor, reluctance DC motor, and the PAM control. But I didn't buy Daikin and in fact I have juz bought two units of Panasonic Econavi air conditioners.
wdarke
post Nov 2 2011, 10:13 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(J1@l_ l_l l\l @ Nov 2 2011, 08:58 PM)
Sir, I didn't say better. I said I prefer the design of the compressor mainly of their design of the swing compressor, reluctance DC motor, and the PAM control. But I didn't buy Daikin and in fact I have juz bought two units of Panasonic Econavi air conditioners.
Oh ok. I was wondering because the compressor looks to be almost the same as any other aircond. I use Daikin.
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Nov 2 2011, 11:18 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Nov 2 2011, 10:13 PM)
Oh ok. I was wondering because the compressor looks to be almost the same as any other aircond. I use Daikin.
Externally looks the same doesn't mean the internal mechanism is the same. Did U open up the compressor? If yes pls share with us some pictures here.
wdarke
post Nov 2 2011, 11:25 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(J1@l_ l_l l\l @ Nov 2 2011, 11:18 PM)
Externally looks the same doesn't mean the internal mechanism is the same. Did U open up the compressor? If yes pls share with us some pictures here.
Oh no smile.gif They are still functioning well, just a year plus.
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Nov 2 2011, 11:41 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Nov 2 2011, 11:25 PM)
Oh no smile.gif They are still functioning well, just a year plus.
May I know which specific model Ur Daikin air conditioner is? Any comment?
wdarke
post Nov 2 2011, 11:48 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(J1@l_ l_l l\l @ Nov 2 2011, 11:41 PM)
May I know which specific model Ur Daikin air conditioner is? Any comment?
Can't remember the exact model number. Bought it more than a year ago. Inverter units all of them, uses R22 gas. FTKD models. 2x1.5 HP and 2x1HP.
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Nov 3 2011, 12:23 AM

288 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Nov 2 2011, 11:48 PM)
Can't remember the exact model number. Bought it more than a year ago. Inverter units all of them, uses R22 gas. FTKD models. 2x1.5 HP and 2x1HP.
I like FTKD but prefer FTKS. FTKS has higher efficiency because of R410A refrigerent, but the drawback is FTKS is more expensive comparing to FTKD and I guess the installation and would be more expensive as well.
phoenix69
post Nov 10 2011, 06:54 PM

1,836 posts

Aiyo ... Wanted to install Daikin Air cond but found out that the wiring must follow daikin spec (Which is diffrent) from other brands to get the warranty. rclxub.gif

Regular air cond wiring.
Power point and switch near the inside air cond unit.

Daikin air cond wiring
Power point near the outside compressor.
Switch near the inside air cond unit.

If Daikin use Regular air cond wiring configuration, then can work but warranty, negated doh.gif

If use Daikin air cond wiring configuration, in future cannot change other brands. doh.gif
jeffchan345
post Nov 10 2011, 10:09 PM

i wanted to buy daikin with inverter as well but might reconsider it now. Thanks for the info.
SUSOptiplex330
post Nov 11 2011, 11:07 AM

12,696 posts

That is flawed logic. It's like saying LV handbags should be sold at Pasar Malam to be good brand and not when it is sold at specialty shops.

firdaus87
post Nov 11 2011, 11:31 AM

207 posts

My house has been using daikin(3 unit 1hp, 1 unit 1.5hp) for alsmot 1 year plus. it is an inverter unit. so far, everything is ok, trouble free and the 1hp's performance is excellent. as for the 1.5hp, we did service it after 6 month of usage as it suddenly not as cool as before. FYI, the 1.5hp unit from master bedroom can actually cool down family hall and up to living room downstairs if i leave the door open.
weikee
post Nov 11 2011, 12:20 PM

12,019 posts

Reliability of the A/c only come when it use after 2 or 3 years. This is the time quality tell the difference.
phoenix69
post Nov 11 2011, 08:28 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 11 2011, 12:20 PM)
Reliability of the A/c only come when it use after 2 or 3 years. This is the time quality tell the difference.
What Air cond are you using?? blink.gif
looking for alternative to Daikin now.
weikee
post Nov 11 2011, 09:58 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Nov 11 2011, 08:28 PM)
What Air cond are you using??  blink.gif
looking for alternative to Daikin now.
4x sharp 1hp (3 plasma, 1 normal)
1 x yoke 2hp
1 x panasonic 1.5hp inverter.

All just installed today.

Added on November 11, 2011, 9:58 pmBTW, my installer told me Yoke have a new model, and the compressor exactly like daikin. So you may want to try.

This post has been edited by weikee: Nov 11 2011, 09:58 PM
phoenix69
post Nov 12 2011, 12:30 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 11 2011, 09:58 PM)
1 x yoke 2hp

Added on November 11, 2011, 9:58 pmBTW, my installer told me Yoke have a new model, and the compressor exactly like daikin. So you may want to try.
ok i'll check it out . if use regular power point location, I'll be very interested.
Jo_da48
post Nov 12 2011, 01:17 AM

1,529 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 11 2011, 09:58 PM)
1 x yoke 2hp

All brand new? If yes, why so Rojah with different brand?

iamgibson
post Nov 12 2011, 09:46 AM

14 posts

Just installed York M Series. Not sure whether it's a new model or not. York website was designed by a Form 1 student I think.
lazzy_dogg
post Nov 14 2011, 12:56 AM

943 posts

One thing about daikin is that it seems to have an issue with the water condensation... very easily will start to have water coming out from the blower if the piping is not installed properly... also it takes abit more time to cool down... make sure the fins for the blower unit and compressor is cleaned regularly... this is what i experienced about diakin for a few years.... other than that.... no major issues like pcb failures etc... and still very quiet....
i also have national and panasonic models which are also a few years old.... the blower is now very noisy, the louver broke or something.... the plastic dont seem to be having a very good quality
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Nov 18 2011, 12:03 PM

288 posts

QUOTE(iamgibson @ Nov 12 2011, 09:46 AM)
Just installed York M Series. Not sure whether it's a new model or not. York website was designed by a Form 1 student I think.
U don't know what have U bought?

QUOTE(lazzy_dogg @ Nov 14 2011, 12:56 AM)
One thing about daikin is that it seems to have an issue with the water condensation... very easily will start to have water coming out from the blower if the piping is not installed properly... also it takes abit more time to cool down... make sure the fins for the blower unit and compressor is cleaned regularly... this is what i experienced about diakin for a few years.... other than that.... no major issues like pcb failures etc... and still very quiet....
i also have national and panasonic models which are also a few years old.... the blower is now very noisy, the louver broke or something.... the plastic dont seem to be having a very good quality
If the piping is not installed properly, does condensation happen only to Daikin air conditioner? May I know which specific model of Daikin Ur using?
ahter
post Nov 18 2011, 12:29 PM

250 posts

is there any specific restriction on whether the outdoor unit (compressor) should to be installed not higher or lower than the indoor (blower) unit ? too high or too low will this lead to condensation problem or is it purely piping issue ?
wdarke
post Nov 18 2011, 06:15 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(ahter @ Nov 18 2011, 12:29 PM)
is there any specific restriction on whether the outdoor unit (compressor) should to be installed not higher or lower than the indoor (blower) unit ? too high or too low will this lead to condensation problem or is it purely piping issue ?
No such restriction for compressor. The condensation water piping is separate from the refrigerant piping to the compressor. Most important thing about water piping is that it must be, obviously, lower than the indoor unit, and have a steep enough angle so that water flows fast and does not pool. Try to avoid too many sharp bends too. Dusts easily accumulates at bends, causing clogging in the future.

This post has been edited by wdarke: Nov 18 2011, 06:16 PM
lazzy_dogg
post Nov 18 2011, 09:09 PM

943 posts

alternatively get a water pump
wdarke
post Nov 18 2011, 11:33 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(lazzy_dogg @ Nov 18 2011, 09:09 PM)
alternatively get a water pump
Water pump is not a good idea for a room. I wouldn't want to be woken up by the pump running in the middle of the night.
Tsj261
post Nov 19 2011, 12:52 PM

311 posts

anyone know where can i look for Daikin air condition or their branch around setapak ?
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 17 2012, 05:25 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 30 2011, 06:10 PM)

if I am not mistaken, York WM-J series is similar to Daikin one.. just cover change....  so, buy york inverter.... cheaper,easier service, wide network of dealers(more competition)

So if buying York, is J series the better ones? Looking for the 2HP or 2.5HP model.
member808
post Jun 17 2012, 09:56 AM

102 posts

i have been using daikin for about 5 years, my rented house is also using daikin, all together i own 10 units (or more) daikin. got no problem at all
iamsobloodysick
post Jun 17 2012, 02:56 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(member808 @ Jun 17 2012, 09:56 AM)
i have been using daikin for about 5 years, my rented house is also using daikin, all together i own 10 units (or more) daikin. got no problem at all
daikin is good
Red Maniac
post Jun 18 2012, 01:53 PM

347 posts

I just bought the Daikin Inverter R22 2.0Hp recently.

After installation, the indoor unit produced some vibration noise once the air cond is set to powerful mode or when set to swing. I call the shop and they will in turn complain to Daikin of this problem. I'm still waiting for Daikin's technician to contact me to arrange for home visit. icon_question.gif

I wonder is it me being unlucky or is this a common problem? cry.gif
DiVaio
post Jun 19 2012, 11:00 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(Red Maniac @ Jun 18 2012, 01:53 PM)
I just bought the Daikin Inverter R22 2.0Hp recently. 

After installation, the indoor unit produced some vibration noise once the air cond is set to powerful mode or when set to swing.  I call the shop and they will in turn complain to Daikin of this problem.  I'm still waiting for Daikin's technician to contact me to arrange for home visit.  icon_question.gif

I wonder is it me being unlucky or is this a common problem?  cry.gif
Bro
How much you bought this unit?

mhhee
post Jun 20 2012, 08:26 AM

1,260 posts

My father's house is installed with Daikin basic air cond. Working well but sometimes it spits water out from the air outlet. Funny. Like ppl spitting on u...
Red Maniac
post Jun 20 2012, 02:46 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(DiVaio @ Jun 19 2012, 11:00 PM)
Bro
How much you bought this unit?
RM2600 incl standard installation.
stretch
post Jun 20 2012, 03:56 PM

315 posts

So seriously. tell me. if i don't care about the budget. go for daikin or york? help me somebody. i'm confused.
skng03
post Jun 20 2012, 04:44 PM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(stretch @ Jun 20 2012, 03:56 PM)
So seriously. tell me. if i don't care about the budget. go for daikin or york? help me somebody. i'm confused.
york and daikin same one lar, the use same compressor, manufactured by OYL

take note that daikin stupid remote control which doesn't have real time clock timer function doh.gif

stretch
post Jun 20 2012, 04:57 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Jun 20 2012, 04:44 PM)
york and daikin same one lar, the use same compressor, manufactured by OYL

take note that daikin stupid remote control which doesn't have real time clock timer function doh.gif
thought i read somewhere in this thread that says york and daikin are same company but still manufactured differently... so go for york?
weikee
post Jun 20 2012, 05:00 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(stretch @ Jun 20 2012, 04:57 PM)
thought i read somewhere in this thread that says york and daikin are same company but still manufactured differently... so go for york?
Manufacture by same company, may not share same design like difference blower.

Action and York are nearly identical in some model.
stretch
post Jun 20 2012, 05:06 PM

315 posts

oo.. so basically its the same? thanks.
cwhong
post Jun 20 2012, 06:19 PM

Growth company seeker ..... :)
4,341 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 20 2012, 05:00 PM)
Manufacture by same company, may not share same design like difference blower.

Action and York are nearly identical in some model.
heard daikin bought york a/c biz .....
lingleeyen
post Jun 24 2012, 10:46 PM

1,376 posts

Daikin bought over OYL Group. OYL Group consist of OYL Manufacturing and OYL Condair. OYLM manufactures brands for J&E Hall, McQuire, etc. OYLC manufactures York. However, these are all commercial airconditioners like chillers and air handlers. Room air conds are not included. Worldwide York brand is now under Johnson Controls. Daikin is a different entity. Daikin's move to purchase OYL is to strengthen their commercial AC which they do not have in the past. Acson and York however are under the same entity in Malaysia.

If you have money, go for those big brands instead of Haier or Media or some local brand (kilang cap pokok or cap burung). All brand new AC shall not have problems. They shouldbe durable but once they age, different problems might surface. Best brand? I don't think any one can tell you which is the best brand.

Everyone is telling you different stories. I choose based on a few criteria. Energy saving level, unit size, piping size, exterior design, features, price, convinient after sales service. Get a good installer and you are 50% safe. Oh, get a good service man too.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 25 2012, 06:28 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Jun 24 2012, 10:46 PM)
Daikin bought over OYL Group. OYL Group consist of OYL Manufacturing and OYL Condair. OYLM manufactures brands for J&E Hall, McQuire, etc. OYLC manufactures York. However, these are all commercial airconditioners like chillers and air handlers. Room air conds are not included. Worldwide York brand is now under Johnson Controls. Daikin is a different entity. Daikin's move to purchase OYL is to strengthen their commercial AC which they do not have in the past. Acson and York however are under the same entity in Malaysia.

If you have money, go for those big brands instead of Haier or Media or some local brand (kilang cap pokok or cap burung). All brand new AC shall not have problems. They shouldbe durable but once they age, different problems might surface. Best brand? I don't think any one can tell you which is the best brand.

Everyone is telling you different stories. I choose based on a few criteria. Energy saving level, unit size, piping size, exterior design, features, price, convinient after sales service. Get a good installer and you are 50% safe. Oh, get a good service man too.
Why don't you get the Panasoinc Delux model. Their EER is a lot higher than the York M you got. Comparing 24000btu model, it's 9.9 vs 8.97

weikee
post Jun 25 2012, 08:06 AM

12,019 posts

No one mention of carrier. It used to be the best if the best.
lingleeyen
post Jun 25 2012, 08:41 AM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 25 2012, 06:28 AM)
Why don't you get the Panasoinc Delux model. Their EER is a lot higher than the York M you got. Comparing 24000btu model, it's 9.9 vs 8.97
I got M series with 19500 btu/h (YWM20M indoor, YSL20C3). EER at 10.38. Pana C series is at 10.2, with 18000 btu/h. Therefore, this is not apple to apple comparison. Also, even if I am comparing the 2 that i stated above, M series is still running on less power input and lower amp. I guess you just need to go compare the model you want. Generalisation will not give you the best selection. Like you said, M series loose out to Pana C series when it comes to 24000 btu/h.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 25 2012, 09:38 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Jun 25 2012, 08:41 AM)
I got M series with 19500 btu/h (YWM20M indoor, YSL20C3). EER at 10.38. Pana C series is at 10.2, with 18000 btu/h. Therefore, this is not apple to apple comparison. Also, even if I am comparing the 2 that i stated above, M series is still running on less power input and lower amp. I guess you just need to go compare the model you want. Generalisation will not give you the best selection. Like you said, M series loose out to Pana C series when it comes to 24000 btu/h.
I don't understand. When I check out the 24000btu model, Panasonic seems cheaper to run. Can you pls comment?

CS-C24NKH (CU-C24NKH) ~ 2.5HP
24000btu
EER 9.9
2430watts

YWM25
24000btu
EET 8.97
2675watts
lingleeyen
post Jun 25 2012, 09:50 AM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 25 2012, 09:38 AM)
I don't understand. When I check out the 24000btu model, Panasonic seems cheaper to run. Can you pls comment?

CS-C24NKH (CU-C24NKH) ~ 2.5HP
24000btu
EER 9.9
2430watts

YWM25
24000btu
EET 8.97
2675watts
Your fact is correct. York M series loose out to Pana C series in the 24000 btu/h category. As what I have post, what I got is the 18000 btu/h model. If you compare the 2, M series has better EER and lower power input for 18000 btu/h model. That is why I chose York M series over C series of Pana. Also, price wise, I am getting 1600 without installation for York M series. Pana PC series is selling at 1760, C is selling at 2000. I dont need the ECONAVI. And I don't really like how nanoe-G works. I like previous e-ion better. Hence I went to York for what i need. York has larger outdoor unit and the piping for York is larger. But this is for my living room and it is back to back. Calculating the piping cost difference, M series still gives me a cheaper capital, with a better expenses on paper, based on catalogue la...
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 25 2012, 09:54 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Jun 25 2012, 09:50 AM)
Your fact is correct. York M series loose out to Pana C series in the 24000 btu/h category. As what I have post, what I got is the 18000 btu/h model. If you compare the 2, M series has better EER and lower power input for 18000 btu/h model. That is why I chose York M series over C series of Pana. Also, price wise, I am getting 1600 without installation for York M series. Pana PC series is selling at 1760, C is selling at 2000. I dont need the ECONAVI. And I don't really like how nanoe-G works. I like previous e-ion better. Hence I went to York for what i need. York has larger outdoor unit and the piping for York is larger. But this is for my living room and it is back to back. Calculating the piping cost difference, M series still gives me a cheaper capital, with a better expenses on paper, based on catalogue la...
You know how to check which have stronger air flow for the 24000btu model from both manufacturer?

lingleeyen
post Jun 25 2012, 10:02 AM

1,376 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 25 2012, 09:54 AM)
You know how to check which have stronger air flow for the 24000btu model from both manufacturer?
Just check on the CFM or any airflow data in the catalogue. Larger airflow quantity does not imply that you will get longer air throw. Air throw is affected by the internal and external static pressure of the units. I cannot tell how far Pana is throwing, but according to York, they can throw 6m? Catalogue writing, I am not sure if it is really 6m.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 25 2012, 09:45 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(lingleeyen @ Jun 25 2012, 10:02 AM)
Just check on the CFM or any airflow data in the catalogue. Larger airflow quantity does not imply that you will get longer air throw. Air throw is affected by the internal and external static pressure of the units. I cannot tell how far Pana is throwing, but according to York, they can throw 6m? Catalogue writing, I am not sure if it is really 6m.
Could.

madcow1
post Jun 26 2012, 01:12 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(stretch @ Jun 20 2012, 03:56 PM)
Am using York for 7 years before changing to Daikin about 1.5 years ago, my Daikin air cond don't blow cold air anymore after just 1.5 years. Just service/washed the air cond and now it is operating as normal. The service guy said this air cond is the worst in collecting dust, need to be clean every 6 months. OMG! My old York air cond only serviced once after 5 years.
Shazzac
post Jun 26 2012, 04:25 PM

427 posts

QUOTE(madcow1 @ Jun 26 2012, 01:12 PM)
Am using York for 7 years before changing to Daikin about 1.5 years ago, my Daikin air cond don't blow cold air anymore after just 1.5 years. Just service/washed the air cond and now it is operating as normal. The service guy said this air cond is the worst in collecting dust, need to be clean every 6 months. OMG! My old York air cond only serviced once after 5 years.
Actually, i believe that it depends on your usage and on the dust volume as well.

As you know Malaysia is very dusty, regardless. Like my bro's apartment, even close all the doors and windows 24hrs, today you sweep and mop nicely. Next day, the dust appears. So sometimes it's not the fault of the air-conditioner but the fault of our environment also.

Maybe you should wash the indoor unit filter (the one that can be taken out when opening the front cover) every week.
weikee
post Jun 26 2012, 04:37 PM

12,019 posts

Filter better wash twice a month.
SUSOptiplex330
post Jun 26 2012, 05:01 PM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(Shazzac @ Jun 26 2012, 04:25 PM)
Actually, i believe that it depends on your usage and on the dust volume as well.

As you know Malaysia is very dusty, regardless. Like my bro's apartment, even close all the doors and windows 24hrs, today you sweep and mop nicely. Next day, the dust appears. So sometimes it's not the fault of the air-conditioner but the fault of our environment also.

Maybe you should wash the indoor unit filter (the one that can be taken out when opening the front cover) every week.
May be it's time your brother get a Roomba robot.

Jacksyn
post Sep 15 2012, 10:25 AM

As I know Daikin is the most famous brand in Singapore. But their price is higher than other brand. My house is now using Daikin and Mitsubitshi. Both is good.
YJYYEE
post Sep 15 2012, 11:30 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 25 2012, 08:06 AM)
No one mention of carrier. It used to be the best if the best.
Carrier is now known as Toshibacarrier...and very hard to find this brand...not everywhere got
iamsobloodysick
post Sep 16 2012, 01:00 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(YJYYEE @ Sep 15 2012, 11:30 PM)
Carrier is now known as Toshibacarrier...and very hard to find this brand...not everywhere got
Carrier and Trane are more on commercial project.

thats why end users hardly find these brands from the aircond shop.

coconutzz
post Sep 17 2012, 11:14 AM

1,071 posts

Here is my output :
----------------------

I bought 4 new Airconds,

2 x Panansonic Ionizer for living room area

2 x Daikin Inverter R22 for rooms

-----------------------------

I realised Daikins are really silent compared to my Panasonic and surprisingly the Daikins are really cold too...I normally switch it to 24 C and that's enuff..

so far soo good..even the compressors, my Panasonic and Daikins are side by side...Panasonic compressors are a little noise (not extreme) but Daikins are really silent..

Just my 2 cents
iamsobloodysick
post Sep 17 2012, 12:25 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(coconutzz @ Sep 17 2012, 11:14 AM)
Here is my output :
----------------------

I bought 4 new Airconds,

2 x Panansonic Ionizer for living room area

2 x Daikin Inverter R22 for rooms

-----------------------------

I realised Daikins are really silent compared to my Panasonic and surprisingly the Daikins are really cold too...I normally switch it to 24 C and that's enuff..

so far soo good..even the compressors, my Panasonic and Daikins are side by side...Panasonic compressors are a little noise (not extreme) but Daikins are really silent..

Just my 2 cents
yes, Daikin is a solid built quality aircond.

surprisingly, Panasonic aircond is one of the lightest set among the aircond brands. (material quality down)
Xccess
post Sep 17 2012, 03:31 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

I have 5 x 1hp Daikin inverter aircon at home, 2 for living room and 3 for each bedroom, bought it 3 years ago. Our usage is 1 x 1hp 24 hours a day, rarely swtich on more than one aircon unless there's guest.

Me and my wife work from home, always a single aircon running 24/7. My monthly electricity bill is averagely RM230.00.

This post has been edited by Xccess: Sep 17 2012, 03:32 PM
ruben7389
post Sep 17 2012, 10:16 PM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Nov 12 2011, 12:30 AM)
ok i'll check it out . if use regular power point location, I'll be very interested.
Sorry can elaborate pls on using "regular point location"?

Reason I ask is my new home does not have a lot of power points (thats how it was built) and Im trying not to add in these power points as it requires hacking etc.

Now im installing 2x1.5hp's & 3x1hp all planning to pull cables from the existing points.

Any advise if this will be an issue?

This post has been edited by ruben7389: Sep 17 2012, 10:33 PM
phoenix69
post Sep 18 2012, 09:53 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(ruben7389 @ Sep 17 2012, 10:16 PM)

Reason I ask is my new home does not have a lot of power points (thats how it was built) and Im trying not to add in these power points as it requires hacking etc.

Now im installing 2x1.5hp's & 3x1hp all planning to pull cables from the existing points.

This is what I understand.
Air-cond has 2 parts,
Outside Compressor and inside the air-cond unit.
Power point usually near the inside unit for most air cond.
For Daikin, The "official/recommended" power point is to be near the outside compressor unit.
A workaround can be done by the installer but then it will not be the "official/recommended" configuration.
blush.gif
iamsobloodysick
post Sep 18 2012, 11:32 AM

2,006 posts

single phase - only able to support 2-3units aircond at a same time.

three phase - yes

weikee
post Sep 18 2012, 12:44 PM

12,019 posts

You need to identify if the point are loop put direct. If you use a looping point and share 2 our more units of AC, you looking for trouble. Also if you have instant water heater never share the same point.
necromaninside
post Sep 18 2013, 02:47 PM

I just install daikin 1.0 inverter...the price isn't cheap but if you install direct from installer, you will get special price...pm me for special price..i will give u contact person installer..around seri kembangan,putrajaya,bangi n kajang..
duckaton
post Sep 18 2013, 03:02 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(necromaninside @ Sep 18 2013, 02:47 PM)
I just install daikin 1.0 inverter...the price isn't cheap but if you install direct from installer, you will get special price...pm me for special price..i will give u contact person installer..around seri kembangan,putrajaya,bangi n kajang..
welcome to the mould kingdom.

daikin aircond is notorious for being mouldy.
allergic people better dont install daikin.
idoblu
post Sep 18 2013, 06:25 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Sep 17 2012, 03:31 PM)
I have 5 x 1hp Daikin inverter aircon at home, 2 for living room and 3 for each bedroom, bought it 3 years ago. Our usage is 1 x 1hp 24 hours a day, rarely swtich on more than one aircon unless there's guest.

Me and my wife work from home, always a single aircon running 24/7. My monthly electricity bill is averagely RM230.00.
That's very good. May I know if you are using the old or new digital meter?
Noregrets
post Sep 18 2013, 07:51 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(YJYYEE @ Sep 15 2012, 11:30 PM)
Carrier customer service sucks.
About 2 years ago, the sensor on one of my indoor units was not functioning and it took them nearly a month to come and replace despite many calls.
I swore I will never ever buy carrier again.
I recently installed 5 units Daikin. Quite happy with them so far.
YJYYEE
post Sep 22 2013, 11:28 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Sep 18 2013, 03:02 PM)
welcome to the mould kingdom.

daikin aircond is notorious for being mouldy.
allergic people better dont install daikin.
Drainage pipe didn't install properly? If the ac didn't have any water build up then i suppose there is less chance for mould to build up. Anyhow sharp is good for their plasma cluster tech thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
YJYYEE
post Sep 22 2013, 11:29 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(sekkee @ Sep 18 2013, 07:51 PM)
Carrier customer service sucks.
About 2 years ago, the sensor on one of my indoor units was not functioning and it took them nearly a month to come and replace despite many calls.
I swore I will never ever buy carrier again.
I recently installed 5 units Daikin. Quite happy with them so far.

They are more towards commercial product. That's why... mad.gif mad.gif mad.gif
duckaton
post Sep 23 2013, 05:17 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(YJYYEE @ Sep 22 2013, 11:28 PM)
Drainage pipe didn't install properly? If the ac didn't have any water build up then i suppose there is less chance for mould to build up. Anyhow sharp is good for their plasma cluster tech  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
The mould buildup on the fins of the fans.

idoblu
post Sep 23 2013, 05:30 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(duckaton @ Sep 23 2013, 05:17 PM)
The mould buildup on the fins of the fans.
those are dust
they look like mould because it is very fine dust

This post has been edited by idoblu: Sep 23 2013, 05:30 PM
duckaton
post Sep 23 2013, 05:46 PM

Progress is Imminent
1,216 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Sep 23 2013, 05:30 PM)
those are dust
they look like mould because it is very fine dust
they are mould. they bloom.
my allergic nose doesnt lie.
daikin servicemen will tell you it is dust.

once they make the fan fins their home, they will never go away.
they comes back a few days even after chemical cleaning.

daikin has an "anti-mold" button
it has the fan working for an hour after it is shut off to dry the fins.
even that doesnt help.
I call it the "waste of electricity" button.

not to say it defeats the whole purpose of saving electricity with inverter type compressor.

never daikin again.
weikee
post Sep 23 2013, 06:01 PM

12,019 posts

Many say daikin good, my neighbor use all daikin, she change it during reno early last year. Since last week the one unit compressor making noise. I know it because the compressor is about 15' away from my master bedroom, so noisy till we can't sleep with windows open "during rainy days" got to turn on Ac. Hope she get it fix soon.

I guess is all about luck, my Panasonic is still running good.
cfpang2000
post Sep 23 2013, 08:42 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 23 2013, 06:01 PM)
Many say daikin good, my neighbor use all daikin, she change it during reno early last year. Since last week the one unit compressor making noise. I know it because the compressor is about 15' away from my master bedroom, so noisy till we can't sleep with windows open "during rainy days" got to turn on Ac. Hope she get it fix soon.

I guess is all about luck, my Panasonic is still running good.
Sometime compressor noisy might due to installation problem. As is always recommend to get a professional installed. When air cond piping doesnt not installed properly such as wrong copper size, copper pipe not purge or vaccumm properly this will all lead to decrease the compressor life span.

But of coz cant deny sometime depend on luck.
weikee
post Sep 23 2013, 08:46 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(cfpang2000 @ Sep 23 2013, 08:42 PM)
Sometime compressor  noisy might due to installation problem. As is  always recommend to get a professional installed. When air cond piping doesnt not installed properly such as wrong copper size, copper pipe not purge or vaccumm properly this will all lead to decrease the compressor life span.

But of coz cant deny sometime depend on luck.
I can hear its very likely due to fan.
brianccg
post Sep 23 2013, 10:36 PM

3,020 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Sep 23 2013, 08:46 PM)
I can hear its very likely due to fan.
Really a? The air cond contractor recommend me Daikin as he said the compressor noise is the lowest among Panasonic, York, Daikin and Sharp.

Now have to think twice. Anyone can share?
YJYYEE
post Sep 27 2013, 05:41 PM

145 posts

QUOTE(brianccg @ Sep 23 2013, 10:36 PM)
Really a? The air cond contractor recommend me Daikin as he said the compressor noise is the lowest among Panasonic, York, Daikin and Sharp.

Now have to think twice. Anyone can share?
All I can say is depends on your luck whether a good installation and a good machine or the other way around...but overall daikin is good enough...panasonic decreased in quality material...york noisy due to high fan speed...sharp good for plasmacluster tech... smile.gif
mkow
post Nov 3 2013, 07:04 AM

261 posts

My aircond installer recommend me Daikin inverter 2hp for my living hall. Fr what I gather here, no need to use inverter type for large hall area. Reason being that since compressor will not be start-stopping, so inverter tech will not be fully utilize for cost savings. Is this true?

Btw, anyone here knows the price for inverter and non-inverter type? Tq.
platinum_12
post Nov 4 2013, 07:33 PM

953 posts

QUOTE(mkow @ Nov 3 2013, 08:04 AM)
My aircond installer recommend me Daikin inverter 2hp for my living hall. Fr what I gather here, no need to use inverter type for large hall area. Reason being that since compressor will not be start-stopping, so inverter tech will not be fully utilize for cost savings. Is this true?

Nonstop compressor means it is undercapacity. It will hurt ur electricity bill n ur compresor will worn out very fast.
SUSkimsim
post Nov 5 2013, 06:27 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(mkow @ Nov 3 2013, 07:04 AM)

Who said inverter compressor ware non stop?
This is called variable fan & compressor speed.
Once is getting cold will be reduce the speed.
Even outdoor stop, but internal still feels air flaw and won't become too warm.

Mine inverter will stop for while in setting higher temperature.
mkow
post Nov 6 2013, 07:23 AM

261 posts

I'm quoted Daikin 2.5hp @rm2550, inverter type rm3160, by my aircond installer, incl of installation. Is this reasonable? I'm just thinking of going for the non inverter type as I don't normally turn it on. Like my current house, I hv a 2.5hp Panasonic for 10yrs di and still good, coz I hardly use it tongue.gif .
platinum_12
post Nov 6 2013, 07:41 PM

953 posts

QUOTE(mkow @ Nov 6 2013, 08:23 AM)
I'm quoted Daikin 2.5hp @rm2550, inverter type rm3160, by my aircond installer, incl of installation. Is this reasonable? I'm just thinking of going for the non inverter type as I don't normally turn it on. Like my current house, I hv a 2.5hp Panasonic for 10yrs di and still good, coz I hardly use it tongue.gif .
If u r not a heavy user and ur bajet is limited, better buy non inverter. It will take a very long time for u to breakeven d additional cost of buying an inverter a.c.
Xccess
post Nov 7 2013, 01:07 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

Daikin compressor very quiet, have been using 5 units for 4 years.
weikee
post Nov 7 2013, 01:11 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(platinum_12 @ Nov 6 2013, 07:41 PM)
If u r not a heavy user and ur bajet is limited, better buy non inverter. It will take a very long time for u to breakeven d additional cost of buying an inverter a.c.
Living room can use non inverter if you don't switch it on frequent and not planing to run for long hours.
platinum_12
post Nov 7 2013, 07:48 PM

953 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Nov 7 2013, 02:11 PM)
Living room can use non inverter if you don't switch it on frequent and not planing to run for long hours.
Yeah. Same view here. smile.gif
freestyler87
post Feb 7 2014, 10:43 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(necromaninside @ Sep 18 2013, 02:47 PM)
mind to share the contact? or quote me the price? im looking for 1 HP air cond unit for my bedroom
hannahmackay
post Feb 8 2014, 01:50 PM

Confirm the rate without installation process, as they are not famous for their services. Just buy an ac from there, if they are providing it in an affordable rate. Hire some other firm for ac installation palm beach gardens and maintenance process who are famous for their customer satisfaction.
nah3371
post Mar 18 2014, 12:00 AM

76 posts

any comment for Gree air corn?
marineer
post Mar 18 2014, 11:55 AM

55 posts

QUOTE(nah3371 @ Mar 18 2014, 12:00 AM)
any comment for Gree air corn?
My parents has been using it (1HP) for half a year till now, so far so good. Hope it can last for another few more years. Cheers.
idoblu
post Apr 4 2014, 12:43 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

I have been using a Daikin 1.5HP Inverter (FTKD-35GVM) for about 7 months now. So far so good.

Cleaned the two filters quite regularly but still the fan rotor is always the dirtiest part of any aircon. Getting the tech to come clean it can cost quite a bit so been able to clean it yourself is a big plus. Taking out the fan rotor is a daunting task for me and so I took the easy way out by just vacuuming the fan blades. Usually these are block by those vertical and horizontal airflow blades but I found they can be remove quite easily. Happy to say I was able to remove 80% of the grime stuck to the fan blades with not much trouble. I know some brands allows easy access and some brands, you cant really do much. Thank goodness, this Daikin model allows that even though its not suppose to be an end user job

I will post a series of diagrams for you to follow below. Just be careful not to probe too hard with your vacuum crevice tool, you dont want to break any of the fins from the fan rotor. My vacuum brush tool was too big to enter the space. A brush would really help.

1. First remove the Horizontal Blades. The little shafts can drop out so take care or you will lose them. When installing it back, make sure the right side goes in first as it is keyed.

2. There are 5 clips holding down the Vertical blades. 3 at the back and 2 in the front. The 3 plastic hook at the back needs some prying using a flat blade screwdriver.

3. The front 2 catch can be easily unhook by bending the soft plastic blades.

Once you get these out, you can easily access the fan rotor with your vacuum cleaner. Make sure not to probe too hard as you might break a fin blade.

Btw I set my temp around 26C at night from 8:30pm to 6:30am (about 10 hours), with some TV viewing, a PC or two running. Usage is 4-5kHW per night I am getting. When I first started using this aircon, I had to set around 25C to 26C but lately I found it too cold at 25C and I can go up to 26C-27C.
ExtraOrdinary
post Apr 4 2014, 07:31 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 4 2014, 12:43 PM)
I have been using a Daikin 1.5HP Inverter (FTKD-35GVM) for about 7 months now. So far so good.

Cleaned the two filters quite regularly but still the fan rotor is always the dirtiest part of any aircon. Getting the tech to come clean it can cost quite a bit so been able to clean it yourself is a big plus. Taking out the fan rotor is a daunting task for me and so I took the easy way out by just vacuuming the fan blades. Usually these are block by those vertical and horizontal airflow blades but I found they can be remove quite easily. Happy to say I was able to remove 80% of the grime stuck to the fan blades with not much trouble. I know some brands allows easy access and some brands, you cant really do much. Thank goodness, this Daikin model allows that even though its not suppose to be an end user job

I will post a series of diagrams for you to follow below. Just be careful not to probe too hard with your vacuum crevice tool, you dont want to break any of the fins from the fan rotor. My vacuum brush tool was too big to enter the space. A brush would really help.

1. First remove the Horizontal Blades. The little shafts can drop out so take care or you will lose them. When installing it back, make sure the right side goes in first as it is keyed.

2. There are 5 clips holding down the Vertical blades. 3 at the back and 2 in the front. The 3 plastic hook at the back needs some prying using a flat blade screwdriver.

3. The front 2 catch can be easily unhook by bending the soft plastic blades.

Once you get these out, you can easily access the fan rotor with your vacuum cleaner. Make sure not to probe too hard as you might break a fin blade.

Btw I set my temp around 26C at night from 8:30pm to 6:30am (about 10 hours), with some TV viewing, a PC or two running. Usage is 4-5kHW per night I am getting. When I first started using this aircon, I had to set around 25C to 26C but lately I found it too cold at 25C and I can go up to 26C-27C.

Roughly how much your monthly electricity bill?

Regards
eason_ray
post May 30 2014, 12:36 AM

Based from my personal experience, i wont recommend anyone to buy Daikin product!
I had bought Daikin 1HP air cond R22 inverter last 2 years...
The air cond was not working recently early of May 2014.
I called up wireman & air-cond technician to check the problem. They both suspect that the compressor failure.
Then lodged complaint report to DAIKIN & wait for replacement of new compressor.
After few days, no news, complaint again then Daikin so called technician(Sub-Con) called me & make appointment to fix this up.
Once they came, check this & that end up told me that compressor failure. Have to make another appointment to change compressor.
I asked them why not you bring compressor & tools in order to finish the job since you get complaint about the compressor failure before you come.
They didnt answer me...Then wait for few days until they called me & said wanna come replace compressor without making any appointment earlier...
After they came & replace the compressor then the problem still exist. the ELCB/MCB keeps stripping(turn off) whenever try to on air cond.
So they said might be the PCB problem, not the compressor problem.
End up they said need to bring equipment to test PCB board. They claimed that since they replace 1 new compressor for me, they will charge RM 300 for installation fee. If next appointment they find out outdoor PCB board failure, they going to charge me another RM 6xx for spare part, end up i need to pay RM 9xx. I get frustrated & asked them to leave out of my place coz why not professional detect the problem since 1st day until after compressor replacement only said might be another problem & need me to bear the cost of compressor installation?
I fed up & got called up DAIKIN klang valley manager & complaint this issue, if they insist want me to bear the cost, i will sue them!
28/5/2014-Finally the manager called me up to settle this issue by just pay RM 160 for checking fees without bear the installation fee.
I told him i will pay if their so called expertise can come & check properly,tell me the problem & quote me price.
We both agreed to settle by this way, so i wait for their support team to call me again!
Then later on the manager sms me whether anyone call & make appointment with me? I feedback him none...then end up the story, he never feedback to me anymore until the next morning (29/5/2014) i message this so called manager telling him i lose my patient already & decided not to wait them anymore...
Will get a new air cond (definitely no more DAIKIN) & hope that they dont disturb me & waste my time anymore. mad.gif

I learn few lessons from this incidence.
1) DAIKIN might be good reputation globally but definitely not because of QUALITY (In Malaysia) - $ that u paid doesnt mean what u will get(poor QC on PCB doesnt last longer than my other air cond(other brand)
2) DAIKIN after sales service is DAMN poor in Malaysia. - DAIKIN technician at least need 4 times visit at my place in order to complete the service (my case)
3) The price for spare part is not cheap - RM 6xx for outdoor PCB

Hope everyone can read my true story & judge it before take consideration whether wanna choose this brand!!! vmad.gif

idoblu
post May 30 2014, 08:52 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

eason_ray

Wah under warranty, and they replaced the wrong part, still want to charge installation fee? Liddat they better go rob. sad.gif

Maybe thats why we should buy our Daikins from Air Con Specialist and not electrical shops that offers a low price. Those that only deals in aircon can liaise with the manufacturer without us end users having to deal with their BS. This is so for any brands, not only Daikin

I think yours just turned out to be a lemon. In the end, it is always the "Service" that fails us.

This post has been edited by idoblu: May 30 2014, 08:54 AM
eason_ray
post May 30 2014, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(idoblu @ May 30 2014, 08:52 AM)
eason_ray

Wah under warranty, and they replaced the wrong part, still want to charge installation fee? Liddat they better go rob. sad.gif

Maybe thats why we should buy our Daikins from Air Con Specialist and not electrical shops that offers a low price. Those that only deals in aircon can liaise with the manufacturer without us end users having to deal with their BS. This is so for any brands, not only Daikin

I think yours just turned out to be a lemon. In the end, it is always the "Service" that fails us.
Thats why i talk to many dealers & asked for advice...Many of them claimed that Daikin service is very bad nowaday & make them switch to other brand...
Good profit margin but end up with customers complaint to dealer make trouble,no point to earn a little more but create headache later... cry.gif
halcyon27
post Jun 1 2014, 01:54 PM

2,140 posts

Sorry to hear your experience. I'm a avid no-1 Daikin user for R22 gas inverters. None come close to it. Of course the R410-a inverters are something else. I use a mixture of both as my house comes with ac pipes embedded. Only kids room use R410a as the pipe can easily change.

If you're in Klang valley, PM me and I'll send you my Daikin contact. He's reliable and honest and will tell you up front what should/must be done, can/cannot be done, etc. I learn a lot from him about AC and recommend him to friends and family whose feedback are nothing but positive.

eason_ray
post Jun 4 2014, 03:17 PM

Hi,does anyone know that if compressor replacement from warranty claimis for the whole outdoor unit or just spare part inside the outdoor compressor unit?coz air cond specialist told me that my daikin compressor which replaced by daikin was not look new,the coil looks old & used for certain period already...just wanna make sure everything is clear!otherwise sure i will complaint to daikin gao gao this time...coz yday their technician called me n ask for payment somemore! smile.gif
eason_ray
post Jun 4 2014, 03:46 PM

Hi,does anyone know that if compressor replacement from warranty claimis for the whole outdoor unit or just spare part inside the outdoor compressor unit?coz air cond specialist told me that my daikin compressor which replaced by daikin was not look new,the coil looks old & used for certain period already...just wanna make sure everything is clear!otherwise sure i will complaint to daikin gao gao this time...coz yday their technician called me n ask for payment somemore! smile.gif
bobadlin
post Jun 11 2014, 02:48 PM

116 posts

Guys...or anyone..

I have 1 problem found out yesterday..
my aircond 1HP in my masterbedroom, its not working..
I press the ON button at remote, for a while the blade opens, and close back...and the light keep on blinking...

what will the cause of this?
the aircond...was installed January 2013...im not quite sure when will the warranty valid..can anyone verify?

TQ TQ TQ
missysleepy
post Jun 12 2014, 01:01 AM

718 posts

QUOTE(eason_ray @ May 30 2014, 12:36 AM)
Based from my personal experience, i wont recommend anyone to buy Daikin product!
I called up wireman & air-cond technician to check the problem. They both suspect that the compressor failure.
Then lodged complaint report to DAIKIN & wait for replacement of new compressor.
After few days, no news, complaint again then Daikin so called technician(Sub-Con) called me & make appointment to fix this up.
Once they came, check this & that end up told me that compressor failure. Have to make another appointment to change compressor.
I asked them why not you bring compressor & tools in order to finish the job since you get complaint about the compressor failure before you come.
They didnt answer me...Then wait for few days until they called me & said wanna come replace compressor without making any appointment earlier...
After they came & replace the compressor then the problem still exist. the ELCB/MCB keeps stripping(turn off) whenever try to on air cond.
End up they said need to bring equipment to test PCB board. They claimed that since they replace 1 new compressor for me, they will charge RM 300 for installation fee. If next appointment they find out outdoor PCB board failure, they going to charge me another RM 6xx for spare part, end up i need to pay RM 9xx. I get frustrated & asked them to leave out of my place coz why not professional detect the problem since 1st day until after compressor replacement only said might be another problem & need me to bear the cost of compressor installation?
I fed up & got called up DAIKIN klang valley manager & complaint this issue, if they insist want me to bear the cost, i will sue them!
28/5/2014-Finally the manager called me up to settle this issue by just pay RM 160 for checking fees without bear the installation fee.
I told him i will pay if their so called expertise can come & check properly,tell me the problem & quote me price.
We both agreed to settle by this way, so i wait for their support team to call me again!
Then later on the manager sms me whether anyone call & make appointment with me? I feedback him none...then end up the story, he never feedback to me anymore until the next morning (29/5/2014) i message this so called manager telling him i lose my patient already & decided not to wait them anymore...
Will get a new air cond (definitely no more DAIKIN) & hope that they dont disturb me & waste my time anymore. mad.gif

1) DAIKIN might be good reputation globally but definitely not because of QUALITY (In Malaysia) - $ that u paid doesnt mean what u will get(poor QC on PCB doesnt last longer than my other air cond(other brand)
2) DAIKIN after sales service is DAMN poor in Malaysia. - DAIKIN technician at least need 4 times visit at my place in order to complete the service (my case)

Hope everyone can read my true story & judge it before take consideration whether wanna choose this brand!!! vmad.gif
I digested your thoughts and i found out that the incremental of anger were root from the cost of expensive spare parts the second times. To pay rm 900 for spare parts alone , we might as well get new air cond ..

This incidence shows unprofessionalism and the rates were simply quoted by this china man gun slingers styles. I dont like the way daikin had sub con out servicing to independent contractors who always act like they knows everything. This old skool and hot headed technicians is very difficiult to deal with . In their mind, they were like consultants who charged by hours. They dont have the patient to run or diagnose the overall problems. In this case, i will look for other brand now , probably panasonic or york on the safe side.
trek8500
post Jun 21 2014, 10:29 AM

I make my own survey and study via youtube, forum and also asking my friend that do a lot of installation service and repair.
I'm actually not yet choose any brand but already decide to purchase ac 1hp with inverter..
I go direct with daikin dealer and they give me the price for ftks25dvm rm1600 with installation but wiring is separate charge..
Others shop not a dealer suggest me panasonic 1hp with inverter complete installation and wiring with the same price 1600.
I think i will choose direct dealer shop to make sure they not spoilt any customer request,report and responds..
Even i know there some dealer deal with others sub-con. But at least i can make a direct report their dealer without link with others 3rd party mambers..
I think the manufacturer pro and con mostly same like a car..if u buy from honda, toyota, or any japan car dealers they will Served you better and give u good service but u have to pay more compare to outside service or 3rd party company..dealer also always keep the company reputation..so, they will make attention better..
Talk about ac performance also same like a car..some of them have dis and adv for their product..others is depends on your luck..sometime proton waja also dont make a troubles for many years..
Talking about daikin vs panasonic which is the big comparison in the forum. Panasonic is the better function compare than daikin. As an engineer and electronic engineering holder i would say alot of function will cause a lot of complicated failure. But its depends on your luck. Apple is a good phone but not all iphone phone can operate well.
If u choose daikin it look like outdated technology and function. But maybe they make the operation system more efficient and hardy. Like a traffic in ipoh compare with KL.
Or else choose others like sharp. Value for money but not many people recomended.

Xccess
post Jun 21 2014, 02:14 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

I've been doing DIY cleaning for 5 of my Daikin units, it's pretty easy and cost saving unless I need a gas top up then only I call in repairman.

Below are some videos to guide you along. Just make sure you know what you are doing to avoid damaging any parts. The second video shows you how to vacuum the inner fan blade, remove the fins that is obstructing so you vacuum can go all the way in.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQnWbEgTLnY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W6FoFikaSCM

I will also get this filter because the holes for Daikin mesh is quite big thus a lot of dust/dirt can pass through.

http://www.kimrovacstore.com/mitsubishi-el...lean-video.html

This post has been edited by Xccess: Jun 21 2014, 02:28 PM
idoblu
post Jun 21 2014, 03:15 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Jun 21 2014, 02:14 PM)
I've been doing DIY cleaning for 5 of my Daikin units, it's pretty easy and cost saving unless I need a gas top up then only I call in repairman.

Below are some videos to guide you along. Just make sure you know what you are doing to avoid damaging any parts. The second video shows you how to vacuum the inner fan blade, remove the fins that is obstructing so you vacuum can go all the way in.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hQnWbEgTLnY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W6FoFikaSCM

I will also get this filter because the holes for Daikin mesh is quite big thus a lot of dust/dirt can pass through.

http://www.kimrovacstore.com/mitsubishi-el...lean-video.html
I would not change the filters on the any aircon. There is a reason why the holes are big and that is to let good airflow. Replacing one that has closer knitted holes just make your filter act like a very dirty standard filter

btw I already posted pictures how to clean the blower fan here - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=67323305
Xccess
post Jun 21 2014, 03:21 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 21 2014, 03:15 PM)
I would not change the filters on the any aircon. There is a reason why the holes are big and that is to let good airflow. Replacing one that has closer knitted holes just make your filter act like a very dirty standard filter

btw I already posted pictures how to clean the blower fan here - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=67323305
The filter on other brands such as LG was very fine and they did a good job in preventing dust from passing through. Daikin's filter seems a bit flimsy, I still get the additional filter from Daiso for testing on one of my unit then give a review here.

Thanks for sharing once again. smile.gif
idoblu
post Jun 21 2014, 03:23 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(Xccess @ Jun 21 2014, 03:21 PM)
The filter on other brands such as LG was very fine and they did a good job in preventing dust from passing through. Daikin's filter seems a bit flimsy, I still get the additional filter from Daiso for testing on one of my unit then give a review here.

Thanks for sharing once again. smile.gif
after using the other filter, is the blower fan less dirty?
Xccess
post Jun 21 2014, 03:33 PM

Twinkle lil Stars
2,695 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Jun 21 2014, 03:23 PM)
after using the other filter, is the blower fan less dirty?
Yet to start using. Will get it next week then post a review here.
raj88
post Jul 7 2014, 12:54 PM

Dear Forumers,

Can you please recommend a 3HP air cond for living area.

I have been looking out for Daikin, Panasonic and Mitsubushi Electric all have their pros and cons.

Have anyone faced any uncertainty on these air conds?

Or its just better stick with 2.5HP air conds.

Hope you can share some light....

enriquelee
post Jul 7 2014, 01:42 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,507 posts

QUOTE(raj88 @ Jul 7 2014, 12:54 PM)
Dear Forumers,

Can you please recommend a 3HP air cond for living area.

I have been looking out for Daikin, Panasonic and Mitsubushi Electric all have their pros and cons.

Have anyone faced any uncertainty on these air conds?

Or its just better stick with 2.5HP air conds.

Hope you can share some light....
I am using one 3HP daikin at my living hall. So far no problem after using about 1 year.
Chigme
post Nov 3 2014, 10:18 AM

700 posts

Daikin Promotion

huade
post Jan 5 2015, 11:12 PM

70 posts

Dear All Sifu-Sifu biggrin.gif ,

I just bought an 950 sf apartment (3R2B) , below is my dilemma on the air-cond selection, kindly provide me some direction on the selection:

1) MasterRoom (10 ft[wide] X 10 ft[long] X 8 Ft [heights])
- Due to developer was conceal all the pipe in wall which provided only normal R22 pipe, if want to conceal all the pipe again for inverter cost me 1k~1.5k because of it take 25 ft distance. So I was aiming R22 pipe air cond. There is 2 choice that I aim : Panasonic (CS-C9PKH non inverter) or Daikin Inverter (FTKD-25GVM (1.0hp) non-inverter). Any idea on this 2 selection? hmm.gif
Is that Daikin inverter will more electricity saving compare to Panasonic Econavi only which this room will always open more than 8 hours for sleep time. yawn.gif

2) LivingRoom (10 ft [W] X 30 ft [L] X 8 ft )
- Easy to conceal the pipe, so no issue for inverter series. Aiming for Panasonic (CS-S18 PKH (2.0hp).

3) SecondRoom (10 ft[wide] X 10 ft[long] X 8 Ft [heights]) [Study & Computer Room]
- Easy to conceal the pipe, so no issue for inverter series. Aiming for Panasonic (CS-S10 PKH (1.0hp).

My main convert is electricity saver which I would like to hear all sifu opinion and hope to make me more clear on the chosen of air-cond . Pro and cons acceptable . thumbup.gif

Thanks a lots. cool.gif

YJYYEE
post Jan 6 2015, 12:38 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(huade @ Jan 5 2015, 11:12 PM)
Dear All Sifu-Sifu  biggrin.gif ,

I just bought an 950 sf apartment (3R2B) , below is my dilemma on the air-cond selection, kindly provide me some direction on the selection:

- Due to developer was conceal all the pipe in wall which provided only normal R22 pipe, if want to conceal all the pipe again for inverter cost me 1k~1.5k because of it take 25 ft distance. So I was aiming R22 pipe air cond. There is 2 choice that I aim : Panasonic (CS-C9PKH non inverter) or Daikin Inverter (FTKD-25GVM (1.0hp) non-inverter). Any idea on this 2 selection? hmm.gif
Is that Daikin inverter will more electricity saving compare to Panasonic Econavi only which this room will always open more than 8 hours for sleep time.  yawn.gif

- Easy to conceal the pipe, so no issue for inverter series. Aiming for Panasonic (CS-S18 PKH (2.0hp).

3) SecondRoom (10 ft[wide] X 10 ft[long] X 8 Ft [heights]) [Study & Computer Room]
- Easy to conceal the pipe, so no issue for inverter series. Aiming for Panasonic (CS-S10 PKH (1.0hp).

My main convert is electricity saver which I would like to hear all sifu opinion and hope to make me more clear on the chosen of air-cond . Pro and cons acceptable .  thumbup.gif
Thanks a lots. cool.gif
Why never consider mitsubishi? I have came across their energy saving rating...not bad hmm.gif
SUSkimsim
post Jan 6 2015, 07:36 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(YJYYEE @ Jan 6 2015, 12:38 AM)
Why never consider mitsubishi? I have came across their energy saving rating...not bad hmm.gif
Daikin/york or panasonic should be quite ok, at least branded Japan brand.

So far 1hp inverter input watt from 700w ++, quiet realiable & durable should be pay for worth smile.gif)

The only ME design more easier for user can be DIY to empty internal blower like a stand fan.
huade
post Jan 6 2015, 09:27 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(YJYYEE @ Jan 6 2015, 12:38 AM)
Hmm.. because of the air cond installer (Father's Friend) told that ME air-cond spare part is difficult to find and it will become problem if it was failure rclxub.gif That's why I exclude it for my selection.
SUSkimsim
post Jan 6 2015, 10:04 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(huade @ Jan 6 2015, 09:27 AM)
Hmm.. because of the air cond installer (Father's Friend) told that ME air-cond spare part is difficult to find and it will become problem if it was failure  rclxub.gif  That's why I exclude it for my selection.
Don't worried, since the distributor bring in that model should carried parts, unless the contactor wanna buy 3rd parts like york and earn more profit.

Cause original parts may more expansive.

If that Brand can't last longer and today we won't recommend anymore.

Parts difficult to order than still prefer you buy laugh.gif
SUSkimsim
post Jan 6 2015, 04:45 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Anyone here had installed your latest Daikin by York model?
NicholasHDM
post Jan 7 2015, 12:29 AM

I heard Acson is more cheap but same feature as compare to Daikin.
SUSradical85
post Jan 16 2015, 08:53 PM

lalala~~
625 posts

QUOTE(eason_ray @ May 30 2014, 12:36 AM)

I strongly advice everyone not to buy daikin
DO NOT BUY DAIKIN

Went through the same hell dealing with their customer service. U have to keep calling CS like a b**** before they decide to send technician to your place. Took 3 months for them to "settle" my problem. Installed 6 aircon 3 comes with whistling noise when the gas runs. They decided to blame it all on piping problem, but my dealer redo the piping in many ways problem persisted.

Dealiong with their CS will drive u mad. In total I called like 20+ times. Almost everytime they say will check into it and call me back but never did. Towards the end even when I started raging and made them promise will call me back asap but they never did. Each time I call different CS will answer and repeat the whole damn "call you back" process again. The last time I spoke to the CS actually shout back at me "I WILL CALL AND FIND OUT OK!?" Lol. How am I to trust them when they did not call me 100% of the time? That was Jan2013.

Tried to complain to higher up but CS not cooperating. Wrote email n tried calling but they ignored me completely.

Earlier this year, jan2014 the unit started freezing up n result in water leakage whenever I off it (due to ice build up melted) called them over they just say gas habis. August2014 again ice build up. This time ask my dealer to check, he said gas leaking, why daikin "specialist" did not bother to tell me gas habis due to leakage? Problem won't be solved by replacing the gas as it will leak again?!

Now enough is enough. Just placed an order for Mitsubishi 2hp unit. Apparently they use the same pipe. I will update if the whistling sound still persist

[/B]DO NOT BUY DAIKIN

You are lucky if ur unit is fine. If it ever breaks down u will go thru hell getting them to fix it. Their unit may be good in Japan. But I think it's not optimized for our malaysian weather.

SUSkimsim
post Jan 16 2015, 09:37 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

--

This post has been edited by kimsim: Jan 16 2015, 09:38 PM
SUSkimsim
post Jan 16 2015, 09:38 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

That day my Aircon man come with replace the power cable boken, indoor don't have signal at all..

After changed and done for it.

We discussion some Aircon brand experience.
He also meantion his customer Daikin japan model after 13mths an over warranty.
The PCB died at outdoor total got 2pcs = RM7xx then the owner also force to change, he also meantion Daikin Japan quality not up to M'sia weather.

But new Daikin malaysia already bought from York and totally used York model as Daikin do far the quality same as york.

I think these is issue lesser, but noise wise same as York.
SUSleonhart88
post Jan 17 2015, 07:09 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Jan 6 2015, 07:36 AM)
Daikin/york or panasonic should be quite ok, at least branded Japan brand.

So far 1hp inverter input watt from 700w ++, quiet realiable & durable should be pay for worth smile.gif)

The only ME design more easier for user can be DIY to empty internal blower like a stand fan.
How to clean the outdoor unit?
SUSkimsim
post Jan 17 2015, 08:37 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Jan 17 2015, 07:09 AM)
How to clean the outdoor unit?
Spraying water only... Just be careful on PCB top part.
popice2u
post Jan 17 2015, 10:04 AM

1,264 posts

going to get 3 unit but is either Daikin or Mitsubishi
hushymushy
post Jan 17 2015, 10:48 AM

1,702 posts

i have a 1hp and a 2hp daikin since 2008.....
works fine for me.....every year i get my regular aircon guy to come and service and check

daily usage of 8hours for each aircon
Galaxy Angel
post Jan 17 2015, 03:34 PM

584 posts

Wanna ask, when checking York Malaysia web site, no longer there, is that means from now on, no more York air-con in market? All all will brand under Daikin Cooling King?
SUSkimsim
post Jan 17 2015, 05:13 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ Jan 17 2015, 03:34 PM)
Wanna ask, when checking York Malaysia web site, no longer there, is that means from now on, no more York air-con in market? All all will brand under Daikin Cooling King?
Yap... Daikin GA = York local design.

Whatever you pay for daikin my = buy York.

Galaxy Angel
post Jan 17 2015, 05:35 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Jan 17 2015, 05:13 PM)
Yap... Daikin GA = York local design.

Whatever you pay for daikin my = buy York.
Ok, thanks for the info bro.
Just done survey for Daikin VS Mitsubishi

Daikin

General warranty: 1 year
Compressor warranty: 5 years

Mitsubishi

General warranty: 2 year
Compressor warranty: 7 years

Which means in term of warranty coverage, Mitsubishi will be better, do all of you agree? Although the price will be a bit higher.

On top of this, do you hear about Fujiaire? Is this brand ok?

This post has been edited by Galaxy Angel: Jan 19 2015, 09:21 AM
SUSkimsim
post Jan 17 2015, 06:06 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Jan 17 2015, 10:04 AM)
going to get 3 unit but is either Daikin or Mitsubishi
Mitsubishi save for life, easy clean like no others
SUSkimsim
post Jan 17 2015, 06:11 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ Jan 17 2015, 05:35 PM)
Ok, thanks for the info bro.
Just done survey for Daikin VS Mitsubishi

Daikin

General warranty: 1 year

Mitsubishi

Which means in term of warranty coverage, Mitsubishi will be better, do all of you agree? Although the price will be a bit higher.

On top of this, do you hear about Fujiaire? Is this brand ok?
Mitsubishi Electric PCB even over 2 to 5 yrs still works like normal condition.

If daikin Japan nobody can guarantee.
If daikin GA from York these is still peace of mind, just parts not really durable but parts very cheap to compare others brand.

fujiaire is cold door, no comment.
Galaxy Angel
post Jan 19 2015, 09:23 AM

584 posts

Resend,

Mitsubishi

Means Mitsubishi will be better warranty coverage compare Daikin.
SUSkimsim
post Jan 19 2015, 09:30 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ Jan 19 2015, 09:23 AM)
Resend,

Mitsubishi

Means Mitsubishi will be better warranty coverage compare Daikin.
Usually compressor won't be kaput after warranty, if got it such case, meant that MFG really worst QC.

But indoor or outdoor PCB if can easily brake down over 13 months is consider after warranty on standard 1 yr only.
(Then really depend your luck)

Since they offer for 2 yrs warranty then good buy lah.
popice2u
post Jan 19 2015, 10:22 AM

1,264 posts

Mitsubishi how much expensive than Daikin?
Which Mitsubishi 1HP Inverter model is good?
SUSkimsim
post Jan 19 2015, 10:26 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(popice2u @ Jan 19 2015, 10:22 AM)
Mitsubishi how much expensive than Daikin?
Which Mitsubishi 1HP Inverter model is good?
Better usually more expansive.

You just define yourself, anyway Daikin japan model not recommended, but Daikin GA just better, and slightly noise.

Chigme
post Jan 19 2015, 01:45 PM

700 posts

This is the poor dog allegedly tied up by Daikin's guard at the gate of the factory in Section 13. Under rain and sun that is.

You can refer to the details of yesterdays posting here:

https://www.facebook.com/#!/puspa.rani.92

SUSkimsim
post Jan 19 2015, 01:52 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Damn
megahertz
post Feb 2 2015, 09:55 AM

i always smiling, problem?
1,843 posts

guys, i just bought Daikin M series non-inverter, but it use R410a instead of R22.
the supplier told me this is new model since they stopped R22 based air cond edy. any1 hv bought same model as me?
Galaxy Angel
post Feb 2 2015, 12:58 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(huade @ Jan 5 2015, 11:12 PM)
Dear All Sifu-Sifu  biggrin.gif ,

Is that Daikin inverter will more electricity saving compare to Panasonic Econavi only which this room will always open more than 8 hours for sleep time.  yawn.gif

My main convert is electricity saver which I would like to hear all sifu opinion and hope to make me more clear on the chosen of air-cond . Pro and cons acceptable .  thumbup.gif
Thanks a lots. cool.gif
Just came to know, now Panasonic non-inverter air-con model, already using inverter pipe, is this true?
If this is the case, means can not buy Panasonic non-inverter air-con if we are using R22 pipe...
Need forumer here advise if this is confirm.
SUSkimsim
post Feb 2 2015, 01:03 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ Feb 2 2015, 12:58 PM)
Just came to know, now Panasonic non-inverter air-con model, already using inverter pipe, is this true?
If this is the case, means can not buy Panasonic non-inverter air-con if we are using R22 pipe...
Nothing wrong, just option for non-inverter R410A will do..
Pana or Daikin also have
SUSkimsim
post Feb 2 2015, 01:15 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

R410A gas more benefit like faster cooling and saving green envelopment.

Also use lesser energy than R22 compressor.

keyser soze
post Feb 2 2015, 01:34 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Feb 2 2015, 09:55 AM)
guys, i just bought Daikin M series non-inverter, but it use R410a instead of R22.
the supplier told me this is new model since they stopped R22 based air cond edy. any1 hv bought same model as me?
http://www.daikin.com.my/Daikin_Catalogue/FTM-1114-A.pdf

According to their website, M series still using R22.
R22 A/C still in production if I'm not mistaken. At least for the baseline L series (non-plasma, non inverter).

This post has been edited by keyser soze: Feb 2 2015, 01:39 PM
keyser soze
post Feb 2 2015, 02:06 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ Feb 2 2015, 12:58 PM)
For 1 hp CS-PC9QKH if not mistaken still using R22, but CS-PV9KH-1 using 410a. Some dealer try to con you to install new piping or use other brand which they have better profit margin. From my knowledge, Panasonic A/C is more sensitive to the gas amount. Slightly more and less, the A/C is not that cold.
megahertz
post Feb 2 2015, 07:16 PM

1,843 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Feb 2 2015, 01:34 PM)
http://www.daikin.com.my/Daikin_Catalogue/FTM-1114-A.pdf

According to their website, M series still using R22.
R22 A/C still in production if I'm not mistaken. At least for the baseline L series (non-plasma, non inverter).
yeah, on website the model name is FT, where the i bought is FTN. it didnt stated in the website yet
SUSkimsim
post Feb 3 2015, 07:49 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Daikin design for drain pan is nothing great..

Once got water dripping that is very headache for remove out the whole FCU and clean out the drain pan at behind of cooling coils.

Once you realise, then you would know how's painful of this laugh.gif
physz.86
post Apr 27 2015, 09:20 PM

165 posts

I bought 2 Daikin airconds last saturday. At first I wanted to buy York but salesman told me York is no longer exist & replaced by Daikin.
After few days I just realize that Daikin air cond is quite noisy. The vibration sound quite annoying if u let it swinging.
NoGuGuJiaO
post Apr 27 2015, 09:48 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(physz.86 @ Apr 27 2015, 09:20 PM)
I bought 2 Daikin airconds last saturday. At first I wanted to buy York but salesman told me York is no longer exist & replaced by Daikin.
After few days I just realize that Daikin air cond is quite noisy. The vibration sound quite annoying if u let it swinging.
May I know what model you buy?
idoblu
post Apr 28 2015, 07:39 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(physz.86 @ Apr 27 2015, 09:20 PM)
Sounds like an installation problem.
idoblu
post Apr 28 2015, 07:41 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Guys, how much can I get if I were to sell my 1.5HP Daikin Inverter (using R22 gas)? 1.5 years old. Still in good condition. Selling because I'm moving and my new place already got Aircon.
I believe those still using R22 gas will be quite laku..... biggrin.gif
Model - FTKD35GVM

Or maybe I should swap it out with one of my new 1HP Panasonic Inverter then sell that. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by idoblu: Apr 28 2015, 07:56 AM
Chigme
post May 3 2015, 01:59 PM

700 posts

HomeDec KLCC Daikin promotion from D Legend. Buy more still can negotiate to get more discount.

Wall mounted R22:
1 HP Plasma FT10M + install = RM1130
1.5HP Plasma FT15M + install = RM1430

Ecoking wall mounted R410A (non inverter) :
1 HP FTN10M + Install = RM1200
1.5HP FTN15M + Install = RM1500

As comparison the price is about the same price in Lazada but Lazada comes without installation.

This post has been edited by Chigme: May 3 2015, 06:03 PM
quintesson
post May 3 2015, 05:53 PM

559 posts

QUOTE(Chigme @ May 3 2015, 02:59 PM)
HomeDec KLCC Daikin promotion from D Legend. Buy more still can negotiate to get more discount.

Wall mounted R22:
1 HP Plasma  FT10M + install = RM1130

1,5HP FTN15M = Install = RM1500

As comparison the price is about the same price in Lazada but Lazada comes without installation.
Looking at it will it be better to get r410a type since r22 is going to phase out soon?
Is r410a more i meant much much more to refill and repair?

This post has been edited by quintesson: May 3 2015, 05:53 PM
Chigme
post May 3 2015, 06:07 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(quintesson @ May 3 2015, 05:53 PM)
Looking at it will it be better to get r410a type since r22 is going to phase out soon?
Is r410a more i meant much much more to refill and repair?
The salesman say r22 may be phased out but not so soon maybe in 10 years time. R410 is more than expensive to refill and service.
quintesson
post May 3 2015, 06:10 PM

559 posts

How about Samsung? Is it reliable and better than Daikin or Pana? I'm thinking to get it but is HomeDec pricing better than outside haven't done any comparison yet. I heard one of the seller said Daikin going to stop r22 production somewhere this year but the gas will still available in the market.

This post has been edited by quintesson: May 3 2015, 06:11 PM
Chigme
post May 3 2015, 06:15 PM

700 posts

QUOTE(quintesson @ May 3 2015, 06:10 PM)
How about Samsung? Is it reliable and better than Daikin or Pana? I'm thinking to get it but is HomeDec pricing better than outside haven't done any comparison yet. I heard one of the seller said Daikin going to stop r22 production somewhere this year but the gas will still available in the market.
Not sure about samsung, I am using pana but not very satisfy because takes a long time to cool. Another thing is the gas really sensitive , if over or under refill it will not be cold. Only experience technician know how to get the correct amount of gas. Most likely I will get daikin in my coming purchase. Homedec price cheaper than say Harvey Norman and Esh but definitely not the cheapest. You can still got better price outside if you know where to look.

This post has been edited by Chigme: May 3 2015, 06:20 PM
Jason
post May 4 2015, 12:33 AM

5,846 posts

QUOTE(Chigme @ May 3 2015, 01:59 PM)

Wall mounted R22:

thanks for sharing. looking at the price it is no brainer to take the R410A models.

QUOTE(Chigme @ May 3 2015, 06:15 PM)
Not sure about samsung, I am using pana but not very satisfy because takes a long time to cool. Another thing is the gas really sensitive , if over or under refill it will not be cold. Only experience technician know how to get the correct amount of gas. Most likely I will get daikin in my coming purchase. Homedec price cheaper than say Harvey Norman and Esh but definitely not the cheapest. You can still got better price outside if you know where to look.
Is your Pana the econavi series? My Pana inverter econavi also not cold..doesn't get cold fast... Pana non-inverter in another room.. old air con i think got 7 years already..damn cold.. downstairs got one National...damn cold also... zzzz
Bigboyz
post May 4 2015, 08:28 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(Chigme @ May 3 2015, 01:59 PM)

Wall mounted R22:

The price with installation rite... But isit really that noisy... Vibrating as posted in a video above?
Chigme
post May 4 2015, 11:44 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ May 4 2015, 12:33 AM)
My Pana inverter econavi also not cold..doesn't get cold fast... Pana non-inverter in another room.. old air con i think got 7 years already..damn cold.. downstairs got one National...damn cold also... zzzz
My Pana that takes long cooling time is non inverter model CS PC9MKH, bought about 2 years ago
Chigme
post May 4 2015, 11:59 AM

700 posts

QUOTE(Bigboyz @ May 4 2015, 08:28 AM)
The price with installation rite... But isit really that noisy... Vibrating as posted in a video above?
Even though York is in market very long , Malaysians don't really know about Daikin. It has to be competitively price and properly promoted to induce more people to buy as the internal parts are now made in Malaysia. I hope more review will be available 2 or 3 years from now to verify the quality (noise, durability, after sales service quality etc).
SUSleonhart88
post May 4 2015, 04:42 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Sep 1 2011, 08:19 AM)
Just because they are in that business does not mean they are not idiot.

Invertor air conditioner has to convert AC electricity to DC electricity. This conversation will incur a lost of 10%. So if you both air cond are used at FULL BLAST situation, an Inverter will use 10% more electricity. FULL BLAST commonly occurs in a big hall/huge room with too small an air cond.

In a smaller room or room with large enough air cond. When temperature in a room reaches the desired or set cool temperature, normal air cond will totally switch off the compressor (only the blower is working). And had to restart the compressor when the set temperature goes up. This stop-start operation uses a lot of electricity similar to a car uses more fuel in stop-start traffic jam situation. This is how normal air cond works.

In a similar situation of lots of stop-start, an inverter air cond's compressor DO NOT STOP COMPLETELY. It merely slows down and pick up speed again when room temperature rises. Since there is no stop-start operation, it uses less electricity. This is similar to a car that never have to totally stop or restart all over again hence reducing fuel usage.

Using car as an example, it's a fact traffic jam with stop-start uses more fuel than an non stop driving on highway. Nobody can argue with that. Likewise, nobody can argue Invertor do not save electricity.

Of course if you only use your inverter  for only 1 hour when it doesn't even have time enough to cool the room or enter non-stop/non-start operation, it does not have the time to help you save money.

Added on September 1, 2011, 8:20 am

I think York got several model of that power rating. So which are you referring to?
So you mean turn on to 16 degree celcius will use less electricity than 26 degree celcius because less stop-start?
physz.86
post May 11 2015, 07:42 PM

165 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 28 2015, 07:39 AM)
Sounds like an installation problem.
Nope. I just realised that Daikin aircond let user to switch to quiet mode. I guess quiet mode will consume more power.
Anyway problem solved smile.gif
luvimp
post May 12 2015, 10:40 AM

375 posts

I am also in dilemma. I wanted to purchase York for my new home but since Daikin took over i cant get York anymore. I do not want to get Pana cause i hav 1 new unit installed like 2-3mths ago and it is not cold. I am basically sweating while waiting for the aircond to chill my room. Price is expensive and fancy function but it is all useless for me. Anyone using new Daikin by GA and any comment on it?
smon80
post May 12 2015, 11:54 AM

95 posts

Daikin took over OYL, which produce for York brand. York is an international brand, OYL design its own air con and brand under York which sell under Malaysia only. Ascon also design by OYL. So Daikin took over OYL and no more branding under York. Switch to Daikin coiling king.
So some of the Daikin Coiling King actually the design is as York, cosmetic wise change only. If you really want to get real Daikin, please go for Inverter type which assemble in Thailand. You see the advertisment shows made in Japan, yes there is on Daikin model made in Japan but is only one and only very expensive.

kinggerrard
post May 12 2015, 02:20 PM

197 posts

The actual Daikin only have 3HP and above.. I was told by my supplier that Daikin won't produce anymore aircon under 3HP.. That's why we usually see only Coiling King in the market.. There are only a few units left in the market for the real Daikin. Don't think you can get it from the retail.. If you want the real Daikin, you will have to try your luck at the manufacturer directly.
luvimp
post May 12 2015, 02:20 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(smon80 @ May 12 2015, 11:54 AM)
Daikin took over OYL, which produce for York brand. York is an international brand, OYL design its own air con and brand under York which sell under Malaysia only. Ascon also design by OYL. So Daikin took over OYL and no more branding under York. Switch to Daikin coiling king.
So some of the Daikin Coiling King actually the design is as York, cosmetic wise change only. If you really want to get real Daikin, please go for Inverter type which assemble in Thailand. You see the advertisment shows made in Japan, yes there is on Daikin model made in Japan but is only one and only very expensive.
We as consumer will never know which Daikin was produced before take over or after. If we bought the before take over, Daikin at that time sux big time.
evechong25
post May 12 2015, 02:36 PM

131 posts

Just from the end of 2014 year,may be Nov..... i dont remember exactly the month,York is under Daikin....that`s mean York is no more now.If you want same York quality but price is lower is Acson (as i known Acson is manufacture product for York in Malaysia)
Daikin is not same product .
smon80
post May 12 2015, 02:45 PM

95 posts

There are model you can refer. What I know that York had rebrand as Daikin Coiling King.
Inverter Daikin will be design by Daikin Jap and produce in Thai if not mistaken.
You can also opt for Acson.
megahertz
post May 12 2015, 05:15 PM

1,843 posts

QUOTE(luvimp @ May 12 2015, 10:40 AM)
I am also in dilemma. I wanted to purchase York for my new home but since Daikin took over i cant get York anymore. I do not want to get Pana cause i hav 1 new unit installed like 2-3mths ago and it is not cold. I am basically sweating while waiting for the aircond to chill my room. Price is expensive and fancy function but it is all useless for me. Anyone using new Daikin by GA and any comment on it?
im using Daikin by GA, M-series model for 1.0HP and 1.5HP, its non inverter unit but using R410A which is inverter gas.

using it for almost 4 months now, every seem ok , very cold so i always put it at 29c but the noise at top speed quite noisy sometimes but only at top speed, the rest should be ok.

last month suddenly 1 of my daikin led blinking and i feel the air not that cool. check the manual paper, seem the gas leaking. so i called my local aircond installer, said the gas could be leak because of the coil connector things and he fix it for free.. after fix it and refill the gas, everything working fine now.
Matheus271
post May 12 2015, 05:20 PM

31 posts

I got a pana econavi too....so lousy and not cold at all!

QUOTE(Jason @ May 4 2015, 12:33 AM)
thanks for sharing. looking at the price it is no brainer to take the R410A models.
Is your Pana the econavi series? My Pana inverter econavi also not cold..doesn't get cold fast... Pana non-inverter in another room.. old air con i think got 7 years already..damn cold.. downstairs got one National...damn cold also... zzzz
dat_chong
post May 12 2015, 06:22 PM

159 posts

any good? mine is daikin...
dat_chong
post May 12 2015, 06:23 PM

159 posts

my non -inverter LG is more cooling
aromachong
post May 12 2015, 06:25 PM

Trade Dispute
2,644 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ May 12 2015, 05:31 PM)
QUOTE(aromachong @ May 12 2015, 05:12 PM)
hi i want to ask... which one is better?

Daikin Non inverter 1.0HP (RM1100)

Daikik Inverter 1.0HP (rm15xx)

what is mean by daikin(GA) - assemble in Malaysia?

what is mean by cooling king (for non inverter) and eco king (for inverter)??

which air cond is better? inverter or non inverter? i heard inverter cool the room faster?

Daikin VS MIDEA - which one is better?

thanks!
looks like i misunderstood ... eco king = inverter , cooling king = non inverter
luvimp
post May 13 2015, 11:17 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(evechong25 @ May 12 2015, 02:36 PM)
Just from the end of 2014 year,may be Nov..... i dont remember exactly the month,York is under Daikin....that`s mean York is no more now.If you want same York quality but price is lower is Acson (as i known Acson is manufacture product for York in Malaysia)
Daikin is not same product .
Bro dont buy Acson.
They famous for problem and leakage.
My office use Acson centralised aircond and always give problem.

Either Pana or Daikin now.
luvimp
post May 13 2015, 11:18 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ May 12 2015, 05:15 PM)
im using Daikin by GA, M-series model for 1.0HP and 1.5HP, its non inverter unit but using R410A which is inverter gas.

using it for almost 4 months now, every seem ok , very cold so i always put it at 29c but the noise at top speed quite noisy sometimes but only at top speed, the rest should be ok.

last month suddenly 1 of my daikin led blinking and i feel the air not that cool. check the manual paper, seem the gas leaking. so i called my local aircond installer, said the gas could be leak because of the coil connector things and he fix it for free.. after fix it and refill the gas, everything working fine now.
That sounds great. 1 good review from existing user. rclxms.gif
Few more and i will be confident enough to give it a try.
I will be buying 7/8units for my whole house.
So i really hope it wont be a mistake getting Daikin GA.
lokmansk8
post May 13 2015, 11:19 AM

219 posts

better go for mitshubishi.. my aircond already 20++ years still working and still very cold but the case become yelloish

SUSleonhart88
post May 13 2015, 11:22 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(lokmansk8 @ May 13 2015, 11:19 AM)
better go for mitshubishi.. my aircond already 20++ years still working and still very cold but the case become yelloish
Same like my toshiba. U think older mitsu same with current production? The workers already retire bro.
lokmansk8
post May 13 2015, 11:24 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ May 13 2015, 11:22 AM)
Same like my toshiba. U think older mitsu same with current production? The workers already retire bro.
haha maybe they still care their quality
luvimp
post May 13 2015, 11:33 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(lokmansk8 @ May 13 2015, 11:19 AM)
Yes. Last time Mitsu was ok.
Now not anymore.
SUSleonhart88
post May 13 2015, 11:51 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(lokmansk8 @ May 13 2015, 11:24 AM)
haha maybe they still care their quality
National quality best but pana now lousy.
evechong25
post May 13 2015, 12:15 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(luvimp @ May 13 2015, 11:17 AM)
Bro dont buy Acson.
They famous for problem and leakage.
My office use Acson centralised aircond and always give problem.

Either Pana or Daikin now.
But as i known Acson is manufacture for York before.
roxx
post May 13 2015, 12:17 PM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ May 13 2015, 11:51 AM)
National quality best but pana now lousy.
Still got National a/c nowadays?
evechong25
post May 13 2015, 12:31 PM

131 posts

I think almost the electric stuff the price is not increase so much but the quality is worth a lots.
For example you had old model TV,air cord in house.....you used 10 yrs more but now when you use it 3yrs, ask the promoter they said it`s life end.... haha
roxx
post May 13 2015, 12:35 PM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(evechong25 @ May 13 2015, 12:31 PM)
I think almost the electric stuff the price is not increase so much but the quality is worth a lots.
For example you had old model TV,air cord in house.....you used 10 yrs more but now when you use it 3yrs, ask the promoter they said it`s life end.... haha
Indeed..

My parents own mitsu aircond for more than 10 yrs and it still in good condition.. Kaler only turn yellow-ish

Sony big butt TV still in good condition..

Bought LCD tv but after 2 years kaput ady.. shocking.gif
SUSleonhart88
post May 13 2015, 12:37 PM

1,686 posts

http://www.acr-news.com/march-brings-birth...a-based-firms--

So better buy gree since cheaper 20%?
evechong25
post May 13 2015, 01:34 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 13 2015, 12:35 PM)
Indeed..

My parents own mitsu aircond for more than 10 yrs and it still in good condition.. Kaler only turn yellow-ish

Sony big butt TV still in good condition..

Bought LCD tv but after 2 years kaput ady..  shocking.gif
Yes,our big butt TV also can run ,but we change LCD one,my sister bought LCD Pana 1yrs later the sound function is broken sound now.Repair is so expensive because over warranty,she bought new one LED Tosi
My boss told me he bought sam Refrigerator and washer clothes machine used 2yrs then 1 by 1 rosak ,he called the electric shop asking repair ,they told him u repair is 400-500 no warranty and said the machine is life end. then he decided to buy new one....
roxx
post May 13 2015, 02:59 PM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(evechong25 @ May 13 2015, 01:34 PM)
Yes,our big butt TV also can run ,but we change LCD one,my sister bought LCD Pana 1yrs later the sound function is broken sound now.Repair is so expensive because over warranty,she bought new one LED Tosi
My boss told me he bought sam Refrigerator and washer clothes machine used 2yrs then 1 by 1 rosak ,he called the electric shop asking repair ,they told him u repair is 400-500 no warranty and said the machine is life end. then he decided to buy new one....
What if if we bought a/c and same thing happen? I know that normally a/c provided with 5 yrs warranty but that's only on compressor/motor only right?
evechong25
post May 13 2015, 04:04 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 13 2015, 02:59 PM)
What if if we bought a/c and same thing happen? I know that normally a/c provided with 5 yrs warranty but that's only on compressor/motor only right?
Yes,in T & C is 5yrs warranty compressor only. other parts is 1 or 2 yrs warranty.
All company is free charge all of part in first yr.Then after that they will charge labor charge and transport fee ,service charge, refill gas .......when you replace the parts.And you want to claim compressor after first year under your electric shop or a/c man ,you no under them direct from manufacturer .Meaning u should call direct them and ask them come to your house ,check then repair on the road or take it back ......Then they will charge you other charge exclusive warranty part.
roxx
post May 13 2015, 05:15 PM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(evechong25 @ May 13 2015, 04:04 PM)
Yes,in T & C is 5yrs warranty compressor only. other parts is 1 or 2 yrs warranty.
All company is free charge all of part in first yr.Then after that they will charge labor charge and transport fee ,service charge, refill gas .......when you replace the parts.And you want to claim compressor after first year under your electric shop or a/c man ,you no under them direct from manufacturer .Meaning u should call direct them and ask them come to your house ,check then repair on the road or take it back ......Then they will charge you other charge exclusive warranty part.
Wahh so ma fan ah?

Then might as well get those reliable a/c despite of expensive price.
luvimp
post May 14 2015, 10:25 AM

375 posts

Went to a shop selling Daikin aircond yesterday. Mentioned that the non-inverter model using R22 gas will be discon by June. For those who is using it and require refill of gas in the future will be charge with higher price. All will be standardised with R410 gas.

This post has been edited by luvimp: May 14 2015, 10:26 AM
roxx
post May 14 2015, 10:55 AM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(luvimp @ May 14 2015, 10:25 AM)
Went to a shop selling Daikin aircond yesterday. Mentioned that the non-inverter model using R22 gas will be discon by June. For those who is using it and require refill of gas in the future will be charge with higher price. All will be standardised with R410 gas.
Just curious..

If our current a/c using R22, we cannot change to R410, right?

Sorry noob here..
luvimp
post May 14 2015, 11:17 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 14 2015, 10:55 AM)
Just curious..

If our current a/c using R22, we cannot change to R410, right?

Sorry noob here..
Cannot bro.
Your piping is different.
iastate
post May 14 2015, 01:20 PM

599 posts

QUOTE(luvimp @ May 14 2015, 11:17 AM)
Cannot bro.
If my concealed piping is actually the thicker one, which is the type for R410 gas, can I use R410 gas then? This is because my air con model is using R22, but I had my contractor do the R410 concealed piping, in case I change my air con in the future. I knew R22 was being discontinued soon.
roxx
post May 14 2015, 03:49 PM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(luvimp @ May 14 2015, 11:17 AM)
Cannot bro.
Ok thank..

If I change the piping? Can I?
luvimp
post May 14 2015, 04:16 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 14 2015, 03:49 PM)
Ok thank..

If I change the piping? Can I?
I am not so sure about that.
I was looking for aircond for my new home and was advise by the dealer.
roxx
post May 14 2015, 04:30 PM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(luvimp @ May 14 2015, 04:16 PM)
I am not so sure about that.
I was looking for aircond for my new home and was advise by the dealer.
If can then good la.. Because that fella who sell daikin at my house area said he got non inverter that use r22..
SUSkimsim
post May 15 2015, 08:09 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 14 2015, 04:30 PM)
If can then good la.. Because that fella who sell daikin at my house area said he got non inverter that use r22..
R22 Daikin from Thailand, but also stock clearance, if it model in s'pore already up to 10 yrs ago, cause before R22 change to R410a gas model.

But just tell you this model won't be as cold as any R410a model even non inverter.

Whatever if you like it then go ahead, cause R22 should be end story already...

Since in the markets has launched R32 as leonhart88 bro favorite Aircon at the moment brows.gif

This post has been edited by kimsim: May 15 2015, 08:10 AM
roxx
post May 15 2015, 09:55 AM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ May 15 2015, 08:09 AM)
R22 Daikin from Thailand, but also stock clearance, if it model in s'pore already up to 10 yrs ago, cause before R22 change to R410a gas model.

But just tell you this model won't be as cold as any R410a model even non inverter.

Since in the markets has launched R32 as leonhart88 bro favorite Aircon at the moment brows.gif
Err.. Whats the different between R410a and R32? rclxub.gif
SUSkimsim
post May 15 2015, 09:58 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 15 2015, 09:55 AM)
Err.. Whats the different between R410a and R32?  rclxub.gif
Newer gas loh.. They claim it more energy efficient for R32 also faster cooling speed
roxx
post May 15 2015, 10:23 AM

T O P K E K
749 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ May 15 2015, 09:58 AM)
Newer gas loh.. They claim it more energy efficient for R32 also faster cooling speed
Ok Thanks bro for your info.. But does Malaysian market has R32? What brand? Daikin?

Chigme
post May 25 2015, 10:01 AM

700 posts

Another promotion by daikin

Str33tBoY
post May 25 2015, 02:59 PM

1,873 posts

Yeap,i got d free gift also,bought my unit last friday & install on saturday...
kinggerrard
post May 25 2015, 05:01 PM

197 posts

You're deep-pocketed.. That's R32 unit.. Expensive man!! thumbup.gif
Str33tBoY
post May 25 2015, 10:39 PM

1,873 posts

Mine not r32,is r410a...
Same free give also...
Most of d electrical nv mention bout dis,i gues they will jz take themself...
SUSleonhart88
post May 27 2015, 10:22 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ May 15 2015, 08:09 AM)

myfav is R22 bro. still can be used till 2030. Given that time our aircon already 15 yrs old. just trade in when buy new in 2030 la biggrin.gif
now R22 still the cheapest in addition to clearance
^Ware^wolf
post May 27 2015, 11:04 AM

906 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ May 27 2015, 10:22 AM)
myfav is R22 bro. still can be used till 2030. Given that time our aircon already 15 yrs old. just trade in when buy new in 2030 la biggrin.gif
now R22 still the cheapest in addition to clearance
as bro kimsim said , only selfish ppl will opt for R22 aircon... non-environment friendly and noisier ...trade in 15yrs old aircon ? nah , worthless at all whistling.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
oe_kintaro
post May 27 2015, 11:07 AM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(iastate @ May 14 2015, 01:20 PM)
If my concealed piping is actually the thicker one, which is the type for R410 gas, can I use R410 gas then? This is because my air con model is using R22, but I had my contractor do the R410 concealed piping, in case I change my air con in the future. I knew R22 was being discontinued soon.
if your aircond is not meant to work with R410a gas, so you have to change the aircond in the future if you want to fill the new gas. Just that you can maintain the piping.
My advice would be to just continue using the R22 aircond if it is not giving you problems. If your piping and aircond are properly installed there should be very little chance of leakage so you don't need to refill the gas often anyway. If you find that you need to top up the gas regularly then you need to find the source of the leak then only worry about the choice of gas.
SUSleonhart88
post May 27 2015, 11:11 AM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(^Ware^wolf @ May 27 2015, 11:04 AM)
as bro kimsim said , only selfish ppl will opt for R22 aircon... non-environment friendly and noisier ...trade in 15yrs old aircon ? nah , worthless at all whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
nope. now ozone layer thicker bro. noisier? my 20 yrs old toshiba even very quiet bro.
SUSleonhart88
post May 27 2015, 11:11 AM

1,686 posts

as bro kimsim said , only selfish ppl will opt for R22 aircon... non-environment friendly and noisier ...trade in 15yrs old aircon ? nah , worthless at all whistling.gif  whistling.gif  whistling.gif
nope. now ozone layer thicker bro. noisier? my 20 yrs old toshiba even very quiet bro. as long as it is still legal. aim to be rich also selfish too. all human beings are selfish. so what?

This post has been edited by leonhart88: May 27 2015, 11:14 AM
SUSkimsim
post May 28 2015, 07:47 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ May 27 2015, 11:11 AM)
nope. now ozone layer thicker bro. noisier? my 20 yrs old toshiba even very quiet bro. as long as it is still legal. aim to be rich also selfish too. all human beings are selfish. so what?
When do u plan to have one R32 model?
Str33tBoY
post May 29 2015, 02:54 PM

1,873 posts

R410a vs r22 gas now jz diffferent rm50,and installation fees different about rm30...
But i duno y the installation fees different rm30 since d pipe for d 1st 10 feet is free...
Maybe more job nid to be done?
fireballs
post May 29 2015, 03:00 PM

5,627 posts

r410 higher pressure so need thicker pipe. thus the higher price.
oe_kintaro
post May 29 2015, 03:33 PM

2,221 posts

if you understand the issue then you know that is not completely true.
R-410a is only *slightly* more environment friendly than R22.

R22 = contributes to ozone depletion and is a green house gas (i.e. traps heat)
R410a = doesn't contribute to ozone depletion, but is equally bad (if not worse) as a green house gas.

so, if I'm shopping for a brand new air con and starting from scratch, best case is to get all new. i.e. R410a air cond + R410a piping for future proofing
but if I'm considering retrofitting an installation, assuming old piping but in good condition and installation is done professionally, R22 is still a viable alternative if cash flow / cost is a factor.

The last time I was shopping for air conds (a couple of years ago) I ended up with Daikin's R22 inverters as a reasonable compromise between savings and environmental friendliness..

This post has been edited by oe_kintaro: May 29 2015, 03:33 PM
Str33tBoY
post May 29 2015, 07:53 PM

1,873 posts

I mean d piping is included when u buy d air-cond?
Or included in d sub-con installing package?
If it is in d subcon package,den it explain everything...
babyk
post May 29 2015, 07:55 PM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ May 29 2015, 07:53 PM)
I mean d piping is included when u buy d air-cond?
Or included in d sub-con installing package?
If it is in d subcon package,den it explain everything...
no piping included in the package from manufacturer, only drain pipe is inside the AC unit

Str33tBoY
post May 29 2015, 10:10 PM

1,873 posts

ic...
ok,thx...
now i understand...
kenchew
post Jun 4 2015, 08:47 PM

QUOTE(oe_kintaro @ May 27 2015, 11:07 AM)
if your aircond is not meant to work with R410a gas, so you have to change the aircond in the future if you want to fill the new gas. Just that you can maintain the piping.
My advice would be to just continue using the R22 aircond if it is not giving you problems. If your piping and aircond are properly installed there should be very little chance of leakage so you don't need to refill the gas often anyway. If you find that you need to top up the gas regularly then you need to find the source of the leak then only worry about the choice of gas.
Hi, I'm currently renovating my house. I am thinking to ask the contractor to install R410a pipe for all my aircond areas.

Just to clarify:

1. Can I still use a R22 aircond on a R410a pipe?

2. I understand now some non-inverter models are using R410a gas. What is the average price difference of non-inverter R22 model versus non-inverter R410a model?

Thanks!
SUSkimsim
post Jun 4 2015, 10:01 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(kenchew @ Jun 4 2015, 08:47 PM)
Hi, I'm currently renovating my house. I am thinking to ask the contractor to install R410a pipe for all my aircond areas.

Just to clarify:

1. Can I still use a R22 aircond on a R410a pipe?

2. I understand now some non-inverter models are using R410a gas. What is the average price difference of non-inverter R22 model versus non-inverter R410a model?

Thanks!
Can use R410a pipe from R22 gas, but no longer to use back with new Aircon model comes from R410a anymore..

Like diesel car can't used in petrol at all
g00glesYYl
post Jun 22 2015, 11:29 AM

Prince Onboard
1,045 posts

How can we buy daikin air cond? Thru their HQ sale office?
SUSkimsim
post Jun 22 2015, 11:36 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Jun 22 2015, 11:29 AM)
Visit any sales aircon shops may carry daikin brands at all..

just check from the nearest aircon shop will do
g00glesYYl
post Jun 22 2015, 11:58 AM

Prince Onboard
1,045 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Jun 22 2015, 12:36 PM)
Visit any sales aircon shops may carry daikin brands at all..

just check from the nearest aircon shop will do
I checked fews, senheng, aeon, tesco, aeon big all got no. Most of the aircon shop also do not carry this brand... rclxub.gif
SUSkimsim
post Jun 22 2015, 12:04 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Jun 22 2015, 11:58 AM)
I checked fews, senheng, aeon, tesco, aeon big all got no. Most of the aircon shop also do not carry this brand... rclxub.gif
yap, cause they have minor choice only, unless you wanna doing the 3 yrs CC zero interested installment with free extra 1 yr warranty by senq.

otherwise most of aircon specialist shop may carry more brand, but they only allow you to pay cash or cc for full pay only
ck77
post Jun 22 2015, 12:53 PM

2,546 posts

I bought from Jintex,
http://www.jintexelectronics.com/index.php...e=index&cPath=7
megahertz
post Jun 22 2015, 01:14 PM

1,843 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Jun 22 2015, 11:29 AM)
you can survey aircond shop nearby ur house. if u went to big2 mall, normally the price bit expensive and they didnt hv Daikin brand.

last time i bought at aircond supplier nearby my house. they only supply aircond, nothing else , thats why i can get cheap price compared other shops.
Jason
post Jun 22 2015, 01:19 PM

5,846 posts

QUOTE(kenchew @ Jun 4 2015, 08:47 PM)

Thanks!
Negligible. Price difference is more significant between different brands. Panasonic is an affordable choice, and a smart choice for non-inverter R410a.

g00glesYYl
post Jun 22 2015, 03:08 PM

Prince Onboard
1,045 posts

reliable if purchase online? I am afraid of warranty claim.
ck77
post Jun 22 2015, 03:21 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Jun 22 2015, 03:08 PM)
reliable if purchase online? I am afraid of warranty claim.
They have physical shop at Sea Park.
g00glesYYl
post Jun 22 2015, 04:43 PM

Prince Onboard
1,045 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Jun 22 2015, 04:21 PM)
They have physical shop at Sea Park.
Thank, i tried to email them but no response. Can we go to their shop and purchase it?

By the way, it is a good move if choose Panasonic instead of Daikin?
sirferra
post Jun 22 2015, 04:58 PM

i want to ask you all... i've got to customer with the same problem.... the problem is... when the aircond turn on... the smell will come out.... why that that problem happen... the aircondition still new.... pls explain to me.....
babyk
post Jun 22 2015, 05:00 PM

BANNED 101/100(tm) : Your avatar too sexy
10,052 posts

QUOTE(sirferra @ Jun 22 2015, 04:58 PM)
i want to ask you all... i've got to customer with the same problem.... the problem is... when the aircond turn on... the smell will come out.... why that that problem happen... the aircondition still new.... pls explain to me.....
what smell? Fart? Shit?
ck77
post Jun 22 2015, 05:06 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Jun 22 2015, 04:43 PM)
Thank, i tried to email them but no response. Can we go to their shop and purchase it?

By the way, it is a good move if choose Panasonic instead of Daikin?
Can purchase from their shop.
Read many problems on Pana here, I use Daikin.
Antzfield
post Jun 22 2015, 05:39 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Jun 22 2015, 05:06 PM)
Can purchase from their shop.
Read many problems on Pana here, I use Daikin.
Saw the price as per your link, price is good and even cheaper than the 'famous'' SS2 lxgexd.

You mean the price will be same as the actual shop? Then I should go and check it out. thanks ya

The shop in Sea Park near which part?

This post has been edited by Antzfield: Jun 22 2015, 05:43 PM
ck77
post Jun 22 2015, 05:47 PM

2,546 posts

QUOTE(Antzfield @ Jun 22 2015, 05:39 PM)
Saw the price as per your link, price is good and even cheaper than the 'famous'' SS2 lxgexd.

You mean the price will be same as the actual shop? Then I should go and check it out. thanks ya

The shop in Sea Park near which part?
Use the google map on their website.

Antzfield
post Jun 22 2015, 07:00 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(ck77 @ Jun 22 2015, 05:47 PM)
Use the google map on their website.
Ya, was searching high and low from Google maps but cannot find Jalan 21/12.

Really need to search deep.

Thanks for pointer
aurora97
post Jun 23 2015, 01:56 PM

I Didn't get the Memo
3,568 posts

Fyi.

bought date: 13/11/2014
Model: FTE25KV/RE25K
Horse Power: 1HP
Price: RM 950 +installation

JML
post Jun 23 2015, 02:06 PM

267 posts

if buy air cond don't go to sen heng those big shops. go to air cond shop. sen heng those after close your sales also pass to air cond installer go install at ur house.
air cond shop if got service complain they can attend you first. service wise should be faster. since they concentrate on doing air cond only..

my 2 cents
SUSleonhart88
post Jun 23 2015, 02:20 PM

1,686 posts

QUOTE(JML @ Jun 23 2015, 02:06 PM)
if buy air cond don't go to sen heng those big shops. go to air cond shop. sen heng those after close your sales also pass to air cond installer go install at ur house.
air cond shop if got service complain they can attend you first. service wise should be faster. since they concentrate on doing air cond only..

my 2 cents
some air con shop also use outsourcing to install aircon
JML
post Jun 23 2015, 02:32 PM

267 posts

sendiri observe lo.. whether they have installer / air cond van or not... haha..
ck_boon
post Jun 23 2015, 02:54 PM

1,882 posts

QUOTE(lazzy_dogg @ May 31 2011, 12:11 AM)
what is this?
Chigme
post Jul 1 2015, 08:49 AM

700 posts

I thought York has been rebranded under daikin cooling king. This advert says York ny Johnson control. Anyone care to comment?

SUSkimsim
post Jul 1 2015, 06:18 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Chigme @ Jul 1 2015, 08:49 AM)
I thought York has  been rebranded under daikin cooling king. This advert says York ny Johnson control. Anyone care to comment?
Same under one roof for MFG just the sales management are different department only
kelvinfixx
post Jul 1 2015, 06:25 PM

1,502 posts

Johnson Controls get back the York brand right from cooling king?
SUSkimsim
post Jul 1 2015, 06:33 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(kelvinfixx @ Jul 1 2015, 06:25 PM)
Johnson Controls get back the York brand right from cooling king?
Cause running GST then temporary close down York, now sale to Johnson controls for reopening again for new transaction.
mghong
post Jul 1 2015, 09:47 PM

450 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Jul 1 2015, 06:33 PM)
Cause running GST then temporary close down York, now sale to Johnson controls for reopening again for new transaction.
Is now daikin = york
estravada
post Jul 2 2015, 03:24 PM

24 posts

The distributor (Sales, Service, Parts) who sells York last time is GA. Now, they no longer sell York and only sell Daikin as they are also part of Daikin Group now. So, they will now provide sales and service for Daikin products, with products coming from the Daikin factory in Malaysia and Thailand.

Starting from July, York is now distributed by a new company under Johnson Control. This new company has no relation to GA, which means different sales and service support. Cannot comment if it is good or bad yet because just started.

One thing confirmed is that the products for York brand now is coming in from China, same product as Haier. You can go to Haier website and you can find same product outlook.

So, Cooling King now is Daikin, no more York. So, for those still want the fast cooling, please look for Daikin now. Do not get conned by sales person in shop as the York Products from China now may not provide you the same cooling effect.

Summary:
York (before): Products from Malaysia
York (now) : Products from China

p/s: this info is from dealer as the salesman servicing the dealers also change for York brand.

Antzfield
post Jul 2 2015, 05:03 PM

496 posts

QUOTE(estravada @ Jul 2 2015, 03:24 PM)
The distributor (Sales, Service, Parts) who sells York last time is GA. Now, they no longer sell York and only sell Daikin as they are also part of Daikin Group now. So, they will now provide sales and service for Daikin products, with products coming from the Daikin factory in Malaysia and Thailand.

Starting from July, York is now distributed by a new company under Johnson Control. This new company has no relation to GA, which means different sales and service support. Cannot comment if it is good or bad yet because just started.

One thing confirmed is that the products for York brand now is coming in from China, same product as Haier. You can go to Haier website and you can find same product outlook.

So, Cooling King now is Daikin, no more York.  So, for those still want the fast cooling, please look for Daikin now. Do not get conned by sales person in shop as the York Products from China now may not provide you the same cooling effect.

Summary:
York (before): Products from Malaysia
York (now) : Products from China

p/s: this info is from dealer as the salesman servicing the dealers also change for York brand.
Great info and thank you for sharing, this give some insight to lots of people in terms of these 2 brands. rclxms.gif
SUSkimsim
post Jul 2 2015, 06:32 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Believe me go for Daikin Ga you guys is never get wrong smile.gif
estravada
post Jul 2 2015, 10:34 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Jul 2 2015, 06:32 PM)
Believe me go for Daikin Ga you guys is never get wrong smile.gif
Totally agree with you. You cannot go wrong with Daikin GA!!
mieza
post Jul 3 2015, 02:03 PM

538 posts

I want to buy an air cond. Which one should i buy?

1) Daikin FT10L & R09C (R22)

2) Daikin FTN10M & RN10F

3) Daikin FTN10P & RN10F (R410A) - P serial

SUSkimsim
post Jul 3 2015, 02:14 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(mieza @ Jul 3 2015, 02:03 PM)
I want to buy an air cond. Which one should i buy?

1) Daikin FT10L & R09C (R22)

2) Daikin FTN10M & RN10F

3) Daikin FTN10P & RN10F (R410A) - P serial

Amway just avoid R22 to be save your future trouble
Vain
post Aug 19 2015, 11:35 PM

33 posts

Daikin FTE60KV1 2.5HP in living hall
Daikin FT50HV1 2.0HP in master room
Total is 920sqf 2 room type
i having these 2 aircon given and installed in my new soho by developer, i was thinking is it best to change to inverter series sinces soho is under commercial electrical rate. And which brand should i go daikin? panasonic? can give me some advice? Or should I just carry on wt it and get another daikon R22 for my 2nd room, as all the piping and wiring is done and concealed by developer......since now I doing my electrical works I already opened up my plaster ceiling, if need to change to inverter, I need to change piping right? But it would be costly to do so as my compressor is located at the end bout 30-40 feets piping length....situ advice?

0.1475sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:52 PM