Travel Taiwan V2, Refer to pg 1 for compiled guides

kons
post Oct 19 2011, 11:02 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Oct 19 2011, 10:30 AM)
i know those shops around shilin night market close late....they only opening at 2pm. the  first night i went there was after midnite, still quite happening...
depends on weekday or weekend. on weekday, after 11 pm or 12 am, it's like nothing more.
ruzzlacwe
post Oct 19 2011, 01:16 PM

I see
I will be going on weekdays
guess I have to time it earlier
chienx
post Oct 23 2011, 10:17 PM

205 posts

i plan to go taipei this dec.. wan to get a good hotel eay to move around, can give some feedback on this matter?
ExCrIpT
post Oct 24 2011, 10:47 PM

1,672 posts

Is agoda.com a safe website to book hotels? They accept paypal as well, i suppose its cheaper using paypal rather than cc to pay right.

I'm looking to stay at xi men ding
ruzzlacwe
post Oct 25 2011, 10:42 AM

be extra careful when booking via agoda
the rate they quote even if u select 3 nights, is actually per night price
u might wanna google 'agoda scams' before u book
not to say they are untrustworthy(my only experience with them I was cheated to pay but they refunded without much explanation...almost feels like the customer service staff are used to these cases)-in fact have come across satisfied customers
but what im saying is just be careful in every step of making the booking

Added on October 25, 2011, 10:45 amand oh if u read the travel forums, it's cheaper if u contact and book with the hotels directly...some they will offer discount
again, do a lil bit of checking online esp in travel forums to validate that

This post has been edited by ruzzlacwe: Oct 25 2011, 10:45 AM
TSstimix
post Oct 25 2011, 12:54 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Agoda is OK-lah.. Just that lotsa ppl din know that the published rate is before commission/handling charges of ~ US2-US5 depeninding on room price.

otherwise, I hv no problem wth them..Yes, sometime, they might be more expensive than walk-in rate bcos certain budget hotel can be negotiated and they provide discount if you ask..However on overall, they are cheaper and one advantages is you get immediate confirmation rather than walking from one hotel to another upon reaching...I found it so tiring ..(I did that on my Pearl river cities backpacking)..After the incident, i prefer pre-book to avoid wasting time looking for the best hotels
ahchak
post Oct 26 2011, 01:25 PM

Well...
558 posts

hi.. is it advisable to travel to taiwan in erly nov? around next week...is the typhoon still there? thnks.. smile.gif
Bkboy
post Oct 26 2011, 05:06 PM

80 posts

hello all sifus.....i going to taipei alone 2/12 to watch concert...staying there for 5 days.....my 1st time ever fly overseas.....im banana but i can speak mandarin == .....can i survive xD...any advise pls what i need to pack or anything i need to becareful....thx smile.gif
transit
post Oct 26 2011, 05:17 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(Bkboy @ Oct 26 2011, 05:06 PM)
hello all sifus.....i going to taipei alone 2/12 to watch concert...staying there for 5 days.....my 1st time ever fly overseas.....im banana but i can speak mandarin == .....can i survive xD...any advise pls what i need to pack or anything i need to becareful....thx smile.gif
For sure you can survive as long as you ask local when encounters any doubt in simple Mandarin thumbup.gif

MandyG
post Oct 26 2011, 05:22 PM

181 posts

hello, may i ask is anyone here have used the maybank debit card to swipe or withdraw.... can work ar???
Bkboy
post Oct 26 2011, 05:33 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(transit @ Oct 26 2011, 05:17 PM)
For sure you can survive as long as you ask local when encounters any doubt in simple Mandarin  thumbup.gif
orait glad someone replied,how much does 1 person can spend for 5days for hotel,eat,travel,etc..thx
aiyume
post Oct 26 2011, 06:16 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(Bkboy @ Oct 26 2011, 05:33 PM)
orait glad someone replied,how much does 1 person can spend for 5days for hotel,eat,travel,etc..thx
depends on where u planning to go.

Accomodation:
if u staying at budget/backpackers hostel, 1 night cost about RM60-80 depending on which location. staying alone will be more expensive, maybe around RM100/night. if you dun mind sharing with other backpackers then can get cheaper around RM50/night.

Eat:
eating in taiwan is almost the same as KL standard. street food cost around RM5-8 per item. restaurant maybe around RM10?

Travel:
transportation in taipei is very convenient. if you are going around Taipei city only i think NTD200 Easycard is more than enough. can top up at any convenient shops or MRT stations.

if you are not heavy shopper most likely you can go below RM1000 for 5 days for everything excluding flight of coz.
ExCrIpT
post Oct 26 2011, 07:30 PM

1,672 posts

QUOTE(ruzzlacwe @ Oct 25 2011, 10:42 AM)
be extra careful when booking via agoda
the rate they quote even if u select 3 nights, is actually per night price
u might wanna google 'agoda scams' before u book
not to say they are untrustworthy(my only experience with them I was cheated to pay but they refunded without much explanation...almost feels like the customer service staff are used to these cases)-in fact have come across satisfied customers
but what im saying is just be careful in every step of making the booking

Added on October 25, 2011, 10:45 amand oh if u read the travel forums, it's cheaper if u contact and book with the hotels directly...some they will offer discount
again, do a lil bit of checking online esp in travel forums to validate that
QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 25 2011, 12:54 PM)
Agoda is OK-lah.. Just that lotsa ppl din know that the published rate is before commission/handling charges of ~ US2-US5 depeninding on room price.

otherwise, I hv no problem wth them..Yes, sometime, they might be more expensive than walk-in rate bcos certain budget hotel can be negotiated and they provide discount if you ask..However on overall, they are cheaper and one advantages is you get immediate confirmation rather than walking from one hotel to another upon reaching...I found it so tiring ..(I did that on my Pearl river cities backpacking)..After the incident, i prefer pre-book to avoid wasting time looking for the best hotels
Which website wpuld u suggestrather than agoda. Pls recommend some reliable ones.

For agoda those published discount rate, just need to add additional few percent is that it?
toto4d
post Oct 26 2011, 08:39 PM

643 posts

Agoda is ok... i used them a lot and managed to save 1-2 nights by redeeming agoda points.

For Taiwan can find room using this website oso, not cheap but ok:
http://travel.network.com.tw/
Bkboy
post Oct 26 2011, 11:23 PM

80 posts

QUOTE(aiyume @ Oct 26 2011, 06:16 PM)
depends on where u planning to go.

Accomodation:
if u staying at budget/backpackers hostel, 1 night cost about RM60-80 depending on which location. staying alone will be more expensive, maybe around RM100/night. if you dun mind sharing with other backpackers then can get cheaper around RM50/night.

Eat:
eating in taiwan is almost the same as KL standard. street food cost around RM5-8 per item. restaurant maybe around RM10?

Travel:
transportation in taipei is very convenient. if you are going around Taipei city only i think NTD200 Easycard is more than enough. can top up at any convenient shops or MRT stations.

if you are not heavy shopper most likely you can go below RM1000 for 5 days for everything excluding flight of coz.
thx for ur infomation......really help alot,btw does teksi malaysia same like taiwan?pay cash when arrive the destination or more advance.....xD

p/s:sry all sifus 1st time go out have alot doubt....=.=
aiyume
post Oct 26 2011, 11:42 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

i din take taxi when i was there. i heard some of them overcharge tourist. most of the travelling done via buses and MRT. if you can't read mandarin then buses abit hard, but MRT has english signboards, and it's very convenient to go around taipei.

This post has been edited by aiyume: Oct 26 2011, 11:43 PM
TSstimix
post Oct 27 2011, 12:17 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Wah food price inflated liao since my 2009 holiday there.. biggrin.gif ..During that time, avg is from RM4 till RM5 only.. Even a 4 dishes chapfan only RM5 wth free winter melon drinks.. rclxms.gif ..Ah Chong mee sua only RM4. Ocien RM5 much cheaper than KL but too bad their ocien full of starch & cabbages rather than eggs
QUOTE(aiyume @ Oct 26 2011, 06:16 PM)

Eat:

aiyume
post Oct 27 2011, 02:02 PM

听见你的声音
1,528 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Oct 27 2011, 12:17 PM)
Wah food price inflated liao since my 2009 holiday there.. biggrin.gif ..During that time, avg is from RM4 till RM5 only.. Even a 4 dishes chapfan only RM5 wth free winter melon drinks.. rclxms.gif ..Ah Chong mee sua only RM4. Ocien RM5 much cheaper than KL but too bad their ocien full of starch & cabbages rather than eggs
2 years dy sure inflated loh....

totally agreed with the ocien. we din like the sweet sauce they put on also.
straw
post Oct 28 2011, 04:08 PM

266 posts

Hi, if go Taiwan bring usd, letter start with A,B,C,D will money changer there accept?

TSstimix
post Oct 28 2011, 04:34 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

No idea on the lettering thingies.. just ensure no old notes as mentioned on 1st page info

146 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0233sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 02:29 AM