16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Daikin aircon, Good or not ?

TSKelvin5717
post May 31 2011, 01:59 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 31 2011, 10:42 AM)
Not quite... i would rate Daikin A/C as perguet/mazda car... exotic, high tech, niche market, bit exp, reliable... but hard to service/find spare part.....

There`s no second doubt about daikin`s technology.... the drawback is sparepart.. as less dealer/stokist compared to york...
Then it's not good for long run then... hmm now comparing Mitsubishi and Panasonic... which 1 better le hmm.gif

Should i go for Inverter type or not ?

Weekdays
Use only from 8.00pm - 6.00am

Weekend
Use around 12 hours - 16 hours

Anyway i'm looking for above average type.. budget is

1Hp - Rm1k - 1.5k
1.5Hp Rm1.5k - 2k

need 4 1HP aircond for all bedroom, and 1 unit of 1.5HP for living room.. living room space (309sqft) kitchen & dinning area use fan cukup la tongue.gif

any good suggestion ?

budget as stated above.. prefer those less noise, good maintenance & maybe save electric ? rclxms.gif oh not to be left out must be CHILL & COLD cool2.gif cool2.gif

This post has been edited by Kelvin5717: May 31 2011, 02:01 PM
vincentwee
post May 31 2011, 04:52 PM

126 posts

definitely u need inverter.... all inverter whether Pana or Mitsu inverter only effective if used aircon more than 6 hours above

by the way, with stupid lousy heartless G increase 7% starting june, definitely u need have inverter for your current situation

if not, cut down your aircon usage time.. use only few hours ..then u can get normal aircon...at same time.u don need pay so much for your electrical bill.
TSKelvin5717
post May 31 2011, 05:37 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 31 2011, 04:52 PM)
definitely u need inverter.... all inverter whether Pana or Mitsu inverter only effective if used aircon more than 6 hours above

by the way, with stupid lousy heartless G increase 7% starting june, definitely u need have inverter for your current situation

if not, cut down your aircon usage time.. use only few hours ..then u can get normal aircon...at same time.u don need pay so much for your electrical bill.
ya read that also in Star front page cry.gif cry.gif meaning should i get Inverter for my living room or all the bedroom also ?
Awakened_Angel
post May 31 2011, 06:42 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 31 2011, 02:59 PM)
Then it's not good for long run then... hmm now comparing Mitsubishi and Panasonic... which 1 better le  hmm.gif

Should i go for Inverter type or not ?

Weekdays
Use only from 8.00pm - 6.00am

Weekend
Use around 12 hours - 16 hours

Anyway i'm looking for above average type.. budget is

1Hp - Rm1k - 1.5k
1.5Hp Rm1.5k - 2k

need 4 1HP aircond for all bedroom, and 1 unit of 1.5HP for living room.. living room space (309sqft) kitchen & dinning area use fan cukup la  tongue.gif

any good suggestion ?

budget as stated above.. prefer those less noise, good maintenance & maybe save electric ?  rclxms.gif oh not to be left out must be CHILL & COLD  cool2.gif  cool2.gif
Go for non-inverter type... You seen the graph before? the typical graph used by inverter technology ads whereby the graph show a guy cycling up and down a hill which use a lot of energy compared to a guy on flat road...

yes.. this graph is valid when you use duringthe day... but imagine at night time... you were asleep.. the heat that your body release is minimum, door was shut, there`s literally low heat emission... so the A/C wont even work so hard to cool the room...

P/S non inverter compressor works like a loop.. when a sensor sence the temperature, compare it to preset temp, then sent data to compressor on how much heat to extract from the room. this compressor cant slow or fast.. just can on 100% or close 0%.... so its the wastage that occurs....

for livingroom, please do select bigger capacity(heat from TV, frequent close opening, human activity etc) and yes... inverter is useful in saving energy here....

its akin of selecting car for proper application.... yes... car save fuel when u drive on high way... no matter what car.. the difference does not show much.. but the saving came into vision when you are stuck in a jam(pedal & brake)
regards.....

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: May 31 2011, 08:55 PM
JinXXX
post May 31 2011, 08:43 PM

2,516 posts

usually nobody uses.. inverter for living room...

they usually opt for higher HP, price/performance ratio...

bedroom usually ppl opt for inverter those that come home 8pm and just chill/stay around the room until nex day wake up 7am
slk
post May 31 2011, 09:19 PM

326 posts

you can try the shop beside topten puchung (beside tesco). Panasonic 1HP = RM 790. smile.gif
vincentwee
post May 31 2011, 11:29 PM

126 posts

im sure Panasonic 1HP is old model..maybe 1 or 2 years ago..they cant sell it..so sell cheap..

to play safe..go to panasonic malaysia website...jot down the latest model..when u go buy aircon..salesman cant cheat as there will be model number..

gunh
post Jun 1 2011, 09:22 AM

459 posts

i tot is the other way round, should use inverter for bedroom as it is enclosed and normally use for long hr (overnight)... the graph for inverter did go up initially (as to faster reach the desire room temperature) but after that will be running slowly to maintain the temperature. (in long run, it did save energy) compare to non inverter type where the compressor need to start stop more frequent...

And for the living room, it is very very hard to utilise inverter as u can hardly get the whole living room reach the desire room temperature, so we normally install a/c just for the purpose of "spot" cooling... so what's the point of having inverter for living room?

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 31 2011, 06:42 PM)
Go for non-inverter type... You seen the graph before? the typical graph used by inverter technology ads whereby the graph show a guy cycling up and down a hill which use a lot of energy compared to a guy on flat road...

yes.. this graph is valid when you use duringthe day... but imagine at night time... you were asleep.. the heat that your body release is minimum, door was shut, there`s literally low heat emission... so the A/C wont even work so hard to cool the room...

P/S non inverter compressor works like a loop.. when a sensor sence the temperature, compare it to preset temp, then sent data to compressor on how much heat to extract from the room. this compressor cant slow or fast.. just can on 100% or close 0%.... so its the wastage that occurs....

for livingroom, please do select bigger capacity(heat from TV, frequent close opening, human activity etc) and yes... inverter is useful in saving energy here....

its akin of selecting car for proper application.... yes... car save fuel when u drive on high way... no matter what car.. the difference does not show much.. but the saving came into vision when you are stuck in a jam(pedal & brake)
regards.....

Added on June 1, 2011, 9:26 amy do u say daikin is hard to find spare part? from my personnel experience, their maintenance technician is quite reliable, they do come to check within 1-2 working days from the day received ur complaint.

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 31 2011, 10:42 AM)
Not quite... i would rate Daikin A/C as perguet/mazda car... exotic, high tech, niche market, bit exp, reliable... but hard to service/find spare part.....

There`s no second doubt about daikin`s technology.... the drawback is sparepart.. as less dealer/stokist compared to york...
This post has been edited by gunh: Jun 1 2011, 09:26 AM
wpq8355
post Jun 1 2011, 01:37 PM

238 posts

look for those technician fix acson can fix daikin as well.. lots of similiarity in term of spareparts..
catpowder
post Jun 1 2011, 04:11 PM

162 posts

My friend's upmarket RM2 million ringgit condominium in Singapore uses Daikin air cons as 'defaults'... must be super reliable and efficient!

Went to a Daikin distributor yesterday in Uptown. Seems great plus it seems the inverter could be installed in a non-inverter way.

The design is timeless... albeit a bit 'old fashioned', but still, I trust these models that 'never get refreshed/redesigned so rapidly... (the model was awarded the "Good Design" in Japan). It's like an iPhone... it evolves, and doesn't have 10 different models unlike Nokia... it works, it's focused. Going to get a few for my own house!

Added on June 1, 2011, 4:33 pmBy the way, R22 - the gas used by Daikon, which is also used in most air conditioners nowadays - will one day be phased out by 2030 under the Montreal Protocol. The lady at the Daikin shop said that the new Panasonic inverters are using the new and very expensive gas called R410 that is the replacement for the R22 Chlorodifluoromethane...

A bit bothered by the ozone depletion effects... but what to do? sad.gif

This post has been edited by catpowder: Jun 1 2011, 04:33 PM
TSKelvin5717
post Jun 1 2011, 05:52 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 31 2011, 11:29 PM)
im sure Panasonic 1HP is old model..maybe 1 or 2 years ago..they cant sell it..so sell cheap..

to play safe..go to panasonic malaysia website...jot down the latest model..when u go buy aircon..salesman cant cheat as there will be model number..
hahaha this is 1 good idea tongue.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(catpowder @ Jun 1 2011, 04:11 PM)
My friend's upmarket RM2 million ringgit condominium in Singapore uses Daikin air cons as 'defaults'... must be super reliable and efficient! 

Went to a Daikin distributor yesterday in Uptown. Seems great plus it seems the inverter could be installed in a non-inverter way.

The design is timeless... albeit a bit 'old fashioned', but still, I trust these models that 'never get refreshed/redesigned so rapidly... (the model was awarded the "Good Design" in Japan). It's like an iPhone... it evolves, and doesn't have 10 different models unlike Nokia... it works, it's focused. Going to get a few for my own house!

Added on June 1, 2011, 4:33 pmBy the way, R22 - the gas used by Daikon, which is also used in most air conditioners nowadays - will one day be phased out by 2030 under the Montreal Protocol. The lady at the Daikin shop said that the new Panasonic inverters are using the new and very expensive gas called R410 that is the replacement for the R22 Chlorodifluoromethane...

A bit bothered by the ozone depletion effects... but what to do? sad.gif
no money cannot save the world lol sad.gif save our pocket 1st sad.gif
aquos
post Jun 5 2011, 10:27 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(wpq8355 @ Jun 1 2011, 01:37 PM)
look for those technician fix acson can fix daikin as well.. lots of similiarity in term of spareparts..
From personal experience if you call Daikin Malaysia for service , they will take down your details
and pass your case to their outside contractors. The contractor will then call you to set appointment.
In my case still under warranty but aftter warranty also can call them so service is not an issue.

Added on June 5, 2011, 10:34 pm
QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ Jun 1 2011, 05:52 PM)
hahaha this is 1 good idea  tongue.gif  rclxms.gif
no money cannot save the world lol  sad.gif save our pocket 1st  sad.gif
very true. for old gas future service and top up about rm120.00 but new green gas Rm300 i think.
So have to choose hole in pocket or hole in ozone layer.

This post has been edited by aquos: Jun 5 2011, 10:34 PM
JoJo(0^0)
post Jun 7 2011, 04:36 PM

32 posts

Nowaday all split unit selling in malaysia are made in CHINA. Sorry, maybe there are few brands still locally assemble but component like comp, fans, motor, casing, controls...etc are imported from CHINA.

As long as the after sales service is good any JAPAN brand should be fine.

The most important is the installer not the product, dont just save few dollars for cheaper installation cost and you may suffer long term problem. Installing air cond need experiance ppl where the leveling, gas pressure, vibration pad (small rubber under the leg of condensing unit to reduce vibration & noise, some ppl dont provide, it cost about RM70 for 4 pcs)...etc.

R22 is HCFC of which is scheduled to phase out in M's by yr 2020. So there are new gas like HFC such as R134a, R407c..etc which is more environment friendly. But using HFC, pipe size is larger. Cost wise, R22 is much cheper. Performance for both type are the same.

Acson is local brand of York which they used to promote in Malaysia (no need to pay royalty to York I guess).

This post has been edited by JoJo(0^0): Jun 7 2011, 04:39 PM
scouser7
post Jun 7 2011, 04:47 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(JoJo(0^0) @ Jun 7 2011, 04:36 PM)
Nowaday all split unit selling in malaysia are made in CHINA. Sorry, maybe there are few brands still locally assemble but component like comp, fans, motor, casing, controls...etc are imported from CHINA.

The most important is the installer not the product, dont just save few dollars for cheaper installation cost and you may suffer long term problem. Installing air cond need experiance ppl where the leveling, gas pressure, vibration pad (small rubber under the leg of condensing unit to reduce vibration & noise, some ppl dont provide, it cost about RM70 for 4 pcs)...etc.

R22 is HCFC of which is scheduled to phase out in M's by yr 2020. So there are new gas like HFC such as R134a, R407c..etc which is more environment friendly. But using HFC, pipe size is larger. Cost wise, R22 is much cheper. Performance for both type are the same.

Acson is local brand of York which they used to promote in Malaysia (no need to pay royalty to York I guess).
Hi! Can i fix those larger pipes meant for new gas as you mentioned for my normal A/c now. I'm planning to renovate my house and get 4 new a/c's soon. Please advise...anyone. TQ
JoJo(0^0)
post Jun 7 2011, 07:34 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(scouser7 @ Jun 7 2011, 05:47 PM)
Hi! Can i fix those larger pipes meant for new gas as you mentioned for my normal A/c now. I'm planning to renovate my house and get 4 new a/c's soon. Please advise...anyone. TQ
Yes, is better look for good installer who can advise you the pipe size meeting the requirement. You have to decide the capacity (HP), brand, type of system (normal or inverter), type of mounting (wall/cassette), gas (R22/R410/R407c...) in order to size the pipe before start conceal piping work. Get the same ppl to do for all.

aquos
post Jun 7 2011, 07:35 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(JoJo(0^0) @ Jun 7 2011, 04:36 PM)

Over the years i have used many teams of aircon technicians either to install or service and i
notice most of them have bad attitudes and seem to be getting worse. One guy rubbed the
outside unit against the stairs and flattened a large area of the coil fins. i asked him to straighten
them and he got upset and show me sour face. No point complaining. For many companies workers
are hard to find so more important than customers
limch
post Jun 8 2011, 12:17 PM

133 posts

Do not expect quality installation if you buy air cond from electrical shop. The electrical shop charged you only RM150 per installation with 10' copper piping. They rush the job. As long they started the air cond, check that it is cold and rush off.

They cut corner on copper pipe. Thinner copper pipe which will leak gas over some time.

Buy from those air cond specialist.

I use Daikin inverter 1.5hp. The cooling take a longer time. I still have not got my bill yet to tell the savings. Nevertheless, the spare parts will be expensive comparatively.

This post has been edited by limch: Jun 8 2011, 12:20 PM
scouser7
post Jun 8 2011, 12:57 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(JoJo(0^0) @ Jun 7 2011, 07:34 PM)
Yes, is better look for good installer who can advise you the pipe size meeting the requirement. You have to decide the capacity (HP), brand, type of system (normal or inverter), type of mounting (wall/cassette), gas (R22/R410/R407c...) in order to size the pipe before start conceal piping work. Get the same ppl to do for all.
Thanks for ya advise. i think i'll get my wireman/technician to fix larger pipes so that in future i dont have to hack wall again to put larger pipes when iif have ti use new gases.
aquos
post Jun 8 2011, 02:17 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(limch @ Jun 8 2011, 12:17 PM)
Do not expect quality installation if you buy air cond from electrical shop. The electrical shop charged you only RM150 per installation with 10' copper piping. They rush the job. As long they started the air cond, check that it is cold and rush off.

They cut corner on copper pipe. Thinner copper pipe which will leak gas over some time.

Buy from those air cond specialist.

I use Daikin inverter 1.5hp. The cooling take a longer time. I still have not got my bill yet to tell the savings. Nevertheless, the spare parts will be expensive comparatively.
Totally agree but how do normal consumers get in touch with these aircon specialist?
If we ask any aircon installer if they are specialist the will definately answer yes even
though they are "chap ayam" only.

Added on June 8, 2011, 2:29 pm
QUOTE(aquos @ Jun 8 2011, 02:17 PM)
Totally agree but how do normal consumers get in touch with these aircon specialist?
If we ask any aircon installer if they are specialist the will definately answer yes even
though they are "chap ayam" only.
I get it now. Aircon specialist refer to shops which sell only aircon right?
Well I have experience with them too. Bought 5 units from Pana authorised dealer who
only sell aircon. Aircon Experts sales and service in maluri. Lousy aftersales and cannot
contact them now. Maybe gone out of business lol.

This post has been edited by aquos: Jun 8 2011, 02:32 PM
digir
post Jun 8 2011, 04:57 PM

81 posts

Is Samsung or LG inverter good?
It is cheaper than Daikin.

16 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0349sec    1.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled