16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

> Daikin aircon, Good or not ?

gunh
post Jun 8 2011, 05:28 PM

459 posts

samsung and lg are still new in the ac technology.... i got use LG art cool 1.5hp before... it really dont work like a 1.5hp.... i would say daikin / mitsu 1hp may work better than the art cool 1.5hp.... A good AC will last u for years... just for the additional few hundred, i guess choosing a good quality product will save u a lot of hassle in the future...
digir
post Jun 8 2011, 05:39 PM

81 posts

QUOTE(gunh @ Jun 8 2011, 05:28 PM)
samsung and lg are still new in the ac technology.... i got use LG art cool 1.5hp before... it really dont work like a 1.5hp.... i would say daikin / mitsu 1hp may work better than the art cool 1.5hp.... A good AC will last u for years... just for the additional few hundred, i guess choosing a good quality product will save u a lot of hassle in the future...
Hi, thanks for sharing your experience but i found that their new inverter is a lot cheaper than Daikin.
If anyone has owned or used LG or Samsung inverter AC, please share your experience here. Thanks.

This post has been edited by digir: Jun 8 2011, 08:06 PM
SUSendau02
post Jun 8 2011, 07:13 PM

3,180 posts

daikin is good in aircond, though trane can be better lol
cam40729
post Jun 17 2011, 04:55 PM

97 posts

QUOTE(bhtan @ May 30 2011, 05:51 PM)
Daikin is one of the best if not the best selling brands of aircond in JP.  However, note that best selling does not always mean the best.  The best audio equipment are those that you have seldom heard of their names and not Bose or Pioneer.  Moreover, most of the Daikin here are no longer imported from Japan but made in Thailand.  But then Panasonic is Malaysia Boleh.  If this were sepak takraw, I will buy Daikin.  For aircond, I think it should be OK vs Panasonic.  BTW, I actually like my Toshiba aircond even though I am not sure they are still selling them  smile.gif
QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 30 2011, 06:00 PM)
I think i saw Thoshiba Aircond also i think they still selling... hmm but Panasonic and Mitsubishi are the word of mouth for aircond is this forum.. seldom hear bout Daikin in fact dunno if it's easy to service / maintain in future ? in terms of parts and so on ?
Toshiba is made by Midea now smile.gif even some of the model from Sharp, Electrolux also made by Midea who is known as the world 3rd largest air conditioner manufacturer.
babytensai
post Jun 24 2011, 12:04 AM

191 posts

Daikin inverter ok, but price a bit higher. York, cheap lo. Lg, panasonic not advisable.
SUSOptiplex330
post Aug 30 2011, 08:53 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 30 2011, 11:03 PM)
if so good, how come don see "daikin" aircon sell at Best Denki, Seng Heng, Harvey Norman, Courts Mammoth...etc

personally im Mitsubishi supporter
This is so funny. Because these mass marketer do not sell a product, they are no good. Is that why you say LV bags, Patek Philippe watches, Krell amplifier etc no good?

Added on August 30, 2011, 8:56 am
QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 31 2011, 04:52 PM)
definitely u need inverter.... all inverter whether Pana or Mitsu inverter only effective if used aircon more than 6 hours above
Wrong. Try using a small air conditioner in a big all and run 24 hours a day and see what happen. In cases like this, a Invertor will actually uses 10% more electricity than normal air cond.

Invertor only uses less electricity when there are lots of stop/start operation. In a big hall with small air cond, there will be no such operation, hence no saving.

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Aug 30 2011, 08:56 AM
JinXXX
post Aug 30 2011, 09:48 AM

2,513 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 30 2011, 08:53 AM)
Invertor only uses less electricity when there are lots of stop/start operation. In a big hall with small air cond, there will be no such operation, hence no saving.
thats why big halls and etc.. its best to use higher HP normal one..

while bedroom is recommended to use inverter...
phoenix69
post Aug 30 2011, 10:54 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Aug 30 2011, 08:53 AM)
This is so funny. Because these mass marketer do not sell a product, they are no good. Is that why you say LV bags, Patek Philippe watches, Krell amplifier etc no good?

Added on August 30, 2011, 8:56 am

Wrong. Try using a small air conditioner in a big all and run 24 hours a day and see what happen. In cases like this, a Invertor will actually uses 10% more electricity than normal air cond.

I thought its the other way around.
Inverter air conditioner uses less electricity thus save money when usage exceed 8 hours,
If less uses more electricity compared to regular non inverter air conditioner,

Got this information from my uncle who is an electrical appliances distributor.
Confirmed this fact with a few electrical brands representative when I was visiting the goverment's energy efficiency subsidy roadshow (forgot name) in Kelana Jaya's Giant.
Serofax
post Aug 30 2011, 09:32 PM

318 posts

nevertheless i'm equipping my entire house with Daikin Airconds (non-inverter) =D
StevenL
post Aug 30 2011, 09:41 PM

732 posts

QUOTE(Serofax @ Aug 30 2011, 09:32 PM)
nevertheless i'm equipping my entire house with Daikin Airconds (non-inverter) =D
What's the price u r getting then for 1hp and 2hp with install? thumbup.gif I'm still lost between York & Daikin, currently my existing house is all York for the last 11 years, only once had problem with a unit where of of its coil leaked but it was repaired, washed & filled with a mere RM200.00 rclxms.gif And till date its still DAMN COLD!!! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
Serofax
post Aug 31 2011, 02:07 AM

318 posts

if im not mistaken, york was bought over by daikin sometime ago.

cheapest i've gotten so far for daikin air conds (non-inverter types) :

1hp - RM860
1.5hp - RM1260
2.0hp - RM1660

EXCLUDE installation. i didnt get a quote for installation as i hv someone else doing it for me wink.gif
J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Aug 31 2011, 02:39 AM

288 posts

Regardless of which brand, but the contractor is the one which I concern the most.

Everything starts frm installation, if U have a poor installation job done, likelyhood is U r gonna get series problems.

Anyone had good experience on airccond contractor, pls share Ur experience.

I personally like Panasonic probably due to their marketing strategic tht made me attracted to their brand.

It seems like Daikin makes reliable products, but having issue of spare part availabitity.
Serofax
post Aug 31 2011, 01:34 PM

318 posts

why would daikin have spare part problem?... look for any daikin distributor and they'll be able to service you.

but if ur saying there are LESS daikin distributors than panasonic, yes i'll agree.

however if you observe well, there are quite a few daikin distributors, puchong itself already have over 5 shops that i personally know of smile.gif
SUSOptiplex330
post Sep 1 2011, 08:19 AM

12,696 posts

QUOTE(phoenix69 @ Aug 30 2011, 10:54 AM)
I thought its the other way around.
Inverter air conditioner uses less electricity thus save money when usage exceed 8 hours,
If less uses more electricity compared to regular non inverter air conditioner,

Got this information from my uncle who is an electrical appliances distributor.
Confirmed this fact with a few electrical brands representative when I was visiting the goverment's energy efficiency subsidy roadshow (forgot name) in Kelana Jaya's Giant.
Just because they are in that business does not mean they are not idiot.

Invertor air conditioner has to convert AC electricity to DC electricity. This conversation will incur a lost of 10%. So if you both air cond are used at FULL BLAST situation, an Inverter will use 10% more electricity. FULL BLAST commonly occurs in a big hall/huge room with too small an air cond.

In a smaller room or room with large enough air cond. When temperature in a room reaches the desired or set cool temperature, normal air cond will totally switch off the compressor (only the blower is working). And had to restart the compressor when the set temperature goes up. This stop-start operation uses a lot of electricity similar to a car uses more fuel in stop-start traffic jam situation. This is how normal air cond works.

In a similar situation of lots of stop-start, an inverter air cond's compressor DO NOT STOP COMPLETELY. It merely slows down and pick up speed again when room temperature rises. Since there is no stop-start operation, it uses less electricity. This is similar to a car that never have to totally stop or restart all over again hence reducing fuel usage.

Using car as an example, it's a fact traffic jam with stop-start uses more fuel than an non stop driving on highway. Nobody can argue with that. Likewise, nobody can argue Invertor do not save electricity.

Of course if you only use your inverter for only 1 hour when it doesn't even have time enough to cool the room or enter non-stop/non-start operation, it does not have the time to help you save money.

Added on September 1, 2011, 8:20 am
QUOTE(Serofax @ Aug 31 2011, 02:07 AM)

1hp - RM860
1.5hp - RM1260
2.0hp - RM1660
EXCLUDE installation. i didnt get a quote for installation as i hv someone else doing it for me wink.gif
I think York got several model of that power rating. So which are you referring to?

This post has been edited by Optiplex330: Sep 1 2011, 08:20 AM
kochin
post Sep 1 2011, 08:57 AM

I just hope I do!
10,278 posts

is york ionizer model 1HP supply & install at rm1k a good price?
thanks.
property user
post Sep 1 2011, 05:01 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Serofax @ Aug 31 2011, 02:07 AM)

1hp - RM860
1.5hp - RM1260
2.0hp - RM1660
May I know where you got your quotes from? Price looks good
How much are they selling for Daikin invertor?
Serofax
post Sep 2 2011, 01:24 AM

318 posts

QUOTE(property user @ Sep 1 2011, 05:01 PM)
May I know where you got your quotes from? Price looks good
How much are they selling for Daikin invertor?
its an aircond shop in USJ20 (LKB airconds)... pretty secluded as its the only aircond shop there, but can be seen from roadside if ur on your way through USJ heading to LDP.

i think u can contact them through email. quotes and prices too wink.gif

lkb_aircond@hotmail.com
Jo_da48
post Sep 2 2011, 08:21 AM

1,529 posts

how the condition of it? Noisy ? Fast cool ?

J1@l_ l_l l\l
post Sep 3 2011, 02:37 AM

288 posts

So back to the topic, how do U guys find the built quality of Daikin and Panasonic air conditioner. I'm currently eyeing at the Daikin FTKD25DVM / RKD25DVM - HP:1 (R22), Daikin FTKS25DVM / RKS25GVMG - HP:1 (R-410A), and the Panasonic CS-S10MKH (CU-S10MKH) ~ 1.0HP, and still hesitating, any comment on the models mentioned would be greatly appreciated.

And with regards to Daikin air conditioner, two different types of R22 and R-40A air conditioners are being offered, which one to go for? unsure.gif

This post has been edited by J1@l_ l_l l\l: Sep 3 2011, 03:17 AM
phoenix69
post Sep 27 2011, 12:01 AM

1,836 posts

I had an interesting conversation with the air-cond service man that came to service my mom's house.
My mom is using York and Panasonic air-cond.
He does all brands air-cond service (chap pa lang)
I asked what he thinks is the best brand. hmm.gif
With the current advertisement, I wanted to install Panasonic. rclxm9.gif

Below are the salient points of our discussion nod.gif

1. Daikin - It has the best build (thicker material), good quality, good technology, No.1 in Singapore, has links with Acson and York, he totally recommend, price not much different than Panasonic, was absent from Malaysia market awhile due to bad distributor but now making a strong comeback thus no problem with spare-parts, loud because it has a strong blower thus cools the room faster, only air cond with inverter that can use regular gas.

2. Panasonic - The build has gone thinner, the second brand he recommend after Daikin, well established in Malaysia thus no problem with spare parts,
loud because it has a strong blower thus cools the room faster.

Other brands - avoid if possible

A Korean brand who also produce mobile phone - avoid like plague. tongue.gif

Reporting from KL. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by phoenix69: Sep 27 2011, 12:04 AM

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0388sec    0.21    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:58 AM