TSKelvin5717
post May 30 2011, 03:00 PM, updated 13y ago

742 posts

Got an offer for Daikin aircond...

Normal 1 HP - RM1k + installation
Inverter 1HP - Rm1350 + Installation
Inverter 1.5HP - RM1700 + Installation

as per the sales man, he say even York is under Daikin therefore is most reliable aircond in Japan... wonder how true izzit ? anyone think this is a good buy ?

need to buy 4 1HP aircond + 1 1.5Hp for living room..

Please advice tongue.gif rclxms.gif
wpq8355
post May 30 2011, 03:07 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 30 2011, 03:00 PM)

as per the sales man, he say even York is under Daikin therefore is most reliable aircond in Japan... wonder how true izzit ? anyone think this is a good buy ?

Please advice  tongue.gif  rclxms.gif
yup.. i consider it No 1 although no one know it in Malaysia.
TSKelvin5717
post May 30 2011, 05:46 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(wpq8355 @ May 30 2011, 03:07 PM)
Serious ? but as i google around this forum.. i found mostly ppl recommend Panasonic or Mitsubishi wo ???

then is the price range a good bargain ?

bhtan
post May 30 2011, 05:51 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 30 2011, 06:46 PM)
Serious ? but as i google around this forum.. i found mostly ppl recommend Panasonic or Mitsubishi wo ???

then is the price range a good bargain ?
Daikin is one of the best if not the best selling brands of aircond in JP. However, note that best selling does not always mean the best. The best audio equipment are those that you have seldom heard of their names and not Bose or Pioneer. Moreover, most of the Daikin here are no longer imported from Japan but made in Thailand. But then Panasonic is Malaysia Boleh. If this were sepak takraw, I will buy Daikin. For aircond, I think it should be OK vs Panasonic. BTW, I actually like my Toshiba aircond even though I am not sure they are still selling them smile.gif
TSKelvin5717
post May 30 2011, 06:00 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(bhtan @ May 30 2011, 05:51 PM)
Daikin is one of the best if not the best selling brands of aircond in JP.  However, note that best selling does not always mean the best.  The best audio equipment are those that you have seldom heard of their names and not Bose or Pioneer.  Moreover, most of the Daikin here are no longer imported from Japan but made in Thailand.  But then Panasonic is Malaysia Boleh.  If this were sepak takraw, I will buy Daikin.  For aircond, I think it should be OK vs Panasonic.  BTW, I actually like my Toshiba aircond even though I am not sure they are still selling them  smile.gif
I think i saw Thoshiba Aircond also i think they still selling... hmm but Panasonic and Mitsubishi are the word of mouth for aircond is this forum.. seldom hear bout Daikin in fact dunno if it's easy to service / maintain in future ? in terms of parts and so on ?
y4ng
post May 30 2011, 06:06 PM

Kambing Lembu
632 posts

my fren who does aircon says daikon is like york...might as well buy daikon
Awakened_Angel
post May 30 2011, 06:10 PM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 30 2011, 04:00 PM)

Please advice  tongue.gif  rclxms.gif
Daikin is rank No 2 in the WHOLEWORLD after carrier....

Yes... few years ago, OYL(york & acson) which was under Hong Leong Industry, was sold to daikin Global...

So, your answer is yes... york and acson is under daikin....

if I am not mistaken, York WM-J series is similar to Daikin one.. just cover change.... so, buy york inverter.... cheaper,easier service, wide network of dealers(more competition)

P/S though York is under Daikin, but that`s only under management wise... there`re lots of industry that daikin is invoved into also.....
product/quality/branding/service/network is totally different.

Added on May 30, 2011, 6:12 pm
QUOTE(wpq8355 @ May 30 2011, 04:07 PM)
define No ONE...

1) by sales/revenue?
2) by brand recognition?
3) by history?
4) by technology/cooling capacity/intelligent?

P/S I reckon that the actual No ONE is the sum of all above... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: May 30 2011, 06:12 PM
TSKelvin5717
post May 30 2011, 10:54 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 30 2011, 06:10 PM)
Daikin is rank No 2 in the WHOLEWORLD after carrier....

Yes... few years ago, OYL(york & acson) which was under Hong Leong Industry, was sold to daikin Global...

So, your answer is yes... york and acson is under daikin....

if I am not mistaken, York WM-J series is similar to Daikin one.. just cover change....  so, buy york inverter.... cheaper,easier service, wide network of dealers(more competition)

P/S though York is under Daikin, but that`s only under management wise... there`re lots of industry that daikin is invoved into also..... 
product/quality/branding/service/network is totally different.

Added on May 30, 2011, 6:12 pm
define No ONE...

1) by sales/revenue?
2) by brand recognition?
3) by history?
4) by technology/cooling capacity/intelligent?

P/S I reckon that the actual No ONE is the sum of all above... tongue.gif
if following what you said, then York / Acson / Daikin technology should not be the same as the only have the same management but not the engineering ? therefore York is better in terms of quality then Daikin ? then how bout Acson ?

Anyway i'm looking for above average type.. budget is

1Hp - Rm1k - 1.5k
1.5Hp Rm1.5k - 2k

any good suggestion for reliable + electric saving 1 tongue.gif also heard inverter only start saving if u on it more than 8 hours and above which there will be only possible in weekend wo.. rclxub.gif
vincentwee
post May 30 2011, 11:03 PM

126 posts

if so good, how come don see "daikin" aircon sell at Best Denki, Seng Heng, Harvey Norman, Courts Mammoth...etc

personally im Mitsubishi supporter
lazzy_dogg
post May 30 2011, 11:11 PM

943 posts

i think daikin's selling point is the R22 gas inverters.... thats why alot of ppl are buying it....
TSKelvin5717
post May 30 2011, 11:34 PM

742 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 30 2011, 11:03 PM)
if so good, how come don see "daikin" aircon sell at Best Denki, Seng Heng, Harvey Norman, Courts Mammoth...etc

personally im Mitsubishi supporter
hmm betul jugak hmm.gif hmm.gif maybe they kurang promosi ?

QUOTE(lazzy_dogg @ May 30 2011, 11:11 PM)
i think daikin's selling point is the R22 gas inverters.... thats why alot of ppl are buying it....
Yup, the R22 gas for inverters is interesting... if not mistaken they say only them can use R22 for inverters other inverters all cannot hmm.gif

iv'N
post May 30 2011, 11:55 PM

657 posts

My aircon maintenance guy mention daikin is good and expensive stuff
lazzy_dogg
post May 31 2011, 01:30 AM

943 posts

but i heard r410 is cooler.... dunno if its true....
TSKelvin5717
post May 31 2011, 08:41 AM

742 posts

QUOTE(iv'N @ May 30 2011, 11:55 PM)
My aircon maintenance guy mention daikin is good and expensive stuff
hmm now lagi pening hmm.gif doh.gif if your aircon maintenance guy mention daikin is good.. how come it's expensive stuff since the price is lagi cheap then the Mitsubishi / Panasonic type ??

QUOTE(lazzy_dogg @ May 31 2011, 01:30 AM)
but i heard r410 is cooler.... dunno if its true....
hmmm anyone with experience can confirm this ?? hmm.gif
vincentwee
post May 31 2011, 08:54 AM

126 posts

aiyah.. don buy daikin..reason cannot easily find shop that sell daikin..
simple as that...

buy those aircon that easily can be spot at those electrical shop..like Panasonic , Sharp...

one thing is avoid korean aircon...as they are not reach to the standard yet..y i say so..as i got 2 LG aircon..exterior look is very cantik but when on that time...wakau..super loud.. i hardly hear sound come out from my Mitsubishi..and i do my own aircon maintenance... Mitsubishi is easy to clean..

lastly,...to play safe.go for Panasonic..as so many ppl use..if wanna find spare part or ppl fix it..is easy.....
Awakened_Angel
post May 31 2011, 08:59 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 30 2011, 11:54 PM)
if following what you said, then York / Acson / Daikin technology should not be the same as the only have the same management but not the engineering ? therefore York is better in terms of quality then Daikin ? then how bout Acson ?

Anyway i'm looking for above average type.. budget is

1Hp - Rm1k - 1.5k
1.5Hp Rm1.5k - 2k

any good suggestion for reliable + electric saving 1  tongue.gif 
technology wise? yes... daikin might spare some technology to york & acson from japan... OYL group has inhouse R&D in bukit rahman putra in sg buluh whereby they research new tech etc.... not defnately daikin tech is far superior(due to japan tech, history & scale)

last time, acson used to sell same product as york but different marketing/branding/pricing.... but now, they had diverge their product(outlook, capacity, technology etc....)

also heard inverter only start saving if u on it more than 8 hours and above which there will be only possible in weekend wo.. rclxub.gif
yes your are right.. what they published in catalogue/ads(50% saving) is only half of the truth....

e.g. oldtown(which I visited yesterday)... they publish affortable meal RM 1.20 per toast set.... it is only half of the truth.... they never told you its a add on set until u want to order.. when u order, the size is half as normal..... doh.gif

Added on May 31, 2011, 9:02 am
QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 31 2011, 09:41 AM)
hmm now lagi pening  hmm.gif  doh.gif  if your aircon maintenance guy mention daikin is good.. how come it's expensive stuff since the price is lagi cheap then the Mitsubishi / Panasonic type ??
salesman say good- good margin/incentive/rebate/bonus/add on benefits by a brand if you sell his product/less competitive
serviceman say good- maybe easy to install/no fuss/no hand tail(in chinese which mean aftermath trouble) after installation

Added on May 31, 2011, 9:07 am
QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 31 2011, 09:54 AM)
simple as that...

buy those aircon that easily can be spot at those electrical shop..like Panasonic , Sharp...

one thing is avoid korean aircon...as they are not reach to the standard yet..y i say so..as i got 2 LG aircon..exterior look is very cantik but when on that time...wakau..super loud.. i hardly hear sound come out from my Mitsubishi..and i do my own aircon maintenance... Mitsubishi is easy to clean..

lastly,...to play safe.go for Panasonic..as so many ppl use..if wanna find spare part or ppl fix it..is easy.....
yes.. like car spareparts..............

This post has been edited by Awakened_Angel: May 31 2011, 09:07 AM
TSKelvin5717
post May 31 2011, 09:11 AM

742 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 31 2011, 08:54 AM)
simple as that...

Mitsu is expensive cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif ya originally plan to buy Panasonic... now need to survey survey to make confirmation...

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ May 31 2011, 08:59 AM)
technology wise? yes... daikin might spare some technology to york & acson from japan... OYL group has inhouse R&D in bukit rahman putra in sg buluh whereby they research new tech etc.... not defnately daikin tech is far superior(due to japan tech, history & scale)

last time, acson used to sell same product as york but different marketing/branding/pricing.... but now, they had diverge their product(outlook, capacity, technology etc....)

yes your are right.. what they published in catalogue/ads(50% saving) is only half of the truth....

e.g. oldtown(which I visited yesterday)... they publish affortable meal RM 1.20 per toast set.... it is only half of the truth.... they never told you its a add on set until u want to order.. when u order, the size is half as normal.....  doh.gif

Added on May 31, 2011, 9:02 am
salesman say good- good margin/incentive/rebate/bonus/add on benefits by a brand if you sell his product/less competitive
serviceman say good- maybe easy to install/no fuss/no hand tail(in chinese which mean aftermath trouble) after installation

Added on May 31, 2011, 9:07 am
yes.. like car spareparts..............
then meaning is a NO NO for Daikin due to the less popularity = hard to maintain = hard to find spare part...

Then now left to chose from is Panasonic & Mitsubishi ? any other reliable brand ? mitsu i think too expensive ??
vincentwee
post May 31 2011, 09:17 AM

126 posts

nolah.. Mitsu is cheaper than Panasonic...

if i were u, i take either P or M ..how i compare is like this
let say i take 1.5 power for both P and M

salesman quote Pana = $1500 excluding installation , $100 installation
Total = $1600 .
quote Mitsu = $1500 including installation

of course i take Mitsu... as cheaper $100...

both also good brand.. japan.. then maybe take consideration whether Pana external look nice or Mitsu..normally Pana will win it..as Mitsu external look like a big white box...haha..my wife put nice sticker on our Mitsu aircon..it look different though..

shay_g
post May 31 2011, 10:22 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(vincentwee @ May 31 2011, 09:17 AM)
nolah.. Mitsu is cheaper than Panasonic...

if i were u, i take either P or M ..how i compare is like this
let say i take 1.5 power for both P and M

salesman quote Pana = $1500 excluding installation , $100 installation
                            Total = $1600 .
              quote Mitsu = $1500 including installation

of course i take Mitsu... as cheaper $100...

both also good brand.. japan.. then maybe take consideration whether Pana external look nice or Mitsu..normally Pana will win it..as Mitsu external look like a big white box...haha..my wife put nice sticker on our Mitsu aircon..it look different though..
which Mitsu..?? Mitsubishi Electric or Mitsubishi Heavy Industries...?? cool2.gif
Awakened_Angel
post May 31 2011, 10:42 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(Kelvin5717 @ May 31 2011, 10:11 AM)
then meaning is a NO NO for Daikin due to the less popularity = hard to maintain = hard to find spare part...
Not quite... i would rate Daikin A/C as perguet/mazda car... exotic, high tech, niche market, bit exp, reliable... but hard to service/find spare part.....

There`s no second doubt about daikin`s technology.... the drawback is sparepart.. as less dealer/stokist compared to york...

16 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0473sec    0.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:44 PM